Review Post match v Eagles

There are some really interesting stats from that game.

Most disposals Dunstan 29, Joey 27, Ray 26
contested Dunstan 15, Ray 14, Joey 12

Disposal efficiency Jimmy G a sensational 100%. !!! Then Dunstan 83%( considering where he was and the pressure ... just wow ). and the much maligned Delaney 80%
most clangers Joey (9) , Jonesy ( 5 well durr its Jones ) and Lenny and Hickey, I forgive them all

Not many contested marks. Nick , Farren, and Beau 2 each.
Hickey 13 hitouts, Rhys 12.
Joey the clearance king -10, Dunstan 6, Armo 5. ( 2 each in the middle ).
Joey 5 rebounds, Newnes 4
Tackles - Jones 9, Armo 8, Hayes and Wright 6
1%s Webster 7, Dempster and Geary 5
Kicks into the 50, Joey, Eli, 6 and 4. Heaps kicked 3 in.
2 Goal assists to Eli.

Wondering if Roo was injured. He copped a heavy knock by Maister, went to the rooms and never seemed to recover. Perhaps just a coincidence.

Was at the game and thought I saw him on the big screen with ice on the inside of his knee. Ran back on a few minutes later though

Forgetting the results, was this a better performance than our wins?

I've only seen stats so Im trying to get a better grip of the match :cool:

You guys have a large, knowledgeable support base in WA. Was great banter between fans at half time and after the game. :thumbsu:

Bad luck with the game, but you'll win your fair share this year playing like you did tonight.

Hope you enjoyed it. Its always better with a bit of suspense to it.
Or the sadists among you could just play Melbourne all the time.

Good:

Dunstan Dunstan Dunstan. Not only does he win it but he uses it really well. What a start to the season he's having.

Roo continues to carry the forward line. Working up, working back then working up again. What a great example for the young guys.

Webster's boot.

Again winning the important stats. Contested ball, clearances but this time we did it against a top side. Extremely encouraging signs.

Bad:

I was a fan of Maister in 2012 and '13 but I've had enough now. It's nice that he's getting to contests but that doesn't cut it in the AFL, constantly dropping the type of marks he does isn't acceptable. Whenever Lee is fit enough the swap must be made.

Geary continues to shank easy kicks.

Savage just seems to be getting the ball and bombing it. For someone that wants to be a mid where's the composure under pressure? Curren is in the same boat. Can't knock Ledger for being a grab and bomb player but accept it from others.

Overall though a really good effort. The polish will come with more experience and the younger players we've recruited/will recruit.

Brave effort, just got overrun in the end, bloody tough to win at Boobiaco with the crowd influencing the umps (a lot better than they normally are though)

Major positives were our youngsters who all stood up under pressure - Dunstan (wow he is a genuine gun), Curren, Wright, Newnes, Hickey, Webster, Eli all had a red hot crack, disposal skills and decision making let them down under pressure at times but that's easily fixable. Their workrate and fight for the Saints jumper was faultless and reaffirms my belief we have a great bunch of youngsters that will carry us forward into a new generation playing the tough, gutsy, hardnosed footy this club is renowned for.

Stanley had a pretty damn good game too, completely overshadowed that matchwinning superstar Naitanui who was all but invisible.

(Looking forward to all the apologies here from the guys that called me an idiot for comparing Stanley to NicNat)

Jimmy Gwilt was back to his best too, played a whale of a game which we needed with Gilbo going off early.

Gwilt's underrated, a lot of his work always goes unnoticed.

His bodywork is outstanding, he can hip swivel like a boss Gwilty and his booming left kick is a weapon.

Well after the first 3 weeks of the season I'd say we're a fair bit further down the rebuild path than most would have thought.
Competitive hit out by the boys tonight and should hold their heads high.
Plenty of chances for goals missed so not like we couldn't have come away with the 4 points with a bit more composure.

Keep it going saints!

I thought websters sidestep and quick kick to Dunstan when he won the free inside 50 was a glimpse of the player Webster will become. I have really high hopes for him. He is super fast and has excellent agility, couple that with his weapon of a boot and his awesome desperation and I think we have a pretty special player on our hands.

Sorry to intrude,but congrats on the win! Not just from a Freo perspective, but because the endeavour was definitely there. Happy to eat my words on the wooden spoon prediction and the youngsters are definitely underrated. Change of coach seems to have helped to some extent?

Dunstan as some of you have dubbed is Gun-stan! So much poise and grunt, and absolutely wrecked that he was on my RDT bench :( Knocks on his supposed lack of pace doesn't seem to have made any detriment to his capability at elite level.
Templeton also showed great signs - that play in the first with the mark and spearing 50m pass (which almost resulted in a goal) had me doing a BT (woweee). Bit skinny (although not as much as I had expected) but hard to miss with that hair.

While the result wasn't a win, the effort was there which will place you in great stead - especially when Melbourne continues being Melbourne ;)

Mate you better run for cover...

Too right he better run for cover:mad::p:p
I respect SaintSeptembers opinion as hes a good poster:thumbsu: But that's comment was a bit rich. Sure Maxy wasnt a pin point pass BUT Delaney never cemented a spot at North , and then after 3 average games at the Saints we get a comment that "hes a better kick than Max ever was" :eek::eek::eek:
Sorry but I cant let that one slide.

Lot to like about the way you guys played tonight even though the end result didn't go your way

Two things. Dunstan looks an outstanding prospect and has to be a contender for the steal of the draft of 2013. At the other end of the scale, you have to admire the passion and commitment of reiwoldt - it must have been tempting to play out his career elsewhere on big bucks and with the chance of a flag but he's stuck fat with the team he loves and looks to be relishing the role of helping the youngsters come through. He's a true champion imo

Good luck for the rest of the year

Like the idea of Schneider back in via sub
He is still class

Fair to say that Roo's kicking for goal has improved out of sight this year.
Skewed a couple early and I thought "oh no" but really steadied.

Beast.

Schneids really needs to be managed. Came back as the sub last year and things didn't work out too well. I guess shit happens but no need to take chances. Then again Schneids isn't getting any younger. He'll want to play ASAP.

Great effort staying with the Eagles for much of the game unlike the Dogs who got flogged by 65 by them and seem to be a lot more rated over us. But i am happy with us flying under the radar, 2014 wooden spooners without any kids coming through........ :)

Lot to like about the way you guys played tonight even though the end result didn't go your way

Two things. Dunstan looks an outstanding prospect and has to be a contender for the steal of the draft of 2013. At the other end of the scale, you have to admire the passion and commitment of reiwoldt - it must have been tempting to play out his career elsewhere on big bucks and with the chance of a flag but he's stuck fat with the team he loves and looks to be relishing the role of helping the youngsters come through. He's a true champion imo

Good luck for the rest of the year

We had you West Coast supporters wearing the brown trousers for a good 3 and a half quarters Keyser, not bad for the 2014 wooden spooners.

Bloody Cripps was probably the difference, dead eye dick around goals, wasn't very happy seeing him go home.

Luke Dunstan aka Manchild, Manimal, Destroyer of Men or any other variation has to be the Rising Star leader at the moment. If he keeps this up it's in the bag.