Review Post match v Eagles

I always assume everyone is talking about the Manimal haha :p Webster has great speed as well, took me a while to notice but gee his closing speed on his opponents is good.

I tell you what, I had never really noticed Wright's speed until I saw him live yesterday when he took a run down the wing of Subiaco Oval, kid is a jet...even my West Coast supporting mate was like woah who is that

Overall very happy with the effort, but it was as expected, the boys ran out of legs in the last, a couple kicks not making their targets etc.

I could say that, if we'd kicked a bit straighter in the first, and the umpires were half decent we could have won, but to be honest, I think this game will come away as much more important to us as a loss. Despite heading into round three, the boys hadn't felt the ginger taste of not singing the song after the game or having the thrill of victory. The team really, is just moulding together, many new players last year and this year so I think it will be good to look over the negatives of the game (weren't that many). I just feel if we'd won, we might have gotten a bit cocky and let Adelaide run over us next week.

There will be some even more sore bodies this week so I think a few changes are necessary ontop of Gilbo as an out.

Good:
Roo's effort was amazing 2 goals, could have maybe kicked another one or two but, you wouldn't expect anyone to kick a goal after the amount of running he does.
Joey was good in the first half with the two goals.
Jimmy Webster getting the ball out of the defensive 50 was good.
Delaney, poor disposal good work on his man.
Wright, some contested marks, I think he even got one against Cox in the third if I remember correctly.
Stan the man lee! Great work in the ruck and one or two goal assists.
Newnes did quite well especially in 1st half.
Gunstan, what more can I say but...wow!

Bad:
Gilbo's injury.
Goal kicking could have been marginally better, but I'm not fussed.
Jonesy looked like the Jones of 2 years ago with his kicking. Didn't do that badly, and I think he needs some more confidence so don't drop him, he's been in our best by far in the first two rounds.

Outs- Gilbo (inj), Saunders (omit), Savage? (omit)
In: Bruce, Billings, Steven

-I really want to press for 3-4 outs because the boys will be tired, as we saw. Saunders was quite, but his disposals were pretty good when he got amongst it, give him a weeks rest and he'll be ready to go.
- With Savage, 18 disposals, but I barely noticed him, good that he played a full game but someone has to make room for Steven. Give him 2-3 weeks at VFL level to develop confidence and then give him a 2-3 FULL games in the Saints side.

Close Calls:
-Lee, probably one of my favorite emerging players, but I think he needs another week for fitness, last week he wasn't ready, one week isn't enough, I think he kicked 4 or 5 goals, really big step he's taken, we'll see him in Round 5.
- TDL Kicked 3 goals again, surely would have to be putting his hand up for selection after kicking four two weeks ago.
Cam Shenton also played well along with Sebby Ross.

Billings a match winner in his first VFL match with 5 goals. Dunstan leads our possessions in his 3rd AFL game.

And that's not even mentioning Acres who some rated higher than both Billings and Dunstan. Just a lazy 24 touches 10 tackles in his first game after an injury riddled pre-season.

Oh and then there's Eli.

I think the 2013 draft is gonna be looked back on fondly in a few years.

Billings a match winner in his first VFL match with 5 goals. Dunstan leads our possessions in his 3rd AFL game.

And that's not even mentioning Acres who some rated higher than both Billings and Dunstan. Just a lazy 24 touches 10 tackles in his first game after an injury riddled pre-season.

Oh and then there's Eli.

I think the 2013 draft is gonna be looked back on fondly in a few years.

Touch wood. But yes, at this rate we are doing very, very well!

Jack Newnes look like a fully fledged AFL footballer last night. That along with all the other things mentioned is what excited me the most about last night.

He's just taken the step up so easily it's barely been noticeable this year. Averaging a lazy 22 touches and quite a few tackles. It's fantastic to see kids like Dunstan and Templeton achieving far more than we expected but I think Newnes is the quiet achiever who has probably been the least talked about youngster despite 3 really good and consistent performances.

yeah and his first half against GWS was pretty bloody good as well. Think Newnes is gonna be one of the first pencilled in at team selection this yr. His time is now:)

I've probably been harping on that this side reminded me of the 96/97 side since the end of last year. After last nights effort & with other young guns showing us their worth at Sandringham & Longer evidently knocking on the door then with the likes of Stevens, Schnieder & a lesser degree Fisher nearing a return, they are proving me right. Reckon we all know now, what one hell of an exciting year this year alone is going to be, with the next couple of years following having us in ecstasy. Gotta luv the Saints :thumbsu:

Dermie still didn't publicly apologise for his st kilda roast and I hope he feels a little bit silly right now.
These were his statements after the sacking of watters, and I just want to say with no due respect 'eat my shorts'. I think were going to be ok

1/11/13 Dermott Brereton

and I quote "Brereton, a close friend of Watters, said struggling Melbourne was “miles ahead” of St Kilda and that 17 other clubs were closer to winning a premiership than the Saints.

He said St Kilda was the most poorly led club in the competition and that it was a case of “the blind leading the blind”.

Dermott Brereton has launched a scathing attack on St Kilda and in particular its list manager Chris Pelchen for the club’s “pathetic” decision to sack coach Scott Watters on Friday.

“What you’ve got is a bloke who, by all records, says he put together Port Adelaide's list. He says he came to Hawthorn and gave them ‘Buddy’ Franklin, yet it was [recruiter] Gary Buckenara who did. There's a lot of myths in footy, and we’re talking about one of them.

“I don’t pick my mates lightly, and I don’t pick dickheads as friends,” he said.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...ris-pelchen-20131101-2wrsg.html#ixzz2y4h64Zjk

I think I speak on behalf of many when I say that one of the most pleasing aspects about our start to the season is listening to the nay-sayers admit that they might have gotten it wrong. Alan Richardson is possibly the best thing that's happened to our club since Ross Lyon.

Dermie still didn't publicly apologise for his st kilda roast and I hope he feels a little bit silly right now.
These were his statements after the sacking of watters, and I just want to say with no due respect 'eat my shorts'. I think were going to be ok

1/11/13 Dermott Brereton

and I quote "Brereton, a close friend of Watters, said struggling Melbourne was “miles ahead” of St Kilda and that 17 other clubs were closer to winning a premiership than the Saints.

He said St Kilda was the most poorly led club in the competition and that it was a case of “the blind leading the blind”.

Dermott Brereton has launched a scathing attack on St Kilda and in particular its list manager Chris Pelchen for the club’s “pathetic” decision to sack coach Scott Watters on Friday.

“What you’ve got is a bloke who, by all records, says he put together Port Adelaide's list. He says he came to Hawthorn and gave them ‘Buddy’ Franklin, yet it was [recruiter] Gary Buckenara who did. There's a lot of myths in footy, and we’re talking about one of them.

“I don’t pick my mates lightly, and I don’t pick dickheads as friends,” he said.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...ris-pelchen-20131101-2wrsg.html#ixzz2y4h64Zjk
Lol............... Derm what a d*ckhead

1/11/13 Dermott Brereton

Who gives a flying you know what Dermie thinks just loves the sound of his own voice and is living proof you dont need a long neck to be a goose

Hitout stats, from the Age:

St Kilda 29 hitouts, 28% to advantage
T.Hickey 13, 38%
R.Stanley 12, 25%

West Coast 60, 18%
D.Cox 34, 24%
N.Naitanui 13, 23%

1/11/13 Dermott Brereton

Poor Dermie. His skin is pulled so tight his ears are over his arseh*le and he can only hear the crap that comes from his own digestive system.

I believe Hickey's toe/foot is troubling him more then he wishes and was the reason for his average performance. Thinking maybe bringing Longer in next week might be a good idea.

I thought Hayes was really good. It was pretty tough, congested footy and the old man tried his guts out.
Never like to lose but I think the team is growing in confidence and a few more wins are just around the corner.
I would love to see Billings, Steven and Schneider in for some class and speed. Players of that ilk would be all over the footy when the likes of Maister and Roo bring the ball to ground. People were saying it´s gonna be a long year for the Saints. I actually can´t wait from week to week.
Richardson is doing a great job so far.

I thought Hayes was really good. It was pretty tough, congested footy and the old man tried his guts out.
Never like to lose but I think the team is growing in confidence and a few more wins are just around the corner.
I would love to see Billings, Steven and Schneider in for some class and speed. Players of that ilk would be all over the footy when the likes of Maister and Roo bring the ball to ground. People were saying it´s gonna be a long year for the Saints. I actually can´t wait from week to week.
Richardson is doing a great job so far.

I didn't hold much hope for this game, but I enjoyed watching it, and I've got a bit of hope for next week.
Furthermore a gambler could have done OK betting on the line.
I like it when we beat the odds.

finally home with internet to get on here and its great to see so many of us in a positive mood. i was worried we'd be overly negative when to be honest we played very well. all that matters now is the attitude and effort and we showed it in spades last night.

i know we have the good, the bad and the ugly. but i'm going to add one extra in, the legendary!!

THE LEGENDARY
- for those who havent been to subi before or sat with the saints fans at the city end of subi oval, you get into the city end stand via a ramp, the ramp is enclosed in wire mesh, so you can see outside the ground and look down at those around the stadium. likewise the people outside the ground can look up and see the people making their way in and out of the stands. it overlooks a grassed square oval thats used for parking on game day. sometimes its used for training etc during the week. beyond that there's park. anyways when we win at subi, the saints supporters usually belt the song out as they walk out of the stand and down the ramp and out of the ground. the song absolutely echos and bounces off the cement roof, walls and floor and out over the people outside the ground. this coupled with the small but extremely passionette and vocal WA Saints crowd, the song gets loud and powerfull and makes it amazing to listen to!!!! anyways when the siren went and we lost, it almost felt like a win. saints fans seemed to be extremely happy with the performance, maybe happy isnt the right word, they were damn proud. we stuck it to them for 3 qtrs and just ran out of puff, not through lack of trying. i noticed that saints supporters had a smile and had their head held high. eagles supporters seemed to be happy too, a bit of friendly banter. anyways as were walking out of the ground and starting to go down the ramp, it occurred to me that we dont get to sing the song again after winning some great games at subi of late, started to feel a bit hollow about it actually......and then it happened......i dont know who started it but they deserve a bloody medal. a group of blokes started singing the song at full voice and then in came the rest of the saints fans, belting it out louder than i can remember. the look on the eagles fans faces was priceless, those looking up out of the ground, wondering WTF was happening was even better. absolutely amazing moment, i was i could have recorded it to share it. although we lost i think we won even more respect from the wce supporters that night

THE GOOD
- the western saints for putting on an amazing function. great work by the saints to make officials and players available. we had our president peter summers speak, david teague the defencive line assistant coach spoke as did dunnel. billy longer was in attendance. they said terry dillon was there was well, but i didnt see him. the crowd at the function was very decent for an away team. definitely 100+, maybe 200

- richos coaching. was bold and to the point. i liked it. i loved the fact we did our own thing and didnt get caught up in the strength of the eagles in their talls. we backed our smaller defenders in against an extremely tall wce fwd line. i think it worked well until we ran out of puff. if we went in tall as well i think we would have struggled. i love how he is with the players as well. i've noticed a big difference between him and scott from limited time around both. richo is more involved, more hands on, seems happy and gets along well with them. where as scott seemed to delegate the hands on stuff to laidely and sat back and observed

- watching these kids grow as footballers is amazing to watch.
- dunstan: wow. sign him up NOW!
- wright: amazing
- eli: people love him and righfully so. he is exciting to watch. still small but not afraid to take a hit for the team from much bigger opponents.
- hickey: all heart that bloke. he looked sored but pushed through and did very well. great bloke too!!!
- webster: geeze anyone who can outplay CHF/FF/Rucks at that height deserves praise. great user of the footy

- farren ray: he is brave. absolute soldier who doesnt get anywhere near the praise he deserves. sure him get crunched running back with the flight of the footy to get an intercept mark and continued to do it all game. he saved us on many occasions.

Most on here would know i am abit Bias towards Stanley.

But surely that was one of his best games for us? I thought he did very well.

Totally agree. I thought he was great. Jumped really well against all the Wet Toast ruckman and set up goals of his own when he ran forward. I actually think he would have prospered even more if he took a stint down back on a resting Cox then ran off him through the middle. We could have played Longer and achieved this. To be honest - I don't understand why we didn't play Longer for match-ups alone. Savage played well but was lucky to keep his spot in the side. I thought he got better as the night went on and I agree with earlier posters that his best position is wing/onball and he simply needs a full game. He reminds me of blokes like Milera who get a feel for the game and often get better as it goes along but when they come on as sub they try to hard and look silly.

I thought Jacky Newnes looked out of sorts and turned it over a fair bit. Perhaps losing Gilbert threw him out or perhaps it is a case of young blokes struggling to put 3 games together.

Humble Pie's near chase down was a highlight. Eli's ability to chip to space ala Banger. Actually at one point he kicked it to the space in the last quarter and Rooey went back to the goals and the went to no one. Ironically it was Roo that should have turned the other way and Eli got it right!!

WEbster's cool head and beautiful shoe were sorely missed and are key to us moving forward.

Overall - a great performance by all.

Newnes still needs to improve his disposal skills and decision making but he knows how to read the play and find the footy, along with Dunstan, Curren, Webster, Hickey, Stanley, Saunders, Wright, Billings and Templeton there is a lot to be excited about and there's a number of other talented youngsters still yet to play this year.

The morons that said we have no good youth and are wooden spoon certainties are starting to eat their words and it's bloody great to see.