Post match: vs StKilda

What did you like about Pev's game?

Id like to see Hooker find some space and look like taking a mark. I know WAFL reserves to AFL is a big step but I aint seeing much in the way of raw talent. Looks to have no standout feature to his game apart from youthful willingness.

Well he was pick four in a draft that lacked a bit of depth. You always pick a project player at some stage. He has good pace for a tall and he can run to the right spots. Hasnt shown much else but if Myers and Pears are a big sucess we wont be worrying too much that Hooker didnt make the grade.

I must say i'm really enjoying watching you guys play. Hard running attacking footy which is what the crowd want to see....just a bit unlucky tonight.

Just think some of the young lads like Reimers, Davey and Dempsey maybe should look to give the first option a bit more as they seemed to get caught a bit.

Not too sure about the other two indiginous players in Dick and Atkinson.....reckon they'll find themselves in the 2nds a bit this year.

Also i think Peverill is very, very underated. Guaranteed he'll give 110% everytime he plays and usually notches up a good 20 possies :thumbsu:

Good effort by the boys.
Time for Pev and Johnson to move on.
Liked the look of Neagle.
Watson is ridiculously slow. Had to cringe when he was chasing someone close to the boundary line where I was sitting. Gets the clearances though.
Ryder is too calm and needs to be belted before games.
Houli, Hislop and Jetta are three players I would like in the team.
Hooker, Chartres, Dick arent good enough. Chartres=:eek:. Hopefully he can make it but from what I have seen of him I wont be holding my breath.
Enjoy seeing Dempsey play and loom forward to seeing him play regularly this season.
Missing Lovett and Winderlich down the wings.
Good NAB Cup effort.

Johnson maybe yeah but Pev? I think you guys would struggle without him he is pretty reliable.
I dont think he is an integral part of the team. He will be superceded by the emerging kids so get him out now so we can pump games into the youngsters. Provided good service to Essendon but I think Pev's time is up.

I hope this game isn't an indication of how we'll be against real teams, because if it's true, we're in for a long season.

I thought Stanton was pretty ordinary despite racking up a lot of possessions. Doesn't look like he's even developed an ounce of a defensive game.

It's only NAB Cup. It doesn't mean anything anyway:p

On a serious note, I thought while we did make some stupid decisions tonight (which is to be expected with such an inexperienced side) there were a lot of positives to come out of the last three weeks. Which is all we can really ask for out of a pre-season. Well except for 300 odd thousand dollars:D

P.S. I've nicknamed Rama "Lace Out". Love watching him kick the footy.

Did ok considering what we were up against and had so many players resting from this one.

ant555 you would have to be the most pessimistic and deluded Essendon 'supporter' around. You've got no idea if you truly think we're that bad.

The saints did a very good job on shtutting us down. Forced us to the wings and flooded the defence so we had to be precise with our kicking into the 50. Ant, i agree on Pev, JJ and Watson in the midfield. I think that Hocking (who does have some pace) will be more valuable for the season and development wise. Although Watsn's lack of pace is an issue, he easily has a spot. JJ and Pev should be out by the end of the year, and i'm sure Knighter will play youngsters in the midfield.
Stanton was picking up a lot of cheap touches and when he was in the center square, didn't do much. In saying that, it was his first game and he was a little rusty and nervous.
The saints wanted the footy more. That's why they got all those free kicks in the center, the were first to the footy. Our tackling was sloppy and we just bombed it in the forward 50 too many times not giving our forwards a chance.

We still fought right to the very end and didn't stop until the siren sounded, very pleasing to see. And Dick and Chartes will struggle to get a game and Neagle was much more promising than Johns

Did ok considering what we were up against and had so many players resting from this one.

ant555 you would have to be the most pessimistic and deluded Essendon 'supporter' around. You've got no idea if you truly think we're that bad.

And how much have you watched our midfield perform over the last 5 years ?
I see it in action live every week in Melbourne and the same things have been coming up for over 6 years now. The proof is in the reults. You dont keep finishing in the bottom half if you are a good side. It has nothing to do with being pessimistic at all. Last week i was very happy with the improvements i saw. This week i was dissapointed with how the old habits started creeping back into the game. I am excited with a few of the young blokes we have coming through. Im very happy with how Knights has gone so far and was happy when he was appointed coach. Im also extremely pleased we have had three good hitouts in the NAB Cup and got some quality game time into a few of the younger players. The loss last night will probably work out better for our preperation becasue now we can take a squad to WA next week and work on giving Lloyd and Fletcher getting a couple of quarters of footy and fine tuning a few players .
Don't question how much of a suppoter i am. How many others in Melbourne (if work allows) will go and watch every week. Go to 90% of the Bendigo games and get down and observe training (if they can) ?
Im not delueded at all. Take the red and balck glass's off and watch a game from a coaching perspective ;) If i have no idea then i wouldn't have landed an asistant coaching role this year ;)
Like i said it is not being pessimistic. It is being annoyed that the bad habits of the past showed up again in a few areas last night.

Im not delueded at all. Take the red and balck glass's off and watch a game from a coaching perspective ;) If i have no idea then i wouldn't have landed an asistant coaching role this year ;)
Like i said it is not being pessimistic. It is being annoyed that the bad habits of the past showed up again in a few areas last night.

While we're at it Ant robus, can you tell the ruck coach to lift his game with Hille and the laggard Laycock. Vey disappointing the low intensity efforts to get to a boundary contest, and when they get there, where is the effort to get in front. They need to look at a tape of R.Merrett at boundary throw ins, always fought like buggery to get in front, and sharpened his elbows as well.

And how much have you watched our midfield perform over the last 5 years ?
I see it in action live every week in Melbourne and the same things have been coming up for over 6 years now. The proof is in the reults. You dont keep finishing in the bottom half if you are a good side. It has nothing to do with being pessimistic at all. Last week i was very happy with the improvements i saw. This week i was dissapointed with how the old habits started creeping back into the game. I am excited with a few of the young blokes we have coming through. Im very happy with how Knights has gone so far and was happy when he was appointed coach. Im also extremely pleased we have had three good hitouts in the NAB Cup and got some quality game time into a few of the younger players. The loss last night will probably work out better for our preperation becasue now we can take a squad to WA next week and work on giving Lloyd and Fletcher getting a couple of quarters of footy and fine tuning a few players .
Don't question how much of a suppoter i am. How many others in Melbourne (if work allows) will go and watch every week. Go to 90% of the Bendigo games and get down and observe training (if they can) ?
calm down dude, it was only the nab cup. Im sure Knights will work on it with Stanton.

So the plan is to put our old bad habits in play in the NAB Cup so we can come out and do something different in the regular season :rolleyes:
It had nothing to do with the result. If we lost by 4 goals but did imporove in areas we where lacking over the last 4 years i would not have made the comments i did. It has nothing to do with it only being the NAB Cup or results and everything to do with breaking out of the lazy low workrate ethic that has been in our midfield over the last 5 seasons. They showed they could do it last week.

stander said:
While we're at it Ant robus, can you tell the ruck coach to lift his game with Hille and the laggard Laycock. Vey disappointing the low intensity efforts to get to a boundary contest, and when they get there, where is the effort to get in front. They need to look at a tape of R.Merrett at boundary throw ins, always fought like buggery to get in front, and sharpened his elbows as well.

If i knew who our ruck coach was i would ;) The times i have been at training i have not seen a ruck coach. Seems to have fallen under Campo's control when they are working in with midfield setups.

So the plan is to put our old bad habits in play in the NAB Cup so we can come out and do something different in the regular season :rolleyes:
It had nothing to do with the result. If we lost by 4 goals but did imporove in areas we where lacking over the last 4 years i would not have made the comments i did. It has nothing to do with it only being the NAB Cup or results and everything to do with breaking out of the lazy low workrate ethic that has been in our midfield over the last 5 seasons. They showed they could do it last week.

If i knew who our ruck coach was i would ;) The times i have been at training i have not seen a ruck coach. Seems to have fallen under Campo's control when they are working in with midfield setups.
Well i watched the game from my couch, so i cant really comment on the workrate, doesnt sound so good though but we have got to remember that we got a young team just starting to learn a new gameplan, Knights has already said that we where a little behind where he wanted us to be in game learning.

As a coach (different code) I always try to remember the principle "last thing learnt is the first thing forgotten under pressure". The great thing about last nights game is that it gave the players an opportunity to experience a differnt type of pressure. Firstly a more physical game than the last two weeks and secondly the scoreboard. Knights will now have extra information on his players are areas to work on in the game plan. Last night was the type of game all teams have when developing or changing the game plan!

Lets put it into perspective. You blokes lost by 3 points to a side that should be a top 2-3 team this year, albeit without Goddard, Maguire, Hudghton, Kosi, Gehrig, but the Saints had their A-Grade midfield in and for long period you held your own. There is alot to look forward to for Bomber supporters.
Your midfeild suddlenly has gotten quicker and younger, there is more enthusiam and your ball movement is quicker.
Seem to be playing a W.Bulldogs style of half back, which will be tiring, especially for the kids. So the latter part of the year might be tough, as kids genrally wear out after about round 17-18.
Just don't expect too much. I know its considered a god given right for the Bombers to be a top eight side, but just relax and give them some time and in 2-3 years, you will have a very, very good side. Every club as gone through it and its just the Bombers turn.

I reckon if you win between 8-10 games, its been a very good year. And it will be a good launching pad for 2008.

Good luck for the rest of the year.

I will lead off with the biggest tee off on the negative side so far and i will have to cop the critics having a go at me for doing it but being at the game and watching a few of the bigger picture things eg how well they ran both ways and who worked hard and who didnt i just have to say it.

Stants. I hope he was just a bit rusty. Yes he found the footy a bit but he was softer than melted butter. Could not find the footy in the center square. Had absolutly no defensive pressure and kept calling for short handballs rather than trying to shepherd or put a block on.Dropped some easy marks as well.

Johns. Doesn't look to have improved in any areas since last year. Second efforts where minimal. He struggles to jump off the ground in a marking contest. Not sure why they keep trying to play him on a half forward flank. I know players have to play several positions now days but Johns is totaly useless at half forward or full forward for that matter.

Pev. When you are playing in defence you stick to your man. You dont run to the other side of the contest and let your opponent have a free run at the footy.

The running in waves was gone tonight. The workrate was well down on last week.
Tackling was poor. Clearances where terrible unless Watson was in the center.
JJ is really struggling to work both ways. He was really in trouble trying to find any pace when the opposition had the ball. I cant see how we can carry JJ, Pev and Watson in the same side anymore as it kills our ability to work both ways.

Laycock. Fire up will you. Here is your big chance and you are wondering around the ground like someone who thinks they have made the grade.

Ryder. Has all the ability and skill under the sun but still cant tackle and just doesnt look to have the inspiration to play 4 quaters at 100%. Has too many lazy efforts in amongst the really good stuff.

Slatts. Stuff all possessions and still gives away dumb free kicks.

Dean Dick goes at half pace for most of the time he is on the ground. It isn't WA Colts son. You cant just cruise around expecting to get a kick. His workrate is shocking.

Dempsey was good but had a lot of fumbles and droped a few marks.

Was really disapointed to see some of the old habits creeping back in. Players looking for short handballs and cheap stats rather than putting on shepherds and blocks. Too many times we simply tried kicking it to Lucas despite two players being on him or him not being any chance to make it to where the footy was kicked.

Hocking has a groin injury so he didnt play the second half. They where working on it at 1/4 time. Too bad as he was reasonable in the first quarter and i was interested to see how he would go playing on Harvey, Ball and Hayes.
It was a close loss and they fought it out to the end i was just annoyed to see some of the same old crap creeping back into the game. I think Knights would not have been happy with a lot of stuff he saw out there tonight.

On the plus side Magin was good with what he did. Neagle was very effective from the limited touch's he got. Davey was good. Watson looked good when he was in the middle.Dempsey was good (apart from the fumble issue).

This was the only thing I didn't agree with. Davey was only good in the last quarter. Other than that the amount of times the ball was pumped back outside our 50 as quickly as it got in by Jones was terrible. This has been happening for far too long, if the ball hits the deck I want at least one player to swarm on it and not it being so easily cleaned up by opposition defenders - obviously not only Davey's fault.

Like Ant said with Stanton, needs to work on his defensive pressure big time, I want him to get touches in the middle and not in the back pocket. That said, it was his first game.

I also thought that our HF line was also a problem last night. Lucas is fantastic but if he ventures outside 50 and drops a mark we're dead because he's just too slow. McPhee and NLM will hopefully rectify the situation leading up from HF.

Too many times Ryder just looks like he's going through the motions, on countless replays I saw him just stand there watching while a St. Kilda forward ran off to have a shot on goal. He needs a fire cracker up his clacker because he has all the tools to be the best big man in the comp - Just needs to add some desire.

I'll finish off saying that I love Reimers. If everyone had his attitude then we'd be a super team. Love your work son.

Don't get too excited about Jay folks. He got 2 soft goals and looked like he would struggle to outrun Stewie Dew.

Monfries - my fears about him were highlighted again tonight. Struggles to compete against the bigger, stronger bodies. He just seems a little small and not quick enough to make an impact at times.

Disappointing games from Johns, Welsh and a few others.

Dick and Chartres are not even close to AFL standard.

Positives were :

Dempsey - continues to improve and show us he has what it takes
Stanton - looked good in his first game and his kicking was sublime.
Nash - Pretty good once again. Has the hbf role locked in
Peverill - Another good game. Made a few mistakes but I think we'll need either him of JJ for round 1. Pev is miles in front.
Watson - starting to work into the game and was getting some clearances towards the end
Ryder - Athleticism is just fantastic. Needs to put it all together a little more but he's about to bust it open.

In the end it was left to too few and we didnt' have the depth of quality to get over a pretty strong Saints side, midfield wise.

Bit harsh there mate?
What do you want him to do? That was his 2nd game. Fisher ain't no weakling. The way he attacks the ball impressed me immensely.

The reason he got those "soft goals" was because of his attack on the ball, for a quarter there the st kilda defence were panicking everytime jay went near the ball. Also was in front position nearly everytime, and therefore won the footy. In on quarter jay showed more then johns have ever showed in a whole game...

More like his whole career.

Its gotta be nearly the end for Johns now. All being fit, he's gunna have to be number 5 in our tall forward ranks behind Lloyd, Lucas, Gumby & Neagle.

Even Hille and Laycock provide better options up forward.

If only he hadn't done his hip, he could have been anything..

We lost by 3 points and didn't play well at all, so lets keep our heads up.

With Pev yeah he had a decent game, but how long till we see the old Pev? If he plays 10 or games this year I wont be happy.

Got killed in the ruck, very dissapointing, will they ever find consistency?

Agree with Ant on Ryder, needs to friggin fire up

Don't mind Hooker as a project selection, isn't easy not easy getting minimal game time, become 3rd or 4th option when on and expect to take contested marks all the time

Stanton was average, hopefully was just easing it in

Sure Neagle got 1 or 2 soft goals but he looked decent on the lead

Monfries is struggling to play Round 1, not doing nearly enough

With a young team we're always going to have off weeks here and there and the fact we took it up to them in a high intensity match without playing close to our best was pleasing

Post match: vs StKilda