Review Post Mortem vs Bombers

• Thread starter Thread starter BoxMatrix

I'm not im just stating facts or you cant do that? I didn't bring up the September thing

Facts? We are the winningest team in the league in September (and by a long way).

Regardless of who brought it up did posting it really make you feel good? I think it could have been handled differently and you knew it would start a shitfight. I’m out either way...

Facts? We are the winningest team in the league in September (and by a long way).

Regardless of who brought it up did posting it really make you feel good? I think it could have been handled differently and you knew it would start a shitfight. I’m out either way...
I was talking gf win loss ratio as its been like 61 years since our last flag is September.

It wasn't to you but i was just giving a smartass reply to a smartass comment

You need to become aware of the history of the club you supposedly support sunshine.
What that we haven't won a flag in September since 58 and lost quite a few. Yeah i know it sport its not great

Keep moving those goal post

Clearly you don't as you dont even know how you come up with that conclusion.

As you can't seem to come up with a compelling - or in fact any facts to support your agenda try these . . .

1902, 1903, 1910, 1917, 1919, 1927, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1935, 1936, 1953, 1958, 1990, 2010

Jock McHale 59 finals matches for 16 grand finals for 8 flags - no coach comes anywhere in the same cosmos.

This club has played in 184 finals - that is finals participation in 82 out of 123 possible years.

So in short you are talking through your arse when you say we are September nobodies.

Glad we’re finally a team that can lock out the opposition.

Bank 4 points and move forward.
Sure, but I’d prefer to get out of the prisoner taking business, and into the Nazi killing business.

tumblr_ma6wkvULh21rvwttvo1_500.gif

As you can't seem to come up with a compelling - or in fact any facts to support your agenda try these . . .

1902, 1903, 1910, 1917, 1919, 1927, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1935, 1936, 1953, 1958, 1990, 2010

Jock McHale 59 finals matches for 16 grand finals for 8 flags - no coach comes anywhere in the same cosmos.

This club has played in 184 finals - that is finals participation in 82 out of 123 possible years.

So in short you are talking through your arse when you say we are September nobodies.

It comes down to grand final win/loss ratio.

You added 2010 and 1990 they were October. 58 was the last in September with a shit load of lost Grand finals in September.

At least get some of the facts right before you accuse me of talking through my arse

Sure, but I’d prefer to get out of the prisoner taking business, and into the Nazi killing business.

tumblr_ma6wkvULh21rvwttvo1_500.gif
Just brilliant.

When the nazi says I respectfully decline.

Also rains says, I was hoping you would say that.

Brains splattered follows.

A few things from my perspective:

- The booing. I’m with Bevo and think it’s a bit of a laugh. I mean who didn’t look at those Bombers fans during the presentation and laugh? That said good on Bucks for going into bat for his man. It’s little acts and moments like those that are beginning to define this group which is something to be proud of.

- The negativity of this thread. I’m not getting it? That was far from our best, but the thing is the best teams rarely allow you to have it on your terms for long periods and Essendon are a good team. They remind me a lot of us 12 months ago.

- Missed set shots. We all remember that game last October unfortunately? Well the result was a carbon copy with the better team on the day able to eke out a win. The tables were turned this time. Big difference was that because it’s a H&A match and there’s next week to play out the criticism rises. The opportunities were there for us to smash it open and unfortunately we blew three guilt edged opportunities in the third plus had a fourth denied by a bees...

- The reality is we held them to 69 points, had 3 more scoring shots and overcame a -18 clearance differential after 1/4 time with Daniher going off. Essendon blew chances as well, but they cashed in on three big set shots (Stringer x 2 and Daniher) that on any other day they may have turned into one or two goals at best.

- The umpiring was good. I only had the Cox one against Hooker and the Baguley one against Langdon as iffy one’s.

- On individuals. Obviously Pendles is the standout, but special mentions from me go to Maynard and Roughead. Maynard copped a lot on Thursday and he battled through it very well after a poor showing v Brisbane. Roughead took Brown completely out of it, big tick. Although the next step for him is to offer more support to Moore when he’s being outplayed. Also what’s with the criticism of Beamer? The blokes allowed one off game and I’m tipping it was a bit of an emotional let down after the game in Brisbane. We’re asking him to do a lot of heavy lifting ATM as the main inside mid and he needs more support, IMO.

I really want to highlight the negativity again because it’s completely unjustified. We’re 4-2 with a % over 120 and have hit the sweet spot only twice this year. There is little benefit in being on top of the ground in April as long as we’re building. I personally saw nothing to suggest we aren’t working towards our best when it matters...

I thought Roughead was fantastic also. I've been waiting for him to have a clear win against an opponent and I thought Brown would be tricky because he works hard up the ground. Brown also has been in really good form. Roughead didn't give him an inch. Really pleasing to see.

I also thought Phillips had a much improved game. He worked very hard to make position and was often pivotal in our passages of play with good ball movement. Also put his head over it alot. Not entirely clean with possession but I reckon he was really important to us.

Langdon keeps showing how good he is for us when the heat is on and the game is there to be won or lost.

What the hell us happening at the clearances though?

A few things from my perspective:

- The booing. I’m with Bevo and think it’s a bit of a laugh. I mean who didn’t look at those Bombers fans during the presentation and laugh? That said good on Bucks for going into bat for his man. It’s little acts and moments like those that are beginning to define this group which is something to be proud of.

- The negativity of this thread. I’m not getting it? That was far from our best, but the thing is the best teams rarely allow you to have it on your terms for long periods and Essendon are a good team. They remind me a lot of us 12 months ago.

- Missed set shots. We all remember that game last October unfortunately? Well the result was a carbon copy with the better team on the day able to eke out a win. The tables were turned this time. Big difference was that because it’s a H&A match and there’s next week to play out the criticism rises. The opportunities were there for us to smash it open and unfortunately we blew three guilt edged opportunities in the third plus had a fourth denied by a bees...

- The reality is we held them to 69 points, had 3 more scoring shots and overcame a -18 clearance differential after 1/4 time with Daniher going off. Essendon blew chances as well, but they cashed in on three big set shots (Stringer x 2 and Daniher) that on any other day they may have turned into one or two goals at best.

- The umpiring was good. I only had the Cox one against Hooker and the Baguley one against Langdon as iffy one’s.

- On individuals. Obviously Pendles is the standout, but special mentions from me go to Maynard and Roughead. Maynard copped a lot on Thursday and he battled through it very well after a poor showing v Brisbane. Roughead took Brown completely out of it, big tick. Although the next step for him is to offer more support to Moore when he’s being outplayed. Also what’s with the criticism of Beamer? The blokes allowed one off game and I’m tipping it was a bit of an emotional let down after the game in Brisbane. We’re asking him to do a lot of heavy lifting ATM as the main inside mid and he needs more support, IMO.

I really want to highlight the negativity again because it’s completely unjustified. We’re 4-2 with a % over 120 and have hit the sweet spot only twice this year. There is little benefit in being on top of the ground in April as long as we’re building. I personally saw nothing to suggest we aren’t working towards our best when it matters...

I think you've absolutely nailed every point.

Commentators make a huge deal about clearance stats and use them as pointers to suggest a massive lift in effort and intensity from one quarter to another, but the reality is the ball is oval, difficult to control and it bounces funny. A lot of luck is involved. Over the course of a season, the better clearance teams will come out statistically on top, but within individual quarters and games it's often just which team the ball is bouncing for.

Just finished watching the replay.

What a bunch of f kn sooks the Essendon supporters are.

Umpiring had nothing to do with their loss.

Looking forward to Round 23.

Let's hope they're playing for a spot in the 8 and we can shatter their dreams once again. Pack of flogs.

I thought Roughead was fantastic also. I've been waiting for him to have a clear win against an opponent and I thought Brown would be tricky because he works hard up the ground. Brown also has been in really good form. Roughead didn't give him an inch. Really pleasing to see.

I also thought Phillips had a much improved game. He worked very hard to make position and was often pivotal in our passages of play with good ball movement. Also put his head over it alot. Not entirely clean with possession but I reckon he was really important to us.

Langdon keeps showing how good he is for us when the heat is on and the game is there to be won or lost.

In truth I didn’t really notice Phillips influence on the game after 1/4 time and I’d assumed the hit from Brown took the wind out of his sails. I’m happy to accept that may not be overly accurate though!

As Sr36 posted clearances are pot luck much of the time. The club treat them as such which was confirmed in the podcast with a member of our analytics group which the Eagles poster shared with us. From there though I can offer a few little thoughts.

The first is that teams appear to now plan heavily for sharking Grundy’s ruckwork. He still loses HO, but the number of opposition HO to advantage against him would be remarkably low, IMO. Effectively everyone at his feet is now roving to him rather than a 50/50 split. We’re still adjusting to that.

Next we are setting up aggressively still and lack natural first possession players. It’s why JDG generally looks far more impactful when he goes through there. He creates movement at the fall of the ball and the rest of our guys feed the ball out with hands rather than driving through the contest with their legs. The thing with JDG is if he doesn’t shark it we’re exposed defensively. Sier is huge here, but it’s not worth harping on. Perhaps a defensive minded mid being more permanently in the midfield rotation would help.

Finally I think there’d be a metric we don’t see that would indicate we’re still doing well enough to not necessitate a change in structure or personnel through there. Whether it’s DE or metres gained from clearances I’m not sure, but it seems clear to me, given we’re conceding only 20 scoring shots a game, that it’s not the issue people on here think it is.

The one that I think we’re aware of and trying to tighten up is redtime scores. I noticed on Thursday we held up a red board on the boundary late in a quarter which is new for us.

I think everyone is being a bit harsh on Essendon supporters. They haven't moved past 1984 when they were awesome. You can't really expect them to understand changes to the holding the ball rules that occurred after the end of the 2018 season.

An entitled bunch of supporters of an irrelevant footy club. 15 years without a finals win. EAD Dons.

Does that mean grumpy old Jock was in cahoots with the VFL so the umpys would give us the right decisions? Or is it only in recent times that the AFL has begun instructing umpires to create close games?

I noticed on Thursday we held up a red board on the boundary late in a quarter which is new for us.
Previously they have been holding up how many minutes are left, I've noticed 5, 3, 2, 1 and even 30 seconds.
The red board was produced with 2 minutes to go and the last quarter was the only time I've seen it before.
Maybe that's their new MO going forward?