Autopsy Post Mortem vs Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter BoxMatrix

Umpiring in the second half was ordinary, yes. But Grundy won the hitouts today 53-12 and our midfield in the second half was largely ineffective. That killed us more than anything.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Hitouts are over rated. Especially when they are coming from Grundy. I'm liking what he does around the ground but he is useless with his tap work.

Take it from a guy who follows a team that is always getting screwed by the umpires... Collingwood got absolutely screwed by the umpires in the dying stages tonight.

You guys should have won that game, the umpires' hearts were certainly "beating true for the red and the blue", jesus... :huh:

I hear you brother but I never complain about umpires but we got bent over today (not that their is anything wrong with that for those inclined) I am sick of my Club being a charity for other teams.

Like someone else said earlier play the MND game against Essendon.

Some of the holding the balls against us when they didn't pay them all day was pathetic.

Let's not bitch about the umpires guys. Our team is pissweak. Bottom six material.

That's absolute freaking rubbish, we have a long way to go but far from bottom six, been in every game this year bar two. Considering the turnover since last game it was a bloody good effort even with the poor decisions and ball use.

Every right to bitch with rigged htb decisions the whole game. 5-6 'turnovers' from htb free kicks that weren't there, no 50/50 free kicks our way, do you think more balanced officiating would Lead to a 4 points? Back in your box ;)

Can anyone tell me why they had an extra week to prepare, whilst we were sent to Perth?

Ta.

Ps - SURELY ITS NOT THAT flipping HARD TO MAKE A SCHEDULE BORDERLINE FAIR

Kirby should have played ahead Brown and Ramsay should have played over Smith or Langdon. Brown didn't offer anything up forward and pushed around easily in the contest. Both Langdon and Smith are poor defensively aren't damaging enough offensively and slow.

Brown was fine in his first game mike123........look at some of the other players that made some serious wtf moments in this game.

Our second quarter was our best for the year, but we still didn't make them pay enough. We should have gone into half time with a 6 goal lead, but sloppy turnovers cost us. Dees did well to shut down Howe in the second half and our advantage with the ruck wasn't utilised enough. Should have put Pendlebury forward when it was clear Vince had him on a leash and thrown De Goey or Greenwood into the middle. We really need a key forward, shows how important Elliot is to the team. I liked Broomhead's game and I thought Crocker worked his way into it as well.

Umps were terrible. But we could have iced the game before half time. Shoulda been 8 goals up.

Hope we continue to play Brown. Thought he showed a bit today.

That's about as embarrassing as an opening post can get.

Terrific game of footy.
We controlled first half and should have been further in front but they ran all over us in the second half.
Can't complain about the effort but they had a line breaker like Hunt and we didn't.
Our lack of pace can hurt us at times as we rarely get an easy goal.
We lack skill but certainly not heart.

We have a few front running mids.

You're kidding right.? Aish is as soft as butter on a hot day and Broomehead is leading the AFL on handballs to players standing still. Doesn't matter if it's his own team or the opposition...on one occasion today he got a lucky ball out of the pack and handballed it back into the pack....give me a break

No we're not. We were missing 6 key players and we were deservedly underdogs as a result. Dees ran over us a bit coming off the bye and with us coming back from Perth.

Umpires were nothing short of insipid, particularly at the death when we had all of the play.

If the umpiring didn't cost us the match (which it did), then Taylor Adams did. He was abysmal. Even at the end there he had a target 45m out all alone in his line of sight, ignored him and kicked to a contest on the boundary. He made dumb decisions all day, turned it over all day, and cost us goals both ways all day. Worst game for the club and needs to reload over the bye.

Massive props to Broomhead who stood up with our guns being tagged out of it, he took a big step forward today and showed why he can make it.

Broomie's best game for the club. I can barely compose myself to type anything else that would make any sense.

The injustice of that umpiring is f***ng choking me.

I reckon we should have played Ramsay instead of Langdon. I don't think we can play all of Langdon, Scharenburg and Howe, the reason it works with Goldsack is because of Goldsack pace which allows him to play smaller. Today we should've played Maynard on Petracca but instead Maynard had to play on a smaller opponent. I think the coaches tried to do that latter in the game when the moved Crisp to him. But as we all saw Petracca killed us as he was simply to quick for anyone to go go with him. If Ramsey plays then Ramsay plays on Maynard smaller opponent and Maynard goes to Petracca.

Petracca would've kicked 10 goals on Maynard! They would have isolated him in the square and we would've have assisted them with that move. No thanks, Maynard can't defend in a one on one, he can defend zones and space though.

Hitouts are over rated. Especially when they are coming from Grundy. I'm liking what he does around the ground but he is useless with his tap work.
His stats don't tell the story today. I couldn't count the amount of times he tapped it directly to Melbourne followers.

You think the umps were biased? Be thankful if you didnt listen to channel 7 commentary all game... the blokes went on like Melbourne were down by 10+goals.

Poor from the midfield in the 2nd half. They got on top of us there clearance wise. We seemed to go into our shell after the2nd quarter. We didnt seem to take on the game like we did.

Greenwood holding the ball decision woeful, and 20seconds later on thewing viney (i think) on all fours over the ball in the same way and scoops it through his legs...plain as day. A few decisionswhich could have had an impact on the result.

Positives: Thought the ball movement was exceptional in the first half. A few turnovers at half back were costly but overall, players ran into space and the transitions were fluid.
Negatives: Second half. Ball use was atrocious. Feel that sometimes when we are locked in the pocket, we are better off going a safer kick down the wing and forcing a stoppage.

You're kidding right.? Aish is as soft as butter on a hot day and Broomehead is leading the AFL on handballs to players standing still. Doesn't matter if it's his own team or the opposition...on one occasion today he got a lucky ball out of the pack and handballed it back into the pack....give me a break
yeah nah o_O

Just have to piss him off. King of handballing to someone stationery under more pressure than what he is.

Worst umpired game this year. Favoured the dees start to finish and won them the game.

That last 5 minutes was an absolute embarrassment for the afl.

Thank you vast because I was turning into the Hulk because of those umpiring decisions.......