Or Mr PercivalIs it Melican as in 'Pelican', or Mel-eee-kan?
If it's the former, I'm christening him Storm Boy.
Let me have this.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Or Mr PercivalIs it Melican as in 'Pelican', or Mel-eee-kan?
If it's the former, I'm christening him Storm Boy.
Let me have this.
To add to that:Just my opinion...
This whole thing about supporting the club and not the player/s is just BS. Without the players there is no club, and without the club there are no players. To say that you support the club without supporting the players currently playing there is an oxymoron. And to use this as a reason to player bash is just a cop out.
This is not to say that there shouldn't be criticism of both the club and individual player/s... it is necessary and thought provoking (hopefully). Just that to justify your criticism by saying that you support the club and not the player/s is just a wee bit nonsensical to me.
Once a player (or coaching staff) has left the club, I may follow them with interest, but I no longer support them. I support the Sydney Swans! Whoever they may be at any given time.
As I said, just my opinion...
To add to that:
There's a big difference between criticism (player x is too slow these days and can't make the contest) and slagging off (player x is useless/worthless/some other personal shit). The former is fine but the latter is just releasing anger for no good purpose. Some of the stuff written on this board about McVeigh, Reid, Tippett, McGlynn, Towers, Cunningham, BJ and others is just plain poisonous. If the cap fits, wear it.
if you criticise a player on here and explain your reasons the same people who attack you for it are the same that mock and make fun of McVeigh, Reid, Tippett, McGlynn, Towers, Cunningham, BJ etc with apparently witty one-liners that make no mention of any reason or evidence for their pov.
Amen
Yesterday someone didnt rate a player and got asked if the player had run over his dog even though the poster gave good reason
Pretty immature
Didn't feel like tagging me in this mate? Pretty immature.
Why would i tag you, not talking about you..
Apologies, but that is an extremely weird coincidence that another poster would use the same line so soon after me.
1st is cursed.
3rd is where we win flags.
Dont forget stalking me on the SFA boardI find visiting other boards therapeutic, good to get out of the bubble occasionally and see how other people think. I'm just more selective about what I post.
I don't understand why people keep missing the point, that it doesn't matter even if a highly paid player such as Barry Hall was living like a king in Sydney, if he was earning the same salary anywhere else in Australia, the purchasing power of that salary will be greater than it is in Sydney. Thus, Sydney (without concessions) is at a disadvantage when it comes to competing with other clubs for playing talent.
And it's also because of the fact that NSW is not an established AFL state - there aren't enough home-grown players, so the Swans (and Lions in QLD) have to draft more youngsters from other states than the other clubs - and are compensated for the fact that they have more players on their list potentially vulnerable to 'homesickness'. The modified salary cap concessions reflect this, by allowing a concession to clubs with less than a certain % of home state players. This is why Brisbane had the concessions as well.
For a laugh, I've been browsing old COLA threads on the main board and found this which I posted way back in 2003. We've literally been having the same discussion for more than a decade. Sadly, we lost the battle for ideas and Eddie won.Anyway with a bit of luck and
tying Kinnear Beatson up in a basement on draft nightgood recruiting we might be able to rebuild like we did after 2009.
For a laugh, I've been browsing old COLA threads on the main board and found this which I posted way back in 2003. We've literally been having the same discussion for more than a decade. Sadly, we lost the battle for ideas and Eddie won.Anyway with a bit of luck and
tying Kinnear Beatson up in a basement on draft nightgood recruiting we might be able to rebuild like we did after 2009.
13,000th post
quoting yourself, arrogance![]()
+ the annual namechange.13,000 in 14 years is an impressively slow rate. Doesn't Sir Swans/swansrule100/guy from tassie get through like 13,000 posts in about 2 months?
13,000 in 14 years is an impressively slow rate. Doesn't Sir Swans/swansrule100/guy from tassie get through like 13,000 posts in about 2 months?
Especially Hawthorn ith Rioli out 8-12 weeks, James Frawley for ~ 8 weeks.Just had a quick look at the draw for the rest of the season now that we seem to have recaptured some sort of form. Think we have been lucky with the teams we get to play twice this year:
Bulldogs at SCG- We must be due to beat them especially at home and, anyway, they aren't playing as well as last year.
Hawthorn- A super bonus! We need to take advantage of their decline and win both of these. Won't be easy.
StKilda- We seem to match up well on them and can win both if we select a side with some pace to match their run.
GWS at Spotless- maybe we are a chance with their long injury list.
Carlton at SCG- If the boys have any pride they should smash Carlton at home for a percentage boost. Would like to see us target Wright or one of their younger players (Eg. Silvagni) like they did to Mills at the MCG game. See how they like it.
Other difficult games- Adelaide at AO is difficult but not impossible, same for Geelong at Simmonds. Melbourne at the G will be tough.
Reckon we can sneak into the 8 and ride our luck/form from there in the finals.