Potential Draftee Watch - Version 2008

A bloke on the draft board said he saw Mark Thompson on a plane to Hobart and apparently Bomber said he was seeing a potential draftee. Now it could be pure bullshit, but are Geelong considering Cornelius or Robinson for the 1st rounder?

That concerns me a bit.

A bloke on the draft board said he saw Mark Thompson on a plane to Hobart and apparently Bomber said he was seeing a potential draftee. Now it could be pure bullshit, but are Geelong considering Cornelius or Robinson for the 1st rounder?

That concerns me a bit.

Surely it's for the second round pick (#33), if not.....:eek::eek::eek:

These is both my ideal and predicted selections, I made them myself on one of the mock draft threads :thumbsu::D

Pick 15- Lewis Johnstone (please god)
Pick 33- Matthew Broadbent
Pick 39-Jordan Jones
Pick 49- Nathan O'Keefe

thoughts?

FYI:
Rizzo’s top 30 talents of 2008

1. Lewis Johnstone
2. Daniel Rich
3. Hamish Hartlett
4. Steele Sidebottom
5. Jack Watts
6. Nick Suban
7. Jack Ziebell
8. Shaun McKernan
9. Michael Hurley
10. Nathan O’Keefe
11. Matthew DeBoer
12. Nicholas Natanui
13. Mitch Robinson
14. Ranga Edwickirama
15. Matthew Broadbent
16. Jordan Lisle
17. Chris Hall
18. Tyrone Vickery
19. Stephen Hill
20. Ayce Cordy
21. David Zharakis
22. Scott Blessing
23. Mithcell Friall
24. Sam Blease
25. Paul Cahill
26. Clancee Pearce
27. Jamie Sheehan
28. Ryan Shoenmakers
29. Sam Hughes
30. Jarrod Blair

Some others
Chris Yarran
Tom Rockliff
Tom Salter
Tom Lynch
Jordan Roughead
Jordan Jones
Rhys O’Keefe
Tom Scully
Michael Walters
Aaron Cornelius
Kade Klemke

HAHAHAHA this is surely a joke...

IDEAL:

15: Tom Swift. I think I've already outlined why I want him. Would be perfectly happy with Trengove/Johnstone/Lisle, but IMO Swift is an utterly unique footballer in this draft (and in general).

33: Matthew Broadbent. A bit of love for Pivot here, I trust his judgement. Would be equally happy with the other HBF'ers being thrown around - O'Keefe and Ash Smith come to mind.

39/49: Two of Post/Milne/Jones/Gillies(?) would round it out for me. We need KPD's; with Swift and Broadbent both having the size and ability to play HBF as well as midfield we can afford to leave it late and concentrate on no-nonsense defenders rather than looking for guys who can attack as well.

A few other comments:

- Key forwards: can vaguely see a need given Nablett's retirement, but would be pretty disappointed if we took a key forward other than Johnstone high. Cornelius looks a good player, but not good enough to justify taking him first round when Simpson and Hawkins are already in the wings.

- Small forwards/pace: can't see a need at all. We have half a dozen small forward types (or guys who have pace) on the fringes of the side. We might rookie one as a replacement for Davenport, but again would be disappointed if we went for a small before third round.

Putting it this way, these are the guys who left the club:

- Prismall (outside mid)
- Jason Davenport (fast outside mid/small forward)
- Nathan Ablett (mobile KPF)
- Liam Bedford (small defender, rookie)
- Chris Kangars (KPD)
- Matthew Egan (KPD)

The acquistion of Ranga makes the loss of Davenport and Prismall less severe, IMO. He's not an exact match for either player but can fill that hole in the midfield. You would think he'd be elevated for Egan straight away.

Beyond that, you'd think the club took some account of Nablett's decision when they drafted in '07, and as I said before I don't see the pressing need for another forward. We clearly need tall defenders.

41 posts since March 2007??... says it all really, no credibility

you're the joke!

Off you go... leave now :thumbsdown:

bit harsh there... tbh i can sort of see where he is coming from the chris yarren omission for me is enough to wonder where he got those rankings from. if it was ranked on talent alone as the title suggests there is no way he isnt in the top 30.

good on ya for giving it a go, and in a way nice to see some different names thrown out there. but dont know how accurate it is

IDEAL:

15: Tom Swift. I think I've already outlined why I want him. Would be perfectly happy with Trengove/Johnstone/Lisle, but IMO Swift is an utterly unique footballer in this draft (and in general).

33: Matthew Broadbent. A bit of love for Pivot here, I trust his judgement. Would be equally happy with the other HBF'ers being thrown around - O'Keefe and Ash Smith come to mind.

39/49: Two of Post/Milne/Jones/Gillies(?) would round it out for me. We need KPD's; with Swift and Broadbent both having the size and ability to play HBF as well as midfield we can afford to leave it late and concentrate on no-nonsense defenders rather than looking for guys who can attack as well.

A few other comments:

- Key forwards: can vaguely see a need given Nablett's retirement, but would be pretty disappointed if we took a key forward other than Johnstone high. Cornelius looks a good player, but not good enough to justify taking him first round when Simpson and Hawkins are already in the wings.

- Small forwards/pace: can't see a need at all. We have half a dozen small forward types (or guys who have pace) on the fringes of the side. We might rookie one as a replacement for Davenport, but again would be disappointed if we went for a small before third round.

Putting it this way, these are the guys who left the club:

- Prismall (outside mid)
- Jason Davenport (fast outside mid/small forward)
- Nathan Ablett (mobile KPF)
- Liam Bedford (small defender, rookie)
- Chris Kangars (KPD)
- Matthew Egan (KPD)

The acquistion of Ranga makes the loss of Davenport and Prismall less severe, IMO. He's not an exact match for either player but can fill that hole in the midfield. You would think he'd be elevated for Egan straight away.

Beyond that, you'd think the club took some account of Nablett's decision when they drafted in '07, and as I said before I don't see the pressing need for another forward. We clearly need tall defenders.

Good comments there. I was concerned if we only had 3 picks in the draft we might be forced to take a KPD with pick 15 rather than just the best pick available. The extra pick 49 and still getting Ranga will hopefully be the critical reason we can do really well again with this draft. Wells will be another major factor of course but he will have the necessary room to move and not panic early in the draft if certain players dont fall our way. looking forward to it.

[quote=thejester;13109357]IDEAL:

[/quote]

TJ. I beg to differ with you on the small forward front. I have thought that Geelong have lacked a crumming small forward for quite some time. I think that Gary Ablett would be superb for the job given his hands, roving ability and the way that he can weave his way through the thickest traffic. Of course, the problem is that he is required elsewhere.

Stokesy is probably the closest that we have. Travis plays far to wide for the job imho. And I have only seen a few short passages of play on Ranga, but I loved his attack on the ball. He could be a possibilty.

I think that big players like Hawkins and Ottens , Mooney will always create a contest up forward. But what frustrates me is that so often when our talls compete for a mark and the ball spills to the ground the opposition backs run the ball out with ease with no crummer to assist our talls.

TJ. I beg to differ with you on the small forward front. I have thought that Geelong have lacked a crumming small forward for quite some time. I think that Gary Ablett would be superb for the job given his hands, roving ability and the way that he can weave his way through the thickest traffic. Of course, the problem is that he is required elsewhere.

Stokesy is probably the closest that we have. Travis plays far to wide for the job imho. And I have only seen a few short passages of play on Ranga, but I loved his attack on the ball. He could be a possibilty.

I think that big players like Hawkins and Ottens , Mooney will always create a contest up forward. But what frustrates me is that so often when our talls compete for a mark and the ball spills to the ground the opposition backs run the ball out with ease with no crummer to assist our talls.

would love a yarren to end up at the cattery, but think he will be well and truely gone by 15. he would do this job very nicely and can take a decent grab for someone his height. still there might be a bit of hope he will slide :rolleyes:

HAHAHAHA this is surely a joke...

Good on you knob. Feel free to have a discussion about my selection's but your reply was just pointless. Lemme guess you read a few threads and now your an arm chair expert? Have a crack at your own one or give something constructive.

bit harsh there... tbh i can sort of see where he is coming from the chris yarren omission for me is enough to wonder where he got those rankings from. if it was ranked on talent alone as the title suggests there is no way he isnt in the top 30.

good on ya for giving it a go, and in a way nice to see some different names thrown out there. but dont know how accurate it is

Rankings are my own. I've been watching a fair bit of the underage stuff for the past few years, and did my same ratings last year. Picked Palmer to be the best player from the draft. McEvoy 2nd IIRC. Yarren non selection doesn't really worry me. I've found him a bit overrated. Always happy to be proven wrong though ;) but at the minute it is all speculation.

Only time will tell.

I agree that we didn't have enough guys at the fall of the ball last year, but that was an issue of gameplan and not players. Between Chapman, SJ, Stokes and Varcoe we have plenty of small forward talent, but they're consistently pushed up the ground. Partly I think that's the result of our lack of a 'true' CHF; Johnson and Chapman in particular look to push up on the 50 to provide the link.

With Ranga having spent time as a small forward I just think the need isn't really there. Would be happy to rookie an indigenous kid with some pace but IMO blowing a pick on it would be a waste.

So Burga's Phantom is out:

15 – GEELONG – ASHLEY SMITH
Dandenong Stingrays, VIC, Medium defender, July 20, 1990, 185.5cm, 84.7kg
(Draft range: 5-32)

Some recruiters believe Smith is as talented as any player in this draft. Widely regarded as a solid top 30 selection, he has even been touted as a smoky for the Dons at No.5. Hawthorn (No.16) and Port Adelaide (No.22) are also genuinely prospects, but in recent weeks, Smith has shot right into contention at Geelong and looms its most likely choice, unless Johnston is available. The Cats will be keeping an eye out for Trengove if he slid through and Swift, who remains right in the reckoning.

33 – GEELONG – MATTHEW BROADBENT
Eagles, SA, Tall defender, August 1, 1990, 189.3cm, 83.2kg
(Draft range: 15-33)

It would be very difficult to see the Cats pass up Broadbent at No.33, considering he is in their mix at No.15. The South Australian has plenty of admirers, including Hawthorn, Port Adelaide and Adelaide. He is widely praised among the recruiting fraternity and with Geelong looking to bolster its defence, he fits the bill. Cornelius will also be seriously looked at if available.

39 – GEELONG – AARON CORNELIUS
Tassie Mariners, TAS, Tall forward, May 29, 1990, 191.9cm, 83.7kg
(Draft range: 22-49)

Cornelius is regarded very highly by some recruiters, although he has drifted a little in the pecking order. It would not surprise if he was taken early in the second round or the back end of the third. Port Adelaide, Essendon, Sydney Swans, Western Bulldogs and Geelong have been the most common links. The Cats may also consider Luke Rounds and Ben Bucovaz at this pick.

49 – GEELONG – LUKE ROUNDS
Geelong Falcons, VIC, Medium midfielder, February 10, 1991, 180.9cm, 74.5kg
(Draft range: 39-not selected)

There is a strong chance Rounds will be snapped up by Geelong. A local boy from the Falcons, Rounds has also attracted interest from Essendon (67 or 79) and Collingwood (73) late in the draft. Bucovaz and Hall are two other strong contenders for Geelong's final pick, with Shiels, Jetta, Bart McCulloch, Jordan Jones, Jamie Sheahan, Sam McGarry, Riley Milne and Lance Daly also in the mix.

Would be reaosnably happy with this, though it's pretty unlikely that we would only go with one KPP and have him as a forward. Likewise good to see Swift and Trengove both seem to be being considered.

In terms of grabbing 4 players with talent you could not argue with those picks. On a needs basis you could argue we could do with an extra tall.

Agreed. I'd be disappointed if we took Ash Smith so early with McKernan and Lisle around.

41 posts since March 2007??... says it all really, no credibility

you're the joke!

Off you go... leave now :thumbsdown:

haha whatever mate. i've probably seen more underage games than you have afl games! and unlike your good self, have some very very credible connections of people in the know.

Here's my views on your players mentioned.

1. Lewis Johnstone - yes he can play, but nowhere near the most talented player in this years crop.
2. Daniel Rich - Similar to Palmer but not as good.
3. Hamish Hartlett - This bloke will win the rising star next year.
4. Steele Sidebottom - Alot of people have jumped on him after his 10 goals haul though.
5. Jack Watts - If Jack Watts isn't the most talented player in the draft i'll go he.
6. Nick Suban - negative. Very good player but he's a hard worker, not the 6th best talent in the draft.
7. Jack Ziebell - GUN. One of the best in this years draft.
8. Shaun McKernan - Tall, lanky, unorthodox, but can play. Not sure he is should be this far up the list of talented players though.
9. Michael Hurley - Just a big unit who dominated the underage comp. Very similar to Nathan Brown of Collingwood.
10. Nathan O’Keefe - Don't know much bout him.
11. Matthew DeBoer - Don't know much bout him.
12. Nicholas Natanui - I agree that he is probably this low on talented players. He is just so exciting though which is why he'll go so high.
13. Mitch Robinson - Absoluet gun. One of the best ball winners in the draft.
14. Ranga Edwickirama - not a chance he's this good.
15. Matthew Broadbent - Don't know much bout him.
16. Jordan Lisle - Just
17. Chris Hall - Don't know much bout him.
18. Tyrone Vickery - yup - I don't think he's as good as everybody makes him out to be.
19. Stephen Hill - yup - Definately not as good as everyone makes him out to be.
20. Ayce Cordy - Super talent that would of been much higher on this list if people had seen him play. Will struggle for first few years for the dogs purely cause he is so light.
21. David Zaharakis - Gun. Fantastic leader and ball winner. Should be higher on the talented list.
22. Scott Blessing - Don't know much bout him.
23. Mithcell Friall - Don't know much bout him.
24. Sam Blease - Kicked 2 goals in the state game. Without that wouldn't be on this list.
25. Paul Cahill - Don't know much bout him.
26. Clancee Pearce - Don't know much bout him.
27. Jamie Sheehan - Absoluet gun and should be much higher.
28. Ryan Shoenmakers - Very exciting talent and should be higher.
29. Sam Hughes - You're kidding me. He wouldn't be in the top 150 talented players in this years draft.
30. Jarrod Blair - Very good ball winner. Tough inside player.

Some others
Chris Yarran - Has to be on this list. Him not being on it is a disgrace.
Tom Rockliff - Very very strong forward playing in an underage comp.
Tom Salter - Don't know much bout him.
Tom Lynch - Very very good player and must be in the top 20 at least talented players.
Jordan Roughead - Extreamly good ruckman that can mark. I rate him on par with Vickery just behind Cordy and Naitanui as the best ruckman.
Jordan Jones - Talent = yes. But not up to it.
Rhys O’Keefe - Don't know much bout him, but from what i understand he has huge ability.
Tom Scully - GUN. I'd have him in this list.
Michael Walters - Don't know much bout him, but from what i understand he has huge ability.
Aaron Cornelius - Very good forward with huge potential.
Kade Klemke - Very good leader out on the ground and can play.

How can you not have Jackon Trengove in it?

Agreed. I'd be disappointed if we took Ash Smith so early with McKernan and Lisle around.

With Ranga being rookie listed I would have thought we could take 2 talls in this draft. I haven't got so much a problem taking Ash Smith with our first pick (if he is deemed to be worth it) and even Cornelius with our second, but would hope that we may take another tall with our third in those circumstances.

Interesting that the same players that we have mentioned on this thread in Johnston, Trengove and Swift are all mentioned by Burgan as being on Geelong's radar. Burgan hasn't picked our first pick correctly for a while now. I am not reading too much into this phantom either.

Have a crack at your own one or give something constructive.

Well guys here is my list as it was asked of me. However I have excluded the players I don’t know enough about (mostly WA and SA players). Thus, there would be plenty of players excluded from my list that probably should be in there.
**Reminder this is based on talent, not where they will be drafted…

1 – JACK WATTS
2 – DANIEL RICH
3 – HAMISH HARTLETT
4 – JACKSON TRENGOVE
5 – JACK ZIEBELL
6 – STEELE SIDEBOTTOM
7 – NICHOLAS NAITANUI
8 – NICK HEYNE
9 – CHRIS YARRAN
10 – MICHAEL HURLEY
11 – AYCE CORDY
12 – TYRONE VICKERY
13 – STEPHEN HILL
14 – LEWIS JOHNSTON
15 – TOM LYNCH
16 – SAM BLEASE
17 – ASHLEY SMITH
18 – DAVID ZAHARAKIS
19 – MITCH ROBINSON
20 – RYAN SCHOENMAKERS
21 – DAYNE BEAMS
22 – RORY SLOANE
23 – JAMIE SHEEHAN
24 – MITCHELL BANNER
25 – JORDAN ROUGHEAD
26 – BEN BUCOVAZ
27 – SAM WRIGHT
28 – SHAUN McKERNAN
29 – LUKE SHUEY
30 – BRYN WEADEN

With others that weren't far from the mark...
JAYDYN POST, JORDAN LISLE, NICK SUBAN, JAMES STRAUSS, AARON CORNELIUS, DAN HANNEBERY, JORDAN JONES, JARRYD BLAIR, TOM SCULLY, ZACC LEDIN

I'd be reasonably happy with that draft. I would be disappointed if we overlooked Swift for Smith, but I wouldn't be totally unhappy with Smith as I rate him highly.

Rhino, it looks like the only knowledge you have on the draft are the top 15 or so prospects and the high possession TAC Cup players.

How do you justify Robinson being an "absolute gun" and Ranga as "not a chance he is this good" when Rizzo has them 13 and 14 respectively? Robinson is a 19 year old dominating against 16, 17 and 18 year olds while Ranga is 17, averaging more disposals a game than Robinson. Ranga is a great AFL midfield size. How can you possibly think there is such gap between them to say this?

Plus, there is no way that Jamie Sheehan should be higher he is too short and doesn't have any outstanding features except for ball winning abaility. I guess you also rate Mitch Banner a top 3 prospect considering he averages over 30 touches a game and kicked plenty of goals?

Rhino, you may have watched plenty of junior footy, but you don't judge the best talent by who gets in the best the most.

it's also easy to do a top 30 a couple days out from the draft. No doubt my list would change now but a month or so ago that was my 30.

you also told me that blease at 24 shouldn't be in the list.. But you have him at 16. WTF?

On further reflection I reckon Burgan may be on the money with Smith as our top pick assuming that Johnston is already gone.

If they are unwilling to take the risk on Swift, then others to be mentioned as being considered were McKernan, Trengove and even Broadbent.

Trengove will in all likelihood be gone as well. They may consider McKernan to be a bit of a "tweener" and so pass on him.

That really only leaves Smith and Broadbent other than if they elevate someone like Schoenmakers in their thinking.

Hence the selection of Smith as best available and best fit. Would provide an injection of pace and long penetrating kicking to our backline.

I would then think it unlikely we would take Broadbent as another medium backman. Funnier things have happened though.

Cornelius, if available, would be a lock seeing we missed out on Johnston.

Hopefully, if someone like Post was still around he would be considered as a third-fourth round selection.

as with nearly everyone on here i would hope we take swift at 15 if still there. also like the look of mckernan so maybe he would be worth a shot. cant really fault broadbent and cornelius at 33 and 39. thought one of the okeefes would be a go at 49, rhys or nathan. if the rumours about us being keen on nathan okeefe are true then he would surely go to us. otherwise would maybe rather rhys okeefe as a medium defender/ hbf at 49

haha whatever mate. i've probably seen more underage games than you have afl games! and unlike your good self, have some very very credible connections of people in the know.

Here's my views on your players mentioned.

1. Lewis Johnstone - yes he can play, but nowhere near the most talented player in this years crop.
2. Daniel Rich - Similar to Palmer but not as good.
3. Hamish Hartlett - This bloke will win the rising star next year.
4. Steele Sidebottom - Alot of people have jumped on him after his 10 goals haul though.
5. Jack Watts - If Jack Watts isn't the most talented player in the draft i'll go he.
6. Nick Suban - negative. Very good player but he's a hard worker, not the 6th best talent in the draft.
7. Jack Ziebell - GUN. One of the best in this years draft.
8. Shaun McKernan - Tall, lanky, unorthodox, but can play. Not sure he is should be this far up the list of talented players though.
9. Michael Hurley - Just a big unit who dominated the underage comp. Very similar to Nathan Brown of Collingwood.
10. Nathan O’Keefe - Don't know much bout him.
11. Matthew DeBoer - Don't know much bout him.
12. Nicholas Natanui - I agree that he is probably this low on talented players. He is just so exciting though which is why he'll go so high.
13. Mitch Robinson - Absoluet gun. One of the best ball winners in the draft.
14. Ranga Edwickirama - not a chance he's this good.
15. Matthew Broadbent - Don't know much bout him.
16. Jordan Lisle - Just
17. Chris Hall - Don't know much bout him.
18. Tyrone Vickery - yup - I don't think he's as good as everybody makes him out to be.
19. Stephen Hill - yup - Definately not as good as everyone makes him out to be.
20. Ayce Cordy - Super talent that would of been much higher on this list if people had seen him play. Will struggle for first few years for the dogs purely cause he is so light.
21. David Zaharakis - Gun. Fantastic leader and ball winner. Should be higher on the talented list.
22. Scott Blessing - Don't know much bout him.
23. Mithcell Friall - Don't know much bout him.
24. Sam Blease - Kicked 2 goals in the state game. Without that wouldn't be on this list.
25. Paul Cahill - Don't know much bout him.
26. Clancee Pearce - Don't know much bout him.
27. Jamie Sheehan - Absoluet gun and should be much higher.
28. Ryan Shoenmakers - Very exciting talent and should be higher.
29. Sam Hughes - You're kidding me. He wouldn't be in the top 150 talented players in this years draft.
30. Jarrod Blair - Very good ball winner. Tough inside player.

Some others
Chris Yarran - Has to be on this list. Him not being on it is a disgrace.
Tom Rockliff - Very very strong forward playing in an underage comp.
Tom Salter - Don't know much bout him.
Tom Lynch - Very very good player and must be in the top 20 at least talented players.
Jordan Roughead - Extreamly good ruckman that can mark. I rate him on par with Vickery just behind Cordy and Naitanui as the best ruckman.
Jordan Jones - Talent = yes. But not up to it.
Rhys O’Keefe - Don't know much bout him, but from what i understand he has huge ability.
Tom Scully - GUN. I'd have him in this list.
Michael Walters - Don't know much bout him, but from what i understand he has huge ability.
Aaron Cornelius - Very good forward with huge potential.
Kade Klemke - Very good leader out on the ground and can play.

How can you not have Jackon Trengove in it?

Oh really mate, for a guy so 'in the know' you only seem to 'know' about the real 'name' players of the draft (most of the good players, you have just typed 'GUN' ), there are alot of 'don't know much about hims'

And for your information I do know people in the sporting/sporting media industry!!

Potential Draftee Watch - Version 2008