Potential rookie elevations

So it appears Menzel has been sent to the LTI list, meaning a rookie can be elevated.

So whom out of Bathie, Walker, Blicivas, Sherringham, Eardley, Stringer, Burbury or Simpkin should get the call?

I think Joffa is probably the closest with Walker and Stringer close behind...

Thoughts?

Go Catters

Re: Menzel to LTI list...

Will be Bathie or Burbury I reckon...
Bathie would be very important if we had another ruck injury.
And Burbury looks like the type who can fill the Menzel hole ironically (plus he is a Tassie boy :thumbsu:)

Walker or Bathie.

Walker showed some good signs last week.

AFL listed replacements for a mid sized player are reasonably well catered for at Catland without elevating a rookie listed player.

This has already been covered in the Menz injury thread but anyway...

Walker would be the frontrunner based on friday, he and Bathie would be the greatest chance given we have more depth in smalls/mids than talls. Simpkin and Burbury also chances if they play well though. Despite not playing well last week Joffa was very close to being elevated last year so is a chance if he finds form this week, and Burbury showed good signs first up. Still based on needs/injuries, Walker/Bathie IMO.

Walker looked most likely, but who can ruck? I'd have thought Bathie (don't know a heap about the rookie listed players).

We've only got Stephenson and West as ruck. One goes down and who rucks? Lonergan?

That's why I'd have thought Bathie.

This has already been covered in the Menz injury thread but anyway...

Walker would be the frontrunner based on friday, he and Bathie would be the greatest chance given we have more depth in smalls/mids than talls. Simpkin and Burbury also chances if they play well though. Despite not playing well last week Joffa was very close to being elevated last year so is a chance if he finds form this week, and Burbury showed good signs first up. Still based on needs/injuries, Walker/Bathie IMO.

Sorry PO, didn't mean to re hash.....

Was more looking at talking about the Rookie list upgrade rather than Menz's knee but I guess they are interconnected. If SJ / Mod needs to kill it go ahead.... :D

Go Catters...

Walker would have to be the first choice, given what he showed in the NAB cup and the amount of small forwards already at our disposal an extra tall would be a good fit.

1. Walker
2. Bathie
3. Burbury

Walker looked most likely, but who can ruck? I'd have thought Bathie (don't know a heap about the rookie listed players).

We've only got Stephenson and West as ruck. One goes down and who rucks? Lonergan?

That's why I'd have thought Bathie.

Bathie would be the more likely ruck as he has a much bigger leap than Walker and has done it at vfl level (albeit I don't think he's a ruck at afl level, he's a key defender, but if we were desperate...)

But anyway the point is they are not going to elevate Bathie as a ruckman unless West or Orren are injured (i hope it doesn't come to that) and therefore to play round 1 Bathie would have to get in as a backman ahead of Scarlo Harry Lonners etc, whereas in the forward line Walker has more of a chance of fitting in the team.

Don't forget that if the unthinkable happened re another ruck injury they could always put Vardy or Dawson LTI to do a second rookie elevation re Bathie. Hence I think Walker is in front right now, although this week's game will count for a lot.

Walker and Bathie would be the obvious 2 based on needs and in particular Walker's form in the first NAB game, but don't be surprised to see Stringer elevated. From what i read from one of the senior players(can't find the link) they've been pretty impressed with the way he trains and love his hardness at the contest and ball winning ability. He could be a smoky.

If he continues to show promise my choice is Walker.

Reason being, we need the insurance of another power forward, they win finals games as we well know from last year.

He can play defence, played mostly down back last year for experience and versitility, since coming from the Falcon's as a CHF.

Has put on size for sure, since his first season, and maybe added a cm or two. So he's not lacking for strength at this early stage of development.
He's a hard trainer and very motivated. Family club history.

He frees up Westy, and that helps Orren.

I like Burbury, reckon he's a bit of a Menzell in the making, but at the moment for me, first up it's Walker.

So it appears Menzel has been sent to the LTI list, meaning a rookie can be elevated.

So whom out of Bathie, Walker, Blicivas, Sherringham, Eardley, Stringer, Burbury or Simpkin should get the call?

I think Joffa is probably the closest with Walker and Stringer close behind...

Thoughts?

Go Catters

Excuse my ignorance, but who is Joffa?

Simpkin can play. He should be on a list. What i saw of Gold Coast yesterday and GWS today he would be a walk up IMO. Very shallow lists.

I mean what value is Campbell Brown? He can only be played in the hope he takes a good opposition player out. Mind you after last night they must be wondering about this.

Selwood was much too smart - put in the short one and Brown careered into his team mate!

Unfortunately GFC is the only club interested - Simpkin is in a deep pool at GFC.

Simpkin can play. He should be on a list. What i saw of Gold Coast yesterday and GWS today he would be a walk up IMO. Very shallow lists.

I mean what value is Campbell Brown? He can only be played in the hope he takes a good opposition player out. Mind you after last night they must be wondering about this.

Selwood was much too smart - put in the short one and Brown careered into his team mate!

Unfortunately GFC is the only club interested - Simpkin is in a deep pool at GFC.

GFC and Geelong have a pretty good and sensible trading relationship I do believe, so something may come of this.

Wholeheartedly agree, he deserves the opportunity, and has the talent.

Maybe we can see a deal looming that involves Simpkin to one of the new clubs for a serious draft benefit?

Would make sense to both party's, hard inside mature AFL quality, they are tough to find, we're just fortunate ATM.

GC have some good upcoming small forwards, but Simpkin's an inside ball winner, very valuable type to assist Ablett and the Giants just need one for starters.

With Selwood, Hogan and maybe later Eardley, Simpkin could be for trade, no fault of his.

It's a bit of a fluff piece, and Rahilly didn't actually say he's likely to be elevated, but yeah given our tall stocks are thinner than our smalls (particularly with only 2 fit ruckmen) if we elevate a rookie in the first couple of months it's highly likely to be Bathie or Walker. I think Simpkin Burbury and also Stringer can play if given the chance, but they are less likely to be needed. Against some of the sides with weaker ruck divisions they may consider resting West or Orren (they'll have to give them a break at some stage) and throw Bathie or Walker in as ruck pinch hitters, if their form warrants a game. At least the carrot is there.

It'll either be Joshy boy Walker or Georgie Porgie Burbury.

Apologies for the childish nicknames.

I like the kick in young Burbury and it sounds like Walker's got a nice little grunt about him.

It'll either be Joshy boy Walker or Georgie Porgie Burbury.

Apologies for the childish nicknames.

I like the kick in young Burbury and it sounds like Walker's got a nice little grunt about him.

I prefer the PO's logic.

But Burbury is a great chance next if he continues to improve.

It's a bit of a fluff piece, and Rahilly didn't actually say he's likely to be elevated, but yeah given our tall stocks are thinner than our smalls (particularly with only 2 fit ruckmen) if we elevate a rookie in the first couple of months it's highly likely to be Bathie or Walker. I think Simpkin Burbury and also Stringer can play if given the chance, but they are less likely to be needed. Against some of the sides with weaker ruck divisions they may consider resting West or Orren (they'll have to give them a break at some stage) and throw Bathie or Walker in as ruck pinch hitters, if their form warrants a game. At least the carrot is there.

Given the long term injuries of Vardy and Simpson, let alone Menzel, Bathie's elevation is a no-brainer, and likely Waker as well.Our ruck stocks are exceedingly thin as it stands right now. West has suffered a few injuries over the years, and Orren is an unknown as far as durability.These "potential" elevations are possibly imminent, with or without injuries to West/ Orren.

After watching the VFL game today, I'd elevate Walker before Bathie. Walker impressed me today with his pace for a guy his size, and the fact he can play at either end is a positive IMO.

I agree, I think Bathie is every chance to make it onto the senior list by the end of the year, but Walker is just that bit more ready at this moment in time.

Would Stringer and Simpkin playing in the ones today potentially suggest that the spot is out of those two?

I personally would promote Stringer. I understand we have quite a few of his type, but I believe he can have the biggest impact with his body size and determination. Big Fan.

Walker would be my second choice.