Potential trade for Gibbs

• Thread starter Thread starter srv23

Wasn't meant as any disrespect to Gibbs. More of an indication just how highly we rate Mackay.

Mackay played just 2 games last year, before a series of hamstring injuries ruled him out. Was BOG for South Adelaide magoos in his first game, promoted to the league side he was 2nd best despite missing 1/3 of the game with injury.

This year he has come straight into the Crows team and hasn't missed a beat. Appears to have composure and precision delivery several years beyond his experience level.

Seriously, I'd love to have Gibbs playing for the AFC. Like you, I reckon he's going to be a gun. I just happen to think that we happen to have another gun of our own in David Mackay.

lets relax a little bit. mckay is running around free in a dominating side. He has done very well but three games is three games.

I think people get too caught up in were players WERE taken in the draft.

Should be more concerned with how their playing now and what there potential is.

look at guys like kepler bradley, first round pick who didnt even warrant a 5 rounder.

stop arguing by saying someone was pick blah, doesn't mean sh*t.

Vader has a very good point, mackay is showing great promise and composer well beyond his years, while im a gibbs fan, and was upset we got screwed out of him, he looks flustered at times, at the end of the year mackay for gibb will look a lot more realistic of a trade than it does now

and u are actually a mod? Shouldn't mods at least know sth about football? if Gibbs for McKay was offered to the Crows today that would be the equivalent of the crows winning the lottery.
Cmon Crows fans, this is extremely insulting to Gibbs. If anyone outside of Carlton should know how much potential Gibbs has then it should be you guys b/c u have seen him in the SANFL. GIbbs has got game and trust me he is going to be a star. I thik he has just turned 19 so cut him some slack if he has not shown as much as Judd :rolleyes:. And hey we wouldn't swap Gibbs for Rutten either so don't worry. u keep your guys and we will keep ours ok? deal

Fair enough aswell, if you had Rutten you might ruin you streak of having 100 points kicked against you, would make it harder to tank..:D

Gibbs isn't even worth Jericho Gibbs is crap and he's done SFA last year and this year I have no idea why people rave about the kid.

I don't want him, carlton can keep him and I hope we never enquire to get him!

Harsh! Gibbs will be a very good player... He is only 19 for gods sake playing in a rubbish team on the improve... We cut slack for his old teammate Sellar who I doubt could get a kick in a streetfight so give the kid a go

Gibbs isn't even worth Jericho Gibbs is crap and he's done SFA last year and this year I have no idea why people rave about the kid.
I don't want him, carlton can keep him and I hope we never enquire to get him!
Gibbs is a future gun. Jericho, on the other hand, probably won't be playing after this year. Carlton are bad enough and need his services more; they can keep him.

Posted by SRV23
Thanks. And by the way I wasn't at all meaning to be disrespectful to Carlton or their fans. I reckon Gibbs is a gun and I can't believe some of the tripe written about him on big footy. Was just wishful thinking.
Good luck this weekend Blues. You guys have some great young talent.

No worries mate, good luck to the crows also.

posted by Jo172

Jo172
As opposed to Gibbs who you hadn't heard of till his first real season of footy either?

No mate, I had heard of Gibbs at least a couple of years before we drafted him. There was so much press.

Posted by Freddy Bassett
Fair enough aswell, if you had Rutten you might ruin you streak of having 100 points kicked against you, would make it harder to tank..

I really don't believe we tanked. I would love to have Rutten as he is a fine player. I just wouldn't trade Gibbs for him. I have watched every game of Gibbs so far and when u watch a player each week u see things. He has shown alot of flashes of how good he can be and i really believe that all the hype is justified.

Underestimating Gibbs at this stage in his career is so dangerous. I'd bookmark it if it didn't happen in every single thread that mentions his name.

Jericho shouldn't be on an AFL list. Maric will be a top 5-10 ruckman at absolute best.

I do not see ther purpose of this thread

1. Gibbs has signed another new deal and has stated that he wants to be a one club player, so unless something changes he is not available and if something does change it will be down the track and by then our list would have changed and also our draft position

2. Those who believe we could trade a handful of fringe players for a number 1 pick, get of the smoke, Adelaide would need to give up a top 10 player plus trade for at a minimum a top 5 pick to hand over

Unless Gibbs was out of contract and Adelaide had 1st pick in a pre-season draft, meaning we had finished bottom the year before Gibbs would come at a heafty price

We lost Gibbs for Good when the AFL made the Father Son ruling

1. Gibbs has signed another new deal and has stated that he wants to be a one club player, so unless something changes he is not available and if something does change it will be down the track and by then our list would have changed and also our draft position

While I agree with you in principle, keep in mind that almost every player says they intend to be a one club player.

Jeez, dominating side is a bit much!

I mean by Carlton standards we probably are, but we're hardly Geelong!

yeh wrong word maybe, i just mean youve never looked bad. even in your loss i thought you were going to win all game, the emotion of the day got them over the line (or bocks choke lol)

Gibbs will be an absolute star. No doubt in my mind.

Who suggested Maric + Jericho for him :D

Probably one of the most hilariously one sided trades I've ever seen suggested. A 3rd choice ruckman plus a guy that's done nothing for 6 years. Nice :thumbsu:

Time for people to build a bridge & get over the fact we were ripped off by the AFL on the F&S rule.

We have plenty of exciting talent coming through of our own.

2. Those who believe we could trade a handful of fringe players for a number 1 pick, get of the smoke, Adelaide would need to give up a top 10 player plus trade for at a minimum a top 5 pick to hand over

Unless Gibbs was out of contract and Adelaide had 1st pick in a pre-season draft, meaning we had finished bottom the year before Gibbs would come at a heafty price

We lost Gibbs for Good when the AFL made the Father Son ruling

exactly...delete this thread, it tedious and a tad embarrassing that we still harp on it....shit, MacKay could quite possibly turn out to be a bigger star...and got bloke named Tippet out of the same draft who is little exciting (extreme sarcasm)....

brownlow2_gallery__510x400.jpg

Yeah Gibbs isn't going anywhere. ;)