Potential Trade Targets

• Thread starter Thread starter juice

Re: Chris Masten

Potentially trade worthy.....what do you reckon?

Games: 47
Born: May 2, 1989
Height: 179cm
Weight: 77kg

Listed as "Knows how to find the football" on the West Coast website

Lacks pace and is handy but no star.

He's not what we need to trade for IMO

I wonder if the WCE rate Myke Cook or James Sellar?

I doubt it, so I cannot see a deal getting done.

Masten isn't what I would call a dud but I doubt we would get him at an adequate price. Is rumoured to be off to GWS with his mate Palmer, but won't read too much into that until he has signed with them.

Hurn is so far off coming to Adelaide it's not funny, although behind Griffen is probably the SA player I would want back the most. His delivery to Tippett would be sublime, but would be impossible to get him. We are marginally more attractive than Port ATM which should give you an idea about our chances of a landing a big fish.

to be fair, Masten will end up a far better player than Symes and Doughty. could be a decent pick up, but wouldn't waste your first rounder on him.

Few too many ?'s over key points of Masten's game to give up what WC would ask for. I'd have a geez at Kobe Stevens, but only for the right price, would give our 2nd this draft, but that aint much.

Hopefully there's a couple of smokeys come D Day.

to be fair, Masten will end up a far better player than Symes and Doughty. could be a decent pick up, but wouldn't waste your first rounder on him.

I just don't see the point in going after others off cuts at this point.

Masten hasn't set the world on fire. Much maligned by Eagles fans. Question marks over his disposal.

Reckon he will eventually end up a half decent player but not the prime midfielder the Eagles thought they were getting with Pick 7 or whatever he was.

Agree that we're better off going through the draft than picking up mid-rangers. We have enough of those already.

but yeh i'd definetly prefer to go after Stevens or Hurn especially. anyone see his 60 meter goal on the weekend? would be a good player to have in the back half.

Masten hasn't set the world on fire. Much maligned by Eagles fans. Question marks over his disposal.

Reckon he will eventually end up a half decent player but not the prime midfielder the Eagles thought they were getting with Pick 7 or whatever he was.

Agree that we're better off going through the draft than picking up mid-rangers. We have enough of those already.
He was pick 3, which was one of the carrots dangled for the Chris Judd trade.

Hurn would command at least our first. Played a ripper on the weekend. Love that shoe of his.

Masten is a dud. Don't bother guys. Rebuild with proper talent from the draft!

One good game on the weekend. That can be the only reason why someone started this thread. Probably played his best game ever, against a very ordinary team.

One paced with ordinary disposal. Big pass......

Palmer would be a better bet. His disposal lets him down but coming off a knee there is at least fair scope for improvement. But you wouldn't give heaps there either. But certainly a better option than Masten.

Masten I think will be one of those Richard Douglas type players who will be much maligned but eventually work it all out and turn out to be a reasonably good player, but I still would rather go through the draft and try to pick up some local players with a bit of pace.

As much as I'd love Hurn he would be so far off the table right now that he would be on the next table over and almost falling off that one. Our only chance of ever getting him is when free-agency comes in and he decides he wants to go home, which seeing as he looks pretty settled in WA seems unlikely.

Would like to see us saving up some beans for the off-chance Bryce Gibbs decides to return home once his free agency period kicks in.

Can't believe I am agreeing with Carl on this one. I would go so far as to suggest his disposal is awful really and we already have anough ball burners.

He just re-signed, as did the Coonius (I believe) last year, so we'd be bent over a table and would have to give what he's worth. That said, I'd go after him. Though I believe he's happy in Vic.

Whilst we occupy the bottom of the ladder for the next god knows how many years, we need to make the most of it every pre-season draft!

Forget giving up everything to get a 25-26 year old Cooney or Griffin home. Invest our high picks on youth.

But, each year force a Masten, Greenwood, Tapscott to the pre-season draft by offering them over and above their worth whilst not having to trade away our good picks.

Masten may or may not make it but he would certainly worth thinking about it.

Hurn wont go anywhere, I doubt.

Griffen is the one I'd throw the farm at, again.

The go-home factor, plus the state of the Western Bulldogs at the moment, I think he's worth a crack.

And he's exactly what we need.
Agree but we just lost to the Bulldogs I doubt we look too appealing at the moment either.

We need an outright gun, we have enought middlers already.

Griffen? Yes.

Masten? No.

But how do we get one or two? Smart Drafting or Aggressive trading.

We need an outright gun, we have enought middlers already.

Griffen? Yes.

Masten? No.

But how do we get one or two? Smart Drafting or Aggressive trading.

Lets say we talk Griff into coming home this year....

Who would be willing to give up our 1st pick and 2nd pick for him? Say pick 6 and 28 approximately..... So we enter the draft at pick 45 if all goes well and we dont lose anyone to GWS?

I would rather pick up 2 kids and get a Masten type in the PSD for free...

Who would be willing to give up our 1st pick and 2nd pick for him? Say pick 6 and 28 approximately..... So we enter the draft at pick 45 if all goes well and we dont lose anyone to GWS?

agree, i'd like to think we wouldn't waste our two first picks on him, when we could hopefully draft a similar player at pick 6 and another promising type at 28 (if those end up being our picks).

For Griffen? Without hesitation I'd do that. That said I don't think he's ever coming back. If he didn't want to come home while his dad was terminally ill, and hasn't given any indication that his father's passing has made him want to be closer to his family, it's just hard to see him ever doing it.

I'd probably be willing to trade our first 3 picks and give up Talia if we could secure Griffen or Cooney plus Jack Redden. We need to win a flag in the next few years while Thommo, Truck and Stiffy are around. Otherwise I fear we could be waiting a while. Two quality versatile, ready to play mids would make a massive difference.

Trade 2nd pick and throw Reilly, Knights or Douglas and one of Sellar, Armstrong, Cook, etc with them.