News Practice Match v Collingwood Thursday 20th Feb 2020

If you type what I’m thinking, or it’s impressive.....you get a click from me.

This bloody green follow thing.....nah.
I followed you down a tea tree gully rabbit hole............

Met a fair dinkum, Carlton Life Member today.

Was the bootstudder during the glory years, looked him up, he’s legit.

Spent 2 hours listening to him rattle off Carlton stories from back in the day.

Deadset, I was in total awe of the guy.

One of those great days.

Met a fair dinkum, Carlton Life Member today.

Was the bootstudder during the glory years, looked him up, he’s legit.

Spent 2 hours listening to him rattle off Carlton stories from back in the day.

Deadset, I was in total awe of the guy.

One of those great days.
yeah but did you give him your autograph or not?

Love hearing reports on how well Setterfield is going.

Maybe we will win that 2018 trade period versus Essendon (Shiel v Setters) ?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
From what I have seen to date, I would happily stand behind the argument that we have already won it.

Watching Setterfield improve game on game last year and seeing him with another preseason under his belt on Thursday night. The kid is every bit of the 5th or so draft pick he went at.

He told me about Mark Naley, who’s been serious crook for a couple of years.

Anyhoo, Naley turns up in ‘87, with the shits, as his arch nemesis, Platten wins a flag/Brownlow in his first year, and all everyone talks is how we missed out on The Rat and he still got a car off us.

Things don’t start well for Nales, he’s not up to AFL fitness, and gets dropped after Round 2, and he’s stuck in the magoos.

Back then, there was the SOO game on a Tuesday night and Naley was picked for the CrowEaters as second rover after Platten.

So out goes Naley, Carlton seconds player, answering to a resting Platten.........and he goes bang.

4 in a quarter, next week back in the ones, ends up with a dozen Brownlow votes and plays in a premiership.

.....and he was the only player in the universe that knew he was as good as Platten.

Noice.

Anyhoo, Naley turns up in ‘87, with the shits, as his arch nemesis, Platten wins a flag/Brownlow in his first year, and all everyone talks is how we missed out on The Rat and he still got a car off us.

Things don’t start well for Nales, he’s not up to AFL fitness, and gets dropped after Round 2, and he’s stuck in the magoos.

Back then, there was the SOO game on a Tuesday night and Naley was picked for the CrowEaters as second rover after Platten.

So out goes Naley, Carlton seconds player, answering to a resting Platten.........and he goes bang.

4 in a quarter, next week back in the ones, ends up with a dozen Brownlow votes and plays in a premiership.

.....and he was the only player in the universe that knew he was as good as Platten.

Noice.

Reckon Naley had the quickest hands I have ever seen in the Navy Blue

that's why he's on the big bucks, folks...........and odn slings him a box of coopers pale every month.........

What I genuinely enjoyed, and made me remember, there’s genuine rivalry going on out there.

Stats are stats, but who gives a toss.

Beat your opponent, done your job.

no-one does it for the likes - whatever 'it' is - but they are there to be used when people are in agreement - posters who regularly write paragraph after paragraph on basically the same subject, day after day, week after week somehow thinking this makes them more important here than those who don't, are probably in need of some sort of therapy and ongoing self-validation - I reckon the real point of the "like" argument is that we all "like" to be agreed with and when that little flag goes up, the tiny frisson of delight ensures we keep coming back to the deep, dark, well of dispute............then there's carlton.......
Frisson. Now there's a word!

Sent from my Mi 9T using Tapatalk

As someone who didn't have the Like functionality until relatively recently (had the privilege taken away for a few years for a post-win Like spree on the Essenscum board), I did miss it and found it a bit of an extra effort to have to reply to someone to acknowledge their post rather than a simple reaction like everyone else. It may not be a huge thing, but it does streamline things somewhat. If people choose to use it boost their ego or whatever that is their prerogative. People use all sorts of things to do that though, so to demonize one fairly useful little feature on a website doesn't make total sense IMO.

But yes, bring on da footy.

Noice.
He was better than Platten, as in, his best was better but Platten was way more consistent.
Hope his health improves.

Ah yup, as expected given the lack of Kreuzer and McKay. TDK is an outside chance for R1 if Harry doesn't resume.

No sign of Moore? Had a perfect opportunity to feature given the forward mix for the day.

Pretty sure they both play medium defender, and Marchbank is more athletically gifted. Newman can roost it, and has a nose for goal, but we're fine on that front with Williamson and Docherty. Marchbank's rebound game is solid, certainly better than Plowman. Williamson, Docherty, Jones and Weitering can all set us up via foot from defence.

Unless you think he's going to get a spot ahead of Simpson?

So you're saying that Williamson already has a guaranteed spot ahead of Newman? I lie Williamson but he was out all last year while Newman was really solid for us, I don't think Williamson just waltzes into his spot again

Ah yup, as expected given the lack of Kreuzer and McKay. TDK is an outside chance for R1 if Harry doesn't resume.

No sign of Moore? Had a perfect opportunity to feature given the forward mix for the day.

Pretty sure they both play medium defender, and Marchbank is more athletically gifted. Newman can roost it, and has a nose for goal, but we're fine on that front with Williamson and Docherty. Marchbank's rebound game is solid, certainly better than Plowman. Williamson, Docherty, Jones and Weitering can all set us up via foot from defence.

Unless you think he's going to get a spot ahead of Simpson?

They also don't both play medium defender, Newman is undersized and was taking the small forwards last season along with Simon and SPS, while Marchbank and Plowman handled the mid sized, again different roles they're not in the same conversation

As someone who didn't have the Like functionality until relatively recently (had the privilege taken away for a few years for a post-win Like spree on the Essenscum board), I did miss it and found it a bit of an extra effort to have to reply to someone to acknowledge their post rather than a simple reaction like everyone else. It may not be a huge thing, but it does streamline things somewhat. If people choose to use it boost their ego or whatever that is their prerogative. People use all sorts of things to do that though, so to demonize one fairly useful little feature on a website doesn't make total sense IMO.

But yes, bring on da footy.

I don't understand those that chase likes to stroke their egos...

... Unrelated of course, but mods.... any chance of adjusting like tallies higher to account for years of missed T2B like opportunities?

:p

News Practice Match v Collingwood Thursday 20th Feb 2020