Preferred Venue/Kickoff

• Thread starter Thread starter Costanza_

Disagree with the people saying 1.10 is too early. Maybe if you have a massive Saturday night it seems early, but it's great walking out on top of the world after a big win at 4.00 in bathing sunshine. Plenty of time to do something Sunday night instead of slouching home and awaiting the pain of Monday morning.

its soon will have 33 and Moore

I sincerely hope there'll be no temptation to leave the 13 intact for this weeks game?

SCG, Friday night.

Have been to two friday night games at the SCG. Incidentally, they were the only two that have been there for many, many years.

2003 - Round 5 vs Melbourne
2005 - Semi Final vs Geelong

Those were great games, but getting to the SCG on a Friday night is like a nightmare. Everyone's heading into the city and it takes much longer than it does on a Saturday.

My first night game was a Friday night, it was against the Dons. It was raining, the Dons were a force back then, Saddo played on Hird, Schwatta was tagged out of it by first gamer Peverill and we got absolutely pummelled. Not good memories.

Have a chat to him one day,does this old codger think he is good.Does a great job following the club but we don't need to see him in the middle of the club song when we win.
Would much prefer Soph behind the goals with the new no.33 jumper on instead of the 13 of the chubby little front runner from st.scum.

Kenny rocks, love seeing him so happy belting out the song after a win :thumbsu:.

Sounds like a bit of jealousy to me - as if you wouldnt want to take his place.

I'll try not to spill my beer on your head :)
You would have to throw it a long way to get her. Hey girls see ya Saturday......if your there before the gates open come and find me I will be at the front of the line somewhere telling the kids to behave LOL

Kenny rocks, love seeing him so happy belting out the song after a win :thumbsu:.

Not at all,have you met him?.
I like seeing the players sing the song,not Kenny in the middle of it.

I get the impression Kenny may have been hit by one too many Plugger Lockett low trajectory goals. He's quite clearly a nutter.

Yep, definitely jealousy from me!
Does anyone know what Kenny's relationship is to the club and how he was bestowed the honour of being in the centre for the song all the time?

Those were great games, but getting to the SCG on a Friday night is like a nightmare. Everyone's heading into the city and it takes much longer than it does on a Saturday.

My first night game was a Friday night, it was against the Dons. It was raining, the Dons were a force back then, Saddo played on Hird, Schwatta was tagged out of it by first gamer Peverill and we got absolutely pummelled. Not good memories.
Round 4 2001, we got beaten by 8 goals in the wet and kicked 6.19, not a great night...

But why not just get public transport in... thats what I did both times, my dad lived in Parramatta so we had to...

Yep, definitely jealousy from me!
Does anyone know what Kenny's relationship is to the club and how he was bestowed the honour of being in the centre for the song all the time?
When they went to Sydney, kenny told people he played for South but he didn't.Look he's a great supporter but when the songs on you want to see the joy of the players.

The other flog is the big guy on the boundary,i remember when we beat Hawthorn in the 1st week of the finals in 96 we went back to Easts where the players were presented on stage and this fella jumped up on the stage running up and down in front of them.He was told that people wanted to see the players,i think his name is Peter.

When they went to Sydney, kenny told people he played for South but he didn't.Look he's a great supporter but when the songs on you want to see the joy of the players.

The other flog is the big guy on the boundary,i remember when we beat Hawthorn in the 1st week of the finals in 96 we went back to Easts where the players were presented on stage and this fella jumped up on the stage running up and down in front of them.He was told that people wanted to see the players,i think his name is Peter.

Yeah, if you're talking about the guy with the orange (now kinda grey) goatee and the reasonably large gut, thats Peter. You're right too..... he's a flog.

the guy with the orange (now kinda grey) goatee and the reasonably large gut

Is he the one with the drum? Seems to fit the description - portly with a beard.

SCG any time !!

The western white elephant is a soul-less dump, with absolutely nothing to do before or after the game.

Prefer Sat nights but closely followed by 2.10pm on a sunny Sunday

PS the drum guy is JF, he thinks people actually like the drum, and that he is doing some sort of charity work !!!

The Lake oval wasn't bad to watch the footy,cheap food,cheap beer and plenty of transport close by.
Sorry i was just reminising
Yeah me too, the S.C.G. is pretty good on a Sunday arvo , as it is on a Saturday night. I live back in Melbourne these days so any Bloods game I can get to is fantastic. Gotta say the grass on the hill back in the 80's was great fun.
trivia question what town has more pubs than any other
answer; South Melbourne [well thats what everyone used to say anyway]

PS the drum guy is JF, he thinks people actually like the drum, and that he is doing some sort of charity work !!!

The drum is the worst. Especially when he starts beating it when we aren't playing well. It seriously feels like the sticks are beating against your head. Not a fan of the drum AT ALL.

Ive always prefered Saturday nights at the SCG as the atmosphere just seems a lot better. I think the atmosphere will be even better once the new stand is finished. ANZ is easier for me to get to but I've always prefered the SCG.

ANZ is easier for me to get to but I've always prefered the SCG.

Good to hear. I'm biased cos it's a bitch for me to get out to Homebush, but I've always preferred the SCG atmosphere. Glad to know it's not just cognitive dissonance :thumbsu:

I sincerely hope there'll be no temptation to leave the 13 intact for this weeks game?

Lol, no, she'll still have it on, won't you Sophie? We're going to mob Sean and Adam before the game and get autographs and pics ;]

As for the venue, even though the ANZ is about 5 minutes away from where I live and the SCG is 45 minutes travel, I love the SCG :)

Okay there is one place better than any other to see the Bloods, from any seat in any weather,the M.C.G. in September.

The SCG beats ANZ any day, but travelling wise, its so much easier to get to ANZ. But, atmosphere beats it. :D

the M.C.G. in September.

I'll pay that. I've been to the MCG 3 times in my life, and twice I've seen the Swans on that last Saturday in September. Hard to imagine a greater sporting venue in the world.

ANZ is easy to get too but the atmosphere is p*ss poor out there! :mad: so SCG on a Saturday night !