Premiership Window

• Thread starter Thread starter Cap

Grolm37 said:
will Port have enough defenders to Hold Lynch, Brown and bradshaw especially if the start sending keating down forward the man is a mountain ??

and i dont like the idea of sending hardwick in the centre to "ruffle a few feathers" that could be the biggest mistake of the game - annoying the likes of aker and voss makes them play better not worse !!

I think the only thing Port have that will stretch the lions are small forwards
eg Burgoyne and logieneen they may cause some discomfort for the lions back men

the key to the game will be the start...(which is pretty obvious :p )

but your right, Port will have to win a lot of the ball in the midfield, because im not sure if they can hold Brissies forwards to a lowerish score...just when you think you've got Brissie, (because Lynch has done nothing and Brown isnt being influential) up pops Bradshaw, Keating, Notting etc...

Should be a cracker of a game, but the problem is that if Brissie come out all guns firing, Port will struggle to get back in the game...

QTR Time Score

Bris 8.3 (51)
Port 2.2 (14)

GAME OVER!

QTR Time Score

Bris 4.4 (28)
Port 3.2 (20)

GAME ON!

there is no doubt Port can match Brissie, but can they do it on the biggest day of the year, playing in front of a massive crowd on a ground they havent played all that well at...

guess we'll know at 5.20pm Saturday...

for what its worth...

First goal - Luke Power
Half-time - Bris 29pts
Full time - Bris 33pts
Norm Smith - Nigel Lappin

It's not a matter of beating the backs. Wakelin is liable to play well after his shocker last week but is not dependable. Bishop will break even as our number one tall and Cornes will contribute more than last week.

Where we will need to be on is in the midfield (obvious). Too much ball into the forward line and the dam walls break. Exactly the same for us. We get it in there more often than they do and we'll be in with a shout.

Roughing up the Brisbane midfield is a mistake - these guys thrive on pressure and physicality. I think the Pap midfield is talented enough to go with the Lions - but I don't think they're smart enough...The Lions boys are like quads - they all know where each other are running - and their work rate is frightening.
Brown on Chadrick if it happens will be interesting - if the ball is coming in quick Chad will get smashed....if not - Chad will run Brown around.
I think Michael and Leppa are more than equipped to shut down Monkey Boy (even though he's huge it wouldn't surprise me if he was a target....seems to upset his kicking for goal) :D
It all comes down to who settles better and who takes their chances. As with most GFs - it will be the contributions from the lesser lights that could decide it. (ie Ellen / Johnson / Goodwin in 97).
I expect a close one til 10 min mark of the 2nd qtr - and then the Lions will get on top.
First goal Black
final margin 48 points to the Lions
NSM = Akermanis

Chad did the job on Brown a few years back in Rd 22. He is certainly better suited to Brown than Riewoldt.

We've beaten them a couple of times when there's been intense physical pressure in the midfield. We just have to back ourselves in and physically go for it. It hasn't been a feature of our game but when we put our minds to it we are (surprisingly for some), good at it.

sog35 said:
Chad did the job on Brown a few years back in Rd 22. He is certainly better suited to Brown than Riewoldt.

We've beaten them a couple of times when there's been intense physical pressure in the midfield. We just have to back ourselves in and physically go for it. It hasn't been a feature of our game but when we put our minds to it we are (surprisingly for some), good at it.

the only problem is that you havent beaten them in a final, especially not a GF ( which since there are only 1 is a hard thing to do)

i think physical pressure is a given in a GF so no Port will have no advatage to gain because Brisbane will expect it

i agree that chad has beaten brown on occasions but his loose checking is a worry especially in a GF

and i know every one loves him and he polled really well in the Brownlow but he is a loose checking defender who likes to run, i think this could be a place the brisbane try and take advantage of when going forward

I dont think Port will et smashed but i think they may loose to experience (well at least i hope so)

Will they let waiklein on Lynch ?

Cornes CAN play tight. He's done it on Brown once and hasn't had a chance since to play on him.

Believe me physical pressure is not a given when it comes to Port. And Brisbane can expect anything they like but what they recieve may be a bit more than they are ready for (I hope).

Brisbane can try and exploit Cornes but if we start to win the ball in the midfield and Cornes is on fire, they don't have the advantage of swinging Leppa to the forward lines.

And if Cornes goes out with the instructions to shut Brown down first, set up play second we'll be alright. He's really played the Montgomery role when Monty wasn't in the team.

SpringChoke said:
I tend to disagree with your comment that the Power midfield are very good.

K Cornes - tagger,
Salopek - Promising, but is denied opportunities,
Ebert - Looks more like a good small forward then a midfielder,
Cassisi - 2nd tier midfield,
Carr - Homeward bound, but if not, tagger ( not a game breaker in the Black/Judd/Del Santo mould).

The above will win the midfield battle on a couple of occasions but they are hardly in the Francou, Stevens, James, P Burgoyne mould.
As others have already said, this is a very one-eyed response. Would you rather the five Port midfielders I mentioned or our under 25's - Reilly, Johncock, Shuback, Shirley and Skipworth?

K.Cornes is a hell of a lot more than just a tagger, he was unlucky to miss AA selection. As for Salopek, Ebert and Cassisi, thats the thing - they are all young and will improve ten-fold. Carr is just a tagger? Get your head out of the sand.

Edit - Why the hell does the quote function not work sometimes when you simply use it the way you always have??

Whlst Port IMO have only the next 2 years to win the flag with the current crop of players they have they will always be around the mark simply due to the fact they have one of the best recruiting success rates and the fact that they manage to get the best out of players who simply appear to be poo (D CASSISI, J MAHONEY ETC.).

Port will never have to go through the rebuilding phase to the extent that we are atm simply because they are going the right way about things - each year add 2 or 3 new youngsters and let them develop while the oldies carry a bit more burden. Luck really plays no part in their recruiting its just shrewd scouting and finding the right piece thats missing in the jigsaw puzzle.

As much as i hated heaping praise on them it is true that their recruiting side of things has sh*t on ours from a great height for a long time - out with Fantasia quick snap I say (not a big fan).

For what its worth i think Brisbane will win the GF by 15 points after leading by 40 at half time and just easing off the pedal with Akka Dakka winning the Norm Smith. I would not be shocked however (saddened but not shocked) if Port rolled them as i have a bad gut feeling for some reason.

Thats the G.O. people ;)

how can you say they wont go through a rebuilding phase !

they have to otherwise you end up like essendon around the 8 but with no real chance of winning it port had there ******** year in 00 ( i think ?) were they topped up with talent that they had picked up from there first few years at the lower end of the table.

look at Geeong, Stkilda, Melbourne,Freo all had times and the bottom rebuilding to create a team that can challenge,

Port will have a downward spiral how far depends on the strength of the comp and how they handle it

Jars458 said:
I agree with you again. This is becoming disturbing.

KCornes is going to be a star. Josh Carr already is.

Salopek and Ebert I am not sure about, but Port's midfield is certainly very good

Good enough to roll Brisbane? Time will tell.

Macca19 - I beg to differ...I still don't see a Ball,Del Santo,Judd,Bartels in your young midfield group but that's just my opinion. I agree, I am passionately anti-port but then I beleive all good Crows supporters should be...

Jars458 - who rattled your cage mate, mind your business for once???

McLeod23 said:
SpringChoke said:

K Cornes - tagger,
Carr - Homeward bound, but if not, tagger ( not a game breaker in the Black/Judd/Del Santo mould).

The above will win the midfield battle on a couple of occasions but they are hardly in the Francou, Stevens, James, P Burgoyne mould.
As others have already said, this is a very one-eyed response. Would you rather the five Port midfielders I mentioned or our under 25's - Reilly, Johncock, Shuback, Shirley and Skipworth?

K.Cornes is a hell of a lot more than just a tagger, he was unlucky to miss AA selection. As for Salopek, Ebert and Cassisi, thats the thing - they are all young and will improve ten-fold. Carr is just a tagger? Get your head out of the sand.

Edit - Why the hell does the quote function not work sometimes when you simply use it the way you always have??

I agree Macca, they are hell of alot better than our midfield but i'm not comparing them to our guys, i'm comparing them to teams which have young quality midfields like the teams I previously mentioned. I think if they lose Carr, a huge hole will develop.

Grolm37 said:
how can you say they wont go through a rebuilding phase !

they have to otherwise you end up like essendon around the 8 but with no real chance of winning it port had there ******** year in 00 ( i think ?) were they topped up with talent that they had picked up from there first few years at the lower end of the table.

look at Geeong, Stkilda, Melbourne,Freo all had times and the bottom rebuilding to create a team that can challenge,

Port will have a downward spiral how far depends on the strength of the comp and how they handle it

Apologies didn't mean they would NEVER go through a rebuilding phase
They wont be hit as hard as we have been IMO however.
Every footy club has peaks and troughs and ports peak is around about now (maybe one more year) The AFL's priority draft picks dont allow clubs to stay in a low forever.All im saying is the way they are managing their list however is the right way to go and as a result of that they wont be hit as hard as a club who waits too long to blood youngsters (eg us)

Rave Slave said:
Every footy club has peaks and troughs and ports peak is around about now (maybe one more year) The AFL's priority draft picks dont allow clubs to stay in a low forever.All im saying is the way they are managing their list however is the right way to go and as a result of that they wont be hit as hard as a club who waits too long to blood youngsters (eg us)

oh in that case i tend to agree however if you look at there defence its is kind of old they do have some potential but nothing concrete so it may not be as rosy as we think.

McLeod23 said:
SpringChoke said:

K Cornes - tagger,

Don't get me wrong I would swap the majority ( not all )of our list with ports in a minute. However, if I could choose a group of youngesters from other clubs, I would take St k's, Geelongs, WC's, Freos and Brissies before i would take Ports.
I just think people overate Port too much in saying they are going to dominate for the next 4-5 years. They have an ageing list of players in Wangas, Wakelin, Wilson, Schofield, Kinglsey, Lade, Monty, Primus, Francou, James and Bishop. They have some good, not great, midfielders in Carr, Cornes and Cassisi.
Like us, they have players in Pickett and Dew who are inconsistent and will not get any better than they already are.
If Cornes or Tredrea get injured they might find themselves in big trouble. Look what the injury to M Stevens cost us.
As I have previously stated, their window will close in 2 years.

birdmanptr said:
No big fan of his ?If primus and francou do play next year will they suffer minor injuries like wilson did for a year.
Will pickett play next year?

I can't understand why Wakelin gets a bad wrap from supporters. Granted he is getting abit long in the tooth, as most of port are, but he was in Australian form in 2002 before Bickley knocked him out.

Rave Slave said:

and this is the dilema that most quality clubs with ageing lists face...I think both Brissie and Port will have one more crack at a premieship again next year before they will need to "renovate" their lists. If they don't look to rebuild in 2006, then they will be in trouble.

SpringChoke said:
and this is the dilema that most quality clubs with ageing lists face...I think both Brissie and Port will have one more crack at a premieship again next year before they will need to "renovate" their lists. If they don't look to rebuild in 2006, then they will be in trouble.

Its a tough call and one i wouldn't like to make but i couldn't agree more. If I were Brissy I think I would be saying to players such as Lynch and Mcrae that hey, sorry guys you have been great players for our club and your input has been tremendous but to keep this club in a strong position for years to come we need to make some sacrifices, retire or be delisted (not that harsh but you get the jist.) If they don't do this then i think they will find themselves facing a season very soon where aging bodies simply cant stand up to the rigours (sp) of AFL life. Of course they are not the only 2 at that club and as you said port have the same dilemma upcoming just don't think they are quite as desperate as Brissy - might be able to squeeze 2 more years before a rebuild.

Grolm37 said:
oh in that case i tend to agree however if you look at there defence its is kind of old they do have some potential but nothing concrete so it may not be as rosy as we think.

as much as i would hope you're correct in your assessment of the PAPs player list, i have to disagree with you:

i think they have a well-balanced list - despite all the old-timers there is a queue of good youngsters waiting to step into the side -

- defence: from what i've seen in the SAFL i reckon that in Chaplin & Pettigrew they have 2 KPP defenders with both height and pace & with a football brain - there's a touch of class about both
add in S Bugoyne, Chad Cornes - still 24yo,and i think they are better served in defence for the next 5-8 years than we are.
others in Symes, Peel & Gilham - too soon to tell

- Carr: if they lose him they will get plenty in return

- others like Ebert,K Cornes,Cassissi,Salopek,Surjan suggest a better midfield in waiting than ours as well
- and there's still D White in the wings
- and they have more tradeable options eg Dew

Overall i think that even after some of the oldies retire they have a list capable of challenging for a premiership for many years to come - and a list with plenty of pace (even their big players - unlike ours)

Having said all that i hope my assessment is way off beam - go the Lions!

SpringChoke said:
Don't get me wrong I would swap the majority ( not all )of our list with ports in a minute. However, if I could choose a group of youngesters from other clubs, I would take St k's, Geelongs, WC's, Freos and Brissies before i would take Ports.
I just think people overate Port too much in saying they are going to dominate for the next 4-5 years. They have an ageing list of players in Wangas, Wakelin, Wilson, Schofield, Kinglsey, Lade, Monty, Primus, Francou, James and Bishop. They have some good, not great, midfielders in Carr, Cornes and Cassisi.
Like us, they have players in Pickett and Dew who are inconsistent and will not get any better than they already are.
If Cornes or Tredrea get injured they might find themselves in big trouble. Look what the injury to M Stevens cost us.
As I have previously stated, their window will close in 2 years.

I think you are seriously one eyed.
Fair enough too I s'pose, but let's just look at the ageing players mentioned.
I will ignore Primus and Francou as they have had nothing to do with our last couple of years, and any game from them in the future will be a bonus.

Backline
Wanganeen__Not one we relied on this year. Had his moments, but few and far between. JBurger has taken over his running half back type role.
Wakelin and Bishop__They are there until Chaplin and Pettigrew take over.
Monty__Chad Cornes will take over his role when the other two make FB and CHB theirs.
We also have expectations of Splinter.
Overall, improvement expected.

What we will miss at this stage are replacements for Dimma and Wilson, but Wilson still has a few years yet.

Midfield
Schofield__Any one of a number in the wings. We expect improvement there.
Kingsley__Is now reduced to cameos. Still good in limited doses.

Kane and Cassisi still have a couple of years of improvements left.
We expect good things from Salopeck, Ebert and Surjan.
Not going backwards

Forward line
Tredrea and Pickett may have been around for a while, but still have many many years to go.
Thurstans may improve, White seems good. Ellis mixed reports.
That leaves room to slot in any recruits as small pinch hitters.

Ruck__We need a young in one not too long.

Ageing list? Some are, but not only has our recruiting team has already taken care of that, but we expect improvements. Most importantly, the make up of the team has no age/experience gaps. That was your problem, not lack of decent youngsters but lack of even spread across starting 22.

Dark years coming up?
No. If anything, the future seems so bright that I'll have to buy some shades. ;)

PAfolwr said:
I think you are seriously one eyed.
Fair enough too I s'pose, but let's just look at the ageing players mentioned.
I will ignore Primus and Francou as they have had nothing to do with our last couple of years, and any game from them in the future will be a bonus.

Backline
Wanganeen__Not one we relied on this year. Had his moments, but few and far between. JBurger has taken over his running half back type role.
Wakelin and Bishop__They are there until Chaplin and Pettigrew take over.
Monty__Chad Cornes will take over his role when the other two make FB and CHB theirs.
We also have expectations of Splinter.
Overall, improvement expected.

What we will miss at this stage are replacements for Dimma and Wilson, but Wilson still has a few years yet.

Midfield
Schofield__Any one of a number in the wings. We expect improvement there.
Kingsley__Is now reduced to cameos. Still good in limited doses.

Kane and Cassisi still have a couple of years of improvements left.
We expect good things from Salopeck, Ebert and Surjan.
Not going backwards

Forward line
Tredrea and Pickett may have been around for a while, but still have many many years to go.
Thurstans may improve, White seems good. Ellis mixed reports.
That leaves room to slot in any recruits as small pinch hitters.

Ruck__We need a young in one not too long.

Ageing list? Some are, but not only has our recruiting team has already taken care of that, but we expect improvements. Most importantly, the make up of the team has no age/experience gaps. That was your problem, not lack of decent youngsters but lack of even spread across starting 22.

Dark years coming up?
No. If anything, the future seems so bright that I'll have to buy some shades. ;)

Mate without soundin like an annoying tw*t there seems to be a fair element of bias in ur post there too.
Admitted you do have the potential to bring youngsters in HOWEVER looking at your youngsters:

Pettigrew & Chaplin - Do have the POTENTIAL to slip nicely into the fold yet you cant be certain that it will happen - bit like us saying FERGUS WATTS IS OUR NEXT SUPERSTAR- potential is there but it aint happened yet
K Cornes - Admitted will be a gun midfielder for you in the ilk of J Carr
D Cassissi - You guys are gettin above and beyond this guys talent - call me ignorant but i think he is POO
White - Yep looks good but limited opportunities could cost him that extra bit of improvement that he might get from playing at a club like say Adelaide where he would step in to the lineup now :D
Salopek, Ebert - Both will be good for you guys but need time
Thurstans - Can play but wouldn't be shocked if you guys traded him either

Point is you do have a fair bit of young talent and potential - but potential can be anything. I'm sure Laurie Angwin had bucketloads of POTENTIAL but look what happened there - he also had bucketloads of team mates stolen goods ;)
Dont count your chickens mate - see what happens once start of these youngsters start to get blooded and get more game time.

Rave Slave said:
Mate without soundin like an annoying tw*t ...
Why not, we all do. :)

Rave Slave said:
... there seems to be a fair element of bias in ur post there too.
I knew that. ;)

Rave Slave said:
... Pettigrew & Chaplin - Do have the POTENTIAL to slip nicely into the fold yet you cant be certain that it will happen ...
Actually, injury is what stopped them getting more games. Unlike White, Choco seemed to actually want to play them early in the year.
That they will be AFL players there seems no doubt. Just how good is where the potential bit comes in. Potentially they seem capable of more than the players they are destined to replace. Will they get to that level and beyond? That's another question.

Rave Slave said:
...K Cornes - Admitted will be a gun midfielder for you in the ilk of J Carr
D Cassissi - You guys are gettin above and beyond this guys talent - call me ignorant but i think he is POO
White - Yep looks good but limited opportunities could cost him that extra bit of improvement that he might get from playing at a club like say Adelaide where he would step in to the lineup now
Salopek, Ebert - Both will be good for you guys but need time
Thurstans - Can play but wouldn't be shocked if you guys traded him either

Point is you do have a fair bit of young talent and potential - but potential can be anything. I'm sure Laurie Angwin had bucketloads of POTENTIAL but look what happened there - he also had bucketloads of team mates stolen goods ;)
Dont count your chickens mate - see what happens once start of these youngsters start to get blooded and get more game time.
Kane Cornes and Carr, if he stays, form a good basis for a future midfield.
Cassisi IMO will be well above average if not better again.
Salopeck and Ebert see Pettigrew and Chaplin, but further advanced.
Thurstans__ Yes one day, no the next. Will not be traded as no replacement for him yet. Bit like McGregor a couple of years ago. Will he wont he? Then, just when you say no, he comes on.
White__Good, but not quite as good as he is made out to be atm, however, as a foil for Tredrea great. Will be as good if not more so than Chad was up front.

Rave Slave said:
...Point is you do have a fair bit of young talent and potential - but potential can be anything. I'm sure Laurie Angwin had bucketloads of POTENTIAL but look what happened there - he also had bucketloads of team mates stolen goods

No, no chooks counted here.
I do not usually go talking about players as I have on this thread, but the players mentioned as irreplaceable retirements are not so irreplaceable. So much so that when looking at their current form and not when they were at their peak, our recruiting staff has already addressed that problem for when it will arise.
All a club can do is recruit well. Port has done that. Of that there is no doubt.
Just how far the players take their potential that is unknown and entirely up to them.
However, the potential to improve our team is there, no dud recruiting, and the players mentioned seem to have the right attitude going by all reports.
One cannot ask for more than that.

wrt Angwin, sh@t happens. That's in your past now. Time to move on.
You lot do have good youngsters, but the gap between experience and inexperience is a problem that may take a couple of years to fix.

Rave Slave said:
Point is you do have a fair bit of young talent and potential - but potential can be anything.

Let me digress....'' A boy walks to his dad and says ''dad dad what is the difference between POTENTIAL and REALITY mean? '' '
Son go ask your mother if she will sleep with the postie for a Million dollars'' '' she said yes dad''
' now go ask your sister if she would sleep with the postie for a Million dollars?''
' she said yes dad''
''now go and ask your brother if he would sleep with the postie for a Million dollars?''
''He would too dad but how does that explain the difference between Potential and Reality?'
'' well son POTENTIALLY we have 3 Millionaires but in REALITY we have 2 sl*** and a ****''

Until people turn Potential to Reality all we have are names on a whiteboard or 2 sl*** and a ****

My apologies to all offended