Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

The below is the OG faux training report from nearly 9 years ago - often imitated but never surpassed

In the absence of Keys I went down for a trundle this morning to check them out on return. Just a few random notes I took down...

• A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
  • Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2017.
  • Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
  • Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.
  • Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2017. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
  • Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
  • No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.

Will upload pics later if I have time. Let me know if you have any questions!

You might wonder why I’ve put this up and stickied it

Because this is the standard all copies should be measured against and it’s a reminder of how high the bar was set

And to hopefully discourage sequels.

If you want to have a crack in my absence, go ahead but if it doesn’t equal the standard set (as judged by me), then expect

• A one week threadban for a first offence
• A two week threadban for a second offence
• A one year threadban for a third offence

Actual training reports, minus discussion, can become found here:

Comparisons are very difficult, but the Swans reserves (not a full list and toped up with local U18 & 18's) played the better Sydney and Canberra league teams - often belted them by 24 goals to 1 or 2.
You just have to see the vfl stats.

It’s dominated by ordinary afl midfielders dropping down and racking up massive numbers. Daicos would have 100 touches in a game at vfl level.

1768026902714.png

I was down at Lathlain picking up my membership stuff today and the boys were training on the main oval. Not sure who was there from the team. Hough was the only one I could name because someone called his name. A few WAFL players from the Demons as well.

I believe keys now bans posters for poor or incomplete training reports.

cbs elton john tribute GIF by Recording Academy / GRAMMYs

Anyone but me think Yeo may have dropped some weight? I think his body shape definitely changed overall

It's something Nick Riewoldt and Luke Hodge have both mentioned - the idea of more or less dropping a kilo off your ideal playing weight every year from when you turn 30. Thought being that you still have enough old man strength for that to be easily offset by reduced loads on your body and risk of injury.

Definitely something I'd be happy to see from Yeo (would have been hard to do in years where he could barely run). A skinnier Yeo would realistically still only ever lose a contest to a player like Ginbey, whatever keeps him available I'd love to happen.

Whilst the next open session isn’t until Wednesday, I expect the players will return to training tomorrow after their Christmas/New Year break

Following the pre-break injury report released by the club (link below), I’ll be interested to see what involvement the players mentioned have

• Sam Allen will continue his ACL rehabilitation but will hopefully progress towards more aggressive running including some change of direction work
• Jack Hutchinson had an operation on a stress fracture in his ankle that will prevent him from any running until late February so it’ll will be some time yet before we see him back on track in any meaningful capacity
• Bailey Williams turned a corner late last year in his recovery from a groin injury that should hopefully see him start integrating back into main training by the end of January assuming he successfully completed his assigned running program over the break
• Harry Barnett (knee) is similar to Bailey in that he should be returning to full training this month after completing his running program during the break
• Bo Allan will hopefully have recovered from his wrist injury that has had time to heal over the break
• Malakai Champion sustained a low grade MCL late last year but should be fine to return after being involved in some match drills in the last session before the break

Players who didn’t train fully prior to the break but weren’t mentioned in the article:

• Liam Baker had a minor hamstring that saw him sit out some sessions late but he did participate in the final marathon session so should be good to go
• Elliot Yeo had been training fully, albeit on a modified program, but missed the last week or so as he got married over the last weekend prior to them breaking for the year. Ideally, he increases his training load as the season approaches without any setbacks
• Matt Owies cut a sometimes lonely figure as he completed a running program away from the main group prior to the break and only joined in with the main group during the last session on a limited basis. Hopefully he’s ready to rejoin fully
• Tom Gross was a virtual spectator last year spending most of his time on an exercise bike whenever he was out there due to a reported, but unconfirmed, quad injury. It’ll be a welcome sight if/when he rejoins the main group
• Jacob Newton had his training loads scaled back late in the year after he’d made an impressive start to preseason so hopefully he’s recovered from whatever minor issue saw him deload

Barring any setbacks over the break we should have 40+ players on the track tomorrow with only Allen, Hutchinson, Billiams, Barnett and probably Gross not in a position to do a full program, albeit a slightly modified one for some players

So we're back Wednesday, is that right?

Any of you unemployed saddos going for a trundle?

please don't ban me Keys

The last training session piece I read before the Christmas break it said they're back on the 12th. So tomorrow.

I noticed that as well, Mitch Duncan took his family to MRP on Friday and his wife posted a couple picks on their kids decked out in Eagles gear and there were players on the training oval behind them.

The last training session piece I read before the Christmas break it said they're back on the 12th. So tomorrow.

I noticed that as well, Mitch Duncan took his family to MRP on Friday and his wife posted a couple picks on their kids decked out in Eagles gear and there were players on the training oval behind them.
Pre-season 2.0

We're back baby

Got to see training for 20 minutes, before having to leave to drop someone off at the airport.
Ginbey will out and out scare opponents this year, what a unit!
Hewett out in front in sprint drills.
That’s the end of my training report, I hope you get heaps out of it.

Was that you with the 4WD and a few kids in the carpark?

Ripped Reid Ready
There is no questioning Harley Reid’s fitness on day of pre-season for 2026 with the young midfielder looking fit and strong ahead of his third season.
Reid’s first full pre-season as an AFL player was questioned by many experts and pundits, with queries over whether he had done the appropriate work to return in the best shape possible ahead of last season.
The No.1 draftee conceded he “got a few things wrong in my first off-season” but looks to have taken the lessons learnt to ensure he was ready to hit the ground running.

d7de862ef0b5361ed3513ab4cddb22f12848ca7b.jpg

Looking good, kid :clapping:

cfe7dbb3ca10525d738465af966462db4917ae72.jpg

Size or not I hope at some points they just say f*ck it and throw him in the guts. He's gonna be giving that weight room a fair workout over the next couple years.

Got to see training for 20 minutes, before having to leave to drop someone off at the airport.
Ginbey will out and out scare opponents this year, what a unit!
Hewett out in front in sprint drills.
That’s the end of my training report, I hope you get heaps out of it.
Best report I've read in weeks