- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Port Adelaide
- Other Teams
- sanfl - the mighty double magpies
Any word on how ticket sales are going for this game?

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 10
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 10
SuperCoach Rd 10 Trades - Rd 10 SuperTalk - VC/Captain ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 10 Rd 10 Fantasy Talk - Trades! - AFLF VC / Captains
So Matt Thomas has what we call the "Reverse-Gold Pass" now?It won't be cold, wet and blustery, it'll be perfect conditions for football. And Matt Thomas should never come in when we have a fully fit squad under any circumstances.
So Matt Thomas has what we call the "Reverse-Gold Pass" now?
Anyone who is playing well deserves a spot in the team. Cassisi and Gray deserve spots in the team if they are playing well, they have earned those spots over years, its not a gold pass to bring your ex-captain back in just because we have young players playing alright. I think it would be a very good idea to get some more experience in our backline for this week, as they have really not been under much pressure just yet. I'd prefer the trio of Pittard/Stevenson/Heath to stay in, so they can learn to deal with pressure, but if Hinkley wants the win more than the experience, then so be it.
I think it would be a very good idea to get some more experience in our backline for this week, as they have really not been under much pressure just yet. I'd prefer the trio of Pittard/Stevenson/Heath to stay in, so they can learn to deal with pressure
Lurk3r said:if Hinkley wants the win more than the experience, then so be it.
I would expect that O'Shea stays in as I reckon Hinkley will want to try him, along with Jonas, Trengove, and Carlile against Walker and Jenkins to get a better feel for what key defensive roles they can play against various types of opponent.
I'm not totally opposed for Cassisi coming in, as he'd make a good hard-ball extractor down back when the ball hits the ground. Carlile did alright with that last weekend, and Jonas has shown a bit of it, but O'Shea, Heath, Stevenson haven't shown heaps in terms of pulling the ball out of a pack.
This....... Pittard, Stevenson and Heath are better players than Cassisi NOW. Getting experience into these guys and going all out for the win are one and the same thing at Port Adelaide.
Not their main role to do so. However Stevenson and Heath have both been immense in traffic with the ball.
It won't be cold, wet and blustery, it'll be perfect conditions for football. And Matt Thomas should never come in when we have a fully fit squad under any circumstances.
That trio have won plenty of the contetsted ball down back and used it well...... O'Shea, Heath, Stevenson haven't shown heaps in terms of pulling the ball out of a pack.
Mitchell would have the speed but he wouldn't have the physicality to go 1v1 against Crows mids.
Agree... can't really see it rain having that much effect on the game. It wont be tropical or consistent rain and the ground drains well. Might make things a bit slippery, but no more so than the dew last Saturday night.Doubt it. Shower or two is nothing.
Coming as a mature recruit from the WAFL, he's a more mature body than a simple young rookie. I think his strength holds up fine.
Given recent posts suggesting it will be wet I think the issue of Port's two ruckmen against Crows' one becomes very interesting.
- Will the wet conditions make every true ruckmen more of a liability around the ground and hence advantage the Crows? I think it's fair to say that none of these three ruckmen really have the flexibility to play other roles or add significant value around the ground.
- In the two games so far, Port's two ruckmen (I know Redden's out this week and Renouf in) have each had ~75% time on ground. Assuming they're never on the bench at the same time, then they spent 25% time off each making it 50% of the time in total that one ruckmen is on the bench. That's 50% of the time that the rest of Port's players only have two bench spots to rotate through. In contrast Jacobs has 90% TOG and hence only takes up one bench spot 10% of the time. Would the limited availability of rotations reduce the effectiveness of other players.
Given recent posts suggesting it will be wet I think the issue of Port's two ruckmen against Crows' one becomes very interesting.
- Will the wet conditions make every true ruckmen more of a liability around the ground and hence advantage the Crows? I think it's fair to say that none of these three ruckmen really have the flexibility to play other roles or add significant value around the ground.
- In the two games so far, Port's two ruckmen (I know Redden's out this week and Renouf in) have each had ~75% time on ground. Assuming they're never on the bench at the same time, then they spent 25% time off each making it 50% of the time in total that one ruckmen is on the bench. That's 50% of the time that the rest of Port's players only have two bench spots to rotate through. In contrast Jacobs has 90% TOG and hence only takes up one bench spot 10% of the time. Would the limited availability of rotations reduce the effectiveness of other players.
If we have the footy in our hands it's a lot easier to run, chasing is a different story... I hope that makes sense?Point two is a very good query!
However, I think first use of the ball is paramount and two ruckmen will give us first look at it. One to Crash and Bash and the other to pick on a sore and sorry Jacobs as the night progress'
Renouf fulltime ruck, Jacobs fulltime ruck
Lobbe 2nd ruck/key forward, Jenkins 2nd ruck/key forward
Schulz fulltime forward, Walker fulltime forward
We have the same amount of key position players (Westhoff is not playing as a key position player this year, he's playing as a wingman). The only difference is your 2nd ruck is a better forward than ruckman and our 2nd ruck is a better ruckman than forward. And you'd have to include Jenkins' TOG stats in the comparison from point 2 to make it fair (although the Crows would probably still be ahead).
I'm sure he's strength holds up fine but your comparing a 75kg player against a 90kg player. If i was the opposition player getting tackled, I'd know which one I'd like to be it!