Roast Prismall

Bananab3 has a point, These are probably the same people who were ribbing Jobe 3 years ago. This thread proves one thing, that people do not learn from past irrational judgements.

Of course you will all say that you thought Jobe was a star from Day one etc.

Give Prismall 2 years before you can tear him apart. (Thats 2 years from now, not 2 years at the club)

Stanton has become a very good player too, without some of the muppets on here's support!

Bananab3 has a point, These are probably the same people who were ribbing Jobe 3 years ago. This thread proves one thing, that people do not learn from past irrational judgements.

Give Prismall 2 years before you can tear him apart. (Thats 2 years from now, not 2 years at the club)

Stanton has become a very good player too, without some of the muppets on here's support!

Good on you Table Tennis.....just read the Herald Sun who voted him 3rd best on ground from 44 players!! I know whose opinions I would rather listen to. Oh and the coaches also popped him in their best players!!!
Sat next to an idiot at the Geel/Ess game at the start of the year who yelled at Prismall at one stage and said 'with your experience you ought to know better Prismall.' I turned to him and said how many games do you think this kid has played. Bombers supporter said 'have to be nearing 100'. I said he hasn't even played 50 mate. Still an inexperienced player playing at a new club.

Good on you Table Tennis.....just read the Herald Sun who voted him 3rd best on ground from 44 players!! I know whose opinions I would rather listen to. Oh and the coaches also popped him in their best players!!!
Sat next to an idiot at the Geel/Ess game at the start of the year who yelled at Prismall at one stage and said 'with your experience you ought to know better Prismall.' I turned to him and said how many games do you think this kid has played. Bombers supporter said 'have to be nearing 100'. I said he hasn't even played 50 mate. Still an inexperienced player playing at a new club.

Though I agree with TT, the Herald Sun have zero credibility surely. I don't want to have any affiliation with them, even if it's something I agree with.

What it shows is that the people on here are not true essendon supporters

The true supporters might be the ones burying their heads in the sand.

Pris, will be our best on baller during our premiership window.

If he’s playing anything like he is now, I’m not sure that window will ever exist.

From all reports, Pris was the only one to stand up after round
2 and say we need to have a more defensive mindset.

All reports? Only one? Most supporters and many in the media thought the defensive aspects of our game (or lack of) were killing us. You’d have to be blind not to have seen it.

For that he got dropped but it has resulted in the EFC playing in a style that has everyone enjoying.

I find it all pretty hard to believe. Either way, actions speak louder than words.

This tells me he is a very smart footballer and this has been validated
by the Geelong players who were very disappointed to lose him.

They seem to coping. They must really be missing their 8th best midfielder from 2 seasons ago.

Pris's problem is that he runs to the right areas and obviously get used,
but other dumb midfielders ( except jobe) are not getting to the next
usable position.

They’re all idiots and Priz is God. True supporters wouldn’t be so critical of our players, would they?

Because Pris has been taught at Geelong to be a defensive mid, he is getting a lot of possies at half back helping our defence, and therefore under constant pressure.

He’s like a giant force field, the opposition must feel hopeless trying to get through.

What does Roos putting the leagues best tagger Kirk on Pris tell the uneducated
supporter! That he is a very good play and they see all the things he does to help
us win. Are u guys saying you know more than a Premiership Coach

If Kirk is the leagues best tagger, I’d say you’re still living in 2005.

You are the same people who were bagging Jobe over the last 4
years because you only see 5-10% of turn overs that occur under the
the greatest pressure

Jobe had some major weaknesses and at times deserved to be bagged. I’m sure if/when Prismall improves on the weaker parts of his game, the supporters will come around. I doubt you’d find a single supporter that doesn’t want him to succeed…doesn’t mean he should be immune from criticism.

I've been getting quite frustrated with pris for the majority of the season. How he was named in the best, i have no idea. posse's doesn't equal best. Almost every time he recieves the ball he seems to change his mind several times as to what he is going to do with it. He needs to stop using his head and start using his instinct. Reminds me a bit of mcphee from last season. Just doesn't seem to have the natural smarts imo

Take a look at Winderlich, he must be the worst by hand in the team, he handballs to his teammates "below their hands" on many occassions and at the start of the last he had a shot from either 50 or just inside and guided directly to LRT on the last line. So if Prismall is turning it over so too is Winderlich.

Winderlich's positives far outweigh his shortcomings. Same can't be said for Prismall (this season).

Two by foot, 1 by hand and 1 out on the full equals four.

Not going hard enough, isn't butchering the ball.

So you're a mile off.

The official stats say he had two.

Interesting that Brett Kirk went to Prismall at the start of the game, not sure Kirk starts too many games on a wing.

You really do make these boards quite unbearable.

The official stats are an absolute load of shit. If a player does a 20 metre scrub kick along the ground (which Prissa did) and it eludes an opposition player before bouncing another 15m then going to a team mate, it is regarded as effective disposal.

This thread is a disgrace!

What it shows is that the people on here are not true essendon supporters
why would any potential recruit want to come to us when we have ueducated
supports writing dribble like this.

Pris, will be our best on baller during our premiership window.
From all reports, Pris was the only one to stand up after round
2 and say we need to have a more defensive mindset.
For that he got dropped but it has resulted in the EFC playing in
a style that has everyone enjoying.

This tells me he is a very smart footballer and this has been validated
by the Geelong players who were very disappointed to lose him.

Pris's problem is that he runs to the right areas and obviously get used,
but other dumb midfielders ( except jobe) are not getting to the next
usable position.

Because Pris has been taught at Geelong to be a defensive mid, he is
getting a lot of possies at half back helping our defence, and therefore
under constant pressure.

What does Roos putting the leagues best tagger Kirk on Pris tell the uneducated
supporter! That he is a very good play and they see all the things he does to help
us win. Are u guys saying you know more than a Premiership Coach

Again this laughable.

You are the same people who were bagging Jobe over the last 4
years because you only see 5-10% of turn overs that occur under the
the greatest pressure

The only one writing drivel, or is it dribble, is yourself. I have never heard of a bigger load of shit in my life.

3 years ago i was telling people that Jobe is a far better player than what he is given credit for and also that he would be our next skipper.

Just because someone says something negative about 1 player, doesn't mean they do it with every player.

Is a completely different player from last year.

I remember the games against Melbourne, Carlton and Hawthorn where he demonstrated his elite foot disposal. A key highlight was the last quarter against the Blues where he weighted a beautiful pass to Monfries on the lead. I thought then that we had a beauty on our hands.

His first half against the Bulldogs last year was a great game too where he and Winderlich took Footscray to town before they Hahn and the umpires overran us.

When I aw him during the Nab Cup he looked really fit, trim and ready to elevate himself above the level of Stanton, Winderlich and co. instead we've seen a player who's completely lost confidence, second-guesses himself and, consequently, turns it over.

We know he's a much better executor than his performance is showing atm, after all, it's not like he didn't show it last year.

Throughout this year I have defended Prismall's games from all the roasting, and it seems this thread is no different.

I spent the past 4 and a half hours watching the game again, pausing, rewinding, re-watching and making notes on it all, which if you like you can read over on the votes thread.

Prismall's first quarter was not terrible, he got the ball plenty, put pressure on and provided plenty of options coming out of defense. His disposal was average, but he kept pushing on to provide options for his team mates.

His second quarter was much the same. But his disposal was very bad. He did most of his best work in close this quarter feeding the ball out to the likes on Winders and Jobe, which was great to see. His field kicking was sub standard however, but like Jobe (who was very bad disposal wise yesterday) kept pushing for their team.

If the game was taken in isolation in the last half, Prismall was just about our best player. His third quater was great and his disposal was fantastic. Good tackle pressure, kicks inside 50 led to 2 goals. Massive step up from his first half.

When the game was on the line in the last quarter, Prismall did absolutely everything to get the team up. Much the same as his third quarter, tackle pressure up, percentage football, great clearances and disposal was very good in the wet.

Hurley did not go hard at contests all day (besides one backing into Goodes) didn't tackle well, and just all over looked lost. He, along with Dempsey were our worst today. Clearly.

Howlett was virtually unsighted in the first quarter, and for those saying that if someone is having a bad game then they shouldn't go near the ball at all is ridiculous. Watson's disposal today was very bad, probably the worst in the team. However, he stood up, took control and kicked the ball into the square, which Jetta was good enough to put through for a goal.

If Prismall had played that first half and then did his best to avoid the ball from there on, people would grill him for giving up. Seriously people, take off the rose coloured glasses and see people's performances for what they really were, and not from what you remember from past games, or how you see them in the future.

Hurley played a sub standard game. Prismall started off much the same, but was one of our best in the last half.

End Rant.

Hurley did not go hard at contests all day (besides one backing into Goodes) didn't tackle well, and just all over looked lost. He, along with Dempsey were our worst today. Clearly.

Amazing how opinions can differ - personally, I think that's absolute bollocks. I lost count at the number of times Hurley left his man to assist other defenders.

The official stats are an absolute load of shit. If a player does a 20 metre scrub kick along the ground (which Prissa did) and it eludes an opposition player before bouncing another 15m then going to a team mate, it is regarded as effective disposal.

No it isn't.

If you don't hit a teammate on the full with a short kick, in fact if a teammate doesn't take a mark from a short kick (unless he drops it) then it is deemed an ineffective disposal.

The official stats are red hot on any kick under 40m that doesn't land in the lap of a teammate.

No it isn't.

If you don't hit a teammate on the full with a short kick, in fact if a teammate doesn't take a mark from a short kick (unless he drops it) then it is deemed an ineffective disposal.

The official stats are red hot on any kick under 40m that doesn't land in the lap of a teammate.

Conversely, if you kick the footy to a teammate and they drop the mark (under pressure) is that counted as an ineffective kick? I reckon that happened to Hurley about 5 times on Sunday.

There was a caller on SEN last night about 6.30 ring up and slam Prismall, which i got frustrated with, but about 15 mins later, another caller got on, an Essendon Member who got on and slammed the Bombers Faithful about eating thier own. Had a dig at Patrick Smith for leading the negative army and brought up about Prismall being traded for a high pick, and coming off a knee reco, so for some bomber fans to give him the time to develop after such surgery and inexperience in terms of games played.

I was knocked down by a feather listening to it, it was pretty much everything that I said on here yesterday.

What I hate, is sitting in the essendon memebers, and hearing the negative comments, even before a ball is bounced.

"are you going to get a kick tonight Prismall you hack", "how do you get a game Slattery", etc.

I have been going to the footy since 1992. In between that time and now, we have had much more happy times than bad. As a supporter base, we are easily one of the most fickle fan bases.

Of course this can sometimes be a minority group, of the section your in, however frustrating all the same, however, like a cancer, it spreads.

I was at the Bulldogs game two weeks ago. the amount of shit hurled at our players was a digrace. However these same supporters where hurling praise at Gumby after laying the boots into him minutes before. I took my Best mate who is a dogs supporter. He turned to me at the 3qtr time and said "jeez your supporters don't ask for much do they"?

We are forever demanding that Stanton become the next Hird overnight, Monfries to become the next Mark Mercuri, Prismall to be the next Caracella, Gumbleton to be the next Lucas, all overnight. These are unrealistic equations.

We have been blessed with some freakish players over the journey, probably where the harsh critism comes from, but I believe that we have improved immensly this season.

There is not enough positivity amongst the supporters to reflect the leaps and bounds our side, and our coach have brought on this season.

I Implore all of you, when next attending an Essendon game, to sit back, not hurl abuse at our much loved players of our beloved club, but instead, watch them continously grow into a damn good football side that they are on the verge of becoming.

Its easy to put things into perspective when your Fiance is a Richmond Supporter, Best mate a Bulldog supporter and family friends are Saints supporters. But c'mon Bombers fans, we are better than the fickle performance that we have put in, lets get right behind the dons and see us continue to fly up......

Is a completely different player from last year.

I remember the games against Melbourne, Carlton and Hawthorn where he demonstrated his elite foot disposal. A key highlight was the last quarter against the Blues where he weighted a beautiful pass to Monfries on the lead. I thought then that we had a beauty on our hands.

His first half against the Bulldogs last year was a great game too where he and Winderlich took Footscray to town before they Hahn and the umpires overran us.

When I aw him during the Nab Cup he looked really fit, trim and ready to elevate himself above the level of Stanton, Winderlich and co. instead we've seen a player who's completely lost confidence, second-guesses himself and, consequently, turns it over.

We know he's a much better executor than his performance is showing atm, after all, it's not like he didn't show it last year.
This is pretty much what I'm thinking.

I thought Pris played a reasonable game on the weekend and has been above average since he came back in to the side.

The disappointing thing about him for me is that I rated him as an extremely good user of the ball. He has shown he can be brilliant by foot, but this year his best and his worst are too far apart. On the weekend I counted 3 clangers, all in the first half when it was dry, that missed their mark by a long way under no pressure at all. Every week there are 2 or 3 that really stand out because of how bad they are.

If he gets rid of these, which he should be able to because its probably just a concentration thing, I'll be very happy with Pris.

I feel really sorry for the kid.

I have said on the main board, that while I am not a huge fan of Knights, I think his dropping of players for lack of defensive pressure (which was heavily criticised) actually seems to have worked when you look at the defensive side of Essendons game at the moment.

For some reason I am not sure this move is working so well with Prismall, I am sure he is working very hard, but he seems to be playing like someone who realises he is constantly under the watchful (and critical) eye of his coach, and that kind of pressure can't be great.

I think he should be told that he has 3 weeks to make the spot his own, and take some of the pressure off. I think Knights should back him in, then judge him accordingly.

Every player is different, and I think the coach needs to recognise that the kids confidence seems shot and he needs to invest some time into him.

Where was Hurley?

He should be treated the same as every other player.

If it was Slattery that was playing loose this forum would go into meltdown.
That's because Slattery more or less knows what's expected of him. Hurley doesn't have a clue in any given week which position he'll be playing. It's a bit like the Ryder connundrum before he broke out as a ruckman. Where do you play him? His development as a player was being compromised because he couldn't grow into a set position.

I know we drafted him as a defender, but that doesn't mean he's a ready made footballer. He's been earmarked as a forward and no doubt his training will be focused upon that. We should now view Hurley as part-time defender.

What I hate, is sitting in the essendon memebers, and hearing the negative comments, even before a ball is bounced."

It's amazing how affronted these members get when you have the temerity to suggest they're sitting in the wrong section of the ground or wearing the wrong scarf. Always satisfying though.

It is not schadenfreude that makes me post this. I have no interest in seeing Prismall fail but what do you guys think about his form now?

Seeing as those questioning his position don't know football and all...

Roast Prismall