Society & Culture Problem gamblers

• Thread starter Thread starter fairdinkum

I call bs on this unless you have astronomical turnover.

Also, how many staff are manning your local TAB? How reasonable is it that you'll be intercepted between the door and the machine if you're looking to put on a bet. It's just not practical for a large amount of these bets to be stopped given how easy it is to get your bets on.

Have to give props to betfair in this regard though, once you self-exclude, by all accounts it's very hard to start betting there again, even when your period of self-exclusion is over.

Not sure how people can bet on things tuned for you to lose (pokies, tatts, horse racing), once you get your head around this relatively easy concept surely even "feels" like adrenaline and thrill are significantly cheapened to the point they are not worth pursuing.

I enjoy a punt and I know I am going to lose in the long run. But same with going to the movies - you know you wont get any of that money back. But you will (usually) be entertained for a couple of hours. If you are genuinely entertained by your gambling, I don't think it's a big problem.

I think it comes down to the entertainment factor. For horses, I like putting my hanicapping abilities to the test by 'putting my money where my mouth is' and watching the race unfold.

But yeah, it seems like it is a really big problem for some. I like the point about pokies limits etc - why it doesn't apply elsewhere I'm not too sure. There is not a lot stopping me (apart from myself) from putting a few grand in my online betting account via credit card and losing it all on one or two races. I will never do that, but I'm sure there are some who will, and that scares me.

Remember that bloke I referred to in the OP of this this thread?

He texted me just before the start of tonight's Brownlow count to say he was backing Ablett. I asked how much he had put on him, he got back to me with a few rounds to go (when Ablett looked good for at least a place) to say he had put a 'small fortune' on Ablett to make top five @ 1.40.

I know what a 'small fortune' is to this guy. We are talking $500 minimum. Probably twice that. I should add that since I started this thread all those weeks ago, he has lost his job and is yet to find a new one.

Not sure if any of you followed the placings in the last round of voting but, due to two or three players polling last-round votes, Ablett slipped to sixth.

To all of you idiots who tried to tell me this dude didn't have a gambling problem, how many of you are willing to admit that maybe you got this one wrong?

P.S. Swallow for most NM votes @ $1.80 was a value bet :thumbsu:

He texted me just before the start of tonight's Brownlow count to say he was backing Ablett. I asked how much he had put on him, he got back to me with a few rounds to go (when Ablett looked good for at least a place) to say he had put a 'small fortune' on Ablett to make top five @ 1.40.

I know what a 'small fortune' is to this guy. We are talking $500 minimum. Probably twice that. I should add that since I started this thread all those weeks ago, he has lost his job and is yet to find a new one.

Not sure if any of you followed the placings in the last round of voting but, due to two or three players polling last-round votes, Ablett slipped to sixth.

To all of you idiots who tried to tell me this dude didn't have a gambling problem, how many of you are willing to admit that maybe you got this one wrong?

This guy sounds exactly like my mate. Lost his job a few weeks back and the only money he makes is cash in hand from basketball reffing.

Anyway, he was down to next to no money about a month back, sold his NYE music festival ticket to a girl and loaded up the $450 straight on a bet. Lost it all and did it again and lost it all again. He's sold the same ticket to six different people so owes roughly $2,400 to six different people. The funniest part though is that he's going to go anyway. He just needed an excuse to get these people's money. The most amazing thing is that despite all the losses, he's ended up turning his last few hundred dollars into a few grand. I think he's got close to $5,000 in cash that he's made in the last two weeks alone and around $3,500 of it is since Friday night. Quite staggering.

If Ablett held into 5th would you have come here and made this post? Or are you just results orientated and its only a problem if you're losing?

I dont know your mates financial situation, and neither do you really, but I know plenty of people who wagered more than $500 last night. I only wagered $200 (no wins, thanks Sam Mitchell) and considered it a small amount. Had the field been more defined I probably wouldve bet more, but I felt this one was a bit of a lottery.

Whether your friend has a gambling problem or not is completely based on his situation. Punting $100 a week when working isnt anywhere near a problem. As long as he has the money to cover his $500 bet, or isnt making $500 bets every week, its still not a problem. Its a one off event that most punters love to have a good crack at.

Stop trying to hang him

This guy sounds exactly like my mate. Lost his job a few weeks back and the only money he makes is cash in hand from basketball reffing.

Anyway, he was down to next to no money about a month back, sold his NYE music festival ticket to a girl and loaded up the $450 straight on a bet. Lost it all and did it again and lost it all again. He's sold the same ticket to six different people so owes roughly $2,400 to six different people. The funniest part though is that he's going to go anyway. He just needed an excuse to get these people's money. The most amazing thing is that despite all the losses, he's ended up turning his last few hundred dollars into a few grand. I think he's got close to $5,000 in cash that he's made in the last two weeks alone and around $3,500 of it is since Friday night. Quite staggering.

lol now thats more of a gambling problem

hope he has paid back the money he owes from his winnings

that story and the OPs story couldnt be more different though

I dont know your mates financial situation, and neither do you really...

Who do you reckon has a better idea?

Whether your friend has a gambling problem or not is completely based on his situation.

Heavily in debt, no job, gambling away $500+ on a single bet. That's his situation.

Stop trying to hang him

Don't be an idiot. Nobody is 'hanging' anybody.

I often think about this. I punt most weeks on the footy and the EPL, usually if I lose it's no more than $100 or so. Occasionally lash out and throw $500/$1000 on something, but after losing a few like that in a short period of time I haven't placed bets that big for a while. It has never affected the way I live or anything as I earn enough to comfortably cover it when I lose, but there was a point in time where I thought the temptation to place large bets was a worrying sign. Since losing a few k in a short period of time though, simply not placing bets like that has been easy enough.

Oh, I've never understood pokies. Played about three machines in my life. Seem boring and pointless to me.

Got a mate thats pretty bad on the pokies. Will drop a weeks wage on them no worries after a few drinks. He gets rapt when he wins like $100 back after dropping $500 in the machine. Doesn't really make sense.

I often think about this. I punt most weeks on the footy and the EPL, usually if I lose it's no more than $100 or so. Occasionally lash out and throw $500/$1000 on something, but after losing a few like that in a short period of time I haven't placed bets that big for a while. It has never affected the way I live or anything as I earn enough to comfortably cover it when I lose, but there was a point in time where I thought the temptation to place large bets was a worrying sign. Since losing a few k in a short period of time though, simply not placing bets like that has been easy enough.

Oh, I've never understood pokies. Played about three machines in my life. Seem boring and pointless to me.

I'd say that's a fairly common scenario and one that I can identify with. Dunno how old you are AS, but the majority of those who gambled/drank/drugged in their late teens and early twenties start to examine negative consequences and adjust their behaviour accordingly (after dropping a k on Vo Rogue in the Aus cup, beaten by Dandy Andy, I knew I had to knock it on the head).

As for pokies, they're a different beast all together. I cannae stand the ****ers, however have treated many that have been addicted to 'em. Pokie gamblers tend to be of a different demographic, than say your TAB punter or casino gambler. They work on psychological conditioning principles, and the rapid-spinning of the machines facilitates cognitive and emotional avoidance (zoning out) which for those suffering from emotional disturbances can be quite a powerful coping strategy.

Have never understood why people hate gambling so much.

All recreation has a price, I have no issue with someone wanting to blow a couple $100 on the horses or pokies or whatever rather than a night out on the piss. Its their money, whatever makes them happy is what they should do. No one would condemn people for spending a significant amount on a night out or the like but as soon as its on gambling its a problem. Ridiculous.

This is more in reply to those who think gambling is heinous and requires a blanket ban.

Have never understood why people hate gambling so much.

All recreation has a price, I have no issue with someone wanting to blow a couple $100 on the horses or pokies or whatever rather than a night out on the piss. Its their money, whatever makes them happy is what they should do. No one would condemn people for spending a significant amount on a night out or the like but as soon as its on gambling its a problem. Ridiculous.

This is more in reply to those who think gambling is heinous and requires a blanket ban.
Good post. It does have a stigma. No doubt that there is significant problems, and some aspects have an evilness to it (esp pokies attracting mentally fragile, etc) but as a general recreation it really is unfairly abhored by some.
Gambling websites banned at work. Shopping not. So I can buy a pair of shoes onlilne but not place a bet. What's the difference?

The guy placed a $500 losing bet and that makes him a problem gambler? lol hilarious

I'd also consider whether the guy in question is actually betting as much as he's leading you to believe.

I've known multiple people who want to be perceived as some sort of 'high roller' by exaggerating both winning and losing bets.

It's possible he might be trying to impress you, and his losses may be far smaller than he's letting on.

Most people who put on big bets don't go around advertising the fact, it's quite gauche.