purremiers

Arsenal
Anyone know what is going on with proud...he was named on the field last week and didnt play and now deosnt look like getting a look in.... can anyone fill me in on his whereabouts and should he be traded??

His been going well in the reserves, but lacks the fitness to run out a game, and considering Lions have been having a few fade outs in the last quarter lately, adding someone who can't run out a game well isn't gonna help. He wont be a regular this season unless injuries occur I reckon.

yep proud wont be racking up any more sc points no longer
if u have him on your field trade him out

want to trade him but trades are just too valuable to waste... he can just play kick to kick with nicoski on my reserves

Has been BOG the last 2 weeks. Surely good form must be rewarded soon enough. Keep it up Proud :thumbsu:

Rd 7 in Ressies ...

Suncoast Lions

Goal Kickers: R Copeland 4, A Proud 2, J Tippett 2, J Polkinghorne 2, M Austin, L Henderson 1

Best Players: A Proud, J Hawksley, J Tippett, C Schmidt, R Copeland, H Kiel

Rd 8 in Ressies ...

Suncoast Lions

Goal Kickers: J Polkinghorne 3, R Copeland 2, M Tyler 2, A Proud 2, S Clouston 2, L Henderson 2, A Magin 2, D Stevens 2, P Garner, B Dalziell, M Austin 1

Best Players: A Proud, T Collier, J Polkinghorne, M Austin, C Stiller, M Leuenberger

Has been BOG the last 2 weeks. Surely good form must be rewarded soon enough. Keep it up Proud :thumbsu:

Rd 7 in Ressies ...

Suncoast Lions

Goal Kickers: R Copeland 4, A Proud 2, J Tippett 2, J Polkinghorne 2, M Austin, L Henderson 1

Best Players: A Proud, J Hawksley, J Tippett, C Schmidt, R Copeland, H Kiel

Rd 8 in Ressies ...

Suncoast Lions

Goal Kickers: J Polkinghorne 3, R Copeland 2, M Tyler 2, A Proud 2, S Clouston 2, L Henderson 2, A Magin 2, D Stevens 2, P Garner, B Dalziell, M Austin 1

Best Players: A Proud, T Collier, J Polkinghorne, M Austin, C Stiller, M Leuenberger

Another B.O.G this week in the ressies. Time to reward the kid with a game Matthew's (and give him some game time)

For some reason though he can't even get named on an extended bench or as a emerg.

He doesn't have the fitness yet.

What happened to his fitness?

He seems to have enough to get BOG in teh 2s pretty often. He also played some great games in pre-season (hence why he is in so many SC sides), and has thrown himself around like a maniac in his few senior games. That could be because he's been given such pathetic TOG though i suppose...

I trust Lethal as much as I trust Laidley for giving rookies long stints in the ones. My bad for starting the season with two of my three defensive cows being North and Brisbane rookies. :confused:

ok so Brisbane make two late changes to their selected side. Albert Proud was initially named as an emergency. Albert Proud is still an emergency. It was Travis Johnstone and Sherman who pulled out, Proud could replace either of those.

Does anyone know what's happening with Proud? Will he play again this season? Did he slag off Lethal or something?

Ive been wondering whats going on with him, knowone seems to know, ive been hearing about him dominating the 2s for a while now, its a travesty that he hasnt been playing 1s earlier, I dont rate many youngstars higher than Albert Proud.

Surprise Surprise...

Just checked the Sunshine Coast results and Proud was 2nd Best on ground for then AGAIN.

Suncoast Lions

Goal Kickers: M Moody 3, J Tippett 2, S Maxfield 2, A Proud 2, J Hawksley 2, M Leuenberger 2, T Grayson 2, S Clouston, B Dalziell, D Steven, J Parkes 1

Best Players: D Dzufer, A Proud, M Leuenberger, C Schmidt, J Hawksley

That would have to be 4-5 weeks in a row he has been either best on ground or close to.

Let me guess ... wil be named 1st Emergency again :rolleyes:

Lethal isn't an idiot, he knows what his doing. Unfourtunately he doesn't choose the teams based on your dream team.

From the reports I've heard, he isn't able to run out the game, lacks the fitness to do so. We need our players to run out games, as of late we've been struggling in the last quarters. Another player that can't run out the game doesn't hurt.

Lethal isn't an idiot, he knows what his doing. Unfourtunately he doesn't choose the teams based on your dream team.

From the reports I've heard, he isn't able to run out the game, lacks the fitness to do so. We need our players to run out games, as of late we've been struggling in the last quarters. Another player that can't run out the game doesn't hurt.

This was a post in regard to Proud and alot of people's dream teams. The only reason i take an interest in regard to Proud is because of my supercoach team. That's why I posted this on the supercoach board and not the lions board where you will all sook up about anyone asking.

The standard reply seems to be "Matthew's does not pick a team based on your dream team". Other one that is always repeated is that "Proud does not have the fitness to run out a game". Do any of you Lions fans know that for a fact or are you just going by rumour on bigfooty because one guy posted that a few weeks ago.

These days with rotations the way they are and many of the rookies only playing about 60% game time, you dont need to be able to run out 100% of the match.

That's why I posted this on the supercoach board and not the lions board where you will all sook up about anyone asking.

And I gave you the answer to the best of my knowledge. All I was saying is that there's a reason behind to why Lethal doesn't play him.

Do any of you Lions fans know that for a fact or are you just going by rumour on bigfooty because one guy posted that a few weeks ago.

I know someone in Brisbane that catches some of the Suncoast Lions games he can, and he has said to me on quite a few occasions, that Proud hasn't played out the game well, and isn't as effective late game.

These days with rotations the way they are and many of the rookies only playing about 60% game time, you dont need to be able to run out 100% of the match.

And with injuries these days, you can't predict how much time rookies will get. He might be needed in the last quarter. If his struggling to run out a game in the QAFL, it won't be much better in AFL.

I had him in my initial squad, but after a couple of moderate scoring games, then him getting dropped, i ended up trading him for S.Thompson of the Kangaroos. Now that's another bone of contention! He has scored at least mid 60's every game, but has always been dropped the week after playing, and was again shafted after consecutive 70's just this week. Seems to the fall guy at the Roos, peeved off at Laidley here as S.Thompson would rise to close to 400K if allowed to play. Still, he's the boss of the Roos....:mad:

That's why I posted this on the supercoach board and not the lions board where you will all sook up about anyone asking.

We only have 'sook' as you call it because people open up stupid threads on the main board or in the roster thread asking why he doesn't get a game. We have a clear thread for DT/SC questions. We are happy to answer questions there.

Sorry if this comes out the wrong way Jas, because it's not meant to, but that story doesn't fit too well. If a guy who is very close to a regular BOG isn't fit enough to play a full game, it doesn't say much for the other reserves players or why any of them are selected first. Surely they should have more impact if he can't play a full game?

Proud was in the same draft as Leuenberger (9 games this season), a year earlier than Henderson (6 games) and Polkinghorne (3 games) were drafted. Not only that but Henderson was a late replacement in the side this week when Proud is theoretically in much better form than him.

Add in the fact that Proud has only been given around 40% game time in the 3 games he's played this year, and it could easily seem that the bloke has been treated a little harshly.

Having said that, I do feel that Lethal tries to nurse guys through their first few seasons. You have to go back to the 2005 draft to find a bloke who has played more than 18 games (and the next highest is 6 games)... He seems to leave one spot open each game to rotate rookies through until their bodies are ready for regular games. Probably gives time to see if they are good enough as well. Bad for Supercoaches but it is impossible to question his record.

I have to say that I really like the look of Proud. In the small time that he has played this season (i saw all three games) he looks like he could be exceptional. His attack on the ball is phenomenal, and if he has slowed a little in some games, maybe it's because he is so hard at it that his level of aggression is impossible to maintain. You could be sitting on a real talent there, but he needs to get more games before we will really know...

Either way, I look forward to seeing more of him, I have just been curious why he has not been given more of a go. Could be a ready made gun for next season if he sits out the rest of this one.

it doesn't say much for the other reserves players or why any of them are selected first. Surely they should have more impact if he can't play a full game?

Not having watched the games personally, I can't comment. But I could hazard to guess it shows how well his doing early in games.

Not only that but Henderson was a late replacement in the side this week when Proud is theoretically in much better form than him.

I was shocked too, because it was Sherman and Johnstone out, two midfielders, and they bought in Stiller and Henderson, who's a midfield and a tall. Would've thought Proud would've been the good replacement. We won though, so not complaints :D

Either way, I look forward to seeing more of him, I have just been curious why he has not been given more of a go. Could be a ready made gun for next season if he sits out the rest of this one.

I reckon most us Lions supporters would be wondering the same thing, but as you said, you can't question Lethal's record. He probably won't be a regular this season, unless injuries hit hard. With another pre-season under the belt, I reckon we will see heaps more of him next year (fingers crossed).

I think in some cases, Proud hasn't got the call up due to positioning. He is a hard at it in and under midfielder, who loves stoppages. Our main man at this is Black, Riska, Brennan. TJ went out this week, who is a small forward outside mid type, pretty much identical to Stiller, more of a ball carrier.

If Proud was gonna come in as a later replacement, it would of been last week with Riska going out late, but it didn't happen.

I think Hendo came in this week allowing him to play back, moving Brennan into the midfield exclusively, which was a good call

I have seen a few games that Proud has played and I can't understand why he is not being called up. I am starting to assume there are off-field issues at play here. He looks a class above in the reserves and is named as the best for the Suncoast more often than not. He plays both on-ball and up forward and looks very accomplished at both. He has some things to work on but which young player doesn't and they are not so significant that they should stop him getting a game when he is playing so much better than others who are getting games.

No mention of him in best or goals this week for Sunshine Coast .. wonder if he played?

Probably lost all confidence and hope after always being BOG and still not getting picked and thought why bother ;)

No mention of him in best or goals this week for Sunshine Coast .. wonder if he played?

Probably lost all confidence and hope after always being BOG and still not getting picked and thought why bother ;)

Pretty sure he is carrying an injury. Did stationary skills at training last week, and didn't even do laps