Pubs in Geelong

Disco_Roach

gday lads,

I'm heading down your way by train on saturday & having not been b4 was wondering if you kind folk could point me in the right direction of a pub with a decent tab & grub for lunch.

cheers n best of luck on the weekend.

As a Tigers fan apologies if I'm out of line here Cats posters, but as a Barwon Heads resident, I can recommend the Barwon Club, which is a short stroll from the train station if you get off at South Geelong station (one stop further than Geelong). That's where I'll be anyway.

Yep go the Barwon Club or 'BC' as it is referred to by the locals. Closest pub and always a good atmosphere their pre game. It's opposite the Holden Dealership just near the bridge

Might i also recommend the chips and gravy all washed down by some Draught

George & Dragon on Moorabool St, a short hop from the ground is not bad either. Usually pop in there for a pot or two on a Friday night after work. It's owned by Steven King and Kent Kingsley i think. Not sure how popular it is before the game though.

tugga said:
George & Dragon on Moorabool St, a short hop from the ground is not bad either. Usually pop in there for a pot or two on a Friday night after work. It's owned by Steven King and Kent Kingsley i think. Not sure how popular it is before the game though.

King,Kingsley and Scarlett own it.
You might find Kent working there on saturday.He'll have some free time on saturday arvo.

JUBJUB said:
King,Kingsley and Scarlett own it.
You might find Kent working there on saturday.He'll have some free time on saturday arvo.
Do you think when Kent is working behind the bar he would drop glasses as easy as he drops marks.

He probably only fills one pot and then stops, he doesn't make second efforts.

The Hulkster said:
Do you think when Kent is working behind the bar he would drop glasses as easy as he drops marks.

:D:D:D:D:D :thumbsu:

Disco_Roach said:
gday lads,

I'm heading down your way by train on saturday & having not been b4 was wondering if you kind folk could point me in the right direction of a pub with a decent tab & grub for lunch.

cheers n best of luck on the weekend.

:) THE Clarendon on Latrobe Terrace is pretty handy. On Latrobe Terrace, just across the road from Kardinia Park. Nice beer and decent food.

Or you could always try the social club at the ground. Never fails to disappoint!:)

The Hulkster said:

"Kent, another beer for over here thanks mate."

"Sure Kingy, just pass me a pot."

The pot goes flying over Kent's head and the defence is left to 'clean up'.

After trial and error, on the 15th attempt the pass is successful. From point-blank range, Kent tries to pour the beer. He misses the unmissable.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J said:
"Kent, another beer for over here thanks mate."

"Sure Kingy, just pass me a pot."

The pot goes flying over Kent's head and the defence is left to 'clean up'.

After trial and error, on the 15th attempt the pass is successful. From point-blank range, Kent tries to pour the beer. He misses the unmissable.

Then points randomly to the pocket like it was someone elses fault.

None of the pubs mentioned have tabs (which our good friend was looking for), one of the great frustrations of Skilled is the lack of tote facilities near by. Top up the phone account and bring a wireless. The Barwon Club is the best boozer in the vicinity.

The Valley Inn is near the ground and has TAB facilities. The food is cheap and hearty - my friends of the male variety tend to order two meals, but still get out of it for under $15! Drinks are cheap too.

It's unpretentious and reliable - I like it.

The Hulkster said:

lol.... classic :D :D :D

Alphonse said:
None of the pubs mentioned have tabs (which our good friend was looking for), one of the great frustrations of Skilled is the lack of tote facilities near by. Top up the phone account and bring a wireless. The Barwon Club is the best boozer in the vicinity.

Cheers there Alphie,

yeah that sucks, I might have to top up the acc or go to the Valley Inn as the Viking suggested.

cheers guys for the responses