Punishments are in!!!

• Thread starter Thread starter sirlothie

we should recruit this guy, will make shaw look positively soft ;)

But officer, it was only 20 litres of beer

From correspondents in Sofia, Bulgaria

August 05, 2008 09:06am
Article from: Agence France-Presse

A MOTORIST stopped by Bulgarian police after a minor traffic accident admitted he had drunk 20 litres of beer - and promptly passed out, local TV reported.

The man had a blood alcohol reading more than double the level usually considered lethal, bTV TV said.

The 25-year old driver, who was not named, registered 0.851 blood alcohol content. Bulgaria's legal limit is 0.05 percent, and 0.40 is often fatal.

Bulgarian police have upped the number of road checks lately following a spate of serious accidents.

More than 1000 people were killed in road accidents in 2007 in Bulgaria, which has a population of 7.7 million.

Suspense

If you are the believe the club then the two players were repeatedly questioned on the matter only to continue the lie, then they allowed our leadership group to front the media and back them.

Social burden or not this is poor form. Honesty and integrity are important ingredients for success.

The way I see it, both these players deserve to be suspended for the rest of the year so cut our losses and discount them both. Play the rest of the season with a list that knows the other two have wronged, and they are being disciplined.

If we win 2 of the remaining 4 games by a decent margin (say 5 goals) and lose the other 2 by less than that we can still sneak 8th spot I reckon, based on the draw of Brisbane and Richmond.

All 4 games are winnable even without our best 2 players in Didak and Shaw.

Give Chris Dawes and McArthy a run, Brodie back to the midfield, throw Josh up forward for a bit and see how we go.

Ironically, bottoming out and missing the finals after this affair will be less dissapointing than if we missed with the players still playing. The absence of Dids and Heater will provide some excuse, and the players will play with the 'nothing to lose' attitude that has served us well in the past, and hopefully any tension within the team will disolve a bit with the absence of tweedle-dee and tweedle-dum.

Have a crack in the last 4 rounds, a first up elimination against say Sydney or North again we would be a show. A semi final from here would be the best we could hope for though.

You guys are missing the point here.

The leadership group determined that those two were not worthy of wearing the black and white jumper for the rest of the year.

Think about that!

Because they ball faced lyed to their team mates and club they are not trusted. The players do not want them out there with them.

If Scott Burns does not want them out there because of their deceipt, then neither do I.
Yeh if that is the case than I am with the captain. I am against suspension for off field stuff but this has crossed over to on field now to all practical extents.

Yes, but the reasons as to why this is the case is fundamentally flawed, as I was alluding to earlier.

Yes, but no one has even considered the reasons as to why the lied, which ultimately were a direct consequence and flow on effect of the increased media pressure and social responsiblity which the players are unfairly burdened with.

If there wasn't going to be such a mass hysteria about this nothing incident, then I highly doubt that the boys would have any reason to lie at all.

As long as it doesn't affect their peformance, it is irrelevant.

Was it any wonder that West Coast's most recent successful period was also concurrent with their so-called poor off-field culture period? To my knowledge, Ben's Cousin's addiction never affected his playing performance, so it was irrelevant. And they were successful.

They get rid of him (a great player. Great players help football teams win matches of football) in an attempt to rid this so-called "poor culture" and they, as a result, take on a culture far worse, a losing culture.

They are football clubs. They exist to win football, they do not exist as bastions of morality with which to guide all of society.

Social crusaders in the media fervently wish to apply their warped line of thinking onto football clubs and burden them with this idiotic notion of social responsibility and until now, we, as a club, have held steady and maintained that we exist to win football.

No longer is this the case. Winning football is no longer our main priority. A sad day for the CFC.

this statement is absolute crap, there is no way a winning culture that accepts drug use is better than a losing culture that fights against drug use, i dont care what you say. cousin's state and actions were a disgrace and he had to get the sack for the good of everyone at that club, and in the end it still cost the eagles their best player in judd

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

WTF... the president of the Marty Clarke fan club is a closet Bombers supporter?
Was at that guys house before having a hit of golf. Thought i better join in the drama at the moment.

Anyway, so this means that they won't play finals if we do make it? That kind of sucks but they deserve it i guess.

Do you really think my other team would be tennis? Surely not.

Back on topic,
This may give Dawes a debut.
Would like to see Cook get another run, i think he will do ok at the late end of the season.

Was at that guys house before having a hit of golf. Thought i better join in the drama at the moment.

Anyway, so this means that they won't play finals if we do make it? That kind of sucks but they deserve it i guess.

Ah, there you are Scotty - that clears things up.

It may be a fair punishment for the offenders, but the problem is that we will now all suffer the grim consequences.:(

this statement is absolute crap, there is no way a winning culture that accepts drug use is better than a losing culture that fights against drug use, i dont care what you say. cousin's state and actions were a disgrace and he had to get the sack for the good of everyone at that club, and in the end it still cost the eagles their best player in judd

tell that to the legion of west coast fans who have a recent premiership to bask in!

Whilst i'm not saying you are completely wrong, If you'd ever won a flag you'd know what i'm talking about.

It unfortunately isn't as clear as it would seem but it's a reasonable opinion

p.s. judd was out of there regardless.

Didak suspended rest of season, $5000 fine.

H. Shaw suspended rest of season, $10000 fine.

R. Shaw suspended 2 weeks, $5000 fine.
It's not the crime that kills you, it's the cover-up. That'll teach every AFL player to 'fess up completely and properly to their club when trouble hits. Collingwood probably did every club a favour today and I'm not talking about robbing themselves of two very good players.

Although it hurts your 2008 chances, I suspect it will pay dividends in the future.

I thought the punishment handed out today was appropriate. Although as much as I hate to say it Caro had a good point in the press conference today.

She questioned Pert why the players where suspended for lying to the club but when it was just drinking/driving, it was just public humiliation and no suspension. So by their actions the club is saying lying to your peers is worse than getting pissed (6 days out from a game), driving and putting yourself and other members of the public at risk. I'm not saying that the lying part is ok they are both as bad as the other IMHO and the club should have been harsher on Shaw yesterday and given him a suspension then.

It now makes it interesting to see what the club does. I think Heath as a first time offender will do his penance and be still there in the B&W next year (but he should still be shopped around). I'm not so sure about Didak, after all the club has done for him in standing by him through last years adversity, I think they may now realise (like Tarrant before him) that they need to end the relationship at years end. To me it just reeks of the Tarrant situation. After a tumultous season off field (2 years in Dids case) he was shipped off.

If I was the club I would see what the other clubs would be willing to offer at the trade table and I would weigh up the options from there. The problem for the club is that they are behind the eight ball at the trade table. Everyone knows that Didak and Shaw are out of favour and are going to be shopped around so we will have to play our cards close to our chest and see what is offered.

I am pleasantly surprised by the response from the people on SEN and the talkback callers. I thought they'd thoughtlessly have a go at us for not giving them the blood they lust for. However they seem to feel the punishment was right.

As far as the punishments showing that we take lying more serious than drink driving. At the end of the day H.Shaw's **** up isn't going to have any affect on the field. Lying like that to teammates, president, coaches etc. will. Add to that Shaw will already feel the full force of the law just like everyone else for his crime.

Just looking at the fines I find it interesting that Didak was only fined $5000 instead of the maximum $10000 that is allowed. If Collingwood were that angry and disappointed at what he did and didn't want him around, surely they would have fined him the maximum?

mate the whole thing is all over the shop due to yesterdays wank fest. Nothing is going to make much sense after going down that path yesterday and then being found to be seriously embarrassed.

God I hate losing mentality. Just because they are out, it does not mean we will lose the remainder of our matches. Anything can still happen. :eek:
You never know, Dawes might come into the side and play like he has been playing in the seconds? John McCarthy might get a game and be a revelation. Chris Egan might get another chance and take it? Someone else might stand up? We can only wait and see. :cool:
There are 4 games left. As silly as this sounds, we can still theoretically snatch 4th position. We are only 6 points away from 4th.
Swans have to play Geelong and us. If we beat them and win rest of the games we will go above them. We also have to stay undefeated.
Also the teams above us play each other.
All is not lost as it seems.
What has evolved might be good in the long run.
I am going on Saturday with the belief that we are going to win.
If I thought that we will lose, I would not bother going to a game.
I like your optimism, a true supporter. I thought I was but you've way outdone me - in fact if you'd care to put $20 on the above predictions I'm in!

Not wrong.

"Hey! You play football so, you gotta set a good example for the kids!"

God forbid we let their parents take responsiblity for something like that...
But, nah, **** it, let's lump all that on the 24 year old bloke just because he can kick a footy.

The prevalent form of thinking* in today's society, sadly.

*I use the term thinking lightly because I don't think much constructive thought is actually involved in the process.
Right on - actually I think it is more diabolical than that. the corporate world and corporate media, who have turned Australia into virtually a big company town, are making an example of the
AFL to condition people to the acceptance of total corporate control over our lives and institutions, using sooky goody-goodiness as the excuse. For example it would have been unthinkable 30 years ago for players to be fined by the AFL or their own club. Only the courts were permitted to fine. And off-field behaviour was regarded as completely separate from their job of winning footy games, as it should be in a free country.

Welcome to the "new world order"!

SPOT ON, that is what gets me about Eddie and CO....

The number one objective for the COLLINGWOOD FOOTBALL CLUB is not to make the most money, get the biggest sponsorships, blah blah

It's in the business of winning games and winning PREMIERSHIPS!

1 premiership in 50 odd years, give me a break!
There's the rub - footy clubs are now owned by corporate sponsors who pull the strings.

Suspense

If you are the believe the club then the two players were repeatedly questioned on the matter only to continue the lie, then they allowed our leadership group to front the media and back them.

Social burden or not this is poor form. Honesty and integrity are important ingredients for success.
Did you even read my last post at all?

The social burden placed upon players is the reason why they lied in the first place. If there was not going to be a gigantic media circus about this and the Didak incident last year, they would have had no reason to lie at all. The reason for their lying to the club was to protect Didak, as he had already come under unwarranted media attention in the past by a bunch of vapid journalists looking for another off-field story to appease the flogs who get off on this form of football-gossip journalism. Maybe it wasn't the right thing to do, but it wasn't sinister and it was understandable given the circumstances.

If you lack the ability to empathaise with the situation these men were in at the time, your petty moral judgements of them are without value or merit.

FootyEater said:
this statement is absolute crap, there is no way a winning culture that accepts drug use is better than a losing culture that fights against drug use, i dont care what you say.
Football clubs exist to win football matches and ultimately premierships, not to provide an example of an anti-drug policy for all of australia to follow. Keep going with that losing yet anti-drug culture down there at freo though, it's quite obviously working wonders....

And if you don't care what I say, why bother responding to me in the first place? :confused:

Weak as. If I were a Collingwood supporter let alone a member I would be effin spewing. You guys are 3 wins away from a Finals spot and the only team who make Geelong sleep with the lights on and you drop 2 of you best players for the season.

**** what the media have to say about your club, Gary Pert should have come out and said "any suspension is nonsense and only hurts our team dynamics etc. The players will cop fines, be made do community service etc but will not miss a game for the Collingwood Football Club unless suspended by the AFL or injured" - Issue over.

I would expect a pathetic club like Sydney to come out a suspend a player but not Collingwood. Yeah they made your officials look stupid by lying but they are there to play football.

When will Football clubs stand up to the media and pathetic sport hating arty/political/socio-moral setting w***ers who somehow seem to force their beliefs and demands on them.

If you were a tax agent and were laid off for what happened to Shaw and Didak, your clients would be pissed that you were unable to provide the service that the company set out to give. They wouldn't care what you did outside of work so long as you and the company provided them with the best returns. No different to what football supporters should expect of their clubs and what the clubs should deliver to the supporters.:thumbsd:

My SuperCoach is rooted too. BAH!!!
Yes hopefully Richmond is still a proud club that doesn'tsuck to that extent. Upholds the rigth of players to be larrikins in their spare time if they want to be. collingwood used to be a ratbag club that only cared about winning, unfortunately those days are gone and now they suck. Hopefully I can quit supporting them now. I want to get to the point that the jumper is just a bit of cloth with stripes on it.
IN a free country where people's free time is erally their own, you're going to see them more the way they really are - faulty, sometimes bad and irresponsible etc. Now you just get footballers pretending to be perfect little citizens - result: oppression and stifled yes-men that occasionally become serial axe murderers, instead of just getting drunk and fighting every now and then.

The social burden placed upon players is the reason why they lied in the first place. If there was not going to be a gigantic media circus about this and the Didak incident last year, they would have had no reason to lie at all. The reason for their lying to the club was to protect Didak, as he had already come under unwarranted media attention in the past by a bunch of vapid journalists looking for another off-field story to appease the flogs who get off on this form of football-gossip journalism. Maybe it wasn't the right thing to do, but it wasn't sinister and it was understandable given the circumstances.

If you lack the ability to empathaise with the situation these men were in at the time, your petty moral judgements of them are without value or merit.

Football clubs exist to win football matches and ultimately premierships, not to provide an example of an anti-drug policy for all of australia to follow. Keep going with that losing yet anti-drug culture down there at freo though, it's quite obviously working wonders....

And if you don't care what I say, why bother responding to me in the first place? :confused:

well said. we are on the same page with this. There was a reason they lied as you explained. But this has been swept away. They might want to look into that coz it goes somewhat to the heart of what is wrong with football and society as a whole in this country.

What a stupid comment

Lets make this clear. I agree we your views regarding the media. When i picked up the hun today, i was digusted at the reporting and time dedicated to this issue.

I also understand your point about the reluctance and fear that they may have had

But you are failing to appreciate this point.

There was evidence that Didak was in the car. Didak and Shaw had numerous opportunities to come clean.

Don't you think at some point in all of this Shaw and Didak should have thought.....
I can't allow my team mates and my club to continue this lie, time to do things right and stop worrying about what happens on the front page of the hun

Pert summed this the situation well by saying the playing group felt that Shaw and Didak didn't deserve to wear the jumper.
Suspense said:
think i have shown plenty of empathy towards people in my life. FFS i felt sorry for Fev when he pissed on the window.What a ridiculous assertions. Grow up and except a different opinion

well said. we are on the same page with this. There was a reason they lied as you explained. But this has been swept away. They might want to look into that coz it goes somewhat to the heart of what is wrong with football and society as a whole in this country.
Of course it won't be given an ounce of thought. Identify the issue at the heart of the problem and address it? Why bother when we can cover the issue up with a sacrifice of our football season followed by several large heapings of bluster and bravado from our club management.

Empathy is dead. Why would one put themselves in someone else's shoes and an attempt to understand the rationale for their actions when they can quite easily get on their moral high horse and cast judgements upon them, all in a vain attempt to make themselves feel superior to a couple of footy players?

The whole concept of the social burden is fundamentally flawed. I saw some ugly muppet in the paper yesterday from the People Against Lenient Sentencing, Steve Medcraft, who summed up the rationale behind this kind of thinking:

"They are role models, these guys, and should pay a higher price. But Collingwood has its own rules when it comes to drink-driving and obviously the rest of the community has to sing to a different tune."

Not only does the stupid **** inherently contradict himself in the same sentence, he is too pathetic to even realise that he has done so and continues on with his witless tirade. This is essentially followed by the rest of the media herd taking this kind of shit as gospel and then writing article after article based on this flog's idiotic premise and warped line of thinking. It is the media, not the players themselves, that give football players the role model status but they are the last to take on any accountability whatsoever when one ****s up.

If I were in a position of power or persuasion, made someone a role model and they ****ed up, the shit would be on me for making them a role model to begin with. The media escape this sort of accountablity and, in the process, sell a ****load of papers/advertising.

As much as anything, I look forward to Sam Newman's take on the topic. Whether I agree with him or not is irrelvant, he remains one of the only dissident media personalities willing to say what he actually thinks about the game rather then bleat the same shit as the horde of media sheep that surround him.