News Pyke Gone

• Thread starter Thread starter Tex200

I think it’s fairly reasonable to assume there will be some sort of pay out to Pyke, under an agreement between both parties. Don would be silly to simply leave all the money on the table by walking away.

The statement from the club about this matter reflects that, and in my opinion has been fine.

As I said in another post, Chapman's not actually telling a lie, its a misdirection. By the terms of a contract if a person in Pykes position chooses to resign it means he voluntarily gives up his right to the payments for the remainder of that contract, as opposed to being fired in which he would be owed monies stipulated by the termination clauses in said contract.

The question is, why would someone contracted for probably in excess of a million dollars, and whose club is going through a review which may well see him terminated (giving him legal rights to pursue that termination payment), and is known to be a shrewd business man outside of footy, voluntarily make such a poor personal business decision?

And the most logical answer is; he hasn't!

The problem is the reporters are not pressing Fagan or Chapman about what they promised Pyke if he was publicly seen as resigning rather then being fired. It may well be nothing, but personally i'm finding it harder and harder to trust these guys about anything now. They've showed their hand, and its always misdirection and 'nothing to see here'

“Poor personal business decision “!?

Jesus wept - why would he stay ?
The shit the club has copped be ****ed if I’d be hanging around if I didn’t need the money

In all honesty he’s gone out on his terms and with more class in his little toe than the gossiping flogs on here. If you think he’s an outright liar then I would be suggesting you don’t know the man’s excellent reputation

I think it’s fairly reasonable to assume there will be some sort of pay out to Pyke, under an agreement between both parties. Don would be silly to simply leave all the money on the table by walking away.

The statement from the club about this matter reflects that, and in my opinion has been fine.

Yep

"This is as a resignation and as such there is no payment that is required under the guidelines"

“Poor personal business decision “!?

Jesus wept - why would he stay ?
The s**t the club has copped be ****ed if I’d be hanging around if I didn’t need the money

In all honesty he’s gone out on his terms and with more class in his little toe than the gossiping flogs on here. If you think he’s an outright liar then I would be suggesting you don’t know the man’s excellent reputation
Yes, you're right... Head coaches quit their job all the time, and when they do they almost always volunteer to give up all the money they are owed, and everyone in the AFL corporate landscape tells the truth when asked questions by the media.

Also, water is dry, Santa is real, and my neighbors horse is actually a flying Pegasus!

How many coaches from ANY club leave any way other than being sacked, or getting in a pre-emptive resignation to beat the sack once the writing is on the wall? Very few, I'd suggest. And what are the "bigger and better things" for an AFL coach to go on to afterwards? When you're senior coach of an AFL club, there is no "bigger and better thing". That is the top of the mountain. After that the only direction you CAN go is down, either to the media, a senior assistant or football manager / admin role, or senior coach of a team at a lower level ie SANFL / VFL / WAFL.

Agree, bigger and better was not the way to put it. I was thinking more along the lines of extended(?) occupancy, and I dont have the details in front of me. Bu coaches like Clarkson, Lyon, Scott(s),Longmire, Hardwick, are all long serving. Those respective clubs can do it - AFC so far cannot. Three to four years is about our limit, and most of our discards just do not make it anywhere else. We are not a fertile ground for coaches, and maybe coming to the AFC is terminal for career coaching. Just posing the question that is the tail wagging the dog in AFC.

We need a strong coach who can come in over the top of our reams of administrative and coaching assistant levels. Someone who knows how to take a club by the scruff of its neck and whip it into cooperative achievement. Someone who is kick arse assertive with the whole club. Blight did it. Kerley did it years ago and I'm sure there are others. The whole club needs to be brought into toeing a line that operates in complete tune with the coach's operating style.
We need to ruthless up.

Yes, you're right... Head coaches quit their job all the time, and when they do they almost always volunteer to give up all the money they are owed, and everyone in the AFL corporate landscape tells the truth when asked questions by the media.

Also, water is dry, Santa is real, and my neighbors horse is actually a flying Pegasus!
So you are saying he’s lying then

The guy is a gozillionaire

Don’t judge others by what you would do

Some people value personal integrity above $$$$

So you are saying he’s lying then

The guy is a gozillionaire

Don’t judge others by what you would do

Some people value personal integrity above $$$$
So by your faulty logic, only people who have enough money have personal integrity enough to make decisions that are above $$$$?

Take a break mate

Why he would almost certainly have lined up a job or opportunity before he made the decision to stand down.....Pyke is reported to have great personal wealth anyhow, this is not some bloke on the bones of his ass we're talking about.

Yep, its called Fremantle

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Sure, but this doesn’t change anything.

I think Pyke going is a premeditated move by him depending on whether we make Finals or showing some fight till the end.

I feel Pyke deserves one more year, but obviously he didn’t think he could carry on. A lot of talk of no coach from AFC carrying on after missing out 2 years of Finals. But by the same token, no coach had to endure so much tragic circumstances like Pyke has and then able to lift the team to a Grand Final.

Pyke is a lot more than your average dud coach. He deserves some applause for the good things he’s done at least in 2016-2017.

So by your faulty logic, only people who have enough money have personal integrity enough to make decisions that are above $$$$?

Take a break mate

No
I never said that at all.
You said
“The question is, why would someone contracted for probably in excess of a million dollars, and whose club is going through a review which may well see him terminated (giving him legal rights to pursue that termination payment), and is known to be a shrewd business man outside of footy, voluntarily make such a poor personal business decision”

You are the one equating his decision to monetary gain.

I simply pointed out money is not an issue for him

So
Is Pyke lying ?

I think Pyke going is a premeditated move by him depending on whether we make Finals or showing some fight till the end.

I feel Pyke deserves one more year, but obviously he didn’t think he could carry on. A lot of talk of no coach from AFC carrying on after missing out 2 years of Finals. But by the same token, no coach had to endure so much tragic circumstances like Pyke has and then able to lift the team to a Grand Final.

Pyke is a lot more than your average dud coach. He deserves some applause for the good things he’s done at least in 2016-2017.
I think most people are positive on Pyke the person. The job he did was had its highs and lows, but in the end he's moving on and I think its best for both sides.

And if he's in Docker purple as early as next week, then good for him!

Subaru likes this

No
I never said that at all.
You said
“The question is, why would someone contracted for probably in excess of a million dollars, and whose club is going through a review which may well see him terminated (giving him legal rights to pursue that termination payment), and is known to be a shrewd business man outside of footy, voluntarily make such a poor personal business decision”

You are the one equating his decision to monetary gain.

I simply pointed out money is not an issue for him

So
Is Pyke lying ?
Was he telling the 100% truth about the camp last year? Did he tell the 100% truth about the extent of 2018 injuries? Does anyone in his position tell the 100% truth when asked about the inner workings of a football club?

Of course not. Don't be so naive to think that people in his position get split into truth tellers or liars. It just doesn't work that way. I'm not questioning his character, i'm saying he's interacting with the media in the way all people in his position interact with the media, but at the same time we can't just bury our heads in the sand to the fact that he's in a bit of a suspect situation, sitting next to increasingly suspect business men, who seem to be saying some noticeably suspect statements.

It may end up being totally innocent (And nothing would please me more if it did), but I certainly don't hold it against anyone for seeing the huge amount of red flags being raised.

Was he telling the 100% truth about the camp last year? Did he tell the 100% truth about the extent of 2018 injuries? Does anyone in his position tell the 100% truth when asked about the inner workings of a football club?

Of course not. Don't be so naive to think that people in his position get split into truth tellers or liars. It just doesn't work that way. I'm not questioning his character, i'm saying he's interacting with the media in the way all people in his position interact with the media, but at the same time we can't just bury our heads in the sand to the fact that he's in a bit of a suspect situation, sitting next to increasingly suspect business men, who seem to be saying some noticeably suspect statements.

It may end up being totally innocent (And nothing would please me more if it did), but I certainly don't hold it against anyone for seeing the huge amount of red flags being raised.

So you’re saying - when he says he’s resigned - that he’s lying.

I think you’re paranoid.

He’s said why
He’s explained that he prevaricated between going and staying
He’s states it was his decision and had nothing to do with the review
He is a man of integrity

But you - a gossiping little keyboard rascal - is questioning all this because “suspect situation” and “red flags “.

So you’re saying - when he says he’s resigned - that he’s lying.

I think you’re paranoid.

He’s said why
He’s explained that he prevaricated between going and staying
He’s states it was his decision and had nothing to do with the review
He is a man of integrity

But you - a gossiping little keyboard rascal - is questioning all this because “suspect situation” and “red flags “.
Wow.... Reading and Comprehension for the win!