Queensland is an AFL state.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT said:
Damn right they are mate, GO THE MIGHT LIONS
It was the 1st time in 3 years I didnt get paid out for wearing a Hawthorn scarf.

Very angry at the result, that mark in the goal square against Johnson was a disgrace.

All the supporters ask for is a crack, thats all they want.

It doesnt matter if you win or lose, if you give it your all the supporters will consider it a win.

Hawkk said:
Offical attendance 33 007.

Last Broncos home game against a "large supportered team"-24 000.

Funny because Parramatta probably only have the same size supporterbase as the Western Bulldogs

I couldn't care less how many turned up to watch the eels lose to Bris, all i know is that when the eels and the Broncs are going good, they get massive support up there, how many times has the Lions gotten over 40 thou to a game in Bris?

None.

ParraEelsNRL said:
I couldn't care less how many turned up to watch the eels lose to Bris, all i know is that when the eels and the Broncs are going good, they get massive support up there, how many times has the Lions gotten over 40 thou to a game in Bris?

None.
When was the last time the Lions could hold 40 000 at the GABBA never.

Last year the Lions sold out 9 of there 11 home games at the GABBA.

Its been 3 out of 3 so far this season.

Top Level Rugby League crowds in QLD last year = approx 750,000
Top Level AFL crowds in QLD last year = approx 400,000

The AFL has appeal in QLD, but not to the rate where it can be considered an "AFL state".

Please, save the over exhageration.

Recent crowds and TV ratings seem to suggest the opposite, with the AFL losing its appeal in Brisbane.

Anyone who thinks Queensland is an AFL state obviously hasn't seen a State of Origin game in their life, and the incredible passion this invokes across the state. But, oh, that's right, Brisbane is an AFL town these days.... :rolleyes:

They also ignore the TV ratings in Queensland, where AFL, shown live in prime time on FTA, is hammered repeatedly by nature documentaries, let alone rugby league. It's the same story on Pay TV. God help the AFL when it's shown in direct competition on Friday Night to the NRL in Queensland. 'Slaughter' is one word which comes to mind. AFL simply has a well mobilised niche support group in Qld, which doesn't translate to a groundswell of support across the state. And no amount of saturation FTA TV coverage will fix this. Ever. But, oh, that's right, Brisbane is an AFL town.

Last year, each of the NRL preliminary finals outrated the AFL grand final in Brisbane. This was despite the Broncos not being involved, two Sydney teams in one game, and the Lions trying for four straight premierships. One of the NRL finals got 50% more viewers in Brisbane than the AFL grand final. But, oh, that's right, Brisbane is an AFL town.

Even friggin Australian Idol rated better than the AFL Grand Final during the same weekend in Brisbane. Look up the numbers from the PBL if you don't believe me. But that's right, Brisbane is an AFL town.

AFL is a fad, just like yo-yos. Sooner or later, all those bandwagon supporters will find something else that's trendy to support - dwarf tossing, for example, which, I should add, is a far more skillful and exciting sport than AFL.

In any case, the Lions' success is just an illusion, supported by the inflated salary cap they have operated with. It's well known that Victorian teams are sick of this and would rather see AFL die in the arse in Queensland than have the Lions continue to get an unfair advantage. I sincerely hope these Victorian teams get their way. :)

By the way....what's that I can hear? Oh, don't worry....it's just the sound of another wheel falling off the Lions bandwagon. :D

Hi Ho Silver said:
Anyone who thinks Queensland is an AFL state obviously hasn't seen a State of Origin game in their life, and the incredible passion this invokes across the state. But, oh, that's right, Brisbane is an AFL town these days.... :rolleyes:

They also ignore the TV ratings in Queensland, where AFL, shown live in prime time on FTA, is hammered repeatedly by nature documentaries, let alone rugby league. It's the same story on Pay TV. God help the AFL when it's shown in direct competition on Friday Night to the NRL in Queensland. 'Slaughter' is one word which comes to mind. AFL simply has a well mobilised niche support group in Qld, which doesn't translate to a groundswell of support across the state. And no amount of saturation FTA TV coverage will fix this. Ever. But, oh, that's right, Brisbane is an AFL town.

Last year, each of the NRL preliminary finals outrated the AFL grand final in Brisbane. This was despite the Broncos not being involved, two Sydney teams in one game, and the Lions trying for four straight premierships. One of the NRL finals got 50% more viewers in Brisbane than the AFL grand final. But, oh, that's right, Brisbane is an AFL town.

Even friggin Australian Idol rated better than the AFL Grand Final during the same weekend in Brisbane. Look up the numbers from the PBL if you don't believe me. But that's right, Brisbane is an AFL town.

AFL is a fad, just like yo-yos. Sooner or later, all those bandwagon supporters will find something else that's trendy to support - dwarf tossing, for example, which, I should add, is a far more skillful and exciting sport than AFL.

In any case, the Lions' success is just an illusion, supported by the inflated salary cap they have operated with. It's well known that Victorian teams are sick of this and would rather see AFL die in the arse in Queensland than have the Lions continue to get an unfair advantage. I sincerely hope these Victorian teams get their way. :)

By the way....what's that I can hear? Oh, don't worry....it's just the sound of another wheel falling off the Lions bandwagon. :D
I used to be one of those supporters trying to get rid of the lions dominace.

And while the Hawks are by far my prefered team, the Lions without Mr.Tosser Brown, are okay.

After all I got have someone to pay me out for supporting Hawthorn

This has been a good thread. :rolleyes:

Queensland is not an AFL state but AFL is much more prominent then some who have replied to this thread would like to see.

ParraEelsNRL said:

None.
Has alot to do with the capacity of the ground being 37,000.

These RL people keep trying and they'll keep getting knocked down. Their game is nothing, can't get crowds in their own heartland, and can't even get on TV in Victoria for the Storm games. No. 2 or 3 sport in every country it's played in because there's simply nothing in the game to attract anyone.

Hawkk said:
Yet another near on capacity at the GABBA, this time with the help of only 2 or 3 000 West Coast supporters.

The NRL are ********ed looks like you only have the NSW market now, ahahahaha

Oh my God, Beaussie has relatives! They are breeding! There is no escape! :eek:

"Queensland = AFL heartland" ;)

JF :rolleyes:

The Phat Side said:
Who cares.

The somewhat paranoid leaguies, that's who.

judging by what I saw when I was up there a couple of weeks ago (and went to both codes), they have rights to be a bit titchy.

Here are my completely subjective observations of going to both the Lions-swans and Broncos-parra matches.

http://www.austadiums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=904&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=150

I had the fortune of attending both the Lions-Swans and Broncos-Parra matches last week. If you seriously thinking AFL is not making serious inroad into the midsets of Queenslanders, you are delusional. i can only give my subjective observations of what I experienced at both grounds.

The Lions match was once again packed to the rafters. Especially in the last quarter as the Swans mounted their comeback-and-a-half, the atmosphere was awesome. The WHOLE STADIUM chanted "BRIS-BANE!!! BRIS-BANE!!!" as one. Whilst the high number of Swans in attendance started to really find voice as well. Most people were wearing their colours, even if it was merely a scarf.

The Broncos -Parra match was a dreary one-sided affair, it had to be said. The Eels were just attrocious, which did not help proceedings. there were still heaps of people in both the Broncos and Parramatta supporters gear. More jerseys than at the AFL. And lots of caps and flags, especially the yellow Broncos members caps.

Interestingly the very very medicore crowd of 24000 was made up of 1/3 blue & gold I'd say. The atmosphere was just pathetic, it had to be said. a real disappointment. Apart from a 500 strong 'Fanatics' style group all wearing XXXX black t-shirts and singing pathetic songs like "I can feel a try coming on." and 'Dee-fence' the only time you would hear people cheering was when the Broncos scored. There was heaps of music to keep people entertained, as well as cheer girls etc. The only people chanting were the 30 or so Parra supporters up from Sydney.

All in all it had a very American feel about it; plastic ground, plastic corporate footbal club with little identification with the history of QRL football and its clubs. and just like in the USA, people getting up to leave with 5 minutes to go.

Still I am thankful for having gone to the game. As I wanted to see the new ground (which whilst nice is a tad TOO cushy I think, and doesn't attract a vocal kind of supporter any more). Ok, the game was very one-sided. But the lack of atmosphere was very very noticeable.

In parting, one thing the Swans gang all had a chuckle about after the game was when Lockyer hit the post with a conversion attempt. a guy behind me mused wryly to his friend "well that would be a behind, wouldn't it mate?" A couple of rows in front of me a teenage kid mimiced being a goal umpire, giving the one finger behind signal. If this can happen at the NRL of all places, then it is to me an indication of how far AFL has come in getting into the minds of Queenslanders, even if they wouldn't say they were supporters of the code nor an AFL team.

Still a long way to go, but Queensland is I'd dare to say 10 years (and 3 flags) ahead of NSW in terms oF AFL footy being accepted in the general community. If you wore Swans stuff at an NRL match in NSW, you could often get abused. In Qld you'd get someone not only knowing who you were,but somebody who wuld have known the result as well.

JF

I think you will find in Qld, we are not one dimentional.

Most people barrack for the Reds, a League team and an AFL team now.

Did anyone see the group from Cherbourg mission on the TV at the match yesterday.One guy had on a Panthers jumper and another a Broncos.

The thing with Qld we love our sport, all of our sport.No one bats an eye if you turn up to the League in a lions scraf and vice versa.

pcpp said:
Top Level Rugby League crowds in QLD last year = approx 750,000
Top Level AFL crowds in QLD last year = approx 400,000

The AFL has appeal in QLD, but not to the rate where it can be considered an "AFL state".

It would look like there are almost twice as many people going to league games. Oh hang on, that wouldn't have anything to do with there being twice as many league teams in Qld would it? :rolleyes:

You can use the figures to make it appear like NRL are dominating, while I can point out the fact that the NRL has twice as many teams as AFL in Queensland, and when you look at it that way, it would like like AFL is doing better on a Club (per capita) by club basis.

Nice try.

campbell said:
I think you will find in Qld, we are not one dimentional.

Most people barrack for the reds, a League team and an AFL team now.

Did anyone see the group from Cherbourg mission on the TV at the match yesterfay.One guy had on a Oanthers jumper and another a broncos.

The thing with Qld we love our sport, all of our sport.No one bats an eye if you turn up to the League in a lions scraf and vice versa.
that seems to be the key thing really, and true with most places in australia, but especially so in QLD. alot of sports fans cross over and watch both.

im happy to watch a glory, warriors or wildcats game as well as the eagles and dockers

ill probably stick my head into the new super 14 team too, especially as my travels have me making lots of saffa and kiwi mates

The Dice Man said:
It would look like there are almost twice as many people going to league games. Oh hang on, that wouldn't have anything to do with there being twice as many league teams in Qld would it? :rolleyes:

You can use the figures to make it appear like NRL are dominating, while I can point out the fact that the NRL has twice as many teams as AFL in Queensland, and when you look at it that way, it would like like AFL is doing better on a Club (per capita) by club basis.

Nice try.

Who cares what the "per-capita" basis is?

AFL is flogged by RL in crowds and ratings.

Queensland is an AFL state.