Queensland is an AFL state.

• Thread starter Thread starter Hawkk

I don't get it with WA as neither West Coast or Fremantle are short of money, so why not come to an agreement to spend an extra million each to go towards youth development?

Why don’t Sydney do the same and don’t match any bids?

Why any different to the QLD academies?

Because it's not a developing market and needs to add to the overall pool.

Technically he is correct. No taxpaper's money is going to NRL directly, but the WA government is spending heaps on a centre of excellance at the WACA with first tennant being the Bears.
Also the government will be spending $millions on bringing rl into schools etc.

Yeah basically a lie though he knew what he was doing. They should ask him, ok Roger if the government pulls all the funding then who pays for it all, the answer, the nrl.

I feel like a lot of angst are coming from Victorians who are feeling a bit of an inferiority complex. They're threatened because Queenslanders are becoming better then them at their own game.

Not really fair, I moved to QLD spent over 15yrs in QLD, moved back to Vic this year, in QLD all my kids played footy and what i saw at one of the bigger Western suburbs clubs was a lot of ex Vics like myself, so maybe second generation QLDers. But i do love the academies as i would like to see QLD or NSW players playing for the clubs in that state. What is hard is that academy players in Northern are given a big advantage of being integrated into the Club (say Lions) early on so they already know the system and the coaches, massive advantage.

Victorians have been flocking to Queensland in droves since the coronavirus so there's not a lot of difference between them these days. I would love to see NSW get to the stage where enough talent is being produced to challenge Victoria or Queensland in a state of origin match.

Where is the evidence that the talent pool in Melbourne is ahrinking?
1. Last night's draft - only 11 of top 25 from Vic. Only 7/25 from Melbourne/Metro.
2. Melbourne fertility rate down to 1.4.
3. Melbourne demographics changing rapidly with large Indian population.

13 of the first 26 drafted were from SA/Qld combined . Only 11 were from Victoria.

That's a pretty big shift from the past.

In 2024 - 22 of the first 26 were from Victoria.
Is that a shift or an anomaly? Considering we are looking at one year to the next, it's likely the latter. lets look at the data over 10 years

i don't see what the pick 7 to geelong trade has to do with anything re gold coast's access to academy prospects.

gold coast were only able to manufacture their draft haul this year through trading out first round picks lukosius and flanders for under market value, losing 2 other best 23 players in budarick and fiorini this year, moving 2024 picks into 2025 and wiping their 2026 draft hand.

let's not pretend like their draft this year occured in isolation of any of the other movements the club has made to facilitate it.

between conflating brisbane's access to ashcroft x2 and fletcher with the academy system, various complaints about a yet unrealised gold coast superteam and a complete misunderstanding of why the northern academies were implemented in the first place and how they are distinct from NGA the last few pages of this thread is real storm in a teacup areas.
The issue with this sort of analysis is that when you're trading out actual talent and picks that are used to literally as a draft selection, and trading in the concept of points, you're always going to benefit from the currency exchange rates therein.

It's not so much that they traded out Lukosius, Flanders, Budarick, Fiorini and 2024 and 2026 draft picks. Is that they were able to buy points in New Zealand dollars and sell those players and picks in Australian dollars, and pocket the 13c difference in exchange rate, giving them a 13% boost that across several players adds up to getting 1-2 of the top 18 players for free out of the 4.

Is that a shift or an anomaly? Considering we are looking at one year to the next, it's likely the latter. lets look at the data over 10 years
I don't know yet.
Maybe just an anomaly.
I just tried to answer a question I was asked the best I could .
Also affordability issues as harder for families with kids to live in inner Metro areas

91,312 people across the state participating in AFL competitions and programs.

Queensland now ranks second nationally in participation behind Victoria.

A bit of a blight on W.A but this is a great result for the game nationally. Queensland have had amazing growth in the past 5 years.

91,312 people across the state participating in AFL competitions and programs.

Queensland now ranks second nationally in participation behind Victoria.

A bit of a blight on W.A but this is a great result for the game nationally. Queensland have had amazing growth in the past 5 years.

No further proof needed that the academy rort now needs to end.

The 2 x WA clubs have per capita more access to local talent and stay home factor than any other traditional football state per club. And have had for 3 decades.

Not that the Qld situation is totally fair to all but they should be the last ones complaining and punching down on QLD and non-traditional afl states.

But there's always an excuse after the fact, even when you are loaded but just have missed your opportunities.

7 years since a flag for WC and the whinging yet 13/18 teams haven't won a flag since - cry me a river.

The eastern seaboard couldn't care.