Queensland is an AFL state.

Gene Krupa said:
Who cares what the "per-capita" basis is?

AFL is flogged by RL in crowds and ratings.
The lowest team as averages in attendace for the year in Aussie Rules would probably be the Bulldogs there still averageing 33 400 for games in Melbourne.

This is more then any club in the NRL has averaged by 5 000.

Yaeh your flogging us there.

NRL, isnt even shown into Victoria,Tassie,SA,WA,still the Northern Territory until like 12 pm.

We have 5 states/territories to your 3.

How are you a national sport when you are only playing in 3 stats???

The AFL is played in every state and packs out stadiums in Tassie,Darwin and occasionally the ACT.

Hawkk said:
The lowest team as averages in attendace for the year in Aussie Rules would probably be the Bulldogs there still averageing 33 400 for games in Melbourne.

This is more then any club in the NRL has averaged by 5 000.

Yaeh your flogging us there.

GayRL, isnt even shown into Victoria,Tassie,SA,WA,still the Northern Territory until like 12 pm.

We have 5 states/territories to your 3.

How are you a national sport when you are only playing in 3 stats???

The AFL is played in every state and packs out stadiums in Tassie,Darwin and occasionally the ACT.

We're talking about QLD here not Victoria

Gene Krupa said:
Who cares what the "per-capita" basis is?

AFL is flogged by RL in crowds and ratings

You failed to see what I was saying. Someone stated that Nrl attracts 750,000 supporters per year in Qld, while AFL attracts 400,000. Now considering there are 2 NRL teams in QLD and 1 AFL team if we divide the figures of the NRL teams into two we are left with 375,000 for each NRL team, as opposed to 400,00 for the AFL team.

People in Queensland dont actually give a toss about any code rivalry. Footy is attended by immigrants from the south and a few party goers, converts, and bandwagoners. The same can be said for NSW.

This code rivalry stuff really is a Victorian thing. In the northern states no-one cares. Their whole lives and existence arent dominated by the success of the footy team they follow. Both northern states have the capacity to live with more than one code.

Up here you never hear about code rivalry. You follow what you follow and move on. The people have the capacity to enjoy more than one sport. Football of all codes is a sport in the northern states, unlike Victoria where it rivals religion for cult following and zealous lunacy.

Im off to the beach. Cheers. ;)

skipper kelly said:
People in Queensland dont actually give a toss about any code rivalry. Footy is attended by immigrants from the south and a few party goers, converts, and bandwagoners. The same can be said for NSW.

This code rivalry stuff really is a Victorian thing. In the northern states no-one cares. Their whole lives and existence arent dominated by the success of the footy team they follow. Both northern states have the capacity to live with more than one code.

Up here you never hear about code rivalry. You follow what you follow and move on. The people have the capacity to enjoy more than one sport. Football of all codes is a sport in the northern states, unlike Victoria where it rivals religion for cult following and zealous lunacy.

Im off to the beach. Cheers. ;)

Exactly.

viccles said:
Hope they dont have a stupid Rugby team on the Gold Coast we are an AFL state! bloody boring crap Rugby is

Don't know if it's an AFL state, but Gold Coast is an AFL city. It's funny, people in Gold Coast don't like the Broncos despite being the "local" team, yet they'll accept the Lions. Although, there's no need to support the local team in NRL seeing as the fans only watch their team on the tele rather than watch them live. :cool:

Funkalicous said:
Don't know if it's an AFL state, but Gold Coast is an AFL city. It's funny, people in Gold Coast don't like the Broncos despite being the "local" team, yet they'll accept the Lions. Although, there's no need to support the local team in NRL seeing as the fans only watch their team on the tele rather than watch them live. :cool:

The game does translate much better to television than going to see it live.

I've been to a St George vs Broncos at Suncorp, and the atmosphere isnt a touch on a game at the Gabba.

The 'Americanisation' stuff thats a part of NRL these days unsettled me too, it was almost like they were saying 'look, we know our game is boring, so here's some music and dancing girls and a pony to entertain you.'

Props to the strip routines carried out by the cheerleaders though.

Rawhead said:

I've been to a St George vs Broncos at Suncorp, and the atmosphere isnt a touch on a game at the Gabba.

The 'Americanisation' stuff thats a part of NRL these days unsettled me too, it was almost like they were saying 'look, we know our game is boring, so here's some music and dancing girls and a pony to entertain you.'

Are you going to Origin I?

Rawhead said:

It's not surprising that such crap works in Australia's most Americanised state. ;)

Funkalicous said:

Hmmmm I live on the Gold Coast and nobody apart from ex-pat Victorians likes AFL.

pcpp said:
Top Level Rugby League crowds in QLD last year = approx 750,000
Top Level AFL crowds in QLD last year = approx 400,000

The AFL has appeal in QLD, but not to the rate where it can be considered an "AFL state".
Mate, 11 games are played at the Gabba in a year (+ the 2 sold home games by the Dogs and Demons), compared to what, 25-30 games a year played by North Queensland and the Broncos?

Funkalicous said:

The Broncos are not the Gold Coasts 'local' side. Ask a native what they think. Everyone knows that the Broncos where a key player in the culling of the Financially succesful Chargers Franchise.

I don't blame the people of the GC if they've turned thier back on RL (Though my short time living up there, in 2000, it certainly wasn't the case). The ARL, the NRL, the Clubs, News Limited and the Broncos all turned thier back on the Gold Coast.

Hurbie said:
The Broncos are not the Gold Coasts 'local' side. Ask a native what they think. Everyone knows that the Broncos where a key player in the culling of the Financially succesful Chargers Franchise.

I don't blame the people of the GC if they've turned thier back on RL (Though my short time living up there, in 2000, it certainly wasn't the case). The ARL, the NRL, the Clubs, News Limited and the Broncos all turned thier back on the Gold Coast.

Actually there was a time last year when they thought they were gonna get their very own RL team. They were turned down though due to financial constraints I believe. IIRC this only weakened the relationship between NRL and GC.

Mind you the AFL aren't much better. They could easily pounce now while the door is open, but no such expansions will occur during the reign of Adolf Demetrio. Pitty :(

Funkalicous said:
Actually there was a time last year when they thought they were gonna get their very own RL team. They were turned down though due to financial constraints I believe. IIRC this only weakened the relationship between NRL and GC.

Mind you the AFL aren't much better. They could easily pounce now while the door is open, but no such expansions will occur during the reign of Adolf Demetrio. Pitty :(

The Gold Coast look 95 % certain to gt their own NRL team in the year 2007.

Funkalicous said:

they will get a team :D

http://www.goldcoastrugbyleague.com.au/index.shtml

RUGBY LEAGUE vs AUSTRALIAN RULES

BATTLE OF QUEENSLAND: bums on seats

- as at 24 April 2005 -
Rugby League -- 198,213
Australian Rules -- 100,336

Rugby League:
Brisbane Broncos - 94,050 @ Lang Park (31,350 average: 52,500)
North Quensland Cowboys - 63,846 @ Dairy Farmers Stadium (21,282 average: 23,000)
Australian Kangaroos - 40,317 @ Lang Park

Australian Rules:
Brisbane Lions - 100,336 @ Brisbane Cricket Ground (33,445 average: 37,000)

The Executioner said:
Hmmmm I live on the Gold Coast and nobody apart from ex-pat Victorians likes AFL.

Last time I checked the Gold Coast was either ex-pat Victorians and Americans or Old People.

littleduck said:
RUGBY LEAGUE vs AUSTRALIAN RULES

BATTLE OF QUEENSLAND: bums on seats

- as at 24 April 2005 -
Rugby League -- 198,213
Australian Rules -- 100,336

Rugby League:
Brisbane Broncos - 94,050 @ Lang Park (31,350 average: 52,500)
North Quensland Cowboys - 63,846 @ Dairy Farmers Stadium (21,282 average: 23,000)
Australian Kangaroos - 40,317 @ Lang Park

Australian Rules:
Brisbane Lions - 100,336 @ Brisbane Cricket Ground (33,445 average: 37,000)
Excuse me, you counting the Bronco, Cowboys, and the test match agaisnt one team in your heartland that, then using TOTAL bums on seats as evidence. Surely you jest. Is that as far as you've have to go to try to prove you're lack of a point. Desperate! Admit you have an inferior game and no-one cares about it....and non-existent outside the heartland. AFL has a market share at least in the northern state, RL has none outside of those states. We know which is the national game.

Queensland is an AFL state.