queenslanders

bunsen burner

Hall of Famer
Veteran 30k Posts 10k Posts
http://www.smh.com.au/news/breaking/dumb-and-much-much-dumber/2006/02/02/1138590592345.html

Rich pickings in Australia for Nigerian scammers

Police are staggered by the amount of money gullible Australians are losing to Nigerian investment scammers.

The long-running internet-based rort has netted more than $7 million from Queenslanders alone, and the loss Australia-wide is likely to be far higher, police say.

Among those being duped are financial advisers, lawyers and university professors, and one person had put $2.2 million into the hands of scammers over the past two years.

Inspector Brian Hay, from the Queensland Police Service Fraud and Corporate Crime Group, said yesterday he would anticipate the trend being replicated across the country.

"This is not geographically bound by state borders - this would be everywhere," Insp Hay said.

Other states had not yet analysed how and why people were sending money to the west African country, Inspector Hay said.

But 25 out of 26 Queensland victims contacted by police over the past two months had lost their funds.

Lured by the promise of a percentage of secret oil venture investments or government contracts with guaranteed high returns, scam victims were asked for money to bribe local officials and secure lucrative contracts.
"Of the 25 people we have spoken to so far, there is only one person that we would feel confident has been party to a legitimate transaction," Inspector Hay said.

"We were blown away. We didn't expect this."

Inspector Hay said financial advisers, lawyers and university professors were among those who have sent large sums of money overseas, some of them several times.

"People start paying and paying and paying," he said.

One person had put $2.2 million into the hands of scammers over the last two years.

Police decided to urge the public to exercise extreme caution in replying to the emails after they yesterday stopped $250,000 leaving the country for Nigeria.

But the Queensland victims were only "the tip of the iceberg", Inspector Hay said.

The same scam was siphoning money to other west African countries and to fraudulent operations in western nations, including Britain and the United States.

Gullible and greedy US investors were losing an estimated $1 million a day to Nigerian scammers, he said.

People should beware of emails promising quick riches for little effort.
"It's the same old story ... if it looks too good to be true, it usually is."
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Yeah but Queenslanders for the most part are.

Australians are being exposed as really dumb ********** as every week goes past.

This is just embarrasing and pathetic.

Diego said:
Australians are being exposed as really dumb ********** as every week goes past.

This is just embarrasing and pathetic.

Blame the aircon manufacturers. they need to drop their prices.

I reckon all the sods up here are trying to make a quick buck to get aircon installed. You can't think straight in this gawd awful heat and humidity.

Either that or we're a bunch of dumb ********ers up here. Probably a bit of both actually.

But sheez, my husband might be a bit of a tool at times, but he aint stupid, and I could just imagine his reaction if I was dumb enough to get scammed.......he'd freaking kill me!

LIONS then DAYLIGHT said:
Queenslanders > Victorians

Just watch Street Talk when ever Sammy is doing it at a Victorian location when the footy show comes back on.

The proof is in the pudding.

The Footy Show is based in Victoria, so what are you trying to prove? :rolleyes:

Vandal said:
The Footy Show is based in Victoria, so what are you trying to prove? :rolleyes:
Yeah but sometimes Sam might do a street talk segment in Adelaide or Perth.

When ever you see him do one in Victoria it is cringe worthy to say the least.

tapestry said:
Blame the aircon manufacturers. they need to drop their prices.

I reckon all the sods up here are trying to make a quick buck to get aircon installed. You can't think straight in this gawd awful heat and humidity.

Maybe they should just use some of the money they're sending to Nigeria and move to a cooler climate then!

It is most likely the massive number of Sydneysiders and Victorians who are contributing to these statistics. I meet more people up here from interstate than I do from Queensland these days.

I wonder how many kiwis are living in Qld at the moment and whether that's responsible for the skew in stats?

victorians will only raise the intelligence level in qland as will our norther neighbours (to a lesser extent)

it's NZ day on saturday so i suggest everyone go out and do the hucka...

ps australia needs a hucka

I seriously struggle to comprehend how anyone could fall for these scams let alone professional people :confused:

There really is a sucker born every minute. When I'd get all these crap spam emails I would often wonder why they bother and if they really made enough to warrant doing it. A lazy million a day out of the US alone would say YES!!!!!!

Bloody scary that these people are allowed free in the community we live in.

footyfreak said:
I seriously struggle to comprehend how anyone could fall for these scams let alone professional people :confused:

There really is a sucker born every minute. When I'd get all these crap spam emails I would often wonder why they bother and if they really made enough to warrant doing it. A lazy million a day out of the US alone would say YES!!!!!!

Bloody scary that these people are allowed free in the community we live in.

i know what you mean; like con artists. If i met a con artist i don't know how they would be able to take me for a ride because as soon as someone starts talking about schemes which involves my money warning bells sound.

nicky said:
victorians will only raise the intelligence level in qland as will our norther neighbours (to a lesser extent).

No explanation necessary.

nicky said:
victorians will only raise the intelligence level in qland as will our norther neighbours (to a lesser extent)

Nicky,it's Hakka.

bunsen burner said:
I wonder how many kiwis are living in Qld at the moment and whether that's responsible for the skew in stats?

Now that you mention it, i wondered why my Australian cousin, born and bred in Cairns, was ranting on the other day, "choice bro, yeah hey yeah" like a Kiwi.

Weird.

But it is a known fact that Queenslanders are operating at a slower pace than the rest of Aus. Thats why we sometimes go there for holidays!! ;)

BluesBabe666 said:
Now that you mention it, i wondered why my Australian cousin, born and bred in Cairns, was ranting on the other day, "choice bro, yeah hey yeah" like a Kiwi.

Weird.

But it is a known fact that Queenslanders are operating at a slower pace than the rest of Aus. Thats why we sometimes go there for holidays!! ;)
That slower pace equates to about 20 years