Question re Bucks

donkeyballs

Hypothetical: Let's say Bucks was to continue to miss through his injury and only rejoined the team for the last couple of rounds plus finals. If we went on to win the big one, would he truly feel satisfied with such a restricted contribution?

I think he would. I believe he is truly team oriented and would feel proud as captain that the team had got into that position without him.

If you don't think he would, what would be the cut-off point? ie 3 games plus finals, 4 plus finals?

What do y'all reckon?

Hypothetical: Let's say Bucks was to continue to miss through his injury and only rejoined the team for the last couple of rounds plus finals. If we went on to win the big one, would he truly feel satisfied with such a restricted contribution?

I think he would. I believe he is truly team oriented and would feel proud as captain that the team had got into that position without him.

If you don't think he would, what would be the cut-off point? ie 3 games plus finals, 4 plus finals?

What do y'all reckon?
Mick Malthouse apparently said last night it will be 2 games and finals!
We have to make the finals yet, so he may have to be happy with 2 games.
Might be one game and an injury like 05!
Young guns might win last 7 in a row and Bucks will be unable to force his way in from Willi and have to play in a GF there.
Have I breached the ridiculous yet?
Who knows what will happen.

I know it is probably a personal goal the guy has, and Bucks appeals to me as the kind of person who once he puts his mind to something, gets it - no matter how hard it might be. I just don't want to see him come back for two games, limp around, then fade into the background. I think we should give him a parade in the finals, which will fire up our players and lead them to success. Once we bring home the flag we can get him on stage and chair him off the ground...

One can only dream. He is the greatest player I have ever seen play the game and does not need to proove anything to me - perhaps just to himself I guess.

Absolutely no doubt Bucks deserves a Premiership Medal.
Whether nature and circumstance allows this to happen is the key.
The recent statement from MM that he will play 2 for Willi from round 20 and then finals leaves the window slightly ajar but only if the boys are good enough and only if Bucks is good enough/fit enough/ to earn a spot in any potential GF side.

Lots of if's and but's but you never know Fairytales do come true...Bruce would pass out.

Watch this space - he's doing a media interview today to advise
everyone where he is at today and he may comment on his playing
future.

As mentioned on Footy Cladssified's, it's looking les & less likely that
he wont go on after 2007, so this may be his last tilt at glory.

Watch this space - he's doing a media interview today to advise
everyone where he is at today and he may comment on his playing
future.

As mentioned on Footy Cladssified's, it's looking les & less likely that
he wont go on after 2007, so this may be his last tilt at glory.
What time?

Dare I say it, but I don't think I'll be seeing No. 5 again
in Black & White stripes.

He'll go down in history as the greatest Magpie I've
ever had the pleasure to watch.

C'est la vie !

I've really been hoping that Bucks would be able to play in a winning Grand Final for his sake. I still hold on to a tiny glimmer of hope for that.

Well, I'm a little more positive about him coaching a swag of Premierships for us!! With our current list of young guns coming through and Derek Hine's recruiting team doing a great job, If Bucks becomes coach, he'll be the envy of coaches Australia wide:D

...Well, I'm a little more positive about him coaching a swag of Premierships for us!! With our current list of young guns coming through and Derek Hine's recruiting team doing a great job, If Bucks becomes coach, he'll be the envy of coaches Australia wide:D
How would you feel if he went on to coaching success and premierships...but with another club? Leigh Matthews was every bit the icon at Hawthorn that Buckley has been at Collingwood, perhaps even more so. I know I had some mixed feelings when he won a premiership at Collingwood and then three more in Brisbane. Perhaps it helped to ease the pain a little bit that the 1990 premiership followed Hawthorn's back-to-back flags in 1988-89, but it still wasn't easy to enjoy Lethal's success in 1990 eventhough it was against the Bombers! It was a little less painful to watch him win the premierships in Brisbane, but I can't say I enjoyed seeing him win any one of them(well...perhaps the one against Essendon a little bit!) When it comes to former champions becoming coaches and winning premierships, I've found enjoying that success is an issue which isn't always as simple as black and white (pun intended). Just some food for thought.

Depending on the team... I'd be pretty thrilled to see Vossy coach a premiership.

As long as it wasn't Essendon or West Coast.

Mick Malthouse apparently said last night it will be 2 games and finals!
We have to make the finals yet, so he may have to be happy with 2 games.
Might be one game and an injury like 05!
Young guns might win last 7 in a row and Bucks will be unable to force his way in from Willi and have to play in a GF there.
Have I breached the ridiculous yet?
Who knows what will happen.
Check, Check mate! Damn. Not even 1 game. :thumbsd:

What do y'all reckon?

No, he would donate his Premiership Medal to Ben Kinnear, because everyone knows Bucks has done absolutely nothing for Collingwood

Food for thought eaten, and here is a little snack, this is the same player who played for Brisbane for 1 year and then went straight to Pies. He loves the place and is worshipped in turn, no other position even comes close for being at the top of your game than coaching the most watched footy club in the nation, would be suprised if he is a senior coach anywhere else unless Malthouse win a double premiership and stays another 10 years. But definately a good point reference Mathews and I may very well stand corrected one day.