ICanDressMyself

Sturt, United, Redbacks
Me and a few of my mates will be heading over to Melbourne to watch the Crows take on the Bulldogs in Round 20 is what we are thinking. What's everyone's reccommedations/preferences of travel to get there? We were thinking road tripping it over but then realised the petrol factor so does anyone know the prices for trains and buses for return trips? Also, would anyone know if there's any possible way to travel up there with the official supporters group? I know it's still over 2 months away but we need to get started thinking of ideas and get a few enquiries and bookings done.

Any help would be much appreciated.

You can ring the footy club and they can help you out.

I think they even have their own travel service. Crows travel or something like that.

I would look at flying, get in early and get the cheap flights.

ICDM -

Im going over as well, gonna fly over, screw bussing/training it.

Im staying at the Ramada on flinders st, quality hotel.

In regards to tickets, rock up and buy them at the gates :)

Gets! said:
ICDM -

Im going over as well, gonna fly over, screw bussing/training it.

Im staying at the Ramada on flinders st, quality hotel.

In regards to tickets, rock up and buy them at the gates :)

Yeah we were thinking of flying. Just got to get the cash! I'm sure if I earned $54,000 a year I wouldn't hesistate to fly :p But then again roadtripping it there with your mates would be a lot of fun.

They gotta be decent tickets though. Don't wanna rock up and get crappy seats in the top tier of the G! This is what happened on Saturday night at the Geelong game :thumbsd:

ICanDressMyself said:
Yeah we were thinking of flying. Just got to get the cash! I'm sure if I earned $54,000 a year I wouldn't hesistate to fly :p But then again roadtripping it there with your mates would be a lot of fun.

They gotta be decent tickets though. Don't wanna rock up and get crappy seats in the top tier of the G! This is what happened on Saturday night at the Geelong game :thumbsd:

Contact the Crows office in Melbourne if you want good seats. They'll steer you in the right direction.
We always stand at the Punt Road end*. Much more fun than sitting down.

(* For those 100's of games we get to play at the MCG:rolleyes: )

ICanDressMyself said:
Me and a few of my mates will be heading over to Melbourne to watch the Crows take on the Bulldogs in Round 20 is what we are thinking. What's everyone's reccommedations/preferences of travel to get there? We were thinking road tripping it over but then realised the petrol factor so does anyone know the prices for trains and buses for return trips? Also, would anyone know if there's any possible way to travel up there with the official supporters group? I know it's still over 2 months away but we need to get started thinking of ideas and get a few enquiries and bookings done.

Any help would be much appreciated.

If you've never laid a solid bump or tackle OR you average around 1 mark a game, you could always hitch a ride with the team by disguiging yourself as Scott Stevens or Matty Clarke. I'm sure you will be just as effective.

Gets! said:
Drummond, ICDM and Gets! having a night out on Melbourne town.

Would be a funny evening guaranteed!

Haha yes! It's our responsibility to get Drummond plastered! I'm sure he will have a couple if the Crows triumph. :thumbsu:

Drummond said:
It sure would, no doubt about it. :p

But you’re not really a huge fan of excessive drinking or promiscuous behaviour right?

Oh well a happy meal at McDonalds it is for the big night.

* You don’t need to have an excessive amounts of alcoholic beverages to have a good time. Drink reasonably :D

Im still undecided as to whether we would be better off flying or training it over, if you can get on one of the specials, the cost of flying isnt much more, but then again we might have to pay for another nights accomodation then.

Southerntakeover said:
Im still undecided as to whether we would be better off flying or training it over, if you can get on one of the specials, the cost of flying isnt much more, but then again we might have to pay for another nights accomodation then.

Flying would be good, but like someone said we have to get in early if we are gonna get some cheap tickets. If we have to pay another nights accom it wont be much for where we'll be staying! Then again, getting there's half the fun.

Maybe we can just get Gets! to pay for our flights :D

Drummond said:
Oh no I'm not. ;) I'm not throwing away 18 years of being sober for 1 crazy night. :p

Oh Drummond you don't need to get drunk every time you drink. One beer and I'll be happy. :thumbsu:

Okay well you watch me have fun and score with chicks then :thumbsu:

ICDM - ease up mate, remember the tax man is not my friend and he especially loves those penalty rates.

But seriously, should have a night out on friday before the game.

Gets! said:

ICDM - ease up mate, remember the tax man is not my friend and he especially loves those penalty rates.

Yeah Drummond get a few drinks in ya and the confidence will be on the up.

Sure thing, that's if we are flying over which is looking likely, if not it'd be train or car and we'd probably get there in the morning sometime before the game then get on the booze that night and hopefully celebrate!

Gets! said:
Anything in the night for me? ;)

Well I'm flying over on Friday, going to the Crows game then another game at the Dome on Saturday night. Then flying over Sunday arvo to get to the Norwood game on Sunday. :thumbsu:

Was thinking about heading over to that match as well, after being unsatisfied by the Richmond game (despite having an overall top weekend), but the friend I went with decided after the game that she's never going to go to another crows match, as every time she does they end up losing. She's been to 12 crows matches in her life and every time the crows have lost.

Gets! said:

Im sure itd some how count as a donation to charity...

Night out before the game? That might spoil the mood for the game the next day, what with the double vision and vomitting and all, either way ill sure as hell be celebrating the win with more than a few.

Yeh I think my flight leaves sat night though...:(

Hence friday night :thumbsu:

Its an arvo game, plenty of time to recover :)

I havent booked my flights yet but am DEFINETELY going...

Gets! said:
Yeh I think my flight leaves sat night though...:(

Hence friday night :thumbsu:

Its an arvo game, plenty of time to recover :)

I havent booked my flights yet but am DEFINETELY going...

Drink two nights in a row? Now thats a novel idea for a uni student....