The motion of the kicking action is irrelevant. Its whether he is in possession of the ball, which he is not. Similar to if you tackle a player who just disposed of the ball. Its not a question if the handball or kicking action is finished, the only relevant question is: does the player being tackled posses the ball.I think then that the late interpretation then needs to be changed. He hadn’t completed his kicking motion, as in still hadn’t landed on the ground after making contact with the ball. It’s not a late dirty hit that the intention of the rule was to stamp out. It’s a millisecond that green has to change his course of action. It’s a ridiculous “literal” interpretation of a rule that as a neutral does not need to be paid. Especially in the circumstances.
GWS got a free earlier in the game for holding just after hand balling, even though the hand ball motion was not complete. It was a correct decision as was the one to sis.




