Beauty & Style Quitting

Did that too. Pub was much harder. I never really had much trouble. A few thefts but that was it really. Wasn’t really a busy area though so not many trouble makers late at night even though it was outer east.
I saw recently that one of the pubs in village that I had my pub in has been closed down because they had too much trouble. It was rough when I lived there so it must have gotten significantly worse to force it's closure. Problem is all the dickheads will have to find somewhere else to drink now which kind of spoils it for everybody else.

I went to work hungover basically twice a day for six months. Me and this chick would always bond over it. She was like 6 foot tall, looked like Taylor Swift, and generally very pretty... she also spewed into plastic bags regularly on shift.

As for calling in hung, well it’s law that casuals do not need to go in and three hours is adequate time. The same thing applies to the employer. I called in sick and it was a Thursday or something - come on. I think I called in sick twice to that job in 18 months. Barely like I had a reputation. Thought it was shit form to bully someone into a shift who never called in sick and more often that not actually helped with shift swaps and picking up other people’s sickies.

But working for big mega companies is such anyway, all downward pressure. Bosses are generally people who got into the job at 18 and have no ability to manage people. I had one job recently which was for a small organisation and the boss was an old yachty and I left well there, just said I wanted to try something new and saw the hours were drying up, and they said it was cool and if I was still around in summer to come down and they’d sort me. But when you’re working for arseholes and The Man there is something nice about a ‘**** you’ to them.

No one going to mention this? You get in trouble for misdemeanors and she's spewing up in plastic bags? She must have looked like Taylor Swift.

What do you expect? Two blokes in 35 staff, one who was a casual but relatively senior and he'd been there four years on and off. Managers are women between 20 and 35. A cheeky young bloke who doesn't really like group cheers and huddles at the start of the day is never really going to fit in entirely. She was a decent girl, saw it for the money, was studying, wanted to go overseas and all that, pretty jaded and we were on a similar level. But she was happy going to the odd work piss up whereas me and 20 chicks at a Mexican restaurant doesn't sound that great when you're not single so can't have cracks.

I got ragged on and imitated for my 'ocker' accent which I found ironic considering the c word flew around like another particle element in the air by those sheilas.

Just one of those work places where you're indifferent to the work itself, but like hospitality and retail it's pegged down by interacting with the public, but then unbearable because the co workers are shit. I'd come home questioning myself constantly and being genuinely unhappy and dreading the interactions with most people. Very dumb people - fellow casuals by the way - asking what you're doing or telling you what to do... **** it was hard to take.

It was probably akin to working in a Kmart to be honest. Chuck in some Supré as previous work experience and a shift or four at a sports bar in the outer suburbs.

I walked out on work working in fast food a couple times during my five year stint there in my teens/early 20s. First time was after getting abused by a new manager all morning for nothing, less than a week after a close relative passed away, which I was still struggling with. I went on my lunch break and didnt come back in that day, I had no intention to come back at all. Later that night I got a call from the usual manager asking me to explain myself, and when I did he managed to talk me back into coming back, which I did after I had calmed down. Second time was coming in one Saturday morning shift to find that the previous nights crew did no clean up whatsoever, salads still left out overnight, old food still in the warmers, floors slippery as hell. Which was bad enough in itself, when I walked into the cool room to put the mornings order of chicken in the oven to cook, there was no chicken there prepped for me the previous day to put on. Asking the relief manager who was on that morning why lasts nights close wasn't done at all, she claimed she was on the night before and had a party to go to at close and told the night staff they could drop everything and leave as soon as the doors were locked, which they did. I promptly pretended to take empty boxes to the bin outside and then went straight home. Calming down the next day, and fully expecting to be sacked, I went back in to my next shift and strangely no one called me out on it. I never saw that relief manager again.

What do you expect? Two blokes in 35 staff, one who was a casual but relatively senior and he'd been there four years on and off. Managers are women between 20 and 35. A cheeky young bloke who doesn't really like group cheers and huddles at the start of the day is never really going to fit in entirely. She was a decent girl, saw it for the money, was studying, wanted to go overseas and all that, pretty jaded and we were on a similar level. But she was happy going to the odd work piss up whereas me and 20 chicks at a Mexican restaurant doesn't sound that great when you're not single so can't have cracks.

I got ragged on and imitated for my 'ocker' accent which I found ironic considering the c word flew around like another particle element in the air by those sheilas.

Just one of those work places where you're indifferent to the work itself, but like hospitality and retail it's pegged down by interacting with the public, but then unbearable because the co workers are shit. I'd come home questioning myself constantly and being genuinely unhappy and dreading the interactions with most people. Very dumb people - fellow casuals by the way - asking what you're doing or telling you what to do... **** it was hard to take.

It was probably akin to working in a Kmart to be honest. Chuck in some Supré as previous work experience and a shift or four at a sports bar in the outer suburbs.
Group cheers and huddles? Man, this has to be satire. I would die if I had to do some motivational type rubbish. I've had casual employees before and I expect them to take the piss, after all they are pretty much just moving through.

I actually coped the same about a "ocker" accent from some new staff I was managing when I was working in Perth. Which is quite funny since I'd never ever heard this from anyone in 25 years of my life. These were the type of people that had never traveled further than a 20km radius from the city and tried to sound like they were British because their Grandfather left the UK at age 10.

Group cheers and huddles? Man, this has to be satire. I would die if I had to do some motivational type rubbish. I've had casual employees before and I expect them to take the piss, after all they are pretty much just moving through.

I actually coped the same about a "ocker" accent from some new staff I was managing when I was working in Perth. Which is quite funny since I'd never ever heard this from anyone in 25 years of my life. These were the type of people that had never traveled further than a 20km radius from the city and tried to sound like they were British because their Grandfather left the UK at age 10.
Yeah it’s pretty bad. They used to say stuff like ‘you’re really quiet sometimes SA’ and I’d just say ‘ahh yeah, just do my job really.’ They’d ask about what I did and have done and I’d tell them. Like they never put two and two together to realise I was a young guy recouping money to get out of Perth again short term/long term and I was a dude and I was working amongst women.

Quite often people would dance to the bad music on the radio or like, make a lame joke with forks as an antennae, or sing along with a kooky voice and I’d give them a hah and wry smile and quite often the response was ‘SA, you don’t like laughing much, do you?’

er I do. I like pissing myself with people who are funny. And I’m happy speaking to someone who respects me, doesn’t talk down to me, and who acts normal instead of chicks who reckon they’re in some relevant job and who think I have nfi and not that I don’t gaf.

I did my job well, spoke to customers pretty well and I’m good at small talk and can say g’day to people. But fundamentally it’s hard to grow relationships when people have nfi themselves. Or when you just don’t actually love them that much and feel happy keeping it to hello and work and not wanting to be Facebook friends or go out after work all the time.

I dunno, sort of place where people ask how your weekend was and to those you barely know / don’t really wanna, you go ‘ah not a lot, just went to a mate’s’ or ‘just worked’ because you don’t want to say ‘actually I had about nine pints, came home and had three more beers and got uber eats alone, then barely slept and now I’m here and I probably will start sweating alcohol in an hour.’ And they’d start telling you about how they went to a funeral and it’s like ahhh...

Agree re: the Pom thing. Few of those there. Weird how people accuse a normal accent of being ocker. The older I get the more I think people just say random shit to fill in words (awaiting a bolded quote). Like if you say g’day they just attribute that to you.

Ah well.

I worked in a factory for about 6 months.

Was basically expected to train all the new staff and basically be a supervisor for award wages. I asked for a pay increase, since anything that went wrong seemed to come back to me and I was knocked back, so I walked out.

deeppp.jpg

For a little too long I sort of styled my life on The Dude and Cosmo Kramer. No work, not doing too much, trying to nail some sort of signature look...

That is a much better way to live than being a serial killer, CEO or sales person.

Though all those human conditions are more noble than being a forum moderator.

That is a much better way to live than being a serial killer, CEO or sales person.

Though all those human conditions are more noble than being a forum moderator.
I see you too dislike authority figures

Yep. Just walked off the site, after a smart arse remark. Should have done it sooner, very first job I had, $10 a day. Yep I was cheap!

I quit a job with no notice at all last year. Like, movie-style "**** you and I quit" kind of quitting. I loved my colleagues, I loved the people that I was servicing as part of my job - but my Victorian manager was just the world's biggest campaigner (and just to make it abundantly clear, I'm not writing "campaigner" - I'm writing the 4-letter 'C' word that BF auto-replaces with campaigner. Which isn't a word I ever use lightly.)

This campaigner wouldn't accept responsibility for his failings. Would dump shit on you that wasn't your fault. Wasn't interested in debriefing your rough days, but wanted to know all about your successes... so he could take credit for them. A bullet would've been too good for this guy (although I might've shot him if I'd had access.) This probably reflects my inner psychopath that I spend my life repressing - but in my darkest moments, I wanted him to watch me kill his wife and kids before setting him on fire. That's how much he got to me. (Of course, I didn't do any of those things, and he's still in that job to this day.)

I'm not sure whether the manager above him was the piece of shit that she seemed to be, or if she was only treating me based on what my Vic manager had told her.

Anyway, I'd been doing this job for 12 months, I thought it'd been going well... but it went to complete ****ing shit literally over the course of a week. During that week I copped an Everest of shit for things that either weren't my fault, or weren't my responsibility in the first place, and it was only during that week that I realised what this mother ****er had been doing for months (in terms of dumping shit on his employees that were his fault/responsibility.) I didn't even know I was about to quit going into work that morning.

By the end of the day I couldn't deal with it any more - I've had a lot of mental health dramas in my 30-something years, but I don't think I've ever been at the breaking point that I reached that day. I've been right on the cusp of suicidal, and yet I've never felt worse than I did by the end of this day.

I told my union rep that she had to drop everything on an hours notice to meet with me. I dragged her, completely unprepared, to a meeting with this piece of shit. I tore my boss a new arseh*le about what a campaigner he was. Being quite a political workplace, I may have extorted an immediate separation as well as a separation payment in exchange for a confidentiality clause, making it clear that he really, really needed to get me to sign a confidentiality clause... I also may have flipped a table towards the end of the meeting (which, if you ever get to do it, is actually quite cool and liberating!)

It felt amazing at the time, cos I thought I was getting the last laugh on this campaigner that ****ed me and all the people that work for him - I left that day (dumping a heap of important shit into the secure recycling, and taking even more important shit home with me), I got a pretty good pay out, and I left him having to explain to his bosses what the **** had happened... to this day I wonder how he managed to explain away thousands of dollars of expenditure without any approval whatsoever.

The problem was that I left at a shitty time of the year, and without having done any prior job hunting whatsoever. What felt great at the time started to become the worst period of my life, because I was looking for work in the run up to Christmas, it took longer to find something than I ever thought it would, and but for the help and generosity of a really great friend I literally would've ended up living in my car.

Still, everything eventually turned out ok for me in the end. I work an ok job now - when I say "ok", it doesn't particularly challenge me. But I get to do some cool stuff, and it doesn't stress me out. It's not what I will end up doing long term. But after what I went through last year, it's the perfect job for what I needed right now.

But I still wonder how the **** he has that job though when, of the 9 people that reported to him last October, 8 of them left over a 6 month period... I also still think that, if I saw him at a sporting event (cos we share a team in one code), I'd trip him over and hope he fell down a flight of stairs and died.

I quit a job with no notice at all last year. Like, movie-style "**** you and I quit" kind of quitting. I loved my colleagues, I loved the people that I was servicing as part of my job - but my Victorian manager was just the world's biggest campaigner (and just to make it abundantly clear, I'm not writing "campaigner" - I'm writing the 4-letter 'C' word that BF auto-replaces with campaigner. Which isn't a word I ever use lightly.)

This campaigner wouldn't accept responsibility for his failings. Would dump shit on you that wasn't your fault. Wasn't interested in debriefing your rough days, but wanted to know all about your successes... so he could take credit for them. A bullet would've been too good for this guy (although I might've shot him if I'd had access.) This probably reflects my inner psychopath that I spend my life repressing - but in my darkest moments, I wanted him to watch me kill his wife and kids before setting him on fire. That's how much he got to me. (Of course, I didn't do any of those things, and he's still in that job to this day.)

I'm not sure whether the manager above him was the piece of shit that she seemed to be, or if she was only treating me based on what my Vic manager had told her.

Anyway, I'd been doing this job for 12 months, I thought it'd been going well... but it went to complete ******* shit literally over the course of a week. During that week I copped an Everest of shit for things that either weren't my fault, or weren't my responsibility in the first place, and it was only during that week that I realised what this mother ****** had been doing for months (in terms of dumping shit on his employees that were his fault/responsibility.) I didn't even know I was about to quit going into work that morning.

By the end of the day I couldn't deal with it any more - I've had a lot of mental health dramas in my 30-something years, but I don't think I've ever been at the breaking point that I reached that day. I've been right on the cusp of suicidal, and yet I've never felt worse than I did by the end of this day.

I told my union rep that she had to drop everything on an hours notice to meet with me. I dragged her, completely unprepared, to a meeting with this piece of shit. I tore my boss a new arseh*le about what a campaigner he was. Being quite a political workplace, I may have extorted an immediate separation as well as a separation payment in exchange for a confidentiality clause, making it clear that he really, really needed to get me to sign a confidentiality clause... I also may have flipped a table towards the end of the meeting (which, if you ever get to do it, is actually quite cool and liberating!)

It felt amazing at the time, cos I thought I was getting the last laugh on this campaigner that ****** me and all the people that work for him - I left that day (dumping a heap of important shit into the secure recycling, and taking even more important shit home with me), I got a pretty good pay out, and I left him having to explain to his bosses what the **** had happened... to this day I wonder how he managed to explain away thousands of dollars of expenditure without any approval whatsoever.

The problem was that I left at a shitty time of the year, and without having done any prior job hunting whatsoever. What felt great at the time started to become the worst period of my life, because I was looking for work in the run up to Christmas, it took longer to find something than I ever thought it would, and but for the help and generosity of a really great friend I literally would've ended up living in my car.

Still, everything eventually turned out ok for me in the end. I work an ok job now - when I say "ok", it doesn't particularly challenge me. But I get to do some cool stuff, and it doesn't stress me out. It's not what I will end up doing long term. But after what I went through last year, it's the perfect job for what I needed right now.

But I still wonder how the **** he has that job though when, of the 9 people that reported to him last October, 8 of them left over a 6 month period... I also still think that, if I saw him at a sporting event (cos we share a team in one code), I'd trip him over and hope he fell down a flight of stairs and died.

Flipping a table and still getting a severance cheque? What kind of industry was this in? Killer story :thumbsu:

Can I ask what you mean by ‘Victorian’?

As in his Vicness is what makes him a jerk, or Victorian is a euphemism for jerk, or he is from Vic and you’re not

Just weird is all

Ha. Fair enough.

No, it's nothing as interesting as you've suggested. It's just that it's a national organisation, I worked in the Victorian office, and he was the boss of the Victorian branch - but we also had bosses based in Sydney (it was a weird structure where our day-to-day manager was the Victorian manager, but our longer term strategic management came from Sydney.) Hence "Victorian manager".

Sorry it wasn't more interesting!

I love Victoria. No, I'm not Victorian, but I've lived in a couple of different places, and Melbourne is the first place I've ever really felt was "home."

Yep

First day, Just turned around and said around 1pm "Really appreciate you taking a chance, however i don't see myself enjoying this, And i don't want to do this" he thanked me for my honesty, said if he wanted me to stick around for a week or two, he said honestly if your completely against the job nothing stopping you from leaving now, and it wont be a hassle

so lasted 5 hours.

Yep

First day, Just turned around and said around 1pm "Really appreciate you taking a chance, however i don't see myself enjoying this, And i don't want to do this" he thanked me for my honesty, said if he wanted me to stick around for a week or two, he said honestly if your completely against the job nothing stopping you from leaving now, and it wont be a hassle

so lasted 5 hours.

Holy shit! I've never heard of that happening!

WTF happened in 5 hours that you knew?

In my current job I was dreading it for the first 2 weeks and thought it was going to be a pile of shit. Now? It's still not amazing, inspiring work - but I love the people I work with, and I like some of the opportunities they give me.