R. Clarke

Maguire has a long-term recovery from a broken leg still in front of him, something that won't surprise anyone who witnessed his mishap, but the oft-injured Clarke is also looking at another long spell on the sidelines after back surgery.
Apart from former West Coast ruckman Michael Gardiner, who was unable to train due to what Sheldon said was illness, Clarke did less than anyone yesterday and, because of his lengthy medical history, is going to be held to a cautious recovery program that will certainly see him miss the start of the season.

Link

There's your answer.

Massive season coming up for him.

massive season?? how'd you work that one out?

do or die season me thinks

still i am confident that both clarkes will be jets

i am confident xavier will be a great player. i have no faith what so ever in raph. he is useless

massive season?? how'd you work that one out?

do or die season me thinks

still i am confident that both clarkes will be jets

That's what I meant when I said it's a massive season coming up.

That he has to perform or he is in trouble.

I'm certainly not giving up on him either because I think he has real talent. It's just about time we see some of it on a regular basis.

The same goes for X. Sadly I'm got doubts whether their bodies are made for AFL footy. The two of them have broken down with injury so often that we may be denied the opportunity to see them in full flight. It's one time where I hope I'm wrong.

Just curious for a Saints supporters perspective, what do you see in Raph Clarke in terms of talent? What are his strong points?
I know his brother has very good skills and is a good athlete with an excellent leap, but when I've seen R Clarke play he seems to have bad awareness, decent but not flashy disposal, doesn't seem that quick and certainly isn't a big unit.
I'm not trolling, but just wondering what you guys think of him.

Just curious for a Saints supporters perspective, what do you see in Raph Clarke in terms of talent? What are his strong points?
I know his brother has very good skills and is a good athlete with an excellent leap, but when I've seen R Clarke play he seems to have bad awareness, decent but not flashy disposal, doesn't seem that quick and certainly isn't a big unit.

he's a hack that only got drafted coz his brother did

You are either very young or very stupid.

What an incredibly ignorant comment to post :rolleyes:

It is so wrong on so many levels. For a start you are insulting both John Beveridge and Grant Thomas.

Also you are saying Kevin Sheehan know nothing because he had him going top ten in the draft.

lastly you are saying Miccheal Long knows nothing when he said that Raph Clarke has the talent to be the best Northern Territorian to ever play AFl football.
He was injured most of last year and has had back surgery. How the f### is he supposed to play if he is injured.

And FFS dont blame him for his injuries. If you do also blame Lenny, and Goose, and Hamill, and Kosi.

Nuffy nobodies like you really s .hite me no end.

He certainly didnt just get drafted because of his brother. He was rated better and got drafted on his own terms.

Yet i dont totally disagree with the "hack" status that you have given him. I believe he was given games last year and the year before because of his status as a high draft pick and reputation. He definately didnt not earn nor should have kept his spot on most occasions.

Hopefully he does reach the high heights set out for him. But currently the pace and quick decision making needed at the highest level have restricted his influence. And at times should have been playing reserves football.

A few years back I saw Northern Territory play Queensland in the Division 2 Grand Final at Optus Oval.

To be honest I was only really there to watch Raph play.

At that point he was being viewed as a possible top 5 pick. Even higher in many good judges books so I didn't think there was much chance of him slipping down to 8.

He has some freakish skills. For a kid that's deceptively tall (around 6'2) he had the uncanny ability to run at fill tilt and pick the ball up from below his knees better than I had seen from most AFL players.

I don't think he's as lazy as people make out either. He's certainly laid back and perhaps people interpret that as being disinterested.

We haven't seen the best of him at this point but to be fair and like JB pointed out he hasn't exactly been fit for much of that time. I agree that he could consider himself fortunate to not have been dropped on a few occasions last season but GT wanted to give him some game time rather than shatter his confidence. I had no problem with that.

I have my reservations on whether he'll make it long term but it's more to do with his body than any perceived lack of talent or interest.

'Magic' McLean rates Raph very highly as well. He must have something to excite these known good judges of talent ...

He looks like he's only trotting, but have you ever noticed how few times he's caught with the pill? Deceptively quick, good hands, plenty of courage. If he can ever get fit and injury free we'll have a good 'un.

We are yet to see anything like his best.

'Magic' McLean rates Raph very highly as well. He must have something to excite these known good judges of talent ...

He looks like he's only trotting, but have you ever noticed how few times he's caught with the pill? Deceptively quick, good hands, plenty of courage. If he can ever get fit and injury free we'll have a good 'un.

We are yet to see anything like his best.

Have you ever realised how few times he is able to find the ball, let alone win it himself, not to mention how ineffective he is when he has it. Now i really do wish Raph was as good as some of you are giving him credit for but the boy is lost when on the ground in the afl and he really hasnt showed anything.

People have very short memories.

By the end of 2005 Raph had established himself in the best 22 and was regarded by most as better than Xavier.

Raph's strengths are his pace, height, composure, skills below his feet, ability to take in the opposition and ability to read the game.
His weaknesses would be his chronic injuries, core body strength and lack of confidence.

His kicking is creative without being great and he sometimes struggles to get into a game. There have been quesion marks over his attitude when injured, but at least he has never been in any real trouble.

I believe that he should take a few months off Leigh Fisher-style and just clear his mind, build his fitness and add a bit of muscle. We don't urgently need him as we already have Gram, S.Fisher, L.Fisher and Xavier as rebounding defenders (though Gram and Xavier may eventually move into the midfield, making room for Raph in defence).

Just because he had established himself in the best 22 doesnt mean he had earned his spot nor does it mean he was performing. It is very hard to win games when players are carrying 2 or 3 others (Raph, Pecket, Powel).

Last year injuries exposed our lack of depth, because it is obvious that raph clarke was not ready for afl football, and any side that has pecket or powel in it is lacking midfield depth.

And i highly doubt that anybody regarded Xavier lower that Raphael Clarke, because in my opinion they are worlds apart in terms of ability. I dont know who these people are that you say rate raphael better because every stkilda fan i talk to last year knew that with Justin Pecket and Raphael Clarke in our team, we weren't going far

It looks like you'll get your wish to start the season with, as Raph has a back problem and will be out for several matches. It's a new coach and therefore basis for selection; let's see if and/or when he makes it back into the side.

Raph can play make no mistake about that. Anyone that says any different clearly hasnt seen him play. Like so many have said, injurys have robbed his VERY VERY young career so he has heaps of time to get his body right.

He is 21 years old, :eek: Hopefully can get his body right over the next 12 months and show the AFL world what talent he has.

It looks like you'll get your wish to start the season with, as Raph has a back problem and will be out for several matches. It's a new coach and therefore basis for selection; let's see if and/or when he makes it back into the side.

Its not my wish. I just dont think he is ready for AFL football, whether it be because of injuries or that he is still very young and still developing.

If he can earn his spot in the team unlike last year when grant just chucked him in unproven i would be very happy, because if he has earnt his spot then he must be in good form.

Just because he had established himself in the best 22 doesnt mean he had earned his spot nor does it mean he was performing. It is very hard to win games when players are carrying 2 or 3 others (Raph, Pecket, Powel).

And i highly doubt that anybody regarded Xavier lower that Raphael Clarke, because in my opinion they are worlds apart in terms of ability. I dont know who these people are that you say rate raphael better because every stkilda fan i talk to last year knew that with Justin Pecket and Raphael Clarke in our team, we weren't going far

By established himself in the best 22 I meant, he regularly earned his spot in the team and was ahead of all other contenders for that spot. In 2006 he did nothing, but he was in our best team in 2005.

16 games, Rising star nomination
Avg 14 disposals, 4 marks, 3 tackles, 2 rebound 50's, 4 1%ers.

Here are the other people that agree.

http://bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=165092&highlight=raph+clarke

http://bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=162672&highlight=raph+clarke

http://bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=163179&highlight=raph+clarke

Leave the lad alone u pack of ********ing hyenas.. you saints ppl bagging one of ur own players remind me of Port Power supporters:mad:

Good hands are his greatest strength

Leave the lad alone u pack of ********ing hyenas.. you saints ppl bagging one of ur own players remind me of Port Power supporters:mad:

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, however wrong you or I may find it.

Wake up to reality mate!

Just because I or anyone else supports the Saints dosnt mean that I think every player is a superstar.

If thats the path you take then you are totally naive and stupid for doing so.

xavier clarke will not play football this year, i got very strong mail..