Play Nice Random Chat Thread IV

"...systemic and overt individual racism............"

:think:
They are two different things. Overt racism is a deliberate conscious thing the other, systemic racism, is a result of individual overt racism in particular areas and the historical legacy of it from when it was accepted society wide.

Did you catch the end where he gets into the mice telomeres and how he was ignored? It must kill you that science has become so corrupted. Kind of reminds me of the story of Howard Temin.

It can only be "corrupted" for so long mate.

The truth is the truth.

Sometimes there are injustices that we cannot allow to continue and that we can do something about — such as the treatment of some group of people as second-class citizens. But the privilege discussion now implies that once any privilege is identified it must be campaigned against and ‘dismantled’ until the playing field can be said to be levelled.

There is another solution, or at least approach, to problems that are endemic and unfair, but not oppressive. That is to try to reconcile ourselves to the world around us. To find our own attitudes towards, and ways around, inequities and inequalities that may be endemic but are also unfixable. The alternative is, at best, endless unhappiness, and at worst, something far more dangerous and divisive.

Sometimes there are injustices that we cannot allow to continue and that we can do something about — such as the treatment of some group of people as second-class citizens. But the privilege discussion now implies that once any privilege is identified it must be campaigned against and ‘dismantled’ until the playing field can be said to be levelled.

There is another solution, or at least approach, to problems that are endemic and unfair, but not oppressive. That is to try to reconcile ourselves to the world around us. To find our own attitudes towards, and ways around, inequities and inequalities that may be endemic but are also unfixable. The alternative is, at best, endless unhappiness, and at worst, something far more dangerous and divisive.

Yeah, but it’s very easy for us to take that stance. For example, as an Irishman, I always tried and advocated to take a conciliatory approach towards the English. However, one thing that really got my hackles up was when condescending english people would advise us to follow that same path. It’s contradictory, I know, but it’s a fact of life for victims or former victims. As North Melbourne supporters we should all know exactly what that feels like... and we’re just talking about a silly game!

It is hard.

If it is an injustice we can fix, then great, but if there is also macro-level stuff we can’t change. For example, the article highlights how many get jobs as a result of parent connections and others miss out. In my situation, my disabilities limit my job field considerably. I have largely accepted my life’s restrictions and conditions after it contributed to me losing my dream job. Bitterness is hard to overcome and it can lead to life being much harder than it needs to be.

I understand the bitterness of those affected by racist policies in the past and it is warranted by those who endured it. African-Americans and the indigenous people’s that have been affected by colonial and racist policies in the past. It is even worse for Aboriginals. Their entire kinship, social and spiritual systems were effectively destroyed. It is a lot harder to generate a proud identity and achieve reconciliation as a victim for those that experienced it.
Take pride in your identity, culture and the injustice that we can fix, but acknowledge that not every problem can be solved and be realistic about the world as positively as we can.

Man, I write a lot of platitudes.

It is hard.

If it is an injustice we can fix, then great, but if there is also macro-level stuff we can’t change. For example, the article highlights how many get jobs as a result of parent connections and others miss out. In my situation, my disabilities limit my job field considerably. I have largely accepted my life’s restrictions and conditions after it contributed to me losing my dream job. Bitterness is hard to overcome and it can lead to life being much harder than it needs to be.

I understand the bitterness of those affected by racist policies in the past and it is warranted by those who endured it. African-Americans and the indigenous people’s that have been affected by colonial and racist policies in the past. It is even worse for Aboriginals. Their entire kinship, social and spiritual systems were effectively destroyed. It is a lot harder to generate a proud identity and achieve reconciliation as a victim for those that experienced it.
Take pride in your identity, culture and the injustice that we can fix, but acknowledge that not every problem can be solved and be realistic about the world as positively as we can.

Man, I write a lot of platitudes.

There’s a place for platitudes too. 🤣 However, real progress can only be achieved when the victim feels ready. Nobody can badger or bribe them. They have to feel/believe it’s on their terms or equal terms, at least. That just a fact of life. Logic comes in later.

View attachment 895166
The SIPRI is very good for military spending stats on a sidenote. Per year by the way.

Yes and no to your theory on the defence industrial complex:View attachment 895173
View attachment 895174

Public R&D has also experienced drops over the last 20 years as the affliated industries are largely privatized. Gone are the days of publicly owned defence companies, they are almost extinct.

Wholey crap, never realised we spent more than Canada in defence

Alright, Today I become the most proudest parent of all time. My eldest daughter, 5 yo was heard hummingbthe NMFC theme song.

i’ll share a little insight. My wife is a part time campaigner supporter, her family, my campaigner inlaws are dog cheating fu**head supporters. When she was 3, my brither in law attempted to lure her to supporting those cheating fu**in dogs. So instead of making a public scene, I waited to grab him by the throat and advised him, “its against your best interest she doesnt follow this scumbag fu**in team, if you try to coerce her one more ******* time, i’ll punch your head in until you are unconscious accepting i’ll be a single father”..

so there became the challenge.. my daughter will have outside pressure to be a scumbag supporter that I’ll inevitably disown until TODAY!

She was singing our team song whilst expressing her art!

The misso “Why aRe YoU SoOooO Happy?”

I am happy because My first born has made the best decision of her life! She has succeeded in critical thinking at the young age of 5

Me: HAPPIEST MAN ALIVE

Aww that’s fantastic Duck

Alright, Today I become the most proudest parent of all time. My eldest daughter, 5 yo was heard hummingbthe NMFC theme song.

i’ll share a little insight. My wife is a part time campaigner supporter, her family, my campaigner inlaws are dog cheating fu**head supporters. When she was 3, my brither in law attempted to lure her to supporting those cheating fu**in dogs. So instead of making a public scene, I waited to grab him by the throat and advised him, “its against your best interest she doesnt follow this scumbag fu**in team, if you try to coerce her one more ******* time, i’ll punch your head in until you are unconscious accepting i’ll be a single father”..

so there became the challenge.. my daughter will have outside pressure to be a scumbag supporter that I’ll inevitably disown until TODAY!

She was singing our team song whilst expressing her art!

The misso “Why aRe YoU SoOooO Happy?”

I am happy because My first born has made the best decision of her life! She has succeeded in critical thinking at the young age of 5

Me: HAPPIEST MAN ALIVE

Very well said Caracas. Can't believe it took this long for the elephant in the North footy forum room to be pointed out. And as North Melbourne supporters, have we ever just given up? Have we ever just said, "Oh well, that's just the way it is. Terrible world, but true. May as well just learn to get used to it." Of course not. So as Shinboners, where has our empathy gone for those who still have to fight for every inch of mile gained in this life? Where has our ability gone to listen to the voices of those whose lives are pinned in subordination to a system that refuses to acknowledge their worth and their right to equal treatment? Have we forsaken everything we claim to stand for just to keep Gone With the Wind and a box of pancake mix?

Saying that the world just is the way that it is, and that it will never change is a cop out. We are capable of better, and there is no excuse for not trying.

To the priveleged, equality feels like oppression. And weirdly, it's the privileged in this world that seem to suffer from the biggest lack mentality. Or maybe that does actually make sense, I don't know. But at any rate, we need to let go of our fears that we'll never have enough if we share with others. We need to let go of the us vs them, me vs you, black vs white, right vs left, I'm right, you're wrong mentality that keeps us in a state of separateness. Fear keeps us separate. The idea that we are all one is love. We need to lend our energy to love. Accepting fear as our master scribe is about the most un-Shinbonery thing we can do.

listening to Sirius XM and this is on:

in 2009 (November) me and my family were in London, England and we stayed on Baker Street (and i sang this to my self while walking down Baker Street)

Morning all . I was wondering if anyone might be able to provide some knowledge in car registration. I stupidly forgot to pay my rego on the 16th of June and got pulled over by the police and fined over $800 for driving an unregistered vehicle last night . I apologised and tried to explain that I would pay it straight away . Is there any way I can contest the fine in terms of a grace period ? I understand the car was unregistered but had no idea that I had missed the date . I have never missed a date in payment for registration in all my years of driving Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Unfortunately, you're ****ed mate.

You didn't produce the envelope for the biggest gangsters on the continent and now you pay the price. You may also have to get a RWC for the car to get it registered now.

Isn't government wonderful?

Oh, and yeah............remember to vote. :thumbsu:

Same thing happened to me.

Go to the fines Victoria website and you can contest it through there.

It was the first time I'd every been pulled over for anything like that.

They'll review it.

I got the fine cancelled and it was replaced with a warning. Dodged an $800 bullet.

I am assuming you're victorian, but that's the fines vic link.

Then go to the request a review bit.

Screenshot_20200620-095546.png

listening to Sirius XM and this is on:

in 2009 (November) me and my family were in London, England and we stayed on Baker Street (and i sang this to my self while walking down Baker Street)

Sigh, just another Sax crime

Same thing happened to me.

Go to the fines Victoria website and you can contest it through there.

It was the first time I'd every been pulled over for anything like that.

They'll review it.

I got the fine cancelled and it was replaced with a warning. Dodged an $800 bullet.

I am assuming you're victorian, but that's the fines vic link.

Then go to the request a review bit.

View attachment 895911
Much appreciated OF

Wholey crap, never realised we spent more than Canada in defence
We’ve never fully gotten over our invasion complex. A lot of it has to do with:
- Australia’s active regional role, which requires boots on the ground and who are expensive to sustain.
- By contrast, Canada has the large US military just next door, so they don’t have to invent as much. They also don’t do much outside a bit of peacekeeping and home defence. - -- The US defences in Alaska especially means that Canada has less to worry about.

Good on that cop.
Picked it for what it was immediately. A timing clerical error.
Had to fine me because he'd pulled me over. Didn't seem to have that base level arrogance some of them do.

We’ve never fully gotten over our invasion complex. A lot of it has to do with:
- Australia’s active regional role, which requires boots on the ground and who are expensive to sustain.
- By contrast, Canada has the large US military just next door, so they don’t have to invent as much. They also don’t do much outside a bit of peacekeeping and home defence. - -- The US defences in Alaska especially means that Canada has less to worry about.

Kangaroos4eva yeah I totally agree, more surprised about financially we are more as we have quite a small defence force compared to most in that list (like 60,000?)

More thinking about it from a purely population side of it I guess