Play Nice Random Chat Thread V

Has the true working class changed though? We used to have manufacturing, trade workers, public servants from cardigan wearers to tram drivers, linesmen and even postal workers. Now the only thing we make are soy lattes and casual workers who are just thankful to have a job. Unions are watered down and either toothless or as bad as the issues they try to remove. I think I need a cuppa tea and a bex 🙃

Australia kind of gave up on socialist ideals (including the ALP) quite a while ago when we focused on income equity via income taxation rather than trying to reconfigure ownership of the means of production and major industries. Accordingly our view of what constitutes 'working class' ultimately became 'cultural' (blue collar primary and secondary production) rather than based on economic theory. We've now found ourselves in a bit of a crisis where it becomes difficult to identify the 'new' working class with the old.

Plenty of casualised and season jobs in the first half of the 20th century had strong unionisation rates. Probably a bunch of factors feeding into that, including the unions themselves but also external.

Has the true working class changed though? We used to have manufacturing, trade workers, public servants from cardigan wearers to tram drivers, linesmen and even postal workers. Now the only thing we make are soy lattes and casual workers who are just thankful to have a job. Unions are watered down and either toothless or as bad as the issues they try to remove. I think I need a cuppa tea and a bex 🙃
Yeah the issue is snake's relying on a shaky conception of masculinity that doesn't allow a conception of a working class outside male steel workers coming home tools in hand.

Trump, Latham and the other right wing populists virtue signal these tough manly schtick displays, but neither will pursue polices that tangibly benefit the working class, which includes the hospitality industry, child care workers and a wide range of people battling away in the modern economy.

To some extent, yes.

To some extent, no.

Whitlam shafted manufacturing under the Lima Agreement, but internationalism would have seen the end of it anyway, unless Australia went down a nationalist path, and I reckon we're one of the few fortunate countries where this could work.

Ultimately, Australia is not about its citizens, and never was.

Yeah the issue is snake's relying on a shaky conception of masculinity that doesn't allow a conception of a working class outside male steel workers coming home tools in hand.

Trump, Latham and the other right wing populists virtue signal these tough manly schtick displays, but neither will pursue polices that tangibly benefit the working class, which includes the hospitality industry, child care workers and a wide range of people battling away in the modern economy.
I reckon if you could venture inside my bonce and there was a mental picture of what working class meant to me, then that'd be it, tbh :)
And that other bit is the whole point, "they ain't lookin out for us like they used to" -Steve Earle circa every single day 🙃

When you hear the Ambulance Helicopter at 7am winding up to take off you know something bad happened last night.
It's worse when you're at an MVA and the rescue helicopter comes out, nearly gets to your destination then turns around and goes back.

That really sucks.

Welcome to ALP politics 2020.

The representation of the true working class has become so abominable that they are actually better off voting for the LNP, because at least they take a chainsaw to the bureaucratic parasites suckling on the workers taxation teat. They have become the lesser of two very significant evils.

I'll be voting LNP for the first time in my life at the next Victorian election, not because I want the LNP, but because I identify the ALP as the superior evil of the true working class. What an horrendous state of affairs.
You obviously don't work or you wouldn't be writing that.

I wonder what Australia would look like now if Whitlam had gone ahead and nationalised the oil and gas industry.

I suspect gas would be a hell of a lot cheaper and we might even still have some manufacturing.
We would be an independent nation instead of a colony for foreign corporations and investors.

You like a bit of Steve Earle rickety?
Been on board since about 88. I like the blokes social values. Just kinda fits. Saw him play in London after he got out of jail, played for about 5 hours!! Seriously. Seen him a few times since, even stole the punchline of a gag when he was playing in Richmond a few years ago, funny as f@ck.

I wonder what Australia would look like now if Whitlam had gone ahead and nationalised the oil and gas industry.

I suspect gas would be a hell of a lot cheaper and we might even still have some manufacturing.
nah , it would have just been sold off by now like the electricity and every other utilities.

Been on board since about 88. I like the blokes social values. Just kinda fits. Saw him play in London after he got out of jail, played for about 5 hours!! Seriously. Seen him a few times since, even stole the punchline of a gag when he was playing in Richmond a few years ago, funny as f@ck.
Awesome.

I'm a bit jealous.

nah , it would have just been sold off by now like the electricity and every other utilities.

It might not have you know.

That was another (proper one too Barrett if you are reading) sliding doors moment I reckon. There was a lot going on back then. Neo liberalism (privatisation and the appropriation of public money and stuff) had only just started.

It probably would have. Australia Post may only just have been saved by the actions of its current CEO and the previous one. Not that they've fought to save it though. Imo. Anyone need an indoor plant? A watch perhaps?

Awesome.

I'm a bit jealous.
Mate that 5 hour gig, jeepers, was a Sunday night after playing footy, decided to just get there and have a couple before the show .... the Shepherds Bush Empire ..... snagged a beer, thought I could hear him already playing at about 7ish, poked my nose in then left at about 11:30 ..... even I had had about enough. Lol, probably wasn't 5 hours, but near enough.

Virtually fait accompli. Iam still trying to figure out how its in our national advantage to have the ports and national grid controlled by foreign governments.

How do you figure that?

Explain how Australia's "ports and national grid" are "controlled by foreign governments"?

How do you figure that?

Explain how Australia's "ports and national grid" are "controlled by foreign governments"?
You don't think the Singapore government would have a say in how SP Ausnet is run, or the Chinese CPP a say in the Darwin ports operations?

No, not if it runs contra to the wishes of the Australian government..