Random Random Chat Thread XL

• Thread starter Thread starter Phone

So anyway I'm at the dentist earlier and they have flatscreens on the roof now. Need to work on their positioning though. Went to move a couple of times because the drill guy kept putting his head in the way.
Years ago I was at the dentist and on the screens above they were beaming the Ashes into the surgery- I reckon it was the 2002/03 series here.

Anyway, while watching, Warnie bowled some hopeless hack of a Pom (John Crawley, I think) and in my happiness, tried to yelp a loud "YEAH!".

Comes out as a kind of gargling, choking sound when your mouth is propped open and the dentist has the sucker on your teeth, though.

just watching man united and seeing giggs bring himself on as player manger has got me to thinking, we have seen it with Essendon and Man u, and i think Arsenal will have to go through it soon too...

For all the perceieved benefits of having a long long term manager/coach i.e stability, continuity - clubs with long term managers seem to think they stand on a pedestal of morality in this cut throat game. But i'm starting to think its poison.

I reckon Sporting clubs need generational change fairly regulary to stop the club going stale, getting too comfortable, and the departing manager leaving the joint in shambles. Seems the longer a manager stays on the harder it is for the next guy to bring in his styles and philosophies. Not to mention the fans expectations.

Do you think its irresponsible for clubs to keep managers or coaches on too long? has there actually been any examples of clubs prospering after the end of a long term boss?

just watching man united and seeing giggs bring himself on as player manger has got me to thinking, we have seen it with Essendon and Man u, and i think Arsenal will have to go through it soon too...

For all the perceieved benefits of having a long long term manager/coach i.e stability, continuity - clubs with long term managers seem to think they stand on a pedestal of morality in this cut throat game. But i'm starting to think its poison.

I reckon Sporting clubs need generational change fairly regulary to stop the club going stale, getting too comfortable, and the departing manager leaving the joint in shambles. Seems the longer a manager stays on the harder it is for the next guy to bring in his styles and philosophies. Not to mention the fans expectations.

Do you think its irresponsible for clubs to keep managers or coaches on too long? has there actually been any examples of clubs prospering after the end of a long term boss?

Did the Colliwobbles start soon after Jock McHale left? If so then it gives some weight towards an answer of Yes.

Arsenal have no long term players though (Sagna's off so I think Ramsay from ~2008 is the longest serving) so assuming the board lern 2 futbol in the next 2 years, it'll be a different scenario. There's no Evra/Vidic/Ferdinand/Giggs types who will be openly hostile from the outset. 95% of the first team squad have had several managers in their history.

arsene does have that on his side, regenerates the list regulary and is pretty ruthless cutting guys that dont cut it or dont want to be there.

its funny, how often do you see an arsenal loanee return? never.. he is a good judge of who wont make it

arsene does have that on his side, regenerates the list regulary and is pretty ruthless cutting guys that dont cut it or dont want to be there.

its funny, how often do you see an arsenal loanee return? never.. he is a good judge of who wont make it

They're pretty ruthless in cutting themselves as well. :(

It was the same with Chelsea between Mourinho's terms. The senior players like Terry, Cole and Lampard kicked up a fuss if they were treated any different to how they were under Mourinho and Abramovich was always going to side with his players.

The best thing van Gaal can do at United (I assume he'll only be there 3-5 years at most given his age) is to completely eradicate the Vidic/Evra/Giggs/Ferdinand etc. clique (scorched earth style, just totally get rid) and bring in players who will play for the shirt and the club, not for a man who's not coming back.

It was the same with Chelsea between Mourinho's terms. The senior players like Terry, Cole and Lampard kicked up a fuss if they were treated any different to how they were under Mourinho and Abramovich was always going to side with his players.

The best thing van Gaal can do at United (I assume he'll only be there 3-5 years at most given his age) is to completely eradicate the Vidic/Evra/Giggs/Ferdinand etc. clique (scorched earth style, just totally get rid) and bring in players who will play for the shirt and the club, not for a man who's not coming back.
Hasn't Vidic declared that he's leaving at the end of the season? And Ferdi/Giggs have to retire eventually

starting scorched earth i guess means you need time for the players to gel and buy into the philosophy, you reckon the faithful would be willing to dwell high mid table for a year or two to build a winning squad? They have been used to winning and only winning... they certainly were not willing to give moyes the time, but i reckon in the backs of their minds he was never the man for that job, the fergie blessing may have been what got him in there. I suppose now they have tasted a few losses they might realise they are fallable and will give the new gaff the time required.

i have little doubt if ancelotti were given time, and the boss sided with him over the players he would have been a success, shame, he is a good man, like ranieri, i always loved him.

Hasn't Vidic declared that he's leaving at the end of the season? And Ferdi/Giggs have to retire eventually

the cupboard is bare i reckon! a surplus of flakey wingers, zero creativity in the midfield, one striker who wants out and another who no doubt has a ucl clause in his new contract. Then theres the defence, i reckon there is something to work with there. Could build something around mata but essentially he has his two guns wanting to play in the same position. roon/mata

Bens scorched earth could easily happen here, they are not far short of it already i reckon.

the cupboard is bare i reckon! a surplus of flakey wingers, zero creativity in the midfield, one striker who wants out and another who no doubt has a ucl clause in his new contract. Then theres the defence, i reckon there is something to work with there. Could build something around mata but essentially he has his two guns wanting to play in the same position. roon/mata

Bens scorched earth could easily happen here, they are not far short of it already i reckon.
I don't know how to fix the problems, I've been bored of soccer for a while now. I do like De Gea in goals though

world cup might fix you?
Eh, the last WC was really the start of my losing interest. Also the fact that my sister got me into Ice Hockey instead.

starting scorched earth i guess means you need time for the players to gel and buy into the philosophy, you reckon the faithful would be willing to dwell high mid table for a year or two to build a winning squad? They have been used to winning and only winning... they certainly were not willing to give moyes the time, but i reckon in the backs of their minds he was never the man for that job, the fergie blessing may have been what got him in there. I suppose now they have tasted a few losses they might realise they are fallable and will give the new gaff the time required.

i have little doubt if ancelotti were given time, and the boss sided with him over the players he would have been a success, shame, he is a good man, like ranieri, i always loved him.

I don't think Ferdinand, Evra, Giggs, Vidic etc. are particularly vital to United's fortunes next year.

Their issue is that their midfield has been putrid for years, but an in form van Persie/Rooney combo covered for that, much like Sturridge/Suarez/Sterling/Coutinho has covered for a complete lack of anything else at Liverpool. Now that RvP is having a massive sook because Fergie lied to him about retiring (how great, karma's a bitch you rapist campaigner), Rooney has been knackered all season, and the mediocre midfield has to stand on its own merits.

Mata goes some way to fixing it, but they need to break the bank to fix around him, not to mention potentially replace RvP (fingers crossed). I'm not sure the Glazers are particularly keen to splash out to much at the moment though, especially given Moyes' payout.

See Mitch starc and pollard last night? Funny sh%t. Loved the run out at the end...
Nah, don't really like the IPL. I prefer to focus on County Cricket

They had an argument then pollard told starc to go away and bowl, starc steams in and pollard pulls away so starc followed him with the ball and nearly hit him. Pollard threw the bat at him, got a but intense
Good on ya Starcy.

Wish Starc hit him.

Pollard loves Pollard, and needs to know there are other people in the world other than Pollard that are every bit as good as Pollard, maybe even better than Pollard.

Pollard is a massive figjam that shits me to tears, a view I've had since his first season with the Strikers. Yes he can hit a ball a long way but to me he comes across as a flog.