Discussion Random Discussion

Think I would put my economic knowledge against yours champ. Whats your qualifications in that area except what you read in the Herald Sun.
Oh thats right you don't read do you?
Wow If that’s how you try to win a discussion then I pity you at a friends house. That’s right you might not have friends champ. Pretty easy to get a rise out of you though. Hahaha

Talking of sh*t how is the lawn mowing going. I’m up to 51 lawns. I’ve never been so stuffed already in bed watching tv.
Never been so exhausted in my life, around the 50 + mark did 18.4 klm Monday 30,000 steps LOL

Yep I’m the same. Over 30k steps 4 days in a row. And my back is stuffed and some lawns look like crap after you mow them but what choice do you have.
Heaving down the chicken chips & quenching your thirst with a no sugar coke?

Can’t even do that. Feel to sick to eat anything more Thana chicken roll. You wouldn’t believe the length of some lawns. I promise tomorrow I will have chicken and chips dimmies and no sugar coke. Had 3 beers this arvo and feel terrible.

Never been so exhausted in my life, around the 50 + mark did 18.4 klm Monday 30,000 steps LOL
Yep I’m the same. Over 30k steps 4 days in a row. And my back is stuffed and some lawns look like crap after you mow them but what choice do you have.

No pleasing you guys - moan when you’re not working and now moan when you do 😉

And we can say this about any government state or federal
You put a 100 articles from Labor or Liberal showing how corrupt they all are, problem is to many people follow them like footy teams and can see no wrong
Even your most hard core labor voter should see what a disaster Andrews and his minsters have been through this but they refuse to see it

The problem is if you criticize a politician for something they do, people act as if you’re advocating for the opposing political party. It’s become impossible to discuss problems because it quickly becomes a pile on from everyone trying to point out why the other side is bad too.
Andrews gets let off easy from the left leaners, if Gladys was the one in his position it would be a totally different story.

My rider mower threw a belt and it'll probably take the mail 2 weeks to deliver :P

The problem is if you criticize a politician for something they do, people act as if you’re advocating for the opposing political party. It’s become impossible to discuss problems because it quickly becomes a pile on from everyone trying to point out why the other side is bad too.
Andrews gets let off easy from the left leaners, if Gladys was the one in his position it would be a totally different story.

Yep.
I don't like the way "A" did this,
-------
Well B did this and this and this.

Spot on

I honestly don't care what Gladys does. I reckon Andrews gets laid into more than is fair. Doesn't mean I think he's perfect but the media and politicians have deliberately tried to make it into a massive controversy while we have to lock down. People like negative stories more than positive ones so you don't turn on the news and hear them saying cases are dropping, we have done amazingly well.

There is a letter going around saying that the government expects that the security companies were responsible for training and safety that was part of the contracts the companies signed. It's like signing a contract to build a building then when you build it shit and it falls down it's the governments fault for not making do the right thing.

Seriously you don't think both sides outsource everything? Modern government outsources everything. You can't find a pile of trained public servants to run this shit because it doesn't exist any more. We could have bought in the army but it's not even true that all other states did it. Some used security firms too.

I don't expect anyone to be happy about what has happened in Victoria because it was a major **** up but you have to have perspective too. We reined it in unbelievably well from the point it had got too. Most other countries would be pretty jealous of the outcome. Dan Andrews will take a hit from this and for good reason but try to look at it with out media bias yourself and most of us should be pretty happy with what we have achieved as a state.

Our lives are more likely to get back to something like normal soon than a lot of the world. It's hopefully a once in a lifetime event that has changed lives all over the world. We look like we might be one of the least damaged countries anywhere, we should be feeling pretty lucky IMO.

Krystal Ball (yes her real name) absolutely nails it re why Trunp is the quintessential American president.

Ball, a Democrat and her Republican mate Sagaar really look at the state of the two parties without the extreme bias of the Republican Fox or Dem CNN and MSNBC

I honestly don't care what Gladys does. I reckon Andrews gets laid into more than is fair. Doesn't mean I think he's perfect but the media and politicians have deliberately tried to make it into a massive controversy while we have to lock down. People like negative stories more than positive ones so you don't turn on the news and hear them saying cases are dropping, we have done amazingly well.

There is a letter going around saying that the government expects that the security companies were responsible for training and safety that was part of the contracts the companies signed. It's like signing a contract to build a building then when you build it sh*t and it falls down it's the governments fault for not making do the right thing.

Seriously you don't think both sides outsource everything? Modern government outsources everything. You can't find a pile of trained public servants to run this sh*t because it doesn't exist any more. We could have bought in the army but it's not even true that all other states did it. Some used security firms too.

I don't expect anyone to be happy about what has happened in Victoria because it was a major fu** up but you have to have perspective too. We reined it in unbelievably well from the point it had got too. Most other countries would be pretty jealous of the outcome. Dan Andrews will take a hit from this and for good reason but try to look at it with out media bias yourself and most of us should be pretty happy with what we have achieved as a state.

Our lives are more likely to get back to something like normal soon than a lot of the world. It's hopefully a once in a lifetime event that has changed lives all over the world. We look like we might be one of the least damaged countries anywhere, we should be feeling pretty lucky IMO.
It doesn’t matter if both sides would or wouldn’t have outsourced anything. The fact is one did and it failed and whatever way we look at it it’s no responsible for being so far behind other states. Yes we will eventually catch up again but we don’t know how it will effect many people into the future. I actually said ages ago Andrews was doing a great job as was everyone. I don’t feel sorry for him one little bit now. It was under his watch that the second wave started

Answer honestly do you think the Liberals in vic would have done it any differently or better. Would you prefer that pedo looking guy running the show in a crisis? We have friends on both sides of vic politics. They are mates in real life, the warring stuff is for show. The Liberal guy reckons the Libs in Victoria are shit and won't get in for ages because they lack any talent from his own mouth. Both the lib and labor guys rate Andrews leadership. Most of the combative stuff is a media show.

I have no problem with people not liking what Andrews did badly but the amount of media frenzy is idiotic when we need people to adhere to rules in a pandemic. The media have encouraged people to disobey the whole way through then jizzed themselves when people rebel. This pandemic has really shown how far journalistic standards have fallen in the last couple of decades. Murdoch press were showing the nutters where Andrews lived. That is insanely shit behaviour.

I sit slightly on the left but I'm pretty centrist and Dan Andrews looks much more like what the Libs used to put up once. He's mainstream and fiscally conservative. He's pro business and pretty much could lead the Libs without a single change of policy. He makes Malcolm Fraser and John Hewson look like the radical left.

I'm not trying to convert anyone but try to think for your self.

Answer honestly do you think the Liberals in vic would have done it any differently or better. Would you prefer that pedo looking guy running the show in a crisis? We have friends on both sides of vic politics. They are mates in real life, the warring stuff is for show. The Liberal guy reckons the Libs in Victoria are sh*t and won't get in for ages because they lack any talent from his own mouth. Both the lib and labor guys rate Andrews leadership. Most of the combative stuff is a media show.

I have no problem with people not liking what Andrews did badly but the amount of media frenzy is idiotic when we need people to adhere to rules in a pandemic. The media have encouraged people to disobey the whole way through then jizzed themselves when people rebel. This pandemic has really shown how far journalistic standards have fallen in the last couple of decades. Murdoch press were showing the nutters where Andrews lived. That is insanely sh*t behaviour.

I sit slightly on the left but I'm pretty centrist and Dan Andrews looks much more like what the Libs used to put up once. He's mainstream and fiscally conservative. He's pro business and pretty much could lead the Libs without a single change of policy. He makes Malcolm Fraser and John Hewson look like the radical left.

I can honestly say I have no idea if they would have done it better. I do know for a fact no other state had a second wave and I do know for a fact labor were in charge when we got a second wave. Those are facts. Your question is complete guess work As for the amount of media frenzy I reckon they have been pretty reasonable considering how stuffed our state has been compared to the rest of Australia. As for what Andrews is like well to be honest I really don’t care. All I know is he was in charge when the state went further into the shit.

O'Brien demanded the state economy be completely opened in April.

Judging by overseas experience with countries that did that, they had massive cases and massive deaths.

Pretty safe to say that Victoria under O'Brien would have tens of thousands of cases and thousands more deaths.

Unless of course O'Brien who is the lapdog of the IPA, whose policy on Covid-19 was let it rip, was blatantly lying for political gain.

O'Brien was the Planning Minister who with Napthine signed contracts in caretaker mode so their mates could get 700 million in compensation for the East West tunnel.

He should be in jail. But you know all that Plugger surely.

Judging by overseas experience with countries that did that, they had massive cases and massive deaths.

Pretty safe to say that Victoria under O'Brien would have tens of thousands of cases and thousands more deaths.

Unless of course O'Brien who is the lapdog of the IPA, whose policy on Covid-19 was let it rip, was blatantly lying for political gain.

O'Brien was the Planning Minister who with Napthine signed contracts in caretaker mode so their mates could get 700 million in compensation for the East West tunnel.

Right but slightly confused O'Brien was the Treasurer who signed of the compo deal when the govt was in caretaker mode knowing full well that the Opposition policy was to not proceed.

Planning Minister was Guy who was responsible for rezoning the whole of Fishermans Bend as a development zone which meant that the land for every public facility, park, school site etc etc had to then be reacquired by the govt at an exhorbitant rate.

You are renowned for adding mayo to a few things like saying I don’t read. Never said that in my life but happy for you to prove I’m wrong so based on that I will take your above comments with a grain of salt unless you can prove otherwise. But have a nice day trying to get your head out of the sand regarding dan the silly lanky hunchback

Answer honestly do you think the Liberals in vic would have done it any differently or better. Would you prefer that pedo looking guy running the show in a crisis? We have friends on both sides of vic politics. They are mates in real life, the warring stuff is for show. The Liberal guy reckons the Libs in Victoria are sh*t and won't get in for ages because they lack any talent from his own mouth. Both the lib and labor guys rate Andrews leadership. Most of the combative stuff is a media show.

I have no problem with people not liking what Andrews did badly but the amount of media frenzy is idiotic when we need people to adhere to rules in a pandemic. The media have encouraged people to disobey the whole way through then jizzed themselves when people rebel. This pandemic has really shown how far journalistic standards have fallen in the last couple of decades. Murdoch press were showing the nutters where Andrews lived. That is insanely sh*t behaviour.

It's irrelevant whether the Liberals would have done it different or better, Andrews and Labour hold office and they are the ones in charge and have failed miserably. The only reason that we are in this lockdown is due to their failed hotel quarantine. How can anyone honestly say, it is acceptable for all those politicians and public servants to have amnesia and not take any responsibility for their actions it is criminal. I also believe that Andrews has been let off bloody easy. Like I have said, I have been a state Labour voter the last two times, but will find it hard to ever vote for them again with the damage that they have done.

Fixing what he caused

Last comment i will make on it , I come to here to get away from the sh*t that goes on out there

The only difference between our outbreak & the NSW outbreak/s was what people did after they were infected.

The Ruby Princess debacle saw old people get the virus... what did they do? They followed advice. Isolated themselves & allowed the proper tracing procedures to take place.

The security guards on the other hand ignored the advice. They gathered in large family groups, continued to work, infected their wives (some of whom then took it into aged care homes) and even refused to get tested.

Throwing the blame at Andrews is not only pointless, it’s ridiculous. Its akin to blaming Morrison for the bushfires (even though he had months of forewarning that the summer would be horrendous).

How Andrews has responded is the key for me. He’s fronted up every day, made extremely unpopular decisions that will probably kill his political career and has time & time again said that the buck stops with him. I reckon he’ll get Victoria through this & then walk away.

Plenty will celebrate that but it will be a shame as he’s shown up the vast majority of politicians who would have run & hid (like our supposed Federal Aged Care Minister).

The only difference between our outbreak & the NSW outbreak/s was what people did after they were infected.

The Ruby Princess debacle saw old people get the virus... what did they do? They followed advice. Isolated themselves & allowed the proper tracing procedures to take place.

The security guards on the other hand ignored the advice. They gathered in large family groups, continued to work, infected their wives (some of whom then took it into aged care homes) and even refused to get tested.

Throwing the blame at Andrews is not only pointless, it’s ridiculous. Its akin to blaming Morrison for the bushfires (even though he had months of forewarning that the summer would be horrendous).

How Andrews has responded is the key for me. He’s fronted up every day, made extremely unpopular decisions that will probably kill his political career and has time & time again said that the buck stops with him. I reckon he’ll get Victoria through this & then walk away.

Plenty will celebrate that but it will be a shame as he’s shown up the vast majority of politicians who would have run & hid (like our supposed Federal Aged Care Minister).

Andrews was responsible for not going hard enough initially with the blm protest. Whilst the protest wasn’t responsible for the outbreaks it was responsible for people not giving a stuff about government advise and as that was a similar time to the quarantine outbreak it sent out a poor attitude to the public. In the final couple of days he got harder on the protest but the bird had flown. The poor attitude was right through areas of society and that caused all the outbreaks. Why would victorians not follow advise but nsw people did? That is my opinion as to why.

So is it the premiers fault or is it the public's inability to follow rules? Obvious enough to some.

What do you mean not going hard enough initially? He was criticised for going too hard initially.