Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

He can promise all he wants but those jobs "lost" by "free trade" are never coming back because automation was a bigger factor in the destruction of manufacturing jobs in the US. Yes China has out priced everyone for a while now but its slowly being swung back in favour of local production as Chinese workers (rightfully) demand more money and its realized that theres ample savings to be made in the removal of distribution factors.

The days of the average American town "workin at the factory" are gone and are not coming back despite Trumps promises. He sold the American public a bullshit dream and they slurped it up big time.

I work for a company with manufacturing in Mexico , USA, Australia , and China.
Automation is there but the jobs are still there and there is only one reason they buy from the Mexican plant.

He can promise all he wants but those jobs "lost" by "free trade" are never coming back because automation was a bigger factor in the destruction of manufacturing jobs in the US. Yes China has out priced everyone for a while now but its slowly being swung back in favour of local production as Chinese workers (rightfully) demand more money and its realized that theres ample savings to be made in the removal of distribution factors.

The days of the average American town "workin at the factory" are gone and are not coming back despite Trumps promises. He sold the American public a bullshit dream and they slurped it up big time.
And this is exactly why he is not the solution. he could ramp up infrastructure but that is a short term solution.

The industrial age as we knew it is over. the whole consumption model is flawed and will ultimately fail.

We work long hours to make enough money so that we can afford to buy more crap that we don't need.

Rising wages and standards of living mean that Western countries simply cannot sustain a manufacturing industry. China will go the same way and eventually India as well.

I work for a company with manufacturing in Mexico , USA, Australia , and China.
Automation is there but the jobs are still there and there is only one reason they buy from the Mexican plant.
I think another Factor to keep in mind is that with Brexit and the USA it's mainly boomers who gave missed out that are angry. they yearn for an era long gone.

Just like Flanders, but without the annoying persona.

Though I can't be sure whether Perse rocks Ned's amateur porno mo as well.....
Got a pretty good porno mo myself at the moment thanks to Movember:D

Just like Flanders, but without the annoying persona.

Though I can't be sure whether Perse rocks Ned's amateur porno mo as well.....
I can testify that I can't pull that off. Any time I try to grow facial hair, it just looks like a confused case of thrush.

I used to look ok with a goatee, but these days there's more gray in it than brown. Just makes me look like an old creep. Well, even more so than normal should I say.

Project Veritas received no coverage in Australia (and very little in USA) because it is essentially a con job done by a bloke named James O'Keefe who has been repeatedly found to selective edit his "filming" and to use "operatives" to inflame situations so he can get footage.

Nasty little attention seeker - disregard!!!!

Back to real problem of swinging seats or states deciding elections. You see it happening in Australia where all the attention is focused in limited numbers of voters in a limited number of seats.

The election result is determined by these voters and currently elections are being won by populist politicians who manipulate their natural fears by providing very simplistic answers to extremely complex situations - ie immigrants are taking your jobs.

The politicians then do absolutely f*** all to the address the actual problems facing lower classes in the developed world which isn't that immigrants are taking peoples job - its that people's jobs are being exported to the lowest wage source to maximise the wealth of the top 5%.

Think you'll find James O'Keefe has been devastatingly accurate.
And.. has blown scam after scam of the regressive left which is why people such as yourself are so upset with him.

Don't know about anyone else here but if anyone tells me to disregard something based on shoot the messenger and adhominem attacks it is usually a massive red flag.

Would encourage people to make up their own minds based upon a full, objective review of ALL the evidence.

And this is exactly why he is not the solution. he could ramp up infrastructure but that is a short term solution.

The industrial age as we knew it is over. the whole consumption model is flawed and will ultimately fail.

We work long hours to make enough money so that we can afford to buy more crap that we don't need.

Rising wages and standards of living mean that Western countries simply cannot sustain a manufacturing industry. China will go the same way and eventually India as well.

I agree with that statement completely. What's more , if you do need the crap, you find it is in fact crap and it dies in a short time. When we talk about the environment people think of coal power stations ( yeah we pull down Hazelwood but the USA and Chinese are building heaps of them ) and cars , but building disposable goods and shipping them round the world is just horrific.

In Australian people of great wisdom, or was it greedy bastards, decided that Manufacturing only made small profits, but retail could get 60-100% markup very happily. Manufacturers like Repco decided to ditch their manufacturing.

The trouble is that the retail bubble is rapidly bursting. While it gets easier and easier to import your own goods ( and the Chinese are clearly NOT chasing high margins ), retail sook about the 10% GST. Hey IDIOTS its not the 10%. Its the other 90!!!
So retailers need to find ways to maintain their margins. They automate checkouts and as much other stuff as they can.
Their store managers don't even know what is coming in the next truck to stock their shelves with. ( Managers Lol ).

Can the other big bubble "real estate and construction" continue ?

We got through the GFC without a recession, but our economy has been stagnant ever since, while everyone elses has boomed.

Very bad shit is coming IMO. Its not like we have a country full of braniacs who will all invent the next cure to cancer.

Hey Purse,

Did Mary and Joseph have a surname?
Not that we know of. Surnames weren't a cultural norm at the time. Though some might assume their surname was "Christ", given we often talk of Jesus Christ, that's a misinterpretation of what's going on there. Christ comes from the Greek Χριστος or Christos, which literally means smeared. That's the closest word in Greek to be a translation of the Hebrew meshiah, or Messiah, which means anointed. That refers to the Hebrew method of appointing somebody as a king, by anointing them with olive oil. So, in a roundabout way, all Christ means is king: King Jesus.

You ask, I answer... :)

Not that we know of. Surnames weren't a cultural norm at the time. Though some might assume their surname was "Christ", given we often talk of Jesus Christ, that's a misinterpretation of what's going on there. Christ comes from the Greek Χριστος or Christos, which literally means smeared. That's the closest word in Greek to be a translation of the Hebrew meshiah, or Messiah, which means anointed. That refers to the Hebrew method of appointing somebody as a king, by anointing them with olive oil. So, in a roundabout way, all Christ means is king: King Jesus.

You ask, I answer... :)

mmmm smeared with olive oil. I'm hungry now.

Just went outside to see the Super Moon.

To be honest; wasn't that impressed.

Looked more like Clark Kent Moon [emoji853]

Think you'll find James O'Keefe has been devastatingly accurate.
And.. has blown scam after scam of the regressive left which is why people such as yourself are so upset with him.

Don't know about anyone else here but if anyone tells me to disregard something based on shoot the messenger and adhominem attacks it is usually a massive red flag.

Would encourage people to make up their own minds based upon a full, objective review of ALL the evidence.
I think you should heed your own advice.

Veritas Project has been regularly shown to lie and misrepresent themselves to people and then secretly film them. When the people filmed then ask for the whole tape to be released - Project Veritas then refuses. Ever wonder why?

Maybe its because they lost a lawsuit brought by people who were sacked following their "revelations" because it was shown they manipulated the video evidence.

As to a full, objective review of ALL the evidence, given that Project Veritas is funded by the Trump Foundation, right wing groups like the Wisconsin Club for Growth, Donors Capital Fund and Tea Party supporters such as the Koch brothers, I dunno but perhaps they may be a bit compromised and we should be little wary of believing what they say.

Hi Guys. Xi'an air quality looks like Etihad Stadium after fireworks with the roof closed. Air qualty is good when 50 ppm or under. Yesterday was 363 here. Lovely city but would hate to live in this pollution

Been there last year loved the city also but the pollution is really bad there is a great bar in the hotel near the train station

I think you should heed your own advice.

Veritas Project has been regularly shown to lie and misrepresent themselves to people and then secretly film them. When the people filmed then ask for the whole tape to be released - Project Veritas then refuses. Ever wonder why?

Maybe its because they lost a lawsuit brought by people who were sacked following their "revelations" because it was shown they manipulated the video evidence.

As to a full, objective review of ALL the evidence, given that Project Veritas is funded by the Trump Foundation, right wing groups like the Wisconsin Club for Growth, Donors Capital Fund and Tea Party supporters such as the Koch brothers, I dunno but perhaps they may be a bit compromised and we should be little wary of believing what they say.

So your assertion is that Project Veritas is a con job because they sent in undercover reporters who secretly taped senior Democratic party operatives;
a) admitting to fomenting violence at Trump rallies with paid activists - for which there is video evidence and;
b) admitting to being involved in massive voter fraud schemes and;
c) having deep connections to the DNC and the Hillary Clinton campaign.

It is called investigative journalism. What did you expected? For Project Veritas to knock on the front door, identify themselves and ask these same Democratic operatives questions to incriminated themselves?
That doesn't really make sense now does it?

And of course these people are going to defend themselves with lawsuits, they have just been caught in what could very easily be proved to be a criminal conspiracy. Let's see how that pans out. I expect James O'Keefe would ensure he's legally very well covered, it's not his first rodeo.

As for funding, the Trump donation (singular) is no shock revelation, it was disclosed by James O'Keefe himself. And it was small and so time ago so that hardly diminishes the incriminating footage captured in these videos. As for the scumbag Koch Brothers, they were NeverTrumpers so I think these are all red herrings designed to take people's attention away from the content of the videos.

But listen, believe whatever you want to believe, I think the video speaks for itself.

Geez imagine that now with all our Jacks:eek:
Pretty bloody tricky if none of em had surnames:p

Jack. ( the best one gets to remove the titles and become just "Jack" )
Soft Jack of the good disposal.
Little Jack of the goalsquare.
Jack the underrated.
Jack good when he gets it.
Jack from West Sydney.

Have i got them all?

Geez imagine that now with all our Jacks:eek:
Pretty bloody tricky if none of em had surnames:p
It's actually a real challenge for historians of the antiquities. Sometimes they got over it back then by using location (hence Jesus of Nazareth, Mary of Magdala, etc), or jobs (Peter the Fisherman), their dad (Simon Bar Jonah, where Bar means son of), or something else noticeable about them (Simon the Zealot a political group at the time, Thomas Didymus or the Twin). That kind of thing. Add the frequent lack of standardised spelling, and historians are sometimes left going, "Wait, which Jack is that?"

F
It's actually a real challenge for historians of the antiquities. Sometimes they got over it back then by using location (hence Jesus of Nazareth, Mary of Magdala, etc), or jobs (Peter the Fisherman), their dad (Simon Bar Jonah, where Bar means son of), or something else noticeable about them (Simon the Zealot a political group at the time, Thomas Didymus or the Twin). That kind of thing. Add the frequent lack of standardised spelling, and historians are sometimes left going, "Wait, which Jack is that?"
For some reason I always imagined it would be Cohen.

So if he was Irish or Scottish then he'd be Jesus O'Joseph or Jesus Mc Carpenter.

F

For some reason I always imagined it would be Cohen.

So if he was Irish or Scottish then he'd be Jesus O'Joseph or Jesus Mc Carpenter.
Well, technically, Jesus is the Greco-Latinised form of his Jewish name, Yeshua (literally "Yahweh-God will save us"), or Joshua. So He'd actually be Josh O'Joseph.

And technically, the word commonly translated "carpenter" is really more of a tradey-builder-worker type. Most Nazarenes were probably conscripted at the time by the Romans to help build a city called Tiberius - named by Herod after the Roman Emperor he was mates with. Jesus grew up basically being forced to build a city that was a symbol of oppression in the local area.

Jack. ( the best one gets to remove the titles and become just "Jack" )
Soft Jack of the good disposal.
Little Jack of the goalsquare.
Jack the underrated.
Jack good when he gets it.
Jack from West Sydney.

Have i got them all?

Which one is Jack you little ripper?