Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Just wondering how many of you Saints fans are from the St Kilda area, and, if not, what part of Melbourne/elsewhere are you from and why Saints?
G'day mate, I think there's an intro thread somewhere on Bigfooty where a lot of us talked about that.
I'm from near Moorabbin which was our home ground back then. We haven't played in St.Kilda itself for a long long time. I used to go to Saints games because it was easy to get there. We'd get pumped but Plugger, Winmar, Loewe and a bunch of other guys were pretty awesome to watch. Got sucked in within a season or so. Winning a game used to feel like winning a final when it actually happened. A bit like last weekend I guess.

Just wondering how many of you Saints fans are from the St Kilda area, and, if not, what part of Melbourne/elsewhere are you from and why Saints?
Born and bred in Moorabbin.
The old man was brought up in Caulfield, just a short tram ride away from the Junction Oval in St Kilda.
The original home ground.
I never had a choice even if I wanted to as St Kilda were premiers when I started to get interested.

From UK originally, no family connection to AFL team. I spent 8 great years in Melbourne: lived in Collingwood, Carlton, Richmond, Brunswick, but socialised and gigged in St Kilda, a part of Melbourne with a lot of character! Went for the underdog, with best colours.

Brought up in the country. But my family had lived in Highett before that (about a km from Linton St), and then I moved back to there with my dad when I was 17. I lived there until I was in my late 20s.

G'day mate, I think there's an intro thread somewhere on Bigfooty where a lot of us talked about that.
I'm from near Moorabbin which was our home ground back then. We haven't played in St.Kilda itself for a long long time. I used to go to Saints games because it was easy to get there. We'd get pumped but Plugger, Winmar, Loewe and a bunch of other guys were pretty awesome to watch. Got sucked in within a season or so. Winning a game used to feel like winning a final when it actually happened. A bit like last weekend I guess.
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...r-background-in-following-the-saints.1097622/

born and raised in Perth so only a short 3,441km's away from Moorabbin :)
my saints link is from my dad who in the late 60's with his family moved from India to Melbourne, eventually settling in Malvern in the first year of the being in australia my dads work mates dragged him to a game at Moorabbin it was a Collingwood vs St Kilda game that Cowboy kicked 4 goals for us to win by a goal.. had that game gone the other way he would have prob followed Collingwood... in the 80's after the death of my older brother the family re-located to Perth and i was then born.. through the 90's my dad turned to the WCE as when they won their first flag it was hard not to be.. around about 1993 on a family holiday i had a chance meeting in an airport lounge of big Stewie Loewe, the big fella was just awesome to me as a pesky kid asking 1001 questions mostly about how big his hands were he could have easily told me to rack off but he didnt... that planted the seed , in 95 when freo came to exist i flirted with supporting them (mainly off the back of the rumors that the dockers were trying to lure Stewie Loewe over) but that was short lived as i was more basketball obsessed but i always had the following of the saints and while not going to games or anything i did always check on the scores ect. come 2000's i for some unknown reason got really into footy and for some even stranger reason got really pasionate about the saints , 2004 i purchased my first membership that year while chasing robert Harvey for an autograph at perth airport i came across a guy struggling with the 100s of bags from the team , me being ever helpful helped lug the bags to the baggage area.. this started a 12 year run of helping the club when they came to Perth, initially holding the banner at qtr and 3qtr time, then setting up the changerooms, being boot studder,ice bath maker, powerade mixer, general "go grab this"person, footy fetcher and on one occasion kicking out in the warm up... 12 years of hard work but really really rewarding work helping my club.. about 2007 i joined the western saints committee as member liason basically being the contact for the WA members and the link between the club and the Western Saints in 2017 our president Helen Creed retired from the Western Saints and i became President ...
honestly now i reckon St Kilda makes up the majority of my thoughts be it watching game talking about games or trying to organise something for the WA members to say im obsessed is prob an understatment ...

born and raised in Perth so only a short 3,441km's away from Moorabbin :)
my saints link is from my dad who in the late 60's with his family moved from India to Melbourne, eventually settling in Malvern in the first year of the being in australia my dads work mates dragged him to a game at Moorabbin it was a Collingwood vs St Kilda game that Cowboy kicked 4 goals for us to win by a goal.. had that game gone the other way he would have prob followed Collingwood... in the 80's after the death of my older brother the family re-located to Perth and i was then born.. through the 90's my dad turned to the WCE as when they won their first flag it was hard not to be.. around about 1993 on a family holiday i had a chance meeting in an airport lounge of big Stewie Loewe, the big fella was just awesome to me as a pesky kid asking 1001 questions mostly about how big his hands were he could have easily told me to rack off but he didnt... that planted the seed , in 95 when freo came to exist i flirted with supporting them (mainly off the back of the rumors that the dockers were trying to lure Stewie Loewe over) but that was short lived as i was more basketball obsessed but i always had the following of the saints and while not going to games or anything i did always check on the scores ect. come 2000's i for some unknown reason got really into footy and for some even stranger reason got really pasionate about the saints , 2004 i purchased my first membership that year while chasing robert Harvey for an autograph at perth airport i came across a guy struggling with the 100s of bags from the team , me being ever helpful helped lug the bags to the baggage area.. this started a 12 year run of helping the club when they came to Perth, initially holding the banner at qtr and 3qtr time, then setting up the changerooms, being boot studder,ice bath maker, powerade mixer, general "go grab this"person, footy fetcher and on one occasion kicking out in the warm up... 12 years of hard work but really really rewarding work helping my club.. about 2007 i joined the western saints committee as member liason basically being the contact for the WA members and the link between the club and the Western Saints in 2017 our president Helen Creed retired from the Western Saints and i became President ...
honestly now i reckon St Kilda makes up the majority of my thoughts be it watching game talking about games or trying to organise something for the WA members to say im obsessed is prob an understatment ...
Great stuff!

As the scandal of family separation at the border, and the placing of children in cages, intensifies, the USA has also withdrawn from the United Nations Human Rights Council.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/44537372

The Trump administration never tires of finding new ways to become depraved. It's sad to see what American society has become.

When my old man moved here from Greece with his parents in the early 60's they moved to Prahran, which is a suburb only a couple of km's away from St.Kilda. My family has moved to a couple of different suburbs during that time (Toorak, Caulfield, and now have my own place funnily enough across the road from Paddy McCartin in Armadale!) and now I'm about a 20min drive away from the ground.

It's funny how it works out. Back then there were 12 teams in Victoria so could've picked any. Grateful it was the Saints.

Grew up in Sydney, main sport played was soccer and Rugby.
Sydney is a Rugby League and Union town and I was and am a Canterbury fan.
Game of the day every Saturday live from Melbourne in Sydney when I was growing up. Fascinated that this big city down south was so different in culture to Sydney.
Always seemed to be wet but there were huge crowds.
Had no real team but sorta picked Saints as they won in 1966 when I was 6.
Moved to Melb in 88 as my wife is from here.
Couldn't choose a team. North are Blue and White like Canterbury, I lived in Richmond but some friends took me down to Moorabbin to watch Saints v Melbourne.
Some huge fat guy was at full forward belting the Melbourne backmen and kicking goals.
Thought this is the team for me.

So like you I am an outside from a different culture and a different game. Been in Melbourne 30 years. Might be accepted as a local before I die [emoji14]

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

When my old man moved here from Greece with his parents in the early 60's they moved to Prahran, which is a suburb only a couple of km's away from St.Kilda. My family has moved to a couple of different suburbs during that time (Toorak, Caulfield, and now have my own place funnily enough across the road from Paddy McCartin in Armadale!) and now I'm about a 20min drive away from the ground.

It's funny how it works out. Back then there were 12 teams in Victoria so could've picked any. Grateful it was the Saints.

I think the Saints should be grateful anyway.

As the scandal of family separation at the border, and the placing of children in cages, intensifies, the USA has also withdrawn from the United Nations Human Rights Council.

The Trump administration never tires of finding new ways to become depraved. It's sad to see what American society has become.
America voted for the fool , others now suffer.

Seriously that's just liberal rubbish ahead of the mid terms, you should examine all the facts.

I don't see Britain taking all those refugees at Calais, wasn't a big part of brexit about immigration and controlling your borders.

The unhrc is a joke why should the US be lectured to by some of worst human rights offenders?.

The US government has a responsibility to act on behalf of it's own citizens be that securing the border, security, trade, defence or monetary policy.

Check the stats on refugee resettlement, things may have changed recently with Europe being flooded with people. However for many years there would have been no program without the US, Australia and Canada.

I'm no great fan of trump but some of the reporting by liberal media is just utter garbage.

Seriously that's just liberal rubbish ahead of the mid terms, you should examine all the facts.

I don't see Britain taking all those refugees at Calais, wasn't a big part of brexit about immigration and controlling your borders.

The unhrc is a joke why should the US be lectured to by some of worst human rights offenders?.

The US government has a responsibility to act on behalf of it's own citizens be that securing the border, security, trade, defence or monetary policy.

Check the stats on refugee resettlement, things may have changed recently with Europe being flooded with people. However for many years there would have been no program without the US, Australia and Canada.

I'm no great fan of trump but some of the reporting by liberal media is just utter garbage.

But how can I be outraged if I fact-check?!

I voted to remain in the EU and believe Brexit will prove a disaster on many levels. The free movement of people within the EU nations is a different issue from refugees/asylum seekers from outside the EU, yet you are conflating them, as many did here in the referendum. EU citizens in the UK who are here under the free movement principle are net contributors to the UK economy, and once outside the EU the UK will still have a duty under international law to those seeking asylum from elsewhere. The refugees at Calais, for example are from countries like Syria and Iraq; the latter being people we definitely have a duty to help, given the UK played a big role in creating their plight.

I don't think the UN Human Rights Council is a joke at all. The US also has very difficult questions to answer on human rights of course, from detention without trial to the use of torture, and Trump doesn't want to answer those questions as he ratchets up those policies. The fact war criminal Netanyahu is so thrilled with America's decision to withdraw is very telling also. He and Trump are very much cut from the same cloth.

Nobody is denying that the US government has a duty to look after its own citizens, but it needn't be a zero sum game. Less fortunate people from around the world having gaining a better life doesn't necessarily mean America has to lose out. On the contrary, it can be a win-win; America is almost entirely an immigrant nation and has reaped the rewards.

What?!?!?! Sad to see what American society has become?
Do a little bit if research and you’ll quickly find that this is nothing new, this sort of shit is ingrained into American culture from 100s of years of shit. Slavery come to mind?

What?!?!?! Sad to see what American society has become?
Do a little bit if research and you’ll quickly find that this is nothing new, this sort of shit is ingrained into American culture from 100s of years of shit. Slavery come to mind?
I'm well aware of America's history regarding slavery, Jim Crow and its litany of interference around the world, including the overthrow of numerous democratically elected governments, but I think Trump is setting a new low in global irresponsibility in may areas: withdrawal from climate change agreements, reneging on the Iranian nuclear agreement, trade wars, and now withdrawal from the Human Rights Council.

Race relations in America seem to be going backwards too, and you rightly point out racism has always been one of the fault lines in American society. The very fact a man so unqualified can now get elected president it a worry in of itself; it wouldn't have been possible just a few years ago. Ultimately I think it's because the economy and the American dream is no longer working for the majority, and when people are desperate they turn to extremes and to glib promises: build a wall and re-open the coal mines and everything will be fine.

People moving within the EU under agreements your government signed is indeed different. Nether the less your country being full, wages being under cut and British people reduced to day workers was an issue during brexit.

Check your refugee intake you aren't know for taking big numbers unlike the US.

The US still has a very generous immigration and refugee program, wishing to control who and how many is hardly depraved.

The US has a huge problem with illegal immigration, a problem that must be fixed.

Mexico deported over 200,000 people yet makes much of the US desire for a secure border.

The unhrc is indeed a joke have a look at the resolutions and who sits on it. If you are happy to remain members that is an issue for the British.

The removal of children has been stopped, it has occurred for years and no children are caged.

Anybody seeking asylum at a border check point is processed accordingly only illegal border crossing involved the separation of children.

If and when the democrats come to the table then the US will have comprehensive border and immigration reform, until then nothing will change.

It has taken Europe how long to harden your hearts to unchecked, uncontrolled immigration. Not long as we can see from variorious movements forming and election results.

Welcome to what the US has lived with for how long.

Immigration is not a zero sum game and no one has suggested it is, the US was and always will be a nation of immigrants as is Australia.

Something I'm sure both countries are proud of and celebrate.

I'm well aware of America's history regarding slavery, Jim Crow and its litany of interference around the world, including the overthrow of numerous democratically elected governments, but I think Trump is setting a new low in global irresponsibility in may areas: withdrawal from climate change agreements, reneging on the Iranian nuclear agreement, trade wars, and now withdrawal from the Human Rights Council.

Race relations in America seem to be going backwards too, and you rightly point out racism has always been one of the fault lines in American society. The very fact a man so unqualified can now get elected president it a worry in of itself; it wouldn't have been possible just a few years ago. Ultimately I think it's because the economy and the American dream is no longer working for the majority, and when people are desperate they turn to extremes and to glib promises: build a wall and re-open the coal mines and everything will be fine.
Oh please you are just taking the mickey.

The British pontificating on slavery, the interference in other countries affairs etc.

People would do well to examine their colonial past and role the British and others played in the old league of nations.

People moving within the EU under agreements your government signed is indeed different. Nether the less your country being full, wages being under cut and British people reduced to day workers was an issue during brexit.

Check your refugee intake you aren't know for taking big numbers unlike the US.

The US still has a very generous immigration and refugee program, wishing to control who and how many is hardly depraved.

The US has a huge problem with illegal immigration, a problem that must be fixed.

Mexico deported over 200,000 people yet makes much of the US desire for a secure border.

The unhrc is indeed a joke have a look at the resolutions and who sits on it. If you are happy to remain members that is an issue for the British.

The removal of children has been stopped, it has occurred for years and no children are caged.

Anybody seeking asylum at a border check point is processed accordingly only illegal border crossing involved the separation of children.

If and when the democrats come to the table then the US will have comprehensive border and immigration reform, until then nothing will change.

It has taken Europe how long to harden your hearts to unchecked, uncontrolled immigration. Not long as we can see from variorious movements forming and election results.

Welcome to what the US has lived with for how long.

Immigration is not a zero sum game and no one has suggested it is, the US was and always will be a nation of immigrants as is Australia.

Something I'm sure both countries are proud of and celebrate.
1, Our country is certainly NOT full. 85 per cent of the UK is not built on. The problem of low wages and insecure work is a result of forty years of neo-liberalism, but of course it's easier to blame the foreigner, the other. Another glib solution to these problems is to suggest it's the immigrants' fault.

2, Nobody is saying America doesn't have a right to deal with illegal immigration, but separating children from their families is depraved. There are still 2300 kids spread around the USA who have been forcibly removed from their parents and it is unknown when they will be re-united.

3, We agree to differ on UNHRC. I am indeed glad Britain remains on board and just wish we were staying in the EU.

4, Europe does not have 'unchecked, uncontrolled immigration'. That's a right wing scare tactic. There has been upsurge in asylum applications, largely as a consequence to the Syrian tragedy, and I believe the EU, including the UK, has a duty to be humane and compassionate to those people. Anyone fleeing that dreadful civil war should be given refuge.

5, I'm not interested in Democrat v Republican. The Democratic Party is also a party of Wall Street which serves the interests of a super rich minority.Millions of Americans still have no health care coverage, no means to pay for their university education and virtually no social welfare system if they need it. IMO, America needs a truly progressive third party, such as the Green Party, to work for the interests of the majority. If the Democrats are sensible enough to choose someone like Bernie Sanders as their nominee, there may yet be hope for them.

6, Children, as well as adults, have certainly been separated and caged.

Oh please you are just taking the mickey.

The British pontificating on slavery, the interference in other countries affairs etc.

People would do well to examine their colonial past and role the British and others played in the old league of nations.
I'm fully aware of it, and much of the history is shameful, particularly empire. Was it my fault? What's your point?

By the way, if any Australians have been wondering what Brexit is all about, this guy will give you the general idea of the debate. Straight from the pages of the Daily Mail etc. These are our equivalent of your Pauline Hanson crackpot.