Random past players

• Thread starter Thread starter HBF

Peter Brown

Thought he'd be a star full forward after a few exciting performances. Premiership player then promptly slid into oblivion.

Robbert Klomp

Name looked awkward, playing style looked awkward, but a regular player for several years and a premiership player twice.

Brown stood out of footy and followed Jezza to teh Saints and a few years later was in the VFA at Werribee then at Coburg

My all time favourite ruckman: Jamie Dunlop

Tim Rienets is another Carlton great.

I briefly met Ian Herman a couple of years ago through a mutual friend. Great bloke.

Timmy Powell (former Richmond spud we recruited in the early 90s): If anyone has a copy of the 93 qualifying (?) final against Essendon (first ever night final), there's a moment in the 3rd quarter where he takes a mark at the tip of the goal square. As he's going back to take his kick, he looks at Sticks and points at the goals to indicate that he's gonna take a shot. I still chuckle when I see it.

Franchina was one of my all time least favourite players. I remember dating a girl in the early 00s and on our first date she asked me who I barracked for. When I told her Carlton she said "oh, I have a very good friend who plays for Carlton" to which I idiotically responded with "hope it's not Franchina, the guy's useless". Awkward silence followed by "uhhh, yeah, it actually is Anthony". We went out another 3 or 4 times so not all was lost.

I actually had a beer with Tim Powell after the 1997 GF in a pub in the city, he was a really nice guy to talk to. Me and my brothers all being mad Carlton struck up a conversation with him, he was still pretty upset about the 1993 GF (like we all were I suppose).

Phil from Woodville (Blighties club). No 13 from memory. Fabulous player and a Ranga to boot. :thumbsu:

"Shark' Maylin was one of my fav's in the early 80's, a tough bloodnut who was runner-up in the 1982 B&F behind Bucks. Tough as nails, and gave it all - I still love the bit in the 1982 GF in the first 1/4 when he copped a high one from Lee and got a free and gave the big up yours to Lee. Lee didnt do much later when Wow Jones gave him one - cost Wow a couple of weeks but it was worth it.

A couple more.....

Brad Shine - Don't remember much about him other than he wore No.10

Andrew Phillips - Great little left footed mid/forward, who could seriously play. Was cut down by injury - bad back IIRC. For those who are a bit young to remember him, he played a little bit like Kade Simpson.

A couple more.....

Andrew Phillips - Great little left footed mid/forward, who could seriously play. Was cut down by injury - bad back IIRC. For those who are a bit young to remember him, he played a little bit like Kade Simpson.

You know that's not a bad likeness. Same boofy haircut. Memories of Phillips for me are more about great snaps for goal whereas Simmo is more your running goal kicker.

A couple more.....

This bloke (number 19 IIRC) was a little gun! Definitely would have been a 200+ game player if not for his back.
I'm pretty sure he kicked a winning goal for us against the pies (in 89?) with about a minute left. A snap from the boundary I believe.
He was also BOG in a game against Hawthorn in 1991 at Princess Park which we lost by 15 goals.
I think he may have even represented the Vics in SOO in the early 90s... Not 100% on that one though.
Fraser Brown became my favourite player (and remains so to this day) after I realisedAndy Phillips wouldnt/couldnt go on with it.

You know that's not a bad likeness. Same boofy haircut. Memories of Phillips for me are more about great snaps for goal whereas Simmo is more your running goal kicker.

I reckon Phillips had a crew cut which we sadly dont see enough of these days IMHO :cool:

This bloke (number 19 IIRC) was a little gun! Definitely would have been a 200+ game player if not for his back.
I'm pretty sure he kicked a winning goal for us against the pies (in 89?) with about a minute left. A snap from the boundary I believe.
He was also BOG in a game against Hawthorn in 1991 at Princess Park which we lost by 15 goals.
I think he may have even represented the Vics in SOO in the early 90s... Not 100% on that one though.

He certainly did & played a very good game for the Vics. Phillips was probably the best young 'small' in the comp before being struck down by injury. I have no doubt he would have ended up being as good a player as Rod Ashman, who is one of the best 'smalls' I have seen at Carlton.

A couple more.....

Brad Shine was as tough as nails but wasnt quite polished enough, there was a rumor Walls was going to play him the 1987 GF due to his hardness. I think he may ended up an emergency for the game.

Andrew Phillips was a real tragedy as he was just starting to hit his straps, i remember reading an article that his great mate Brown Dog was close to tears when he told the players at training. I think it was a bad lower back, maybe playing a lot of tennis as a youngster may have contributed to this as he was an outstanding tennis player.