Mega Thread Random recruiting hypotheticals 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Krooooze

Butcher could be the last piece of the puzzle for you guys with Henderson showing he can now hold down CHB.

I'd be surprised if Carlton didn't try to move heaven and earth to get him.
What would supporters be willing to give up for him? I keep hearing mutterings of Gibbs...too much?

Butcher has showed more in 2 games than Grant has in 2 seasons. It's gonna take Hampson and a first rounder at the very least but luckily Port are in desperate need of another ruckman.
And how much better does he look already than Gumbleton who has had 5 seasons to develop.

The memories of those on BF gets shorter and shorter by the day.

Are people actually being serious by suggesting we trade Jordan Russell AND something else ie. Hampson, 2012 first rounder for a 2 game player who has shown some good things?

Russell finished top 3 in our BnF FFS! It has taken him this long to get experience, confidence and find a position and now we're supposed to just flick him for another kid who might be good? Leads me back to the saying that on BF it's apparently better to be young then to actually be good.

I know some think we are desperate for a KPF like Butcher, but there are no guarantees with him. Has had kicking question marks and is still very, very raw.

Is also out of contract for those of you playing at home...

I like the idea of getting him, but not for a massive price.

you get no value from trading away good half back flankers like Russell anyway. You get much more by trading away structural type players which you have an excess of to clubs who are lacking in that position. ie Hampson to Port.

Hampson and a first rounder for Butcher in a heart beat...Add Russell to that..
We have a multitude of Flankers and Russell is easily replaceable.

Blues should be moving Heaven and Earth to get this kid on board..
If I was Sticks, I would be making a visit to the folk farm and getting in dads ear. I have a feeling that he will have a huge bearing on where his son plays next season!

Port will laugh their arse off with these suggestions:

1) Our 1st pick will be in the 20s
2) JR currently has close to zero currency as he can't even get into our 22
3) JR doesn't want to leave
4) Hammer doesn't want to leave and will probably re-sign soon

If we want Butcher, we'd have to get fair dinkum and take a big hit.

1) Our 1st pick will be in the 20s
2) JR currently has close to zero currency as he can't even get into our 22
3) JR doesn't want to leave
4) Hammer doesn't want to leave and will probably re-sign soon

If we want Butcher, we'd have to get fair dinkum and take a big hit.

1. Correct
2. Incorrect. We may have forgotten his value to our club but others would not have. Coming 2nd to Judd in a B&F stands for something.
3. Correct.
4. He doesn't want to leave, but I won't be comfortable until there is a signature on contract.
May yet be used as trade bait.

We just have to be careful getting too carried away on Butcher just yet.
11 goals in three games sounds good enough, but using rule of thumb, would have we been quite as excited here, had that been 5 goals 6 points?

there has to be something going on with jr, clearly best 22 but not getting a gig! i know he was down on confidence a little and injured but surely gets a game come this time of year ahead of davies, joseph, tuohy but isnt getting one! wondering if signed with gws after getting a good offer (yes i know is contracted) or has asked to go home. Ratts may see this as not in our best plans to play someone that will disappear at seasons end. just speculating but something isnt right!

There's been some good reports here on Russell's status and I accept then as being the case.
It would be quite unlikely for Russell to be going anywhere for all that Carlton has done for him.
He's just not that sort of character.
Had the hip surgery in the pre-season and that's clearly thrown him out.

Russell is what 26 now? And Port are so down that he would be beyond his best by the time they are contenders again, so he wouldn't hold that much weight there.

A ruckman would be more attractive to them, but am dead against hammer being traded, would much rather Warnock. Although Warnocks tap work is better, it is not by much, and Hammers superior presence around the ground and ability to take a mark (I know it hasn't happened that often but he has been improving rapidly this season) makes him a far better prospect than Warnock.

Problem is Warnock won't go to Adelaide when he left freo to come home to melb, on top of this all these scenarios are dependent on us not having to use our first rounder on Buckley, which I believe is unlikely.

So basically I really don't think we can swing this one, even if we can woo Butcher and have enough cap space that we don't have to jettison a star at the end of next year.

You'd think our chances of getting Butcher are slim.
Hope the Blues have a good look at getting Callum Wilson over for next year to try at FF. Seems to have been working on the defensive side of his game a bit which was always a big down side of him as a player

Hampson and a first rounder for Butcher in a heart beat...Add Russell to that..
We have a multitude of Flankers and Russell is easily replaceable.

Blues should be moving Heaven and Earth to get this kid on board..
If I was Sticks, I would be making a visit to the folk farm and getting in dads ear. I have a feeling that he will have a huge bearing on where his son plays next season!
Send Sticks over to have a chat to the lad and get Bruce Doull to give dad a call:thumbsu:

I don't think Port would be laughing for Butcher being out of contract.
They haven't the best position of strength under such circumstances and for now I think they'd be somewhat nervous rather than finding amusement in the situation.

Russell is what 26 now? And Port are so down that he would be beyond his best by the time they are contenders again, so he wouldn't hold that much weight there.

A ruckman would be more attractive to them, but am dead against hammer being traded, would much rather Warnock. Although Warnocks tap work is better, it is not by much, and Hammers superior presence around the ground and ability to take a mark (I know it hasn't happened that often but he has been improving rapidly this season) makes him a far better prospect than Warnock.

Problem is Warnock won't go to Adelaide when he left freo to come home to melb, on top of this all these scenarios are dependent on us not having to use our first rounder on Buckley, which I believe is unlikely.

So basically I really don't think we can swing this one, even if we can woo Butcher and have enough cap space that we don't have to jettison a star at the end of next year.

THIS:thumbsu:

Would love to get the kid but I also would be loathe to trade hammer, and I think the club has invested a lot into him. Somehow I can't see the club trading one of our rucks, which is exactly what Power are going to want. As others just mentioned our only hope is if someone gets in his ear and convinces him to leave, then we would have the upper hand and port would have to take what they could get for him.....

Sounds like we are right into Butcher.

He would be great, what would it take.... Russell and someone else or draft picks, reckon they might need a ruckman also!!!

Hopefully we can pull it off!

Hopefully Mr. Butcher is one of these footballer with a high ENTER score that would fit into a role at Visy...

Butcher is a 10 year, 250+ game exclusive forward that we are absolutely screaming out for. Opportunites to grab someone like him are far too small to let pass up. So, right now (today), we need make a determined effort and make a truly significant offer;

First round pick – Will be deep but Port need as many sub 30 picks as they can get. This is a given.
Russell – Yes, he is 26 but Port will find his defensive skills/experience and run highly valuable. We can cover his loss.
Hampson – Port’s ruck division is abysmal. Hampson would be their starting ruck for the next 8-10 years. We can cover his loss as the Warnock/Kreuzer combination is our way forward. Warnock is unquestionably better than Hamster. No argument.

If push comes to shove, we pay the wages for Russell. Port are on their knees financially, any contract relief will be jumped on.

We need to get this bloke.

Get Judd on the phone to him
Get his old man up to Princes Park!
Sticks/Swann – make it happen!!

You need to consider what Port want.

The good thing is that Port are weak in every area and that just about any type of player suits them. The bad news is that Port are on the rebuild so they would have an age limit. They'd definitely ask for Lucas and Hampson and would be interested in our first pick.

I'm not sure what the draft will be like this year but after the GWS have taken the cream off the draft and by the time it comes to our first pic there will probably not be too much there.

I would probably consider giving them Hampson and pick 1 and maybe Touhy or Davies. And Expect to get Butcher and their second round pick.

I'm not keen on losing Russell as when he is fit is a very good player. I don't think Hampson will improve a hell of a lot more from his best this season but he would be a great fit for Port. Cachia or Ellard would be a good fit for Port too.

Just going on Butcher's TAC cup and few AFL games the guy will be a star and very handy for us next year. Already knows how to use his body and take a contested mark which is more than most of our current tall players can. His agility seem to have improved significantly. Could easily be the best forward in the leaguy by the time he is 25 or 26.

Hope the Blues have a good look at getting Callum Wilson over for next year to try at FF. Seems to have been working on the defensive side of his game a bit which was always a big down side of him as a player

Callum Wilson is an old style full forward that has no place in the modern game. A good WAFL player but not much more

You need to consider what Port want.

The good thing is that Port are weak in every area and that just about any type of player suits them. The bad news is that Port are on the rebuild so they would have an age limit. They'd definitely ask for Lucas and Hampson and would be interested in our first pick.

I'm not sure what the draft will be like this year but after the GWS have taken the cream off the draft and by the time it comes to our first pic there will probably not be too much there.

I would probably consider giving them Hampson and pick 1 and maybe Touhy or Davies. And Expect to get Butcher and their second round pick.

I'm not keen on losing Russell as when he is fit is a very good player. I don't think Hampson will improve a hell of a lot more from his best this season but he would be a great fit for Port. Cachia or Ellard would be a good fit for Port too.

Just going on Butcher's TAC cup and few AFL games the guy will be a star and very handy for us next year. Already knows how to use his body and take a contested mark which is more than most of our current tall players can. His agility seem to have improved significantly. Could easily be the best forward in the leaguy by the time he is 25 or 26.
I understand how losing Russell might not be favourable to some but we need to recruit players into the club that will give us the chance to win a flag.

Butcher is a type that could make a significant difference where as players like Jordan Russell come along that frequently he would be barely missed in a couple of seasons. Just look at the blokes who have overtaken him this year and it hasn't really impacted on our team performances too much, this time last year there would be no way in hell people would have thought Laidler, Duigan, Davies or Tuohy would be getting a gig ahead of him.

If we can trade a key position forward like Josh Kennedy then I doubt they will blink an eyelid at trading a Russell, Hampson or Bower to try and rectify our biggest area of concern.

Damned if we do and damned if we dont, need to have a crack whilst Judd, Murohy, Gibbs etc are playing some great footy and Waite still has a couple years in him.

Up untill about 4 weeks ago I'd never heard of this Butcher, and now it seems everyone wants to give up half our list for him. Is he really that good? Has he proven himself yet?
It seems a lot to give up for someone who is just starting out.