Random talk thread: real good talking about random stuff n that

• Thread starter Thread starter Stronzo

So I just buckled my knee inwards for about the 3rd or 4th time in the last year on saturday, the last time being 8-10 months ago though (I was having a good run before this next breakdown). Are there many other people here who are nursing knee injuries or have in the past? I'm trying to get a handle on what exactly is wrong with it without having to go through the whole..

1. book GP consult
2. get referral to radiology
3. take more time off work to attend scan
4. take further hours off work to receive results

All over a 2 week period of which i'd hoped I'd be back training by then anyway.. Although maybe i'm being ambitious here.

The general jist of this is, the first time I did it, I got a CT scan which determined I had fractured cartilage, then I tweeked it again 2-3 months later and from that point on my knee has just generally felt loose - like it could buckle or hyper-extend just from walking or turning direction. This doesn't sound like the symptom of fractured cartilage..

Each time the mass of swelling has taken about a week to subside with icepacks and anti-imflammatories and aside from the day it was injured - the whole time with pretty much no pain and gradually better movement on a day by day basis.

My theory is that since I have about 70% movement with little lasting effects 5 days out except for a bit of a limp while the swelling subsides - that instead of tearing something I might've just stretched a ligament on the inner side of the knee? Does this happen in a way that your knee just feels loose and could buckle from any general lateral movement in the foreseeable future?

Any info would be much appreciated.

Bloke I know had pinged one of the ligaments in his knee, could still function normally, but every now and then it'd give way on him.Apparantly it'd hurt like hell and be dodgy for a couple of days, but he'd strap it up and was good to go. He described it as being loose also, so maybe you've done something similair?

My knees are screwed but nothing like you described.

I tore my meniscus years ago and stupidly tried to keep playing sport for a couple of years while icing down the swelling. Eventually I had an op and the doc told me I had the beginnings of arthritis in my knee. Seems to be both knees since they both hurt if I try to run.

Yay at having arthritic knees and not being able to run when I'm still young enough to be playing footy. I'm determined to try eke out a few more seasons of low-level cricket though, and I'm thinking of taking up water polo to fill the competitive void with a low impact sport.

Ease up, I value the opinions of someone who's gone through something similar than some quack who prescribes dexies for a living.

I tore my anterior cruciate ligament (ACL), medial collateral ligament (MCL), and my meniscus in a nasty injury. It took over 6 weeks for the pain and swelling to subside. I went and saw a physio who did a test of the integrity of my knee. I failed it due to the massive movement my knee had - back/forth and side to side. My physio decided to send me to see a specialist. I saw the knee specialist and asked him if i could continue to play sport. He laughed at me and said he doesn't even know how I'm walking. He said that the nature of my injury was so severe and i would need a full recon.

When you injure a structure in your knee you need to know that there is a risk you can do more serious damage to the structure and potentially injure other structures within the knee. Your meniscus is very important and it might be best to seek a meniscal repair to strengthen up your knee. If you don't and your knee gives way again you could potentially injure the mcl/acl or both like me and need a much more complicated operation to fix it.

I tore my anterior cruciate ligament (ACL), medial collateral ligament (MCL), and my meniscus in a nasty injury. It took over 6 weeks for the pain and swelling to subside. I went and saw a physio who did a test of the integrity of my knee. I failed it due to the massive movement my knee had - back/forth and side to side. My physio decided to send me to see a specialist. I saw the knee specialist and asked him if i could continue to play sport. He laughed at me and said he doesn't even know how I'm walking. He said that the nature of my injury was so severe and i would need a full recon.

When you injure a structure in your knee you need to know that there is a risk you can do more serious damage to the structure and potentially injure other structures within the knee. Your meniscus is very important and it might be best to seek a meniscal repair to strengthen up your knee. If you don't and your knee gives way again you could potentially injure the mcl/acl or both like me and need a much more complicated operation to fix it.

Cheers mate.
After 3 weeks and some small hiccups I did decide to go to a physio and get it checked out, they said everything seemed intact which was reassuring, but my medial ligament appeared either stretched or snapped, due to the lack of pain and laxity in the ligament. They were proposing that I might need something called a Richard splint to allow the ligament time to retract for a month and sent us to a Sports doctor.

This guy looks at it for 2 mins after I explained this and isn't interested in the medial laxity but instead doesn’t like the lack of bend in the knee and thinks it’s to do with the meniscus so writes up an MRI referral and tells me to book back in with him for 2 days after the MRI. All I heard was more dollar signs and at the moment it’s all feeling pretty good so I’ve returned to training albeit lightly and am considering forgoing the MRI if the improvement continues in the coming weeks.

Cheers mate.
After 3 weeks and some small hiccups I decided to go to a physio, they said everything seemed intact which was reassuring, but my medial ligament appeared either stretched or snapped, due to the lack of pain and laxity in the ligament. They were proposing that I might need something called a Richard splint to allow the ligament time to retract for a month and sent us to a Sports doctor.

This guy looks at it for 2 mins after I explained this and doesn’t like the lack of bend in the knee and thinks it’s to do with the meniscus so writes up an MRI referral and tells me to book back in with him for 2 days after the MRI. All I heard was more dollar signs and at the moment it’s all feeling pretty good so I’ve returned to training albeit lightly and am considering forgoing the MRI if the improvement continues in the coming weeks.

I'm sure it feels better now but how will does it feel when it inevitably gives way again. I put up with my knee giving way for 2 years before i had surgery. It would feel great one minute and then out of the blue my knee would give way. I would be in agony and limping for the next 2 weeks. Get it sorted now and you will be better off. I would hate for what happened to me happen to someone else as they can fix what you have relatively easily. Whats you knee worth to you $$?

Do you have private health cover? If you don't i suggest you get it and wait 1 year. Then get the surgery you need and all you have to pay is the gap. I had over 9k surgery on my knee and i only ended up forking out 1.2k (this is going back to 2007).

You're probably right, I edited my post after you quoted in which I mentioned that the sports doc didn't care about the medial laxity. So with no torn or damaged ligaments things don't look bad. Only the stretch which I don't think requires surgery.
It's probably just the kneecap which is stiff quite often still, quad stretches are out of the question. I want to get back into a physio and see what their opinion is on that though.

With Physio you will be able to strengthen the muscles around the knee to help stop the "loose" feeling. I would still get the MRI done so your Physio knows what program to put you on. They will give you certain exercises to perform depending on the injury and doing them helps heaps.

Good luck :)

I see Jakovich is now spruiking some timber warehouse on TV, seriously is there any crappy advertisement that this guy wont do??
He's been on their payroll for a while now, but that new ad is total cheese.

Looks like he's had another lobotomy.

My knees are screwed but nothing like you described.

I tore my meniscus years ago and stupidly tried to keep playing sport for a couple of years while icing down the swelling. Eventually I had an op and the doc told me I had the beginnings of arthritis in my knee. Seems to be both knees since they both hurt if I try to run.

Yay at having arthritic knees and not being able to run when I'm still young enough to be playing footy. I'm determined to try eke out a few more seasons of low-level cricket though, and I'm thinking of taking up water polo to fill the competitive void with a low impact sport.
You'd still be a chance of flogging Murray Newman over 2k, esti

You guys still can't top our story of a trainer having to jog backwards to 'keep up' with Daniel Hargraves back in our glory years.

We sure knew how to pick committed warriors back in those days.

You guys still can't top our story of a trainer having to jog backwards to 'keep up' with Daniel Hargraves back in our glory years.

We sure knew how to pick committed warriors back in those days.
Nor umpires named Carey... ;)

Lolza... just saw some funny shit on Eddie's hotseat show.

They had this young blonde bimbo on and the question was "which organisation's motto is 'Who Dares Wins'". She chose the scouts because they 'sounded like they would dare each other to do stuff'.

When Eddie told her it was the SAS she was all 'What!!??!! That's the stupidest motto I've ever heard! Why would they dare each other? I don't understand' and she threw her hands up and walked off before Eddie could bid her goodbye.

Lolza... hopefully someone will explain to her that the word dare has a meaning beyond spin the bottle. Lucky she was pretty.

I forgot to give kudos to Eddie for his response. After she walked off he looked at the camera, shrugged, and said 'suddenly I feel very old'.

Must admit I quite like Eddie when he's away from football.

Find someone with a builders ticket, flick them some cash to use their #, then sort it all out yourself. It's a bit more hassle sorting out all the trades, but it's a lot cheaper.

Builders aren't very flexibile either, so if you don't like the feel of something/want to make a change, they will sting you for it, and that's even before the pad is down.

Each builder usually has their regular go to tradies, but sometimes they get other blokes in for various reasons.

Pretty sure there's nothing illegal about being an Owner Builder.

If you want to owner build, you apply for an owner builder license.

What you suggested in your first post is called license lending. It is illegal.