Votes: 23 56.1%

glenferrie boy

Mighty Hawks
I am curious as to who at Big Footy has been to a Rave, is thinking of doing so in the near future, and who is never intending to at all.

I go to raves regularly...probably every two/three weeks there is a good rave on somewhere in Adelaide.

Bloody love em too

I heard that the rave scene in Adelaide isn't too shabby. Melbourne is becoming quite boring and is in need of some fresh ideas.

Can you give me some places to go in Adelaide (clubbing / raves) ??

Originally posted by glenferrie boy
I heard that the rave scene in Adelaide isn't too shabby. Melbourne is becoming quite boring and is in need of some fresh ideas.

Can you give me some places to go in Adelaide (clubbing / raves) ??

The rave scene in Adelaide is very very strong, arguably the best in Australia. It certainly used to be back in the early 90s, then it went bad a bit, but now its right back up the top.
The best 'rave' club would be Rush which is held at the Tivoli Hotel on Saturday nights. Other clubs which have very very good progressive trance music played would be the Soda Room and Fina. The Planet on Saturday nights isnt as bad as what it usually is every other night and they do get some good DJs in sometimes. Heaven is also very good on Saturday nights and they usually have drink specials on as well. Both The Planet and Heaven arent exactly ravey clubs tho.

A group called System6 basically run the rave scene in Adelaide. The next BIG System6 raves (System6 raves are always the best) is on March 16 at the old Adelaide Gaol.

You can check out the Adelaide rave scene at System6's homepage .

Check out the forums, thats uaually where most of the info is

Ironically, I haven't ever been to a "rave" as such, but frequently go to clubs with the E-culture.

I usually go out with mates doing "regular" activities until about 3am and then go out to a club. I often end up at Bubble (rear of Tattou) which has the hard trance I like.

Aparantly there is a big place that has opened up near the Docklands, but I haven't been there yet.

I went to Room on Glenferrie Road for New Years and it f*cken rocked! I haven't seen so many drugs going around a club in my life!! Don't know if it is like that all the time though, as I haven't been there much.

If thinking of taking pills for the first time, I reccommend this website which will help you out http://www.dancesafe.org/ . A lot of pills nowadays contain Ketamine or "Special K" as it is fashoinable to have strong visuals while dancing. It is a bit freaky though, so it is important to know what is going on beforehand.

I'm a little bit old to go to raves these days but in the late 80's and early 90's i used to go to them all the time.

Loved them actually ...

and I'll heartily endorse all of Maccas comments - Adelaide is, was, and always will where the best raves and best rave clubs are.

I used to really enjoy the Wharehouse parties down in the old derelict markets off Rundle Street, but that was a long time ago now and that venue is now all 'developed' into empty shopfronts and vacant apartments :D

"control' in Hindley St was a great venue too, and the old Le Rox in Light Square used to put on some great shows too !

ahhh those were the days ... :rolleyes:

cheers

Originally posted by Macca19

The rave scene in Adelaide is very very strong, arguably the best in Australia. It certainly used to be back in the early 90s, then it went bad a bit, but now its right back up the top.
The best 'rave' club would be Rush which is held at the Tivoli Hotel on Saturday nights. Other clubs which have very very good progressive trance music played would be the Soda Room and Fina. The Planet on Saturday nights isnt as bad as what it usually is every other night and they do get some good DJs in sometimes. Heaven is also very good on Saturday nights and they usually have drink specials on as well. Both The Planet and Heaven arent exactly ravey clubs tho.

A group called System6 basically run the rave scene in Adelaide. The next BIG System6 raves (System6 raves are always the best) is on March 16 at the old Adelaide Gaol.

You can check out the Adelaide rave scene at System6's homepage .

Check out the forums, thats uaually where most of the info is

Nice one Macca.. you have given me some ideas for my next trip to SA. The only club i have heard of was Heaven, apparanently "the church" is good too. A few of my friends went to Confest when it was in Adelaide and said the clubbing/rave scene was quite good.

Perhaps you should try a visit to melbourne's clubs. I could reel off a list of 10 - 15 nights that would be worth a visit if you are interested..

Originally posted by FIGJAM
Ironically, I haven't ever been to a "rave" as such, but frequently go to clubs with the E-culture.

I usually go out with mates doing "regular" activities until about 3am and then go out to a club. I often end up at Bubble (rear of Tattou) which has the hard trance I like.

Aparantly there is a big place that has opened up near the Docklands, but I haven't been there yet.

I went to Room on Glenferrie Road for New Years and it f*cken rocked! I haven't seen so many drugs going around a club in my life!! Don't know if it is like that all the time though, as I haven't been there much.

If thinking of taking pills for the first time, I reccommend this website which will help you out http://www.dancesafe.org/ . A lot of pills nowadays contain Ketamine or "Special K" as it is fashoinable to have strong visuals while dancing. It is a bit freaky though, so it is important to know what is going on beforehand.

Bubble used to be a good place to go Saturday nights, in fact it probably still is. One of my mates, Master Kaos is a regular there and he rocks the place bigtime.. The only problem is if you stay for recovery. Come sunday afternoon everyone is so messed up, all the cokey jokeys come in and the atmosphere changes completely.

I have only been to Room once, and it had a good vibe, I have heard there is a problem with alot of drugs going down there (as opposed to Tatou ;) ). But the music was pretty good.

I'm sure that "K" isn't taken as a visual stimulant, i would say that it changes the feeling of the body much more. Being a horse tranquiliser, i would recommend people to stay away from it.

I reckon K is a visual stimulant. The amount of hallucinations you have on it is incredible. You'll be dancing away one minute thinking there are 2000 people around you and then you adjust yourself and there are only actually 50 or so! Not to mention the fact that you occassionally talk to poles in the street!!!

It also slows down your perception of time too, so it feels like you are having fun longer. Distance is also something which is affected, so you have to make sure you don't get hit by cars!

I have had it plenty of times (not straight), as it comes in the pill itself. I had a green question mark laden with the stuff (strongest E I have ever had)! I was at Virus, so my complete trance like state didn't look out of place.

Everyone uses the "horse-tranq" line, but forget that it is actually also used in hospital drips. It is not inherintly bad for you, but it is still very dangerous!

They advertise raves on tv now.

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

I haven't been to a rave for a couple of years now. I'll get to some more some time, but not to a city rave. Too many fuuckwits now with their fashion accessories.

Might have to go there for my trip to Melbourne in two weeks!

might have to go there too :D ;)

There is also a lot of 'speed bombs' going around plus a lot of bunk pills (ie. crap). You also got to know whats in the pill...MDMA pills are the stuff you want...DMA pills can make some people violently ill and make you think your dying.

The best pill site on the internet is PillReport.com . You basically type in the name of the pill youve got and you can read reviews on other people in your state that have had the same pill before. That way you know which pills are good to take so you have a great time....and know which pills to steer clear from. FOr instance id recommend a Yellow Melody, 007 and White Dove (all very clean peaks, few rushes, nice visuals, friendly warm feeling)...and id strongly advise to steer clear from the White Knight (throwing up, diorheaa, bad time)

Ecstacy releases Ketamine from yur brain/body...so when munching E for the first time you are always gonna get a bit of visuals as there is however many years old you are worth of Ketamine in your body. When i popped i got a fair bit of visuals, but it wasnt anything hallucinating like if you did Acid or Mushies. Was more like the lazors were all 3d and i just wanted to jump up and grab hold of it like it was a bright green aluminium pole. Red glow sticks help with the visuals too.

When taking any drug you do have to be careful...and as ive said to a few people in chat...if you know what your doing, if you dont abuse it and dont go overboard, you wont get hurt. These types of drugs were made to let people have a good time and a good feeling...they werent created to make you feel sick or anything...but like anything (alcohol etc) if you are careful, dont go overboard, and know your sources, you wont get hurt.

Another club you might wanna check out is Cargo on Hindley St

Hehe. Every single time we toured Adelaide, we ended up there completely off our heads. I like the Cargo. :D

I reckon K is a visual stimulant. The amount of hallucinations you have on it is incredible. You'll be dancing away one minute thinking there are 2000 people around you and then you adjust yourself and there are only actually 50 or so! Not to mention the fact that you occassionally talk to poles in the street!!!

It also slows down your perception of time too, so it feels like you are having fun longer. Distance is also something which is affected, so you have to make sure you don't get hit by cars!

I have had it plenty of times (not straight), as it comes in the pill itself. I had a green question mark laden with the stuff (strongest E I have ever had)! I was at Virus, so my complete trance like state didn't look out of place.

Everyone uses the "horse-tranq" line, but forget that it is actually also used in hospital drips. It is not inherintly bad for you, but it is still very dangerous!

I guess it is visual but nothing compared to acid. I don't believe that it is taken primarily for the visual effect, more the physical relaxation of the body. It used to be my choice for coming down after a big weekend. Come sunday, all around at a mates place, we would just fall into K holes and listen to music. That and a few beers makes me a very happy man.

I don't like it as a party drug as the jelly leg syndrome is very hard to combat while doing melbourne shuffle. I don't know how people from adelaide dance.. Do they have their own style, or is it closer to the Melbourne shuffle, or the Sydney stomp?

Ive never had pure K before, but i reckon E quickes up time. The few times ive done it time seems to fly....ill check my watch and it will say 3:00...ill dance for what seems like 15 minutes, ill check my watch and it says 3:50. Oh how i wish time would slow down :(
The worst part about E is the jaw clenches and teeth grinding. Each time ive had E the next day i can hardly open my mouth, let alone eat food or put any pressure on my jaw. Its like a broken jaw...shockin!! :(

I guess it is visual but nothing compared to acid. I don't believe that it is taken primarily for the visual effect, more the physical relaxation of the body. It used to be my choice for coming down after a big weekend. Come sunday, all around at a mates place, we would just fall into K holes and listen to music. That and a few beers makes me a very happy man.

You should try nos if you havent already....only lasts a minute or 2 but is an unbelivable experience. It will also prolong your peak and give you some almighty good rushes!

I don't like it as a party drug as the jelly leg syndrome is very hard to combat while doing melbourne shuffle. I don't know how people from adelaide dance.. Do they have their own style, or is it closer to the Melbourne shuffle, or the Sydney stomp? [/B]

The worst part about E is the jaw clenches and teeth grinding. Each time ive had E the next day i can hardly open my mouth, let alone eat food or put any pressure on my jaw. Its like a broken jaw...shockin!! :(

I don't get lock jaw... you just need to buy chewy before you go out. My worst enemy are the post party ulsers that eat away the skin in my mouth. After NYE 2000-1 i was in bed for 5 days and went through about 2 packs on panadeine forte to cope with the pain. I had about 10 one centimetre patches of skin removed, and eating was an absolute nightmare.. With E you just can't tell until about 24 hours later, and when the pain starts you either go to sleep or take more.

You should try nos if you havent already....only lasts a minute or 2 but is an unbelivable experience. It will also prolong your peak and give you some almighty good rushes!

I have, and my friends bagged the sh*t out of me.. But it was unbelievable while it lasted. People say its safe, but anything that has that effect is a little worrying to me. Once or twice is enough. I'll stick to the solid high's.

Yellow Melody, 007 and White Dove
Hmmm, I know I am partying too hard when I can say I have had all of them! :) They are all good.

Best ones I have had recently are Blue Fish & Yellow XL's which are pretty much all MDMA. I just read the reports on pillreport.com and the back me up on this. Definite "sit down and enjoy" bangers!

MDA pills aren't bad if you want to party hard. They last longer and give you drive. MDMA leaves you in a state of shock sometimes because you feel that good!!!

I don't get lock jaw... you just need to buy chewy before you go out. My worst enemy are the post party ulsers that eat away the skin in my mouth. After NYE 2000-1 i was in bed for 5 days and went through about 2 packs on panadeine forte to cope with the pain. I had about 10 one centimetre patches of skin removed, and eating was an absolute nightmare.. With E you just can't tell until about 24 hours later, and when the pain starts you either go to sleep or take more.

ive tried chewy but that tends to make it worse cos your working the muscles and you end up looking like Denis Pagan :D
Altho i will have one or two Airwaves chewies as they feel bloody awesome and you can feel every little vapour flow thru yur head.
Another thing to try which gives that feeling is Vicks Nasal Inhaler....not the squirty spray stuff but the little plastic thing that looks about the size of a plastic tampon. slightly burn it with a lighter to heat the vapours, then sniff in hard in each nostril and you can feel all the vapours, clears your head and send you to outer space.

Also try Fruit Tingles or Life Savers....they feel amazing when offtap. Chupa Chups are good too, they sorta stop you from clenching. There isnt much you can do to stop clenching unless you sit down and concetrate not to clench.

Hmmm, I know I am partying too hard when I can say I have had all of them! :) They are all good.

Best ones I have had recently are Blue Fish & Yellow XL's which are pretty much all MDMA. I just read the reports on pillreport.com and the back me up on this. Definite "sit down and enjoy" bangers!

Must keep an eye out for the blue fish and yellow xl. A mate had a green apple the other week and he said it was amazing.

MDMA leaves you in a state of shock sometimes because you feel that good!!!

ill second that!!! :D :D

I have, and my friends bagged the sh*t out of me.. But it was unbelievable while it lasted. People say its safe, but anything that has that effect is a little worrying to me. Once or twice is enough. I'll stick to the solid high's.

It aint safe. Well...you cant OD from it....but the after effects can harm you. Its nitrus oxide. Its what doctors use as anasthetic, and also what dentists use to 'freeze' yur teeth....that cold gas they spray on yur teeth usually before you get a filling. Dentists use it as a substitute to a General Anasthetic when removing Wisdom Teeth....youll be awake but cant feel or remember a thing. Its also what they use in cars...that movie Fast and the Furious. It stops blood and oxygen getting to your brain...so that cant be good, but it only lasts 90 or so seconds.
When you hav e ageneral anasthetic...that feeling you get just before you go to sleep is what nos is like...that high buzz where everything is moving and sounds reverberate.

Ive tried it two or three times....i doubt ill try it again...thats too "hardcore" for me. Too dangerous and can really stuff you up. I know and have seen people at raves and recoveries who just sit down and do like 500 nossies in a row...just one after the other and that cant be good. At the NYE rave, i was sittin in a car with some mates chillin out for a while, and the car next to us these three chicks had hospital grade nos in one of those large fire extinguisher type cylinders...they were fillin up garbage bags full of nos and just inhaling the stuff like that. Crazy crazy people!!!

Do they still play that pretend "music" at those joints? You know, the "music" with no instruments, no notes, no talent, just thump thump thump churned out of a computer?

Geez, sounds like a riot! We'd best take a powerful hallucinogen so we can pretend that we're having fun!

(I voted no - can you tell? :D )