C: Chambers, Cousins, Fletcher
HF: Wirrpunda, Embley, Jones
F: Haynes, Gaspar, Ph.Matera
Foll: Cox, Judd, Kerr
Inter: Merenda, Glass, Wooden, Lynch
Emerg: Braun, Tuckey, Williams
In: Glass, Lynch
Out: Sierakowski (hamstring), Braun
New: Lynch (West Perth/West Coast rookie)

B: Franchina, Livingston, Wiggins
HB: McKay, Thornton, Beaumont
C: Bradley, Ratten, Fletcher
HF: Hickmott, Whitnall, Lappin
F: Davies, McKernan, Fevola
Foll: Merrington, Plunket, Camporeale
Inter: Campbell, Doering, Hotton, Mansfield
Emerg: Cranage, Eccles, Murphy
In: Davies
Out: Murphy

Good to see Glass coming back and Lynch making his debut. :)

Oh, one thing...has Braun been omitted? :confused: :eek:

It can't be because of bad form...niggling injury or a rest maybe?

I hope Woosh is playing silly buggars with Braun, and plans to bring him in as a late inclusion (like he did against the Kanga's).

No way does Braun deserve being dropped.

Good to see Glass back (hope he stays there).
He'll be a good matchup for a Fevola or a Hickmott.

Braun omitted is a strange one! :confused: Maybe he needs a bit of a rest (played 11 games straight after 2 seasons of injury might be taking it's toll). If he's an emergency it seems as if he has been dropped. Frodo, we need your inside knowledge of the club mate!

$10 says Chambers starts on the bench.

I reckon Woosha is just playing silly buggers...thats fine with me, tactics help win the game! If not..then it may be either a niggling injury that we dont know about or a disciplinary reason. The later idea dosnt really stick because I didnt think that Brauny was the type of guy to be a trouble maker.

re: Gardiner

Even though this is nearly a topic in itself, I don't want to make a new thread on this as not to bring too much attention.

What is going on with Gardiner? Is this the biggest disguise in the history of the AFL or what? How long has Woosha and the Eagles staff known that Gardiner would be out for a long time? I bet they knew as soon as he got the injury, but chose to disguise it as not to give other clubs (and the media) ammunition. I have noticed that there has been little talk of Gardiner and his injury on the Eagles website.

Is this just low key outside of Perth, or is it low key in Perth as well?

Originally posted by bunsen burner
re: Gardiner

Even though this is nearly a topic in itself, I don't want to make a new thread on this as not to bring too much attention.

What is going on with Gardiner? Is this the biggest disguise in the history of the AFL or what? How long has Woosha and the Eagles staff known that Gardiner would be out for a long time? I bet they knew as soon as he got the injury, but chose to disguise it as not to give other clubs (and the media) ammunition. I have noticed that there has been little talk of Gardiner and his injury on the Eagles website.

Is this just low key outside of Perth, or is it low key in Perth as well?

Yeah Thats what I would like to know BB. Apparently its a soft tissue injury. Ive heard that he'll be back after the break, the official injury list has him as 1-2 weeks away. Others say its much worse and he will be out for closer to 5 weeks. Who knows? If woosha is keeping it quiet then that is very smart..keep em guessing is my motto!

I heard/read somewhere Gardiners hamstring is very close to be determined chronic. This would explain the length and the club saying he would play etc. It said just as they had him as better the next day he would pull up sore, and he had actually broken down again. Really don't know whats going on.

Would be very surprised not to see Braun play, Woosha trying to pull the wool over the blues eyes in my opinion, he does have 2 years experience on how they think.

Originally posted by eagleskickass
I heard/read somewhere Gardiners hamstring is very close to be determined chronic. This would explain the length and the club saying he would play etc. It said just as they had him as better the next day he would pull up sore, and he had actually broken down again. Really don't know whats going on.

Gee..thats bad EKA. I hope its not chronic..we've got a potential brownlow meadlist in gardi and if this hamstring bit is true then he may never achieve it is he breaks down all the time. Poor Gardi!

I talked with Suma last week and mentioned Williams. Now Suma was pretty closed shop on the issue of why he was dropped but between the lines I 'think' this is what has been decided :-

It's not uncommon for teams to burn out around mid season and with a young team it's more of a probability. To minimise this possibility rotation is being extended to players thought to be tiring and needing a rest from the pressures for a week or two and bring them back fresh.

Now I 'think' that is why Glass was dropped and he would have been back earlier but for Hunter doing better than expected (BTW, the Eagles staff are very pleased with Hunters progress). I think that applied to Williams and he clearly had a ball last week in the WAFL. I must admit that Brauny has run himself into the ground each week and looked a bit tired against the Swans so a rest may well be good for him.

I can't get anyone to tell me the truth about Gardy but IMO if there is doubt and given the fact there is a rest week next weekend then not playing him this week is a good investment.

I also keep asking about Cuz. I'm sure he's carrying an injury but nobody will confirm it. He's okay, I'm told.

In general it's easy to get to talk to players and coaches at the after match function as long as yer not afraid to go up and start a chat but getting decent info out of them is another matter. They are clearly trained very well in keeping 'shtum' about sensitive issues.

ps. Wirrpunda laughed when I told him about turning the lights off against the Swans.......he's a very, very nice guy to talk to.

Originally posted by Frodo

It's not uncommon for teams to burn out around mid season and with a young team it's more of a probability. To minimise this possibility rotation is being extended to players thought to be tiring and needing a rest from the pressures for a week or two and bring them back fresh.

Bloody good policy IMO.....

Gardy is a worry. If the Hamstring becomes as bad as something Brett Heady had to go through, then I don't think Gardy will be as on the ground as he has been in recent times......

Gardiner is an interesting one...he had never really had injury problems before going down with this hammy...i think its more serious than the Eagles are letting on. Only time will tell i guess, also a footnote on Gardy's absense, how well are we travelling to still be winning and in the 8 without one of the best ruckmen in the comp, our second most important and influencial player!

On the team...well this rotation system seems to make sense and would certainly explain a few things with Glass, Williams and now Braun being dropped when it seemed to me that none of them were playing that badly. I also realise something that i was doing last season and again am doing this season .... blasting youngsters and demanding they be dropped after bad games (Hunter, Haynes) but its now just hit me that that was exactly what Judge did last year and we got nowhere. Whoosha is actually letting them get a feel for the speed and toughness of AFL footy and they will be better for it in the long run.