RDFL 2014 Thread

Easy answer, yes, he would. Depending on the role he would be required to play, but Cameron Dawson is one of the best talents in the competition. Ask Jase Allen about the final... :)

But I also see Omni's point.

I agree mate -
But here's a "Hard Question" - WHO does he put out ???
And why would Riddell gamble on picking a player that has a repeat history of Finals discipline indiscretions ??? I'm pretty sure they have learnt their lesson from the 2007 Grand Final debacle !!!

Of course you'd take Romsey's forward line over riddells mongrel!! Aren't you there coach??? Give me a coach who isn't going to back their own players over anyone other teams, regardless of talent??

M. Panuccio
R. Lowry
R. Henry
R. Hurst
A. Sammut
N. Allen
H. Taylor
D. Bruno
J. Krojs
J. Climas
M.darby
J. Morrison
K. North
K. Ansty
C. Cassan
B. ruffell

Take ya pick fellas! Shoe on the other foot omni. Any of these guys certainties to play at romsey?
All these players were on riddells senior gf list

In fairness, 8 of these guys didn't play on Grand Final day in the senior squad.

Comparisons are difficult, because you wouldn't put Dawson up against Lowry and Bruno because he wouldn't play those roles on a game day.

But it still doesn't remove the fact that Dawson would definitely make the Riddell side.

I'll be honest ims I don't know most of those guys either so it's unfair of me to suggest anything negative about them. However when a regular inter league rep and star is belittled by someone who has no involvement in a club other than a supporter I thought it was time to defend my player. I bet demon power was more than happy to select cam last year for the inter league too

Totally understand the defending, it's standard response and should happen.

For what it's worth I agree, Cameron Dawson would play senior football in every team in this competition comfortably.

I'll be honest ims I don't know most of those guys either so it's unfair of me to suggest anything negative about them. However when a regular inter league rep and star is belittled by someone who has no involvement in a club other than a supporter I thought it was time to defend my player. I bet demon power was more than happy to select cam last year for the inter league too
He would definitely start at Riddell - they did not chase him to play in their 2nds. It did not work out and it's good he has stayed at Romsey. Cannot believe this is even being discussed.

Getting away from the breathtaking reading above, just wanted to send a shout out to everyone in area's under siege by fire - and also those out on the front line fighting those fires. In times like this small communities always find a away to unite and assist anyone who's suffered property loss, injury or worse.

Just heard a nice cheerio on ABC 774 from a Riddell woman thanking the ladies from Romsey FC who opened up the footy club for people forced to leave their homes down Riddell way earlier this arvo/night :thumbsu:

Thinking of all our friends in the firestricken areas - looks as though the RDFL areas are being hit hard. Very bad at Wallan and Kilmore (possibly Wandong).
Not sure first hand about all the towns up the Sunbury/Lancefield Road - Ollie and Jan Matthews evacuated twice in two days.
Stay safe all and don't take unnecessary risks - you can always rebuild if necessary.

Bit of chatta tonight about romsey new recruit. J Martin from up bush sumwere. Any info would be appreshiated x herd he wil b da best playa in comp

Best in the comp is a bit of a stretch but if its the lad from up Rushworth then yeh he can definitely play :thumbsu:

Agree with Doona here, ease up, he's a quality player in arguably one of the bottom 5 comps in country Victoria, and the bottom 2 sides in that comp. Have a look at the top line players that have been recruited to this comp from VFL, Ballarat, Bendigo, EDFL and more so far. Far way back in the pecking order would have thought but time will tell?

Is that "Jungle" Martin that you are speaking about?

Involved in the recruiting team and am a game day coach at Abers. We touched base with several sources, however we never engaged in talks however he was short listed. It was mainly to to with attitude away from footy and commitment to extra required to play Gv and Central Murray for dollars was asking.

Subsequently we managed to sign Kyle Riemers to play a similar midfield /small crumbling role.

Romsey and a few other clubs seem to have spoken to a few names we had on our list, unusual for Riddell clubs to be this competitive with our competition. This is a good sign for your comp

Involved in the recruiting team and am a game day coach at Abers. We touched base with several sources, however we never engaged in talks however he was short listed. It was mainly to to with attitude away from footy and commitment to extra required to play Gv and Central Murray for dollars was asking.

Subsequently we managed to sign Kyle Riemers to play a similar midfield /small crumbling role.

Romsey and a few other clubs seem to have spoken to a few names we had on our list, unusual for Riddell clubs to be this competitive with our competition. This is a good sign for your comp

Is it true Abers have signed Darren Jolly?

No, have secured Mark Blake as our number one Ruckman. My understanding is Jolly Is ruck coach at St Kilda for 2014 so is availability would be limited one would have thought

RDFL 2014 Thread