RDFL 2014 Thread

I'd just like to let people know that Phil Littlewood has passed away suddenly yesterday, Phil has been involved in local football on a coaching and admin basis for many,many years.I first came across him when he coached at Melton and he was always a good bloke to have a chat too, sincerest condolences to all his family and friends..

Here here big dog, I first got to meet Phil when he applied to replace me at Broadford after I stopped in 2009. More recently thru his assistance with me mate Peddo, and obviously as he is the uncle of Brent and Aaron (ex Bford who I have a lot of time for) and brother of Dave who was a team manager during my time coaching at home. Like you say he was always up for a chat, a passionate local footy person who's presence will be missed by everyone he took an interest in.

If I've learnt one thing about loss (and a lot of you know my story) is that clubs, be it footy, cricket whatever have a remarkable way of uniting, bonding and getting each other through tough times like this. To all that came into contact with Phil, and/or have been influenced by him I sincerely pass on my deepest sympathies :(

I'd just like to let people know that Phil Littlewood has passed away suddenly yesterday, Phil has been involved in local football on a coaching and admin basis for many,many years.I first came across him when he coached at Melton and he was always a good bloke to have a chat too, sincerest condolences to all his family and friends..
Knew Phil thru playing against him at Moomba Park Fc and at Melton Fc a great bloke very sad

Very sad to hear about Phil, I had known him both on and off the field for 20 odd years, an absolute gentleman who always made the effort to have a chat.

Extremely interested in the thoughts on everyone regarding the changes at under 10's level? I know it isn't an RDFL sanctioned thing, it's across the board for AFL Vic. I'm in favour of smaller grounds, the no kicking off the ground, no tackling players to the ground, mouthguards, headgear etc but to not be playing for points Im dead against.

My young bloke has been keen as mustard for 12 months to be old enough for footy. This past weekend he's already been talking about not playing in 2015 or finding an under 11's club because they play "real footy."

How many kids/parents will give away games a miss considering (for example) a trip from Kilmore to Melton (and vice versa) for a 8/8.30am game with nothing to play for other than "enjoyment"????

I thought that's what 3-4 years of Auskick was meant for :thumbsdown:
I guess there were one or two coaches in under 10's last year who were a little too keen to win considering the age group so I understand the rule change - people will keep scores anyway. I dont know that I like the smaller ground areas, sounds like there will be more rolling packs.

Surely the season will wind up with a Lightning Premiership/round robin day where after a year of competing for nothing these kids get to play for something?

Something like that is fine, I think they want to shift the emphasis a little from the competitiveness, even though pretty much all the boys want to win.

Two points re juniors.
1 have a look at the scores, many teams already manage not to score or just one or two points, maybe the odd goal every now and then. Being told you've lost 11 goals to 0 doesn't generate enjoyment for 8 & 9 year olds.

2 The kids don't need all the extra crap that all show for the parents. To learn about football what they need most is games, games and more games. Smaller grounds, less players per team, Just give them a chance to get the pill. Who they play for and with doesn't even really matter, feeling good about playing is what counts

Two points re juniors.
1 have a look at the scores, many teams already manage not to score or just one or two points, maybe the odd goal every now and then. Being told you've lost 11 goals to 0 doesn't generate enjoyment for 8 & 9 year olds.

2 The kids don't need all the extra crap that all show for the parents. To learn about football what they need most is games, games and more games. Smaller grounds, less players per team, Just give them a chance to get the pill. Who they play for and with doesn't even really matter, feeling good about playing is what counts

Let's not beat around the bush, parents stuff it for the kids, and as a result we now have these rule changes.

Good, bad or otherwise as long as parents keep their distance, let the coaches coach and the development guys do what they think's best - then young fella's hopefully remain playing footy after their mid to late teenage years.

Didn't get along to the Kilmore/Craigieburn practice match on the weekend, but heard encouraging things regarding the Blues recruits. Anyone get along for a peak? Kilmore King I'd love to know your take ont he day.

Also lancefield Im told had a good hit out at Violet Town yesty which is encouraging as the Towners have been one of the main players in the KDFL the past 2-3 years.

When and where are the practice games this weekend?

To learn about football what they need most is games, games and more games. Smaller grounds, less players per team, Just give them a chance to get the pill. Who they play for and with doesn't even really matter, feeling good about playing is what counts
I like this idea. My son played indoor soccer last year as well as footy. Generally there were twice as many goals scored in the soccer and you were never long out of the action. Compare that to the the under 10's where there were matches last year in the footy where the ball didn't go within the 50 metre line during the quarter, and you would be standing there in freezing conditions. I reckon 10 a side would just about do it, scrap the half forward/back lines and just have the one ruck. Play two matches on the one full sized ground with two twenty minute halves. Keep scores as well but try and keep the teams as even as possible. I know that Macedon under 10's had a squad of about 40 and alot of the parents were pissed as kids would have to miss every week. And with the team constantly changing, they ended up with some pretty heavy losses. A number of kids ended up drifting off to soccer.

Pretty sure this is happening, if Macedon has 40 kids why not field two teams like other mobs do? That way all the kids get a good go

Guy at work that plays for broadford told me Barry hall is playing every week this season

great news for the league and definately for bford. Also great news for the revenue of all opposition clubs!!!! The big fella will certainly drag extras thru the gate!!!
Also im hearing very good things out of bford land atm. If clearences are anything to go by they should be extremely hard to beat

great news for the league and definately for bford. Also great news for the revenue of all opposition clubs!!!! The big fella will certainly drag extras thru the gate!!!
Also im hearing very good things out of bford land atm. If clearences are anything to go by they should be extremely hard to beat

Depth a concern for me if injuries were to hit. Williams, Gillard, Czerny, Simpson out, Coomans will miss a fair chunk of the year and a one of the young blokes who I rate (Brendan Walsh) may not play either. Some of the inclusions can play no denying that, some I think were referred to as "two's players" from Romsey on these pages a while ago, but most importantly a "Plan B" is desperately needed for when Baz can't play.

Good numbers at both Kilmore and Wallan tonight, the Magpies looked good going thru their paces in the parkland adjoining Robson Stadium.

Seen a J.Dixon (EDFL to Diggers) is it the ex Kangaroos coach/Keilor assistant? I did hear on the grapevine Diggers were keen to get him across to help Simsy.

Even if available they wouldn't want Baz playing away games and helping out other clubs financially.

Sent from my C625b using Tapatalk

As far as Baz or Broadford helping other clubs out financially
That seems like a poor comment in light of last seasons night game at Romsey

I can assure everyone on here that Baz won't be playing every game
But he will play a few big games
Also we have picked up a few players but we have also lost some quality
To say we will be the team to beat Mongrel may be a fair way off the mark

By the way OMNI, your thoughts on Macedon may be on the money, could they slide outside the top 6 in 2014?

Yes unfortunately, I think they will slide out mate. They have a very hard draw as I have mentioned earlier coupled with the fact that they seem to do very little to no recruiting in the off seasons means they are a sitting duck to be picked off by one of the more proactive Clubs looking to improve & make the climb up the ladder in 2014.......................................... Someone mentioned the Cats web page a few weeks ago, so I went back & had a look for myself, & it does in fact seem that the Clubs sole focus is primarily directed towards the round ball & the Netballers. Contrast that with, say Riddell's web page & the comparison is blatantly stark & quite obvious where (as a club) the MFNC priorities lie this season !

1958133_523639974415688_635317396_n.jpg

Now that's how you do it OMNI :thumbsu:

From all reports last year was a great day, bloke I know from Kilmore went and raved about it.

Could the gap be widening?

RDFL 2014 Thread