RDFL 2014 Thread

Final sessions complete, sides selected, must say I haven't given too $hits bout footy since mid to late October but the thought of what many of you are about to embark on has me quite a bit jealous.

Best of luck to all involved across all clubs for a successful 2014 :thumbsu:

Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't there a post from the Kilmore King on here not long ago? Maybe I'm losing my $hit :confused:

My tips

Wallan
Riddell
Rockbank
Sunbury
Macedon
Romsey

I'm excited to be back playing footy. GO WALLAN.
Good luck
My tips

Wallan
Riddell
Rockbank
Sunbury
Macedon
Romsey

I'm excited to be back playing footy. GO WALLAN.
Good luck for today mate, very happy your back playing after watching you go down last year! I'm sure your in for a great year & I hope the team does well.

Newbie, and interested in the post regarding ACK juniors heading up to Seymour rather than Kilmore. I have been part of a similar situation through my junior footy, whilst playing for a "B" grade Rdjfl club, back in the early to late 90's. In my time, three players from our juniors made the Afl. one was a teamate, or in my age group, as well as an older player and one after me. However, all three never finished at our club, moving on to "A"grade teams elsewhere. This was because the calder cannons people firstly identified them as decent players, and spoke to the parents explaining that within their capabilities as an organization "scouting wise" (small budget, small scouting staff, and with those means, having to cover both metro footy and up here as well) that if their kid was going to get the opportunities that they could provide them with, in regards to exposure to their recruitment firstly, which was, and still is, pivotal to the traditional avenue of league recruitment further down the track, then they would have to move them to an "A" grade club. purely and simply because they didnt have the man power to send scouts to anything other than the "A" grade comps in both Essendon and down here. At the time, we hated the policy, didnt understand it, and felt that they were being unfair, and trying to favour the bigger clubs around us by directing our own homegrown talent away from us, to the bigger fish. This, despite the fact we didnt play against any of the bigger clubs at that point. What we didnt understand at the time but was that he Cannons, much like ACK, are 100% based around player development, and whatever is best for any individual who comes into their systems, is what needs to be done. Thats their job, thats their goal. It would be remiss of them as an organization, to do anything otherwise. I guess my long winded point is this. that I think f course ACK is telling their players to head to Seymour and steer clear of Kilmore. They as an organization have no doubt come to the conclusion that the SFC football club is going to benefit the junior players development more so than the KFNC. I would tend to think that this decision is one thats had a fair researching effort behind it, and definitely not a personal swipe at Kilmore as a club, but they cant be worried about the oppinions of the many hard workers, loyal servants and clubs people, that they dont get to see at the so called "lesser" of the two clubs, from the outside looking in. its a rough situation i know, but in terms of player development, its probably a case of untill the KFNC can provide an environment for the young lads thats at least "on par" with seymours... then they will keep on robbing peter to pay paul...so to speak. Any thoughts?

Inaccurate post on sooooo many levels. So many kids/parents justify players moving to "A" grade clubs as being told by TAC clubs is not correct. Seymour are recruiting from ACK and its a cycle that needs to broken by the RDFNL clubs. The same thing happened at Gissy a few years back with Rupo students but it was driven by the kids not the club or the school. A decision 1 AFL player still regrets doing to this day.

A.C.K. is NOT encouraging students to play at Seymour rather than Kilmore, it is the choice of the player and their families, not the school. The simple fact is that before being beaten by the Geelong League last year, the GVFL were back to back title holders as the champion country league. Although the RDFL has improved significantly in recent years, it is still not near the elite level that the GVFL is. It is simply a case of some talented young players wanting to play at the highest level they can at the nearest GVFL club, which happens to be Seymour.

Wallan 11.17.83 def Kilmore 10.8.68.

Look forward to Kilmore Kings match report. Bit disappointed you didn't take me up on me offer of a beer and a chat after the game.

Fantastic win by my Kanga boys today. 18 point winners in the end. Will let everyone else judge our performance, but for a side that was down to 2 on the bench within 15 minutes of the start of the game I am a very proud coach.

A
Inaccurate post on sooooo many levels. So many kids/parents justify players moving to "A" grade clubs as being told by TAC clubs is not correct. Seymour are recruiting from ACK and its a cycle that needs to broken by the RDFNL clubs. The same thing happened at Gissy a few years back with Rupo students but it was driven by the kids not the club or the school. A decision 1 AFL player still regrets doing to this day.
Are you suggesting that a current AFL player got drafted from Rupo but played most of his junior footy at Gisborne? Just trying to work out who that might be?

Macedon goal after the siren to get over Woodend. Josh Crook the medal for BOG

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Romsey 16.22 to Broadfoard 6.3. Davo a lazy 8. Lots of new players at both clubs and will take a few games to gel. Romsey too big and quick around the ground. Could have been a bigger margin had it not been for inaccurate kicking.

From what I saw the Magpies were the fitter side on the day.. For seniors to play so poorly and still win was very encouraging for coming weeks

Nah the gaps widened mate, Kilmore have improved don't get me wrong but you's would want to have had 7-8 out today to make any real inroads into this competition if what I saw tonight was any indication. Romsey had 29 more scoring shots and the end margin flattered Broadford. Top 3-4 wont change, be shell shocked if the flag ends up anywhere but Riddell, Romsey, Sunbury or dare I say it .... Diggers.

A.C.K. is NOT encouraging students to play at Seymour rather than Kilmore, it is the choice of the player and their families, not the school. The simple fact is that before being beaten by the Geelong League last year, the GVFL were back to back title holders as the champion country league. Although the RDFL has improved significantly in recent years, it is still not near the elite level that the GVFL is. It is simply a case of some talented young players wanting to play at the highest level they can at the nearest GVFL club, which happens to be Seymour.

Guess we will have to wait and see how many become actual GV players coz thirds footy is thirds footy in my opinion.

Romsey 16.22 to Broadfoard 6.3. Davo a lazy 8. Lots of new players at both clubs and will take a few games to gel. Romsey too big and quick around the ground. Could have been a bigger margin had it not been for inaccurate kicking.

Should've been a bigger margin but you always just take the win Rd.1 and as they say the Melbourne Cup is run over 2 miles.

The mighty burra are the real deal this year. Watched broadly and romsey today as well. Bford have improved out of sight but gosh gosh gosh romsey are well coached. Should have won by 20 plus gols. But they won't beat th e burra. It's all about tucks

When we slotted 2 gls on the trott at the start of the third Qtr I thought we would carry the momentum into the last and go on with it. Wallan simply got the umpires on side in the last and fell over the line.

We dont rate Wallan because they are slow and unskilled with the ball........well thats what our coach Jarred 'the enforcer' Carey told us post game. All in all we are still the best team in the comp.:)

Nah the gaps widened mate, Kilmore have improved don't get me wrong but you's would want to have had 7-8 out today to make any real inroads into this competition if what I saw tonight was any indication. Romsey had 29 more scoring shots and the end margin flattered Broadford. Top 3-4 wont change, be shell shocked if the flag ends up anywhere but Riddell, Romsey, Sunbury or dare I say it .... Diggers.

Guess we will have to wait and see how many become actual GV players coz thirds footy is thirds footy in my opinion.
I hear what you're saying but I'm only talking seniors Doon.

RDFL 2014 Thread