RDFL 2014 Thread

Guess we will have to wait and see how many become actual GV players coz thirds footy is thirds footy in my opinion.

Totally disagree Doona, as a player who played u/17s in the old CGFL and then played u/18s in the GVFL there were and I think still are massive gaps. The professionalism of the gvfl teams filters down to their u18 comp. training, skills and coaching is 20-30% better than district leagues and as a good junior you should want to match yourself against the best and give yourself the best chances in the future.

Would be interested to know how many kids have been drafted out of that area in the past 4 years, for a relatively "small fry" competition, I would think that the RDFNL would measure up pretty well against these comps that are "20-30% better".

Talent is talent, it will shine wherever it plays, guidance is important, but it only plays a small role in the overall making of a player.

If a good 16 or 17-year-old player is getting picked in under-18 footy at club level then in my opinion they aren't going to make it anyway. Kids that age should be playing senior footy at club level if they are the real deal.

If they are playing thirds they should be playing at their local club. The difference between playing under-18s at Kilmore or Seymour would be relatively miniscule as far as development goes, IMO.

It would be a different story if these young fellas were playing senior footy at Seymour instead of Kilmore.

Would be interested to know how many kids have been drafted out of that area in the past 4 years, for a relatively "small fry" competition, I would think that the RDFNL would measure up pretty well against these comps that are "20-30% better".

Talent is talent, it will shine wherever it plays, guidance is important, but it only plays a small role in the overall making of a player.

I understand your point IMS, but and I'm only guessing, could be wrong, these players probably spent the best part of 2-3 years in the TAC system.
My point isn't just about the players who go to the AFL but those players who go onto play local senior footy. I think we as a league are doing a fantastic job, but our thirds competition has got absolutely nothing on that of a GVFL. No doubt we would have players who would out play their best but those mid range players in our league would be busting a gut in their league.

Ah the old CGFL, loved that comp :thumbsu: wish it was still going

Was disappointed to hear that many from Wallan thought it was ok to bring there own beer in Saturday. It's hard enough these days for the lesser clubs to make a few bob, even harder when the opposition are ducking in and out of the changerooms to grab their coldies :thumbsdown:

Not sure if your referring to post game or not but any beers the players/coaching staff from seniors or reserves walked in with where from the slabs we purchased from kilmore for our boys after the game (and where charged $70 bucks each for usually a set price of $50 is recognised across the league) any people other than that where probably supporters which is poor form but something we cant control.

Not sure how long the "post game" period last's ha ha it was just mentioned to me at half time, but jesus christ $70 a slab is a bit steep hey. Didn't know of the $50 set price but that seems more than fair ....

On another topic, any truth in the claim the reserves game at Romsey was cut short by an over zealous time keeper in the 3rd term?

wasn't the best start to the year but wallan got the result on the weekend. hats off to Kilmore who will imrprove but got outrun late. the new full forward looked good but kick poorly. at half time i was worried with our recruit from up that way who was well beaten but he did do better in the second hafl. crowd was good what was the attendances like elsewhere for the first week?

Must agree with you the boys just ran out of legs and a few silly mistakes were costly too , your ff def looks like he can play, the only question mark I would have is his concentration seems easy to get him off his game , I was very pleased with two of our recruits Kruezer in the ruck and crump up forward both played great games

Not sure how long the "post game" period last's ha ha it was just mentioned to me at half time, but jesus christ $70 a slab is a bit steep hey. Didn't know of the $50 set price but that seems more than fair ....

On another topic, any truth in the claim the reserves game at Romsey was cut short by an over zealous time keeper in the 3rd term?

Heard the same thing Doon. Siren went at the 16 minute mark of the 3rd. End of the day, there is an official from both sides in the box

Well yes doona2 it did happen with Ollie Mathews picking up on it however it was a bit late for us as we past the ball into the forward line one of our players was about to mark the ball the siren went just befor he took the mark 25 out rite in front turns out we lost by a goal we were told the broardford official leaned over and pressed the button unfortunately our offical was unsure of what to do. So the league officials decided a 16 min last term.did it effect the result?? Well in a close game nobody can be certain!! However this should never have happened...

OMNI'S Round 1 wash up -
Umpiring over at Lancefield was first rate.....(I cant believe I am saying this - but).....Semmo was quietly FANTASTIC ! :thumbsu:
Ground surface over at Lancefield & at Romsey is the best I have EVER seen it !
Lancefield aren't as bad as first thought. Riddell aren't as good as most pundits believe. Rupo has improved.....marginally ! Sunbury hasn't slipped as predicted by some & have plenty of "Ticker" when it counts. Melton do what they have to do & don't drop games they are expected to win. Rockbank to tread water once AGAIN this season ! Wallan HAVE improved....& found a functioning forward set up this season. Kilmore are once again the pre-season hype champions......& NOTHING more !!! Romsey are ok without being too impressive, but their night footy experiment is an unqualified success ! Broadford once again prove they are the MOST undisciplined side in the competition ! The struggling Hawks show a lot of fight & a superior fitness level to nearly pinch a game no one gave them any chance of winning. AND - Macedon are in worse shape than anyone ever thought they were in !!!

Ahhhhhh it's good to have the footy back !!! :thumbsu:

OMNI'S Round 1 wash up -
Umpiring over at Lancefield was first rate.....(I cant believe I am saying this - but).....Semmo was quietly FANTASTIC ! :thumbsu:
Lancefield aren't as bad as first thought. Riddell aren't as good as most pundits believe. Rupo has improved.....marginally ! Sunbury hasn't slipped as predicted by some & have plenty of "Ticker" when it counts. Melton do what they have to do & don't drop games they are expected to win. Rockbank to tread water once AGAIN this season ! Wallan HAVE improved....& found a functioning forward set up this season. Kilmore are once again the pre-season hype champions......& NOTHING more !!! Romsey are ok without being too impressive, but their night footy experiment is an unqualified success ! Broadford once again prove they are the MOST undisciplined side in the competition ! The struggling Hawks show a lot of fight & a superior fitness level to nearly pinch a game no one gave them any chance of winning. AND - Macedon are in worse shape than anyone ever thought they were in !!!

I agree with omni the umpiring at lancefield was fantastic. I think it was the only game I have seen Simmo umpire and not want to throttle him at some stage.
Thanks for the comments about the ground but I don't think you can have seen the ground at this time of the year very often because it usually is in even better nick at this time of year. It is a big hard at the moment, we are a bit short of water would have liked to have seen it a bit softer.

I had a look at your ground last week, still a little way to go before it is ready to go?

OMNI'S Round 1 wash up -

hey omni
I find the comment of Broadford being the most indisciplined side wide of the mark
Yes there was a couple of 50 mtr penalties given away
But I find it very funny that you didn't mention the Romsey player getting reported for striking justin Webb 3 times
And justin not retaliating
You are a flog !!!

hey omni
I find the comment of Broadford being the most indisciplined side wide of the mark
Yes there was a couple of 50 mtr penalties given away
But I find it very funny that you didn't mention the Romsey player getting reported for striking justin Webb 3 times
And justin not retaliating
You are a flog !!!
It's got nothing to do with Friday night Skip, it's all about the Donnybrook from last year! Omni was a very good full forward in his day but he still has nightmares about Kamel Sidki coming for him!

That could be the case mate
But once again riddell were the ones that were day that felt the full weight of the tribunal

RDFL 2014 Thread