RDFL Thread 2007

I only have one criticism Mr Nicholls.

I dont think there is enough coverage on the little guys when it comes to your articles on the Riddell Website.

Some further in depth news about how Rockbank intend to reinvent themselves as a club, stories on guys like Michael Taylor and Tom Mainey (Both talented players that get no recognition). Or what Mark Greenshields has done to begin the rebuilding process at Melton Central, the impact that Brian Wheelahan has on the club, how young guys like Kane Bullen are expected to lead the Centrals charge into the future.

Also a little more focus on the Under 18 competition. The boys defeated Ballarat and there was hardly a murmur, these youngsters are the future of this competition (Refer Cam Dawson, Ryan Toholka, Ben Shippard, Matt Welsh, Garth Ploog, Danny Harrison and James Wright for examples, all products of the competition's Under 18 competition). There is some talented youngsters coming through the ranks, the possibility of more focus on the competition and how it is tracking would be exciting.

Just some of Mike's thoughts on this matter.

Mike out. ;)

Thanks Mike, I wrote the official press release for the RDFL on the Under 18s games and its not my fault if papers don't print them, ours certainly did.

Also, no one in the Kilmore area really wants to read about Rockbank and Melton Central etc, so my paper won't pay me to write the stuff, nor publish it.

Thirdly, all my stuff I do for the RDFL is non-paid and sheer for the love of the league. Its a huge effort for me as Sunday-Tuesday is my busiest time with work.

Continuing on, if you read The Free Press, you would know that it is the only paper in the district that records the reserves and Under 18 matches, and does a full match report of each of our teams' games, including Assumption, Wallan, Broadford, Kilmore, Romsey and Lancefield - that's a lot of footy reports. Not discounting netball, soccer, baseball, basketball, golf, tennis etc.

I would love to be able to expand my wings in the RDFL, but the logistics of it for me would be near impossible. Got to fit in time for umpiring lads :p

I see on the RDFL website that Eric Garwood will officiate in his 700th game as umpire.
This is one umpire who I have the upmost respect for ,he is also doing Diggers v Lancefield.I will be one of the many to shake his hand on a job well done .Probably even buy him a beer.(Be the 1st time I have bought an umpire a beer).
Congratulations Eccka

I thought I would sign up for some rdfl news and info and all I get is the Matt Nicholls show! Surely surely there must be something else to discuss! I understand he has a bit of input into the way the league is presented but there are much better things to talk about in regards to upcoming clashes and who is now shaping up the best nearing the half-way mark of the season. Are Sunbury the real deal? or are Riddell going to be too strong again?

Discuss!

hows brian wheelahan going at melton centrals , he was one of my best friends growing up in sunshine !!!!!!

I thought I would sign up for some rdfl news and info and all I get is the Matt Nicholls show! Surely surely there must be something else to discuss! I understand he has a bit of input into the way the league is presented but there are much better things to talk about in regards to upcoming clashes and who is now shaping up the best nearing the half-way mark of the season. Are Sunbury the real deal? or are Riddell going to be too strong again?

Discuss!
Scan back a few pages and you'll see that these issues are covered on a regular basis cliche. Opinions are divided, mine is that this week will be a cracking game and will be <4 goals in it either way. Riddell to win, Sunbury will lose no admirers.

What sort of condition is Riddells ground in, i know they had some issues @ the start of the year but how's it held up with the rain?

not in the best shape tbr, still very patchy, with the odd little pot hole...strap your ankles

Discuss!

Certainly dont agree with that... Read back more than 2 pages cliche

Rockbank Vs Kilmore
The Rams have steadily improved over the past couple of weeks and have some impressive youngsters coming through the ranks, hopefully with a change in direction will continue to improve over the coming weeks.
This is the longest journey in the Blues season. Last week they were fantastic in demolishing the Cats and will look to continue that form this week. With Trav Hede returning from suspension the Blues are a stronger unit, keep an eye on Rookie of the Week nomination Dave Cornish.
Kilmore by 80pts

Lancefield Vs Diggers Rest
The Tigers were great in the first half last week with their ability to run and carry the football and have improved imensely on last year. Is it enough to knock over the Burra, not sure, but coach Chris Collins has instilled a sense of belief in his side. Simon Choate never stops giving and was easily the Tigers best last week. No matter what the result, you know that the Tigers will give their all to win this one.
The Burra have been up and down with their form this year so far. They will look to get back on track this week against Lancefield.
This is a huge game for both sides, a loss here could almost spell the end of their finals hopes.
Diggers by 27pts

Macedon FC Vs Melton Centrals
Battle of Ying and Yang. Macedon with the youngest list in the competition against Centrals with the hardened veterans.
This will be one of the matches of the round if you are after some entertainment.
The Cats have been inconsistent. Expected with such a young list. They will have planned and prepared well for this contest, on thier own paddock will be up and running.
Centrals have one of the best players in the competition leading the way over the past few weeks. Wheelahan will need to be stopped if the Cats are to win.
Me, im tipping the Cats by 20pts

Woodend/Hesket Vs Romsey
The Hawks are just hitting their straps coming into round 9 and will want to turn 8-1 at the halfway mark. At home they are almost impossible to beat and will look to continue that run this week with authority.
The Redbacks were disappointing last week, they again struggled outside of the centre square and will need a huge lift this week if they are to get past a strong Hawks side.
Remember, this game last year was a controversial 1 point game..
Woodend/Hesket by 40pts

Match of the Round
Riddell Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
In a round of RDFL football chock full of great matchup's, this one is the best. Last years premiers against this years current ladder leader.
Last year these two sides battled out a ripper at this venue and I expect this one to be no different.
The Bombers have been flying since their Round 2 loss to the Hawks. Bellville, Jason Allen and Michael Allen have dominated and led the Bombers to 7-1 and 2nd spot on the ladder. The reigning premiers are still the side to beat this season, this weekend will be no different. The Bombers set themselves for games such as this.
The Roos have been up and down the past few weeks. After just getting over Centrals and then trailing early in the 3rd against the Tigers, the Roos will need to lift against the best this week if they are to get the win.
Roos to win.

Point taken guys. I see that there is much more talk about other issues than the mighty 'Pickles' and his ponderings. I watched Sunbury host Lancefield last weekend and I can't see them getting over Riddell if they play the style of footy they did against the Tigers. The only way Sunbury can win is if they employ the run-and-carry strategy against Riddell's bigger guys. The Roos have some great players around the contests (Baddelly, Welsh, House) who can deliver into the forward line. Garth Ploog looks a bit unfit and has to find a bit of the ball this week.

The Woodend v Romsey match also looks to be a beauty with both sides at near full strength. Woodend really play their home ground well though, so Romsey will have to make sure they get full purchase on their kicks out of defence.

Thanks Mike, I wrote the official press release for the RDFL on the Under 18s games and its not my fault if papers don't print them, ours certainly did.

Also, no one in the Kilmore area really wants to read about Rockbank and Melton Central etc, so my paper won't pay me to write the stuff, nor publish it.

Thirdly, all my stuff I do for the RDFL is non-paid and sheer for the love of the league. Its a huge effort for me as Sunday-Tuesday is my busiest time with work.

Continuing on, if you read The Free Press, you would know that it is the only paper in the district that records the reserves and Under 18 matches, and does a full match report of each of our teams' games, including Assumption, Wallan, Broadford, Kilmore, Romsey and Lancefield - that's a lot of footy reports. Not discounting netball, soccer, baseball, basketball, golf, tennis etc.

I would love to be able to expand my wings in the RDFL, but the logistics of it for me would be near impossible. Got to fit in time for umpiring lads :p
I'm not sure if you can answer this but why do we get **** all coverage from the Midland Matt? The paper’s distributed to Woodend, Macedon, Lancefield, and Romsey –pehaps even Riddell to my knowledge but we hardly get a look in apart from results. Like to see you get a job there mate.
Like the idea of more of the unknowns getting a run in the papers. Anyone know Jim Hardwick? Probably not- been Woodend's best defender this year. There would be five of those blokes in every team. If you have a few of them from your team lets post it here so we can learn a bit more about these unheralded stars of the comp. We all get plenty of info regarding the Allens, Morgans, Helmers and Sipthorpes of the league-We all know they’re great players, lets hear about some of your guns that slip under the radar-They don’t have to be young blokes either.
You're be probably best qualified to give us an overview Matt as you get to see most teams if not all teams play.

Point taken guys. I see that there is much more talk about other issues than the mighty 'Pickles' and his ponderings. I watched Sunbury host Lancefield last weekend and I can't see them getting over Riddell if they play the style of footy they did against the Tigers. The only way Sunbury can win is if they employ the run-and-carry strategy against Riddell's bigger guys. The Roos have some great players around the contests (Baddelly, Welsh, House) who can deliver into the forward line. Garth Ploog looks a bit unfit and has to find a bit of the ball this week.

The Woodend v Romsey match also looks to be a beauty with both sides at near full strength. Woodend really play their home ground well though, so Romsey will have to make sure they get full purchase on their kicks out of defence.

"The run and carry", "great players around the contests", "near full strength", "full purchase on their kicks out of defence". Just sounds like a bunch of footy cliches to me.

Discuss!

I'm not sure if you can answer this but why do we get f*ck all coverage from the Midland Matt? The paper’s distributed to Woodend, Macedon, Lancefield, and Romsey –pehaps even Riddell to my knowledge but we hardly get a look in apart from results. Like to see you get a job there mate.
Like the idea of more of the unknowns getting a run in the papers. Anyone know Jim Hardwick? Probably not- been Woodend's best defender this year. There would be five of those blokes in every team. If you have a few of them from your team lets post it here so we can learn a bit more about these unheralded stars of the comp. We all get plenty of info regarding the Allens, Morgans, Helmers and Sipthorpes of the league-We all know they’re great players, lets hear about some of your guns that slip under the radar-They don’t have to be young blokes either.
You're be probably best qualified to give us an overview Matt as you get to see most teams if not all teams play.

I'm writing a midseason report for the RDFL on each club and gave Jim Hardwick a good mention.

Also, as for the Midland Express, used to work there, hated not being able to spread my wings on the RDFL. Don't ask me why they write nothing about the competition, they always write on Kyneton and Gisborne, despite haveing free and home delivery services to Romsey, Lancefield, Riddell, Macedon and Woodend. It's not Jamie Helmore's fault, she's very good at the footy stuff. It comes from the editor (soon retired) and the manager.

If I had to give a run down of the underrated blokes at each club they would have to be:

DIGGERS - Heritage, Tyquin, Klooster.

KANGAROOS - Baddeley, Ellis, Welsh.

HAWKS - Fox, Hardwick, Manser, Podbury.

TIGERS - Shewan, Cook, Conway.

REDBACKS - Binney, Keenan x 2, Wilson.

BLUES - Moedt, Salter, Straney.

RAMS - Shirley, Grigsby, Nicholson.

CENTRALS - Jarrott, Nankervis, Bullen.

CATS - Kindred, Stone, Scarano.

BOMBERS - McDonald, Crotty, Murden.

Here's Harry's Tips for the week!!

Riddells Creek V Sunbury Kangaroos

What a cracker this is shaping up to be. For me, Riddell are the best side in the league without any shadow of a doubt. Smashed Romsey in the clearances last week and their young blokes like Leitch and Box combined with the older heads of Bellville and Coles will prove to much for Sunbury. If the Kangas play a Sydney Swans game plan and try to shut the game down, they may get within 5 goals. Look forward to hearing the results on this one.:thumbsu:

Rockbank v Kilmore

I think Kilmore will be far too strong for Rockbank. The Rams have plenty of endeavour, but unfortunately it will take a little more than endeavour to get them the points. Kilmore will need to be switched on if they want to record a very convincing win. Kilmore 10 goals.

Macedon v Melton Centrals

Both side have been up and down this season and have shown glimses of being a really good side. The young cats will be having a red hot crack at this one as I think they will really belive they can get the points from this game. Centrals have some handy players getting the footy and as long as Wheelan gets his hands on the prune, Centrals look a little too strong, having said that, this could go either way. The Cats by 6 points.

Lancefield v Diggers Rest

Diggers seem to be waiting for something to happen this year, and it might just happen this week. If they are to get themselves back this year they need to smash Lancfield. Lancfield will always send the ball through Choate and Collins and can become preditcable. Their heart and passion carries them along way. Diggers on the other hand have a few more options. If Laury is on song, he will be hard to man up on along with Sims and Ruane. Diggers by 45 points.

Woodend v Romsey

While Woodend have been going about their business very well this year and seem to be getting stronger as the weeks go on, the Redbacks hit a major hurdle last week against Riddell. The Hawks will have plenty of young guys to run the ball and on their small ground will try to exploit Romsey at every opportunity. Romsey will need to find something special this week if they are to stamp themselves in this comp as a serious finals contender. Should be close. Romsey 10 points.

Here's Harry's Tips for the week!!

Riddells Creek V Sunbury Kangaroos

What a cracker this is shaping up to be. For me, Riddell are the best side in the league without any shadow of a doubt. Smashed Romsey in the clearances last week and their young blokes like Leitch and Box combined with the older heads of Bellville and Coles will prove to much for Sunbury. If the Kangas play a Sydney Swans game plan and try to shut the game down, they may get within 5 goals. Look forward to hearing the results on this one.:thumbsu:

Rockbank v Kilmore

I think Kilmore will be far too strong for Rockbank. The Rams have plenty of endeavour, but unfortunately it will take a little more than endeavour to get them the points. Kilmore will need to be switched on if they want to record a very convincing win. Kilmore 10 goals.

Macedon v Melton Centrals

Both side have been up and down this season and have shown glimses of being a really good side. The young cats will be having a red hot crack at this one as I think they will really belive they can get the points from this game. Centrals have some handy players getting the footy and as long as Wheelan gets his hands on the prune, Centrals look a little too strong, having said that, this could go either way. The Cats by 6 points.

Lancefield v Diggers Rest

Diggers seem to be waiting for something to happen this year, and it might just happen this week. If they are to get themselves back this year they need to smash Lancfield. Lancfield will always send the ball through Choate and Collins and can become preditcable. Their heart and passion carries them along way. Diggers on the other hand have a few more options. If Laury is on song, he will be hard to man up on along with Sims and Ruane. Diggers by 45 points.

Woodend v Romsey

While Woodend have been going about their business very well this year and seem to be getting stronger as the weeks go on, the Redbacks hit a major hurdle last week against Riddell. The Hawks will have plenty of young guys to run the ball and on their small ground will try to exploit Romsey at every opportunity. Romsey will need to find something special this week if they are to stamp themselves in this comp as a serious finals contender. Should be close. Romsey 10 points.

Just don't rate the likes of McInerney's, bonici and James?