RDFL Thread 2009

hey mate....when did he run away? he clearly was in the rooms with everyone else get your facts right ******** as if the incident isnt bad enough already he has never been reported once simmo instigated the whole thing the wrong umpire got belted in my view.Anyone would agree with that fact if they were actually watching simmos circus in the 2nd he sent three blokes off for askin him a question including a runner.The competition should ban simmo from umpiring he caused all of it he was laughing with the romsey players about sendin people off any player that has played with that bloke knows how bad he really is. nothing can make up for what the player in question has done but simmo should be banned forever worst umpire i have seen my whole life...my thoughts go out to the young umpire shouldnt of been you champ.

So let's get this straight here, maumsy, are you suggesting that had the player in question hit simmo it would have been acceptable? I guarantee that NO ONE would agree with that fact under any circumstances.

I dont think maums was suggesting that simo should have been hit, just that it was the WRONG umpire who had made the discision. and itsmyshow as a club im sure we will try to work with the umpires to reassure them that we dont except that sort of behaivior, but who knows whether they feel its not enough

You can be frustrated with the level of umpiring, but it shouldn't have been any umpire and to suggest so is just as bad.. I understand why you have defended the player in question, but dont make it worse by defending him by saying he should have hit the other umpire, as frustrated as you may get at some decisions, you cannot, EVER, strike an umpire... It is completely unacceptable, those days in our league, striking anyone, are gone.. We are here to play football and to suggest anything else is wrong, I am sure we wouldn't want to show up to games with that happening. No one with a sensible opinion will blame the Rams, but the club will have a responsible part to play in all of this, I just hope they play that role.. A member of the club has allegedly committed an unforgivable act, the club must accept some responsibility and work with the umpires to ensure they do not come out of this tarnished to the point of no repair.. I really do hope this happens, there are some great people at the club, but the entire club needs to embrace the enormity of the situation and make every effort to see that the correct outcome is achieved, for the club, the umpires and the league.

Well said IMS!!

Lets get off the umpire, club and even the player. What does this sort of crap do for the league? Why would Gary or any other ex-AFL players want to play in this league when they see things like this? Who knows what Gary would be thinking on the way home tonight? I'm tipping its not, I will recommend this league to some of my mates. I'm tipping he is regretting making the move to the league. If we want to make the RDFL bigger and better we can not keep putting up with this sort of crap. This is a once off yes, but the RDFL always seems to be taking three steps forward two steps back, because of some people that make stupid decisions. Clubs need to start taking responsibility for players they allow at their clubs and stop these clowns from playing in our league. Rockbank juniors have been a problem for years and now their young kids have this clown as a role model. What hope do they have!!!

well said ims!!

lets get off the umpire, club and even the player. What does this sort of crap do for the league? Why would gary or any other ex-afl players want to play in this league when they see things like this? Who knows what gary would be thinking on the way home tonight? I'm tipping its not, i will recommend this league to some of my mates. I'm tipping he is regretting making the move to the league. If we want to make the rdfl bigger and better we can not keep putting up with this sort of crap. This is a once off yes, but the rdfl always seems to be taking three steps forward two steps back, because of some people that make stupid decisions. Clubs need to start taking responsibility for players they allow at their clubs and stop these clowns from playing in our league. Rockbank juniors have been a problem for years and now their young kids have this clown as a role model. What hope do they have!!!
he is in good spirts gaza

You moron, this bloke chased the 16year old umpire not once but twice to king hit him and you try to protect him by saying simmo is a crap umpire?? Maybe your team is just crap as they were getting their backsides whipped!!!

Well said IMS!!
Clubs need to start taking responsibility for players they allow at their clubs and stop these clowns from playing in our league. Rockbank juniors have been a problem for years and now their young kids have this clown as a role model. What hope do they have!!!

Just so you know, the player in question has held a clean record his entire career thru the wrfl and has won many league bnf's.. it was a shocking brainfade by him, but dont think that rockbank or other club in the rdfl would allow any thugs to pull on their jumper... it was a one off!

Well that one off has cost him his playing career for life and probably a criminal record! Brainfade or not, his is a 29 year old Man who kinghit a 16 year old kid, no excuses, absolutely intolerable, inexcusable and absolutely disgusting, hope he is feeling like a big man tonight, hope the umpire is recovering well!

Theres no doubt about it that hes career is over, and so it should be for what happened, but all im tryin to point out is that as a rockbank player were not thugs nor do we allow or condone that sort of behaiviour. And i can garantee you he feeling terrible after what happened and you may not care, but i know him and thats not the sort of person he is.. its such a pity it has, and i also do hope that young boy is ok.

I dont think maums was suggesting that simo should have been hit, just that it was the WRONG umpire who had made the discision. and itsmyshow as a club im sure we will try to work with the umpires to reassure them that we dont except that sort of behaivior, but who knows whether they feel its not enough
WELL GUYS WORST THING I HAVE EVER SEEN ON OR OFF THE FIELD BAD, BAD, BAD, TO THE YOUNG UMPIRE HOPE TO SEE YOU BACK OUT ON THE FIELD REAL SOON....... TO LUKE WALKER AND SOME OF THE ROCKBANK BOYS WELL DONE ON COMING TO SEE OUR FELLAS GOOD STUFF :thumbsu:TO THE ROCKBANK SUPPORTERS WHO CAME OVER FOR SUPPORT WELL DONE AND THANKYOU :thumbsu:. TO THE ROMSEY FOOTBALL CLUB A BIG WELL DONE ON THE WAY YOU HANDLE YOURSELVES ESPECIALLY THE SENIOR COMMITTEE YOU WERE PROFESIONAL AND MAGNIFICENT TO OUR MEDICAL STAFF YOU DID A MAGNIFICENT JOB. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: BUT JUST ONE THING THOUGH I HAVE 3 BOYS WHO ALL PLAY THIS GREAT GAME 12,,10,,8,, ALL BOYS WERE INVOLVED AT SOME STAGE TODAY DOING JOBS MY 10 YEAR OLD IS A MESS HE KEEPS ASKING WHY DID THAT PLAYER DO THAT TO THE UMPIRE I HAVE NO ANSWER FOR HIM HE LOVES THE GAME AS MUCH AS ME BUT TO SEE WHAT I SEEN TODAY WHO KNOWS :thumbsdown:..... ALSO SIMMO MAYBE A SHOCKER AND NO GOOD BUT NO ONE DESERVED WHAT ME AND MY KIDS SAW TODAY I MEAN NO ONE :thumbsdown: O YA GAAAAARRRRRRRYYYYY WAS ON FIRE :rolleyes::rolleyes: GAZAAAAAAAAA

If the boys at Romsey continue to get the ball to Moorcroft as they have in the last 2 weeks, i reckon Romsey could be a smokie..:thumbsu:

Well to the ump in question, no names needed, mate I hope you are alright and hope this doesn't put you off umpiring! I ran around with you in one of your first junior games and you have a lot of talent and a great future ahead of you! On that though after a period of absense and being back this year, shit like this makes me wonder why I bother. The umpiring department for this league is always short of numbers and this is going to only make it harder to recruit and retain umpires. This should send a major message to all clubs! If not senior umpires like myself will walk away and you guys who want to play footy will have absolutely no one to umpire them. We have good days and bad days, we make some shocking decisions and some times it seems we are inconsistent., deal with it, we are human.

And to the bloke who had his little rant about Semmo, I can't believe you would say something like that after what I hear about this incident. I challenge you to come down to an umpires training night, wednesday at McPherson Park and introduce yourself and see what we do and how we go about things, or do you just want to be that bloke that hides behind an alias.

And I would just like to leave everyone with one thought, next time you want to abuse an umpire, consider whether you would have the guts to give umpiring a go, if the answer is no, then maybe you should just respect the guy that does!!! We are out there for ourselves but all so to help you guys play the game you love!

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25561379-661,00.html

A 29-YEAR-OLD football player is being interviewed by police after allegedly punching a 16-year-old umpire.
The Rockbank player reportedly reacted angrily when the youth sent him off the ground.
He handed himself into police after the umpire complained about the alleged assault.
The teen umpire was concussed as a result of the incident.

it just so happens that the young umpire's father is a police officer

So if lee james and meecham got a 1 week suspended sentence for jumping the fence last year in the prelim.. what will this bloke get is anyones guess

now thats just a dumb comment mate the circumstances are completly different... how can you even compare that incedent to the one aledged to have happened yesterday.?????

3 losses in a row for the Kangaroos now after a narrow victory against macedon which put them on top of the ladder 4 weeks ago. tough 2 games ahead as well with matches against woodend and then gary moorcroft. is it injuries or poor form or time for a new coach?

Looks like a close affair between centrals and lancefield yesterday, looks like centrals was wasteful in front of goal, any reports?

First, yesterday's incident was unfortunate and realistically, disgusting. For the second week in a row the Rams have been thrown into the spotlight by poor behaviour. Last week it was spectators at a junior game and this week it's a senior player. After last weeks incident the club imposed bans and gave warnings of "1 more little incident and your gone" to those involved. I have no doubt they will be proactive again but it seems it's time to bite the bullet and "take out the trash". If this means you can't field a full team every week then so be it. With the reputation they have they'll never be able to bring more people to the club so it's time they take a firm stand.

Secondly, complain all you want about Simmo, we all know he's an instigator and bad for the game. But until others put their hand up to umpire he'll still be in the job. To the young fella from yesterday, I wish you all the best and hope you continue to umpire.

Third, well done to the boys who went over and shook the Redbacks hands and apologised, even offerring a beer. It's these guys who get punished for the actions of one man but clearly show there are good guys at the Rams too.

I know the coach was disgusted and may be re-thinking his post for the rest of the season. The committee, players and supporters are all disgusted and in disbelief. I make no excuses for the player in question but I will say this, I would never think of him as the violent type and would've thought he'd be one of the last to do something like this. Unfortunately his actions will no doubt cost him the rest of his footy career and he is one of the best local players I've ever seen.

Lastly, having sat it on previous meetings with the RDFL Board I'm sure a harsh penalty will be dealt to the Rams. Hopefully the Rams themselves act swiftly and the league do not dismiss the whole club. There are many who spend countless hours and not to mention money, trying to make it a better place and move it in the right direction. Hopefully it is the individuals who are punished and not everyone else who has to suffer

Well to the ump in question, no names needed, mate I hope you are alright and hope this doesn't put you off umpiring! I ran around with you in one of your first junior games and you have a lot of talent and a great future ahead of you! On that though after a period of absense and being back this year, shit like this makes me wonder why I bother. The umpiring department for this league is always short of numbers and this is going to only make it harder to recruit and retain umpires. This should send a major message to all clubs! If not senior umpires like myself will walk away and you guys who want to play footy will have absolutely no one to umpire them. We have good days and bad days, we make some shocking decisions and some times it seems we are inconsistent., deal with it, we are human.

And to the bloke who had his little rant about Semmo, I can't believe you would say something like that after what I hear about this incident. I challenge you to come down to an umpires training night, wednesday at McPherson Park and introduce yourself and see what we do and how we go about things, or do you just want to be that bloke that hides behind an alias.

And I would just like to leave everyone with one thought, next time you want to abuse an umpire, consider whether you would have the guts to give umpiring a go, if the answer is no, then maybe you should just respect the guy that does!!! We are out there for ourselves but all so to help you guys play the game you love!

Well said ORANGE UMP - and from everyone at the BFNC best wishes to the young umpire who was felled yesterday :thumbsu:.

You moron, this bloke chased the 16year old umpire not once but twice to king hit him and you try to protect him by saying simmo is a crap umpire?? Maybe your team is just crap as they were getting their backsides whipped!!!

Umm, no, not me pal, I was clarifying Maumsy's post. You'll note that I disagreed with him:rolleyes:

Mate that is a dam shame he is a great guy off the the field and he WAS on the field.....
I would like to no what made him snap as I played footy with him at the Jets and interleague games in the WRFL.
He is a well spoken and well behaved man.

I wish the umpire all the best and not to let this get to him to hard just have a few weeks off and then get back into it again, as you will be a stronger person for that.

As for the player in question i no you would be at home KNOWING what you did was wrong just suck it in mate cop what ever it is they will give you and make a formal aplogy to the umpire,your club and the league....

I also no that Rockbank is a great family club and will not let these avents keep what is a great local club down..

You will feel alot of heat from RDFL as this has hit the papers and TV. Its 1 persons bad mistake and not the RAMS fault...... Good luck Terra and Geoff Harro in dealing with this dark day of the Rockbank FC

ALL THE BEST................

hey mate....when did he run away? he clearly was in the rooms with everyone else get your facts right ******** as if the incident isnt bad enough already he has never been reported once simmo instigated the whole thing the wrong umpire got belted in my view.Anyone would agree with that fact if they were actually watching simmos circus in the 2nd he sent three blokes off for askin him a question including a runner.The competition should ban simmo from umpiring he caused all of it he was laughing with the romsey players about sendin people off any player that has played with that bloke knows how bad he really is. nothing can make up for what the player in question has done but simmo should be banned forever worst umpire i have seen my whole life...my thoughts go out to the young umpire shouldnt of been you champ.

Ok maumsy, If I got my information wrong, Im sorry. I rang someone I know at Romsay to try and find out what had happened and thats what I was told, He run away. He IS a great player and it would have been a brainfade. I do wish Rockbank FC Well and can only hope this is a 1 off involving ANY CLUB.

To the young umpire. DONT let this stop you umpiring. GET back on the horse and get a game after long weekend. Bagging Simmo is not my thing so I not even going to bother. He see what he sees and thats the end of the story from my end.

Bring on Southern Footy League. GO RIDDELL.

looks like im the lone ranger then pal

did anyone just see the Channel 9 news??

The Matt Mcfarlane story was on.

they showed me umpiring and it was blurred haha

and i helped the newswoman find her earring.

Some good civilized words from Glen Mcfarlane.

Hope Matt continues umpiring as he's one of the RDFL's best umpires and is and a nice kid.