RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 1)

Have the clubs got any update on the league's missing $100,000+?

Is anyone here surprised that the league president nor anyone on the board resigned over this issue?

They appointed the GM, surely they also have to take responsibility.

If you don't know what you are talking about perhaps you should not make comment or pass judgement as most on this forum have avoided doing.
If you do know EXACTLY what you are talking about I don't think this is the place for you to bring it up.

On the eve of the footy season we don't need to be talking sh1t

Lets get back to footy

Round 1.. Lets Talk footy

Wallan Vs Kilmore
Both sides have recruited well, but i will say it will take Wallan a few backmen to work out the match up for Jamsey by then catch footy will leave them fall short. 13 Points

Diggers Vs Woodend
Diggers always play great team footy with minimal losses and number of gains should see them get over the younger looking hawks 35 Points

Lancefield Vs Riddell
Lancefield appear to have lost little but have gained a couple of quality recruits, Riddell have recruited very well to get back to the dominating level they were, I expect it to take riddell a few weeks to really gel together, Lancefield by 3 points

Centrals Vs Rockbank
Both sides have struggled and had some good encounters last year, both have recruited but does anybody know the quality of them. In a toss of the coin??? Rockbank under a goal

Macedon Vs Romsey
Macedon will be keen to start the year on a high and hope the recruits they have can help them, yes they have picked up some good players but if Romsey are at full strength they will win. 24 points

Sunbury Vs Broadford
A number of ins for Sunbury will have people asking which out of how many players will be up to it. With Broadford losing a number of players they will find it hard to match the roos. Sunbury to win

Just interested to know what people's tips for this weekend are? Can we be set for some good games?

There will be some cracking games this weekend.. Will make it tough to pick which game you want to go and see...

Round reviews should start to come up, cant wait for some interesting reading.. I will put mine up tomorrow. :thumbsu:

There will be some cracking games this weekend.. Will make it tough to pick which game you want to go and see...

Round reviews should start to come up, cant wait for some interesting reading.. I will put mine up tomorrow. :thumbsu:

Kilmore v Wallan or Lancefield v Riddell for me. Local derby with plenty of confidence in both camps could mean for some early fireworks - lets hope it's a lot closer than Rd.1 last year. Riddell's pre-season form has them again on top of most punters lists. Look for me little mate Gezza Liddell to have a big debut and Im hoping a big twenty ten :thumbsu:

Wallan/Kilmore draw
Riddell
Melton
Diggers
Sunbury
Macedon

Have the clubs got any update on the league's missing $100,000+?

Is anyone here surprised that the league president nor anyone on the board resigned over this issue?

They appointed the GM, surely they also have to take responsibility.

If you don't know what you are talking about perhaps you should not make comment or pass judgement as most on this forum have avoided doing.
If you do know EXACTLY what you are talking about I don't think this is the place for you to bring it up.

On the eve of the footy season we don't need to be talking sh1t

Lets get back to footy

Didn't stop a former RDFL player asking Ollie Mathews about it at the Mulwala/Numurkah game last Satdy.

"Didn't expect to see you here Ollie"

Ollie "Why's that"

"Thought you would be in WA looking for that 80 odd grand that's missing"

And before ya's jump all over me, this came from a fella who follows the RDFL and I know wouldn't bull$hit - even he couldn't believe that the guy said it and wanted a hole to hide in such was the awkwardness of the moment.

I did also hear that this weekend (or very soon) Ollie Mathews is to officiate in game number 1,000??? If true that is a phenominal effort and one Im sure the local papers etc over your way has given plenty of mileage :thumbsu:

Good onya watchful for throwing out there though what many are probably thinking. :thumbsu: Agree with blues clues that it's not right to comment without the full facts - but surely it's ok for me to just say what was the RDFL board doing last year or have club delegates been sworn to secrecy (which is fair enough)? Surely they met each month where all the important stuff (reports/updates etc) got tabled into the official minutes which kept everyone involved accountable :confused:

Your information is correct Doona. The umpiring group was informed wednesday night that Ollie will umpire his 999th game in the U/18's followed by game 1000 in the seniors at Lancefield this saturday afternoon. It is an absolutely terrific effort by Ollie, someone who has dedicated so much time and effort to both the RDFL and RDFLUA. I'm stoked that I get the opportunity to walk out onto the field with Ollie this saturday. It would be great if the Lancefield and Riddell blokes together with myself and the other 4 umpires can make this a game to remember for Ollie!!!

Found an interesting one on the umpire website.
I wonder if this has been communicated to the clubs or umpires will communicate it before games and how long until they are enforced

1. New Interpretations 2010

What the AFL says...
4.1.1 50m penalties for encroaching the mark
This includes players who delay the play by cribbing over the mark or entering the protected area 5m
either side of the player with the ball. Players will not be asked repeatedly by umpires to come back on
the mark. If they do not immediately get back on the mark a 50m penalty will be awarded. Players
must not move in front of the mark until “play on” is called. They can move horizontally but must not
move forward of the mark.
What Riddell Umpires will do...
Players will be penalised who aBempt to delay play by:
‐ placing themselves in a posi>on (within 5m of the player with the ball) where they are deliberately
stopping a player hand‐balling, playing on or kicking.
‐ deliberately stepping over the mark (par>cularly when it is clear where the mark is)
‐ Pushing off the mark (Superman style) over the mark as the player is kicking the ball.
Players will not be penalised who:
‐ are following their player (within 5m) through and around the mark.
‐ running past the player with the ball, either following a player or running to the next act of play.
What the AFL says...
4.1.2 50m penal-es for not giving the ball directly back to an opponent a=er a mark or free kick
A 50m penalty will be awarded against a player who doesn’t return the ball directly and immediately
to the player who has the kick. Players will be expected to return the ball in the same manner as if
returning the ball to a team mate. Looping the ball in the air and delaying by asking the umpire to
clarify who the ball should go to when it is obvious will not be tolerated. They should also return the
ball directly to an umpire for a bounce or throw in.
What Riddell Umpires will do...
Players will be penalised who aBempt to delay play by:
‐ not returning the ball DIRECTLY and IMMEDIATELY to the player who has the kick.
‐ deliberately holds the ball (maybe while direc>ng teammates) at a ball up or throw in.
‐ asking the umpire whose free kick it is when it is obvious (par>cularly when it is a one on one contest).
‐ Places the ball on the ground.
Players will not be penalised who:
‐ on a wet or windy day makes a genuine aBempt to return the ball and due to the elements miss the mark.
‐ is unsure whose free kick it is and returns the ball to a opposi>on player who is claiming its his free kick or
is standing next to the player whose free kick it is.

Oh please Doona.... go back to Reservior ???? I'd have thought once you got outa that place you'd NEVER be goin back !!
That is.... Unless you were absolutely strung out for some sort of hallucinogenic fix perhaps & Smith St was closed ! :eek:
Was sitting next to a mate of Pebbles last night, who gave him a call about him playing at Riddell, Answer NO WAY! LETS ALL MOVE ON.

RDFL 2010 Season - Round 1

Finally, after a long and drawn out off season, where rumours were rife and all of our RDFL clubs continued along the path of improvement and strengthening.. We are here, everything that has happened, been spoken of or thought of is to be left behind ROUND 1 IS HERE!!!! :thumbsu: And it looms as a tough tipping round to open the season.

Diggers Rest FNC Vs Woodend/Hesket FNC
Diggers Rest Reserve - Diggers Rest
This looms as the battle of the unknown. Diggers Rest have Craig Marshall seems to be the biggest name recruit that the Burra have snared while Jesse Waters the biggest name recruit that the Hawks have been able to land. The difference seems to be the names that have left the camps. The Burra have retained thier list from last year and although they are a year older and the injuries are becoming more frequent, everyone in the competition knows what the Burra are capable of. The Hawks have lost many, Kar Weng Ng has requested a clearance, Ben Shippard moved across to Gisbourne, Paul Podbury and Warren Else have retired. The Hawks will be looking for the youth to step up, while the Burra will be relying on the tried and true, even though Glen Hopkins always seems to be able to unearth a gem from the Unders.. This should be a great way to start the season, but the home side looks too strong.
Diggers Rest by 22pts.

Sunbury Kangaroos FNC Vs Broadford FNC
Eric Boardman Reserve - Sunbury
While there is a level of interest surrounding the clash of the Kangaroos, it seems to be more about how the new recruits at the Kangaroos will gel rather than the battle itself. Broadford have as many outs as the Sunbury side has ins and they are big names from last season's side. Broadford will rely heavily on Grant Wearne and Chook Barton, while Michael Edwards will again carry the burden of leadership. Sunbury will be looking forward to several new recruits running out in the colours for the first time. New Roos assistant and reigning league leading Goal Kicker Chris Meacham and the band of new recruits will join new skipper Leigh McInerney and the existing firm to form a formidable opponent, one that should be much too strong for the "other" Roos.
Sunbury Kangaroos by 65 points.

Wallan FNC Vs Kilmore FNC
Greenhill Reserve - Wallan
The local rivalry in the East will again kick off the season for these two sides. The corresponding match last year pretty much saw off the Magpies 2009 chances and they will be sure to be fired up to ensure the same doesn't happen this year. Kilmore has strengthened up nicely with the recruiting of Aaron James and Matt Robertson, but coach Guy Booker will remain the key to Kilmore's chances. The Magpies will need to cut supply to the forward 50 if they want to be a chance in this one, too many opportunities for Jamesy spells massive trouble. Kilmore have the class now in the midfield to provide opportunity and the Magpies are going to need to find a way to cut that supply off.
Kilmore by 32 points.

Lancefield FNC Vs Riddell FNC
Lancefield Park - Lancefield
A rematch of last years preliminary final will be an interesting way to kick start the season for these two sides. The Tigers will be out to start thier premiership defence in style, they have kept most of the list together and have picked up a couple of handy recruits including another key defender in Brett Caton. The Bombers have some handy inclusions of thier own. James Climas, Aaron Blade and Mick Allen all returning to Riddell and the signing of Matt Baird from Sunbury. Gerard Liddell will be an interesting one to keep an eye on if rumours are to be believed. I think this game will be red hot early with the Bombers believing they have something to prove, these two will be top 4 sides, so expect a ripping contest.
Riddell by 14 points.

Melton Centrals FNC Vs Rockbank FNC
McPherson Park - Melton
Another local derby that is sure to create interest, mainly for the topic of who has recruited the best at the bottom of the table. Luke Walker is a big loss for the Rams, but they have been able to recruit a couple of likely midfielders that are sure to give the side a boost and improve delivery and supply to a forward line that has been dry for years. Centrals have recruited to suit thier needs with a couple of bigger bodies to compliment the already talented smaller brigade, but has the new coach done enough, only time will tell.
Rockbank by 8 points

MATCH OF THE ROUND
Macedon FC Vs Romsey FNC
Tony Clarke Reserve - Macedon
Romsey will be desperate to atone for last years Grand Final loss early and Macedon looms as a big scalp that they can take first up. The Cats are certainly not going to let the Redbacks waltz into town though. The key for the Redbacks now and all year will be the bleeding obvious.. Moorcroft, and Green, but the Redbacks have more than that. Steve Burlak is on the brink, he could either dominate the comp or fall away, Cam Dawson is a genuine star of the RDFL, he is exciting and arrogant but always worth watching. The Redbacks also have a list of exciting young talent, the Bray brothers are small and young, but with a year of Senior football under thier belts, they will be better this year. The Cats would be disappointed with losing last years Bowen Medallist Aaron Blade, but have picked up Dylan Wright from Doutta Stars. Dylan can be an explosive package, but if his mind is on the job, he will cut opposition sides to shreds. The return of Andrew McCarthur is also going to strengthen the Cats no end, and with a preseason under his belt and hopefully no injuries, James Wright is going to be much better this year. All signs point to a massive contest to kick off the season for these two sides and a classic match is sure to be seen.
Romsey by 4 points.

Good summarys itsmyshow good for us blokes who cant get too see all the teams during the year! thanks

My tips

Woodsy to knock off the Burra by 10 points. Knox to kick a bag
Romsey to beat macedon by 30 pionts, Moorcroft!
Centrals in a close one over rockbank 5 points
Ridell to smash Lanny 60 points
Sunburys to beat Broadford by 45
Wallan over kilmore by 30 points big year for the magpies.

Omni’s Tips for Round 1.

Kilmore to have to much fire power up forward for Wallan, in a tough hard fought encounter by traditional rivals at Greenhill Reserve. Blues by 18 pts.

Diggers at home to get the points over Woodend in a workmanlike fashion by 22 pts.

Sunbury just to be way too powerful for an unsuspecting Broadford at Boardman oval. & good luck to Messrs Helmers, Meacham, & me old fishin buddy “Captain Grubby” on their respective new challenges ahead. Roos by 66 pts.

Riddell to get the chocolates (just) over Lancefield at home in what I expect to be a see-sawing affair with much to offer the spectator. Bombers by 9 pts.

In a toss of the coin clash down at McPherson Park I am going for the home side to just prevail in an arm wrestle of a match. Melton by 11 pts over a stubborn Rockbank unit.

& in a blockbuster of a contest at the Tony Clarke Reserve I think Romsey should have all the answers to withstand a spirited Macedon outfit that has a few question marks hanging over it ! Redbacks by 27 pts.

Oh & Congratulations to that reliable old grey RDFL icon that never seems to slow down—Alan Mathews—What a MASSIVE achievement, 1000 games ! There should be more of him. What a fantastic role model & mentor that we are very fortunate to have had. Keep up the great work Ollie, you should be good for another 1000 or so more !!! :thumbsu:

Tips for the first round:

Diggers over Woodend by 15 points
Sunbury over Broadford by 54 points
Kilmore over Wallan by 20 points
Lancefield over Riddell by 12 points
Rockbank over Centrals by 16 points
Romsey over Macedon by 26 points

Good luck to all the boys on the weekend

One more sleep cant wait for this season to begin! All this hype of who has recruited well and who hasn't all goes out the window come saturday afternoon.

I believe the gap has shortened at the top which means some good tight games lets go 2010 UP THE BURRA!

Hey what can I tell you mate ???? That is what I am still hearing.....I am told he will play the second half of the season after he gets back from OS.
Apparently he is really good mates with the new Riddell Prez' Mr Tobin...(of the "Boot Hill" Tobins) & if he IS gunna play footy again it will be with the Bombers in 2010.... & $$$$$ are not an issue for him in playing !!! I am led to believe he just wants to play footy for fun !!! & get a kick with out any pressure or fanfair on him.

I guess we will ALL just have to wait & see what transpires.

I hope he does though, would be just HUUUUUUUGE for the RDFL & Riddell if it happens....... Imagine the crowd & gate takings ! :thumbsu:

Hope its a home game though ! :)
Hey Omni, looks like I might just have to keep the ol' No.68 warm for Pebbles just in case, probably the only 1 that could fit him!!!!;)

Rockbank were 5 point winners over Centrals today... good hard fought game.

Macedon by a point in a cracker in a high standard game both sides will be there abouts Romsey kick themselves out of a win but tough hard game:thumbsu:BEST PLAYERS :thumbsu:ROMSEY YAK, MCNAUGHTON, MOORECROFT, DAWSON KEARNEY, BRADY, MACEDON BEST THE KID AT CENTRE HALF FORWARD CAN THIS KID PLAY AND ALSO RUN:thumbsu:SUPER GAME

Some interesting results.

Surprised Kilmore didn't get up over Wallan. Unless Wallan's new guys are absolute superstars, you'd expect the inclusions of A. James, M. Robertson and a fully fit Guy Booker to make a significant difference to their team.

No surprises about the Sunbury Kangaroos smashing Broadford. Mongrel has recruited well and Broadford haven't recruited at all - and lost plenty, too! Interesting to see on the team sheets that Broadford only played 20 blokes? Is that correct? Disappointing if so. Seems like the club has underestimated the RDFL big time and struggling to keep up with the pace.

Great to see Rockbank get a win, although I'd also like to see Centrals get a change in luck.

Romsey and Macedon sounded like it would have been a cracker, as would have been the Diggers/WHesket clash. From my man on the ground he said there wasn't much in it all arvo.

Looking at the team lists, no surprises about the Riddell/Lancefield clash. Tigers played a lot of kids. The Bombers have a long list of talent though and should be thereabouts. Not sure where Lancefield's immediate improvement comes from though. Most of those kids are still 3-4 years from really dominating games at senior level. While there is still 12-14 blokes all established proven players in the Tigers' line-up, they don't have a lot of guys in the 22-27 age group. It's one or the other.

Well round one is over and i still have a splitting headache. And i reckon my rdfl footy tips were ordinary at best too.may round 2 bring similar frustrations but hopefully better tipping.lol

No surprises about the Sunbury Kangaroos smashing Broadford. Mongrel has recruited well and Broadford haven't recruited at all - and lost plenty, too! Interesting to see on the team sheets that Broadford only played 20 blokes? Is that correct? Disappointing if so. Seems like the club has underestimated the RDFL big time and struggling to keep up with the pace.

Think the outcome was expected matty with the off-season we've had, more so when you see 10-12 guys that played one's last year for Sunbury run out at 12noon - but as far as underestimating things you couldnt be further from the truth mate.

Thought we'd see some match reports roll in by now, some close finishes and some blowouts to kick things off. Broady boys last night at the pub said Sunbury were awesome, in fact a couple even commented they hadn't seen a side so up and about and well drilled in round 1 for some time . . . . could be scary for upcoming Sunbury opponents.

Think the outcome was expected matty with the off-season we've had, more so when you see 10-12 guys that played one's last year for Sunbury run out at 12noon - but as far as underestimating things you couldnt be further from the truth mate.

Thought we'd see some match reports roll in by now, some close finishes and some blowouts to kick things off. Broady boys last night at the pub said Sunbury were awesome, in fact a couple even commented they hadn't seen a side so up and about and well drilled in round 1 for some time . . . . could be scary for upcoming Sunbury opponents.

I remember being at one of the meetings when it was discussed why Broadford should join the RDFL. Reduced season fees, increased gate takings, more exposure for sponsors and genuine rivalries were some of the key points raised as to why the Roos should leave the HDFL.

Now I'm not sure about the season fees, but surely the club should have the extra $$$ from gate takings, sponsorship and the big clashes against Kilmore/Wallan etc.

They won't get anyone through the gate if they keep getting pummeled. Got to spend money to make money. We've seen a lot of quality players come and go at Harley Hammond Reserve in the last five years - why are they not staying?

Made a day of it down at Boardman Reserve yesterday and was very impressed with the performance of Sunbury against an undermanned Broadford. The first ten minutes of the game was very much one way traffic as the Roos piled on the opening 6 goals, Meacham (looking as fit as I have seen him in the past 3 years in the comp) booted 3 in the first term, Broadford just had no answer to Sunbury, especially the rotations through the midfield, 6 or so players rotating through the middle and all having an impact on the game. The only player that looked to be anywhere near the level that was required against Sunbury was Mick Edwards, who controlled the entire tempo of the second quarter, ensured that Broadford weren't blown away completely by half time (by that I mean they kept Sunbury to 8 goals at the half, they should have been nearly 15 goals in front).
Darragh McGovern was outstanding in the middle of the ground, as was Leigh McInerney, while every time the ball hit the ground Daniel Burrows seemed to be at the fall. The twin towers in Cuffey and Fischendon dominated the air and Broadford just couldn't seem to penetrate at all, if they did manage to go forward, the ball was simply rebounded by Rob Ellis, Bobby Johnson and Adam Walsh. The Kangaroos were simply too good and will certainly be one of the premiership favorites.
Dashed over to check out the last quarter of Diggers and Woodend, the game was a slog, the ground certainly didn't seem to be in the best of shape either. In the last term, it was the Burra's go to guys that ensured they iced the game. Laurie, Sims and Ruane put the game beyond doubt, there wasn't much in it at 3 qtr time, but the Burra never looked like losing. From the small part I saw, Joel Goodyear was good for the Hawks, while the names above were the standouts when the game had to be won. All in all, I think both sides will be competing for the 5th and 6th spots on the ladder with several other sides.
A couple of cracking games, the Romsey Vs Macedon game was obviously a ripper, while the Rams getting over Centrals would give them confidence in what was described as a game of halves, the Rams dominating the first half, Centrals the 2nd half, the difference in the game from all reports was Zerafa who kicked 4 playing on ball. Riddell have stamped themselves as favorites for the flag, a thumping and dominating performance against the reigning premiers, the Bombers are certainly back in town. Surprising win for the Magpies in what sounds like another gripping contest, I was told Jamesy had 7 out of the 8 at half time and finished with 9, so Wallan seemed to have found a solution in the second half. A disappointing start for Kilmore, they would have expected to walk away with a win in that game and the push for a top 4 spot might be questioned now..

What did YOU learn from Round 1.

I learnt
  • The Sunbury Kangaroos are certainly premiership contenders.
  • Riddell are the favorites for the flag, that win is as dominating as it gets.
  • Kilmore cant depend solely on the recruits and Booker, some of the guys that have always needed to lift, need to lift now.
  • Rockbank will be ultra competitive, they were missing one of thier best, Zerafa might give them a possible Bowen Medallist
  • Woodend/Hesket and Diggers Rest are going to be thier competitive selves, but will that be enough anymore?
  • Macedon might have lost a Bowen Medallist, but they haven't lost thier ability. A.McCarthur, D.Wright and a fit J.Wright means they are a top 4 contender.
Weekly ladder based on performance
Riddell
Macedon
Sunbury Kangaroos
Wallan
Romsey
Diggers Rest

Rockbank
Kilmore
Woodend/Hesket
Melton Centrals
Lancefield