RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 2)

Casey roberston , pretty sure he played with gissy before moving back to benalla. If i have the right person the bloke will be a massive inclusion for the cats- can play

RDFL 2010 Season - Round 12

A big weekend of footy in the RDFL after the Interleague break and we will see some games that could indeed shape the finals.

Woodend/Hesket FNC Vs Diggers Rest FNC
Gilbert Gordon Oval - Woodend
Two sides that will be desperate for wins face off in a game that is almost certain to be played in difficult conditions in Woodend. The Hawks are barely holding on to hope of finals football, a narrow loss to the ladder leaders last week in a game where they were in the contest for 3 quarters has them well placed heading into this vital home game. With Joel Goodyear in excellent form, the Hawks will be hoping for plenty out of a forward line that has promised a lot at times. Matt Knox, Ross Waters, Jim Hepburn and Rory Cross, it is a good list of names running around inside forward 50 and all of them will need to have an impact if they are to come away with 4 points. The Burra were slaughtered early by Lancefield last week but came flying back into the game to fall only by a couple of goals. They need to travel well here and while most sides struggle with the trip to Gilbert Gordon, the ground actually suits the Burra style of play, especially if it is heavy. Several Burra players represented the league last week and while some might question if that will have a negative effect, going on the performance of those players I think it will work the other way. Cole Laurie had an excellent second half and the hitout could only have done him good, while Shaun Sims and John Ryan were two of the RDFL's best. With Jeff Heritage in great form along with Stu Clarke, the Burra are finally starting to get their best available side on the park, Ruane and Poynton are over their injuries and with only 7 weeks to go, lets hope the Burra can get a run of good luck and have all of their best on the ground leading into finals.
Game Key: The leaders. Both sides need their best players to stand up and make the difference in this contest. Sims, Heritage, Laurie and Ruane for the Burra and Knox, Waters, Goodyear and Barker for the Hawks.
Diggers Rest by 22 points.

Wallan FNC Vs Broadford FNC
Greenhill Reserve - Wallan
The Magpies kept their season alive last week with a strong win against Centrals and will look to really cement that opportunity this week, they need a big win over the struggling Broadford here as percentage could become very important at the end of the season. A lot will rest on the ability to kick goals, Langbourne needs to be involved heavily to put a big score on the board. The Magpies midfield is motoring along nicely. Carl Groth is one of the leading midfielders in the competition while Shane Jacobs and David Saliba need to have an impact as well, some weeks the Magpies have found the going tough to combat opposition ruckmen with Bajric battling hard every week but it will start to wear him down, no such drama's this week as the Roos don't really have a recognised ruckman either. Young Jimmy Turner was very impressive in the interleague game with his ability to run and carry and a lovely long left foot kick. The Roos have had a tough year, but they had two representatives in the interleague game and both were fantastic. Chooka Barton is a talented player but has been interrupted with injury, hopefully his performance across half back in the interleague game will be a turning point as his performance after quarter time was very good, Grant Wearne did the job again, he was Mr Fix it in the backline, his balance and pace are a weapon and if the Roos can find the best way to use that, then they will see improvement in the side. A lot relies on players like these two, but signs are there for the Roos that there is plenty to build on.
Game Key: Scoring. If somehow the Roos can put early scoreboard pressure on the Magpies they might give themselves a show, as the Magpies are still looking for that scoring avenue that will provide consistency.
Wallan by 55 points.

Lancefield FNC Vs Rockbank FSC
Lancefield Park - Lancefield
The Tigers are flying, the Rams are not.. There isn't a lot more that can be said about this game. The Tigers key players are starting to find form at the right time and even though Collins will miss, a handy replacement may be available in the form of Ben Talbot. Brian Ruffell is hitting the scoreboard again and with Nathan Carroll and John Baker also consistently scoring, the Tigers forward stocks seem to be suring up. The Tigers also have one player that in recent weeks has impressed immensely in Glen Caton, a smallish onballer/forward who is very good overhead and can spot up a target, he is a very dangerous proposition for opposition sides as they focus on other members of the Tigers line up. The Rams are struggling, from all reports, while they got the win against Broadford, it was less than impressive. It did give them two wins for the year though, but they need much more improvement if they are to challenge the Tigers. A real highlight for the Rams though is Nathan Jackal, his attack on the ball is outstanding to watch, he is definitely one of the hardest midfielders in the competition...
Game Key: Stars. The best have to dominate for the Rams if they are any show, the reality is, they are no shot... The Tigers will win easily.
Lancefield by 65 points.

Melton Centrals FNC Vs Sunbury Kangaroos FNC
McPherson Park - Melton
This shapes as a very important game for the Roos coming up against Centrals after the break. Coming off two straight losses to Riddell and Macedon, they face a side that thrives on causing a big upset, Centrals will be set for this clash and being a side that was in a race with the Roos as the newest established clubs, they thrive on beating the Roos. Centrals would be disappointed with the result of their last home game being outplayed comprehensively by the Magpies and they have an opportunity to bounce back. Kane Bullen is a barometer for Centrals and if his form in the interleague game is anything to go by he is finding some touch. Centrals will need to try to get on top in the midfield and spread the Roos backline to create opportunities. Ben Notman and Brian Wheelahan were great in the first half a couple of weeks ago against the Roos and will need to bring their A game for 4 quarters. Centrals must keep the pressure up, tackling pressure could make the difference between a chance and a flogging. The Roos must bounce back and I fully expect them too. Leigh Fishenden again looms as the danger for Centrals, as does Ryan Hatty and Darragh McGovern, while a big game is only around the corner for Leigh McInerney, if he wants to. The Roos backline is starting to strengthen, with a couple of key players to come back in, the current guys in defense need to do the job to hold a place, the forwards need to start to work together, they have a potent attack the Kangaroos and look out if those players start to work it out, hopefully that isn't too far away.
Game Key: Space. Both sides have the capability of creating a spread which in turn will create space, the side that manages this first could take a big advantage.
Sunbury Kangaroos by 40 points.

Romsey FNC Vs Macedon FC
Romsey Park - Romsey
This game could either make or break both of these sides. With finals looming, the Redbacks could be put out of calculations with a beating here. Moorcroft returns and Cam Dawson will be playing his 3rd game back which will improve his match fitness. The loss of Ash McNaughton could hurt the Redbacks though, he had been the standout midfielder so far in 2010 and his broken hand could spell the end of his season. Keep an eye on Dawson and Smith-Whiting, both were ultra impressive on Saturday and could put on a show in front of the home fans this weekend. Much of the Redbacks season though rests with others. Steve Burlak, Shannon Green and Moorcroft can change the direction this club is heading in one game, but it needs to happen now, they can't afford to wait much longer. The battle of the big Yak and Ash Fleming could be pivitol. The Cats are just getting better every week and with the Big Rig due back this week and his brother's return on the horizon, the Cats could just be the big smoky at the moment, slowly gaining momentum and ladder position, with the midfield improving every week and two big targets, they are sure to make Saturday afternoon a tough day for the Redbacks, having a 2nd big target will also help the small forwards in Dylan Wright and Aaron Christianson, the Cats are on the move in 2010, a big win here puts them right in the calculations for a top 4 finish and momentum in the final weeks of the season.
Game Key: Run and carry. If the Cats are allowed to play their style, then it is going to be a long day for the Redbacks. The Cats have too many players that can impact the scoreboard and hurt the opposition. But beware the Redbacks, they have so many on the list that are excitement machines, they could just as easily turn the tables and put on a show of their own.
Macedon by 18 points.

Match of the Round
"The REMATCH"
Riddell FNC Vs Kilmore FNC
Riddells Creek Reserve - Riddell
The REMATCH that many have been waiting for. Will we see the "Riddell" of old, the take no prisoners, demolish the challenger, show no mercy, style of football that the Bombers over recent years have become known for? Or are we all enamoured with a side that is "pretending" to be the old school Riddell?? This weeks match will answer a lot of those questions. Kilmore think they have the Bombers measure. With Matt Robertson, Guy Booker and Adam Goudge through the midfield and Shaun Garland, Justin Collis and Jamesy up front. The Blues have been in great form, take out the loss to Lancefield, they simply outplayed the Bombers last time around. The Bombers will be desperate to bounce back, Cam McCabe should return to the side which is important as he was outstanding in the last game, Kilmore need this win to lock themselves in the top 4, while the Bombers can almost lock in a top two finish with a win. So the game is holds plenty of value for both clubs. If the Bombers play a similar style as last time, they are still a chance, but they need to capitilize on scoring opportunities, something that they failed to do in the first game. The Blues kicked straight and won the game. The conditions could be similar to first time around, the Riddell ground is in poor condition by all reports which could make the game a tougher contest. There is no doubt that this will be a fantastic clash though and the crowd is sure to get their money's worth.
Game Key: Key forwards. AJ dominated when it mattered most first time around, will the Bombers go with Ash again or will Jason Allen get the job. Matt Baird gave the Blues headaches first time around but lacked support, while Mick Allen had a brilliant opening quarter but struggled after quarter time. Whichever of the key forwards has the bigger impact, could just decide the result.
Riddell by 14 points.

In order of next RDFL drafted
Sheriden
Williams
Guthrie
Trotman
Plowman
O'rourke
Young
Piva

I know the first boy is from Riddell pal, & have been privileged to witness young Tommy's genuine footballing talents on a couple of occasions this season; But what clubs do the other guys hail from ?

Sheriden - Riddell/ Gissy/ Riddell
Williams - Rupo/ Gissy/ Rupo
Guthrie - Lions
Trotman - Kilmore/ Assumption
Plowman - Macedon
O'Rourke - Gisborne
Young - Sunbury Kangas
Piva - Melton sth/ Melton

Riddell gave Kilmore a flogging - 10.12 to 4.7 - in wet conditions at the Riddell Recreation Reserve.

Early scores I heard from Lancefield had the Tigers up 40 to 2 over Rockbank.

Riddell gave Kilmore a flogging - 10.12 to 4.7 - in wet conditions at the Riddell Recreation Reserve.

Early scores I heard from Lancefield had the Tigers up 40 to 2 over Rockbank.

WOW OH WOWWWW. What a " FLOGGING " Were u there mate? 6 goals at riddle! I suppose the blues are finished now then. Did u get regular updates from omnipotent 1? :thumbsdown:

Woodend by 4 points over Diggers & Romsey got up by 9 points over Macedon.

And congratulations are in order to Dean "Bomber" Besanko, who notched up his 200th senior game today in Riddells gutsy win over Kilmore........ Well done Bomber, & all the best for the rest of the season.

WOW OH WOWWWW. What a " FLOGGING " Were u there mate? 6 goals at riddle! I suppose the blues are finished now then. Did u get regular updates from omnipotent 1? :thumbsdown:

I think double the amount of scoring shots, in those conditions, warrants a touch up. At three quarter time the Bombers were by 7.12 to 2.3 - well and truly in command. Blues got a couple of consolation goals. And yes, some of my updates were from OMNI, what's your point?

Well yesterday was just a terrible day for football and the conditions certainly provided some interesting results around the competition.
I travelled up to Maccy Park to see if the Kangaroos could bounce back after a couple of disappointing losses and was treated to a very good performance...

The opening quarter seen Centrals kick with a stiff breeze and looking to take advantage they were able to open the quarter full of attack, unfortunately though they were unable to take advantage in the opening minutes with the Kangaroos backline holding strong, Jamie Cuffe and Jake Powell in particular constantly repelling any Centrals move's forward. The Roos settled into the quarter as it went on and started to move the ball well into the wind. Leigh and Mark McInerney were racking up plenty of possession while Chris Meacham was looking dangerous across the half forward line. A great running goal into the wind by Nathan Hole had the Roos in front but a very dodgy late holding the ball decision handed Centrals a goal to go into quarter time only a point down.
The second quarter the Roos kicked well and truly into gear. It took only ten seconds for the first score of the quarter through Meacham, followed by another before a snap by Leigh McInerney (a ripping goal too) had the Roos on a roll. Another to Meacham and one to Leigh Sporle and the Roos had a big lead going into half time and full control of the contest.
The third quarter saw the continuation of the Roos dominance in the contest. Centrals didn't seem to have the answers, but in all reality, there were no answers to be had, this was a different Roos side to recent weeks, the forward structure was solid, the ball movement was excellent and the link up also excellent. Rob Zahra and Matt Welsh were finding plenty of the ball through the midfield while both McInerney's continued to find plenty of the ball. I have made it clear several times that this year I think the umpiring has been very good, solid and consistent, well, I can honestly say that wasn't the case yesterday.. Yes, the game was one sided and the Kangaroos were clearly in the run of the play, but some of the umpiring decisions, particularly by one umpire (Im not sure what Dave Caccamo did to this umpire but he may not have given way when he should have or something) was almost flabbergasting... Complete and utter inconsistency and frankly, a little disappointing.
The last quarter became a little messy as Centrals threw numbers behind the ball, playing a one man forward line at times. But the Kangaroos had done enough to suggest that they have settled and with a few big weeks ahead, could be back on track.

My Votes

3 - Jake Powell (SK)
2 - Matthew Welsh (SK)
1 - Rob Zahra (SK)

What I learned from Round 12
  • Diggers Rest are now positioned very precariously inside the top 6. With both Wallan and Romsey winning yesterday, the Burra might have to rely on percentage to make it in. Their season is on the line and they face their local rivals this week.
  • Riddell made a statement, they were always going to send a message one way or another, for them, it was the right message.
  • We might just be looking at a massive clash come Round 18 at Wallan.
  • While Woodend have been impressive the last couple of weeks, the run may have just come too late.
  • Lancefield and Riddell have just about locked the top two spots. A win this week by the Roos will lock in their spot in the top 4, with Kilmore and Macedon fighting out for fourth.
Performance ladder - Round 12

Riddell
Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Woodend/Hesket
Lancefield
Wallan

Diggers Rest
Macedon
Broadford
Melton Centrals
Rockbank
Kilmore

Riddell
Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Woodend/Hesket
Lancefield
Wallan

Diggers Rest
Macedon
Broadford
Melton Centrals
Rockbank
Kilmore

Kilmore loose to top team on their dunghill and get rated last, Diggers Rest loose to a team lower than them and rated 7th ??????

Oh thats right Kangas play Diggers next week cant give em to much reason :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Riddell
Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Woodend/Hesket
Lancefield
Wallan

Diggers Rest
Macedon
Broadford
Melton Centrals
Rockbank
Kilmore

Yeah alright pal I'll bite too !

I'd have mine -

Riddell
Woodend
Romsey - (In no particular order)

Macedon
Diggers Rest - (Same) - (loosers, but only just. In tight contests, against quality opposition)

Sunbury
Lancefield
Wallan - (same) - (all had highly expected wins)

Kilmore
Rockbank
Melton
Broadford

PS. Great work though pal; The place would be a boring old read without you ! :thumbsu:

Well yesterday was just a terrible day for football and the conditions certainly provided some interesting results around the competition.
I travelled up to Maccy Park to see if the Kangaroos could bounce back after a couple of disappointing losses and was treated to a very good performance...

The opening quarter seen Centrals kick with a stiff breeze and looking to take advantage they were able to open the quarter full of attack, unfortunately though they were unable to take advantage in the opening minutes with the Kangaroos backline holding strong, Jamie Cuffe and Jake Powell in particular constantly repelling any Centrals move's forward. The Roos settled into the quarter as it went on and started to move the ball well into the wind. Leigh and Mark McInerney were racking up plenty of possession while Chris Meacham was looking dangerous across the half forward line. A great running goal into the wind by Nathan Hole had the Roos in front but a very dodgy late holding the ball decision handed Centrals a goal to go into quarter time only a point down.
The second quarter the Roos kicked well and truly into gear. It took only ten seconds for the first score of the quarter through Meacham, followed by another before a snap by Leigh McInerney (a ripping goal too) had the Roos on a roll. Another to Meacham and one to Leigh Sporle and the Roos had a big lead going into half time and full control of the contest.
The third quarter saw the continuation of the Roos dominance in the contest. Centrals didn't seem to have the answers, but in all reality, there were no answers to be had, this was a different Roos side to recent weeks, the forward structure was solid, the ball movement was excellent and the link up also excellent. Rob Zahra and Matt Welsh were finding plenty of the ball through the midfield while both McInerney's continued to find plenty of the ball. I have made it clear several times that this year I think the umpiring has been very good, solid and consistent, well, I can honestly say that wasn't the case yesterday.. Yes, the game was one sided and the Kangaroos were clearly in the run of the play, but some of the umpiring decisions, particularly by one umpire (Im not sure what Dave Caccamo did to this umpire but he may not have given way when he should have or something) was almost flabbergasting... Complete and utter inconsistency and frankly, a little disappointing.
The last quarter became a little messy as Centrals threw numbers behind the ball, playing a one man forward line at times. But the Kangaroos had done enough to suggest that they have settled and with a few big weeks ahead, could be back on track.

My Votes

3 - Jake Powell (SK)
2 - Matthew Welsh (SK)
1 - Rob Zahra (SK)

What I learned from Round 12
  • Diggers Rest are now positioned very precariously inside the top 6. With both Wallan and Romsey winning yesterday, the Burra might have to rely on percentage to make it in. Their season is on the line and they face their local rivals this week.
  • Riddell made a statement, they were always going to send a message one way or another, for them, it was the right message.
  • We might just be looking at a massive clash come Round 18 at Wallan.
  • While Woodend have been impressive the last couple of weeks, the run may have just come too late.
  • Lancefield and Riddell have just about locked the top two spots. A win this week by the Roos will lock in their spot in the top 4, with Kilmore and Macedon fighting out for fourth.

Riddell
Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Woodend/Hesket
Lancefield
Wallan

Diggers Rest
Macedon
Broadford
Melton Centrals
Rockbank
Kilmore

OMG!! IMS is prepared to say Umpiring was bad. Iv'e been saying it for weeks now!! Last time I named umps and i got cained (sorry rhys) BUT come on now Those umpires were terrible on Saturday. And it did have a bearing on the result!! Kangas would of won by 15 goals if the umps were consistant! But I Digress. Robbie Zahra take a bow my friend. You and Jake Powell had it on a string. Hope my pre-game speech helped! You could throw a blanket over the next 8 players. But welcome back Bobby johnson. Also Grub's goal was an absolute freak of a goal!!! (even if it was his second kick of the day!!! ) LOL

I will call it as I see it and the umpiring on the weekend was terrible.. ALL other games I have seen this year there has been nothing wrong with the standard of umpiring at all... So you can jump up and down all you like, someone said once before, it is only my opinion, and my opinion is, they were terrible.

Give it a spell HFF (the support you received sums it up).. I will justify, even though at least I have a crack...

Kilmore are rated a top four side, they didn't lose, in those conditions, they got comprehensively beaten. Diggers played a side that is widely known to perform better at home, by less than a kick, it those same conditions, only worsened by the fact that the game was at Woodend (We all know your opinion of that ground). As for giving Diggers a "reason", if Diggers have to use a performance based ladder that is an opinion of only one (me) as inspiritation because I am affiliated with the Kangaroos, then the first two minutes of the game will be super exciting, after that, it will just be like any other game.

PS. On further reflection, I would have Romsey 2nd and Sunbury 3rd... :D

what does that mean , macedon have lost form or the competition is that even !!!!

I reckon it means and shows how romsey have not performed at there best this year, Im sure those at romsey would agree they have under performed for the first half of the season.They are a quality side and were very switched on in what was one of the worst days for footy ive ever seen. It was a tough day for all players(not much fun for spectators either)

moorcroft was massive. In the last quarter romsey must have had 7 or 8 scoring shots in the first 10 minutes and he was just about involved in all of them. His experience was crucial and in the howling wind he was able to read the play much better than anyone else on the ground and was also alot cleaner than anyone else.

The comp is very even and I reckon the side that finishes 3rd will not go into the first week of finals with a stack of confidence. Romsey, diggers, Macedon or kilmore could all still finish 6th and be very very hard to beat.

I will call it as I see it and the umpiring on the weekend was terrible.. ALL other games I have seen this year there has been nothing wrong with the standard of umpiring at all... So you can jump up and down all you like, someone said once before, it is only my opinion, and my opinion is, they were terrible.

It was possibly harder to umpire a game in those conditions than to play.. speaking to another umpire on the day, one would see a free kick and in some cases the reaction to get to the whistle in time was a heck of a lot slower because it was that darn cold, a bit going on in the packs, that was hard to see because it was harder to physically get into position, slower brand of footy.. you make the great point that there was nothing wrong the standard of umpiring in all other games.. the players skills may not have been that flash, like wise with the umpires and the conditions didn't help.. I umpired two at Romsey and I rate them as the two worst I'll ever do, it was a battle to be out on the park.. but all in all, good opinion.. lets hope we see some great conditions this weekend with a fantastic brand of football to boot.

looking in the paper there were no bests for kilmore or goal kickers results, anyone at the game who can tell me there best players for kilmore were ....???? and is goudge back playing yet ????