RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 3)

guy booker didnt come third in kilmores best and fairest!

Was it you then Van?? I got told it was Guy then you... But the info might have been tainted due to the amount of alcohol consumed by the informant.. :p

Well, what a super weekend of football we have ahead of us. Although i keep a close eye on hawks and cats i get to a lot of rdfl games and this is my take.
On sat i expect riddell to comfortably account for a lancefield team on the slide. The bombers are cherry ripe while the tiges win/loss has been inflated by a favorable draw this year. I have seen both Waters & B allen on a few occasions this year and allen would certainly be my choice for ruckman of season. He gives more around the ground and Waters kicking is still ordinary. Collins v Climas will be a great match up if allowed by the coaches. I think Riddells depth to shone through and prob be the most onesided of the 3 games this weekend.
On sun two outstanding contests. Diggers v Macedon elimination final for third year in a row. In 08 the cats were well behind the top 5 and got beaten like it, in 09 it was a game of 2 halfs - the young cats were brilliant in first half and the burra were terrible and then the second half was the opposite. Experience and bigger bodies came through and the burra ended up winning in a canter and should of beaten the eventual premiers the tiges the week after but lost by a point. This year there form is much the same. They only met once where cats won by a few goals i think. Both have had to win last 3 just to make 6 and along with romsey are capable of winning flag from this spot. I have a lot of respect for both these clubs as they are small towns fighting hard against the big boys. Both have question marks over them in finals. Cats having not won one yet since coming back and diggers so often falling short over past decade when they should have won at least 1 flag. I reckon it will be less than 10 points either way.
Sunbury v Romsey will be an old fashioned free for all. Both teams are recognised as the most physical in the comp but also the 2 most undisciplined. They will both hit hard but the team that wins the hard footy will be the ones that come out on top. So many awesome match ups. I expect A Walsh to go with Moorcroft and maybe S Clark to go to Dawson. If the roos can contain these 2 they prob win. Redbacks dont seem to worry about tagging but they badly need Kairns to limit Meacham and Burlak to play in defence again to shut down Cuffe. I am looking forward to this game so much i have put it over the other one to attend. The redbacks have come good again but the Roos simply HAVE to win this game or the backlash will be huge. For that reason plaus the home ground advantage i expect the roos to win by 21 points.
Good luck to all, i hope the umpires do a good job and the weather is ok.
NBF

Under 18's Finals - Week 1

The Under 18's finals kick off this week with some interesting games.

Qualifying Final
Saturday 9.30am - Romsey Park
Macedon Vs Kilmore
The top two sides in the Under 18 competition meet in what is sure to be a classic match up. Both sides have a chock full list of stars, the Cats led by Mark Strickland, Tom Hansford, Josh Clough and Riley Kindred as well as young gun Lachie Plowman who last week made his senior debut, Lachlan is probably the most exciting prospect in the RDFL and if he plays this week spectators will have the opportunity to witness a pure young talent in action.
The Blues are stacked with talent of their own. Led by youngsters such as Matthew Traynor, Brett Maher, Alex Desmond and Rhys Way. Key for the Blues will be Codey Phillips returning from the Senior side. Codey is one of the most talented youngsters in the competition and had a breakout year in the senior competition..
These two sides have had a rich history in the Under 18 competition in recent years, particularly in finals, a couple of games decided by less than a kick. This one should be no different, a classic match up that is sure to entertain all that are there.

Previous Meetings
Round 7 - Macedon 8.15.63 d Kilmore 5.3.33
Key Player
Macedon - Lachlan Plowman
Kilmore - Codey Phillips
Macedon by 14 points..

1st Elimination Final
Sunday 9.30am - Eric Boardman Reserve
Riddell Vs Romsey
The first elimination final sees the Redbacks with their backs against the wall against a Riddell side that has clearly been in the best 3 with Kilmore and Macedon in 2010. The Redbacks will go into the game undermanned with several key players representing the senior side which is a credit to the Romsey side. But the Bombers also have had several key members represent the senior side in 2010. The Bombers have one of the most talented youngsters in the competition in Matt Vandenberg who leads the competition goalkicking, the Redbacks will need to reduce his influence on the game this week. James Nolan also provides an excellent option inside forward 50. Travis Thorogood has been exceptional for the Redbacks all season and will need to have an influence on this weeks game for the Redbacks to have any hope. But the Bombers season has been impressive and should continue into the second week of finals with a shot at a Grand Final appearance next week.

Previous Meetings
Round 5 - Romsey 7.6.48 lt Riddell 11.4.70
Round 13 - Riddell 13.8.86 d Romsey 4.5.29
Key Player
Riddell - Matt Vandenberg
Romsey - Travis Thorogood
Riddell by 28 points

2nd Elimination Final
Sunday 9.30am - Ian Cowie Reserve
Woodend/Hesket Vs Diggers Rest
A tough ask lies ahead for the Burra when they take on the Hawks. The interest will surround who will be available to play for the Burra when it comes to senior commitments. Last week star forward Jack Sheehan played seniors, will he play there again this week or go back to help the unders advance. The Hawks will have a full compliment available for selection. Brendan Backhouse, Dolf Reid, Matthew Sawyer, Harrison Huntley and Daniel Toman will all be available for selection in the Under 18 side, which gives the Hawks a very strong line up to take on the Burra. Having these players available will make EJ's side too strong for the Burra and although they have had a solid season look as though they will make an exit in the first week.

Previous Meetings
Round 1 - Diggers Rest 5.4.34 lt Woodend/Hesket 13.11.89
Round 12 - Woodend/Hesket 8.10.58 d Diggers Rest 7.3.45
Key Player
Woodend/Hesket - Daniel Toman
Diggers Rest - Jack Sheehan
Woodend/Hesket by 40 points.

Rockbank had it's vote count on Sunday which saw Jaime Zerafa winning the best and fairest for the club. Followed closely by Matthew Krul in second. Well done to both boys on a great season.

Just a few issues why are they playing finals at boardman the ground isnt suitable for finals the Sunbury boys will be rapt. Leigh fishendon easily best ruckman in comp how didn't he get invite for team of year. Kangas need to really step it up this week have abit of belief that u guys can go all the way.Aaron James please stay in RDFL.

Thats only one :D.
The ground will be fine, yes it will not be a beautiful green as summer grass never is in winter. the ground was rolled last week and has been trained on only once in the past 3 weeks, and no games since the Woodend game 3 weeks ago.

Looking forward to this week especially the roos and romsey game. You would think the roos should win comfortably but Romsey have the match winners to really push them. I think romsey may struggle to cover the roos big forwards in the end. I also think Romsey can be a little suspect physically against certain teams. Will certainly be going to this game.

The other games are also interesting. Macedon vs Diggers at Rockbank should be a good tussle. I think the cats will probably be a bit quick for the diggers boys and have a few to many weapons. Diggers will have a go though.

I am tipping Riddell to be to strong for Lancefield. They have been on top all year and I dont see why that would change now given Lancefield have dropped 2 in a row. The ruck duel will be huge and so will the midfield battle. Same ground as last years prelim final as well.

Thats only one :D.
The ground will be fine, yes it will not be a beautiful green as summer grass never is in winter. the ground was rolled last week and has been trained on only once in the past 3 weeks, and no games since the Woodend game 3 weeks ago.

Well then that would have to mean that Riddell will be playing at Lancefield and Lancefield playing at Wallan next week.

Did you say rolling the dirt? Summer grass is a poor option for football. Cooch grass not only dies off over winter it also loses all its ‘leaf’. What you end up playing on is a spider web of ‘runners’ – hence the colour. The only benefit is it ties the ground together a little better than normal grasses. If you look at the grounds in the RDFL that have it, they look shocking and under normal winter conditions give no benefit. Wallan’s ground as an example is a mess and has been for over half the season. Cricketers and Water Boards love them, for the rest they are, in my opinion, ugly rubbish.

I have been reliably told Kilmore were approached to hold one of the semi finals after both Riddell and Macedon pulled themselves out – not a RDFL decision. Riddell due to wetness and Macedon just told them they wouldn’t hold a semi. The same decision Kilmore came to two years ago.

Reserves Finals - Week 1

The Reserves finals series shapes up as a race in 3.. But is that the way it will pan out?? It never seems to...

Qualifying Final
12.00pm - Romsey Park
Riddell Vs Macedon
Two of the standout sides of the year in the Reserves competition. The matches prior to this one have been crackers and nothing less should be expected here. The Bombers side is littered with Senior players from the past and some that have been in and out over the course of this season. Dean "Bomber" Besanko, Braeden Whittard, Kane North, Mick Burnett, Jason Crotty. The Bombers list goes on and on, much like the senior side. The Cats were strengthened with the return of Scott Carter half way through the season and finished 2nd. With the consistent performances of youngsters like Matt Goodwin who is outstanding around the stoppages, the Cats will push the Bombers right to the limit, this should be a classic match up to kick off the finals series.

Previous Meetings
Round 3 - Macedon 7.6.48 d Riddell 5.7.37
Round 15 - Riddell 10.6.66 d Macedon 8.3.51
Key Player
Riddell - Dean Besanko
Macedon - Matthew Goodwin
Riddell by 15 points

1st Elimination Final
Sunday 12.00pm - Boardman Reserve
Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Romsey
The perfect preview to the seniors match is set to take place when these two clash for a spot in the 2nd week. The Sunbury Kangaroos are well and truly in the box seat in this finals series. They are the third side of the trio that have dominated the competition this year and they have what can only be considered as the "softer" draw through to next weeks Semi Final to qualify for a grand final. While Riddell and Macedon slug it out, the Kangaroos face a Romsey side determined to make it to the second week, but the Redbacks probably lack the quality to match it with the Roos, but if the Roos take them lightly, they will find themselves very very surprised. Ben Hunting has been in great form for the Roos in recent weeks, his versatility means he can play anywhere and be an option for the Roos. The Redbacks have some quality of their own though, "Dipper" has dominated the competition and will surely have something to say about the result on the weekend, and who could forget one of the greatest to don the boots, our own "Harry" Wilson...

Previous Meetings
Round 4 - Sunbury Kangaroos 11.9.75 d Romsey 6.7.43
Key Player
Sunbury Kangaroos - Leigh Sporle :cool:
Romsey - Mark Dipietro
Sunbury Kangaroos by 35 points

2nd Elimination Final
Sunday 12.00pm - Ian Cowie Reserve
Kilmore Vs Diggers Rest
These two sides played out a cracker only a couple of weeks ago, so expect nothing different here. A disappointing finish to the season for the Burra dropping last week's game against the Tigers, but they have a chance to bounce back here. Will they need to rely on the experience of the old guard Mick Sheehan and Tim Bourne or can they gain a boost from the younger guns in Rhys Hannan, Anthony Manago and Andrew Gleeson. The Blues have the leagues leading goalkicker in Simon Heather who had the kicking boots back on last week, they have a relatively young side the Blues and will certainly look at taking the game on this week.

Previous Meetings
Round 4 - Kilmore 14.6.90 d Diggers Rest 8.3.51
Round 17 - Diggers Rest 6.9.45 lt Kilmore 8.8.56

Key Player
Kilmore - Simon Heather
Diggers Rest - Anthony Manago
Kilmore by 22 points.

Well then that would have to mean that Riddell will be playing at Lancefield and Lancefield playing at Wallan next week.

What would make you come to that decision Blues 12?

Considering Sunbury Kangas are at home this week aren't they, then what would be the difference if Lancefield played at home next week then?

By right, from what I am led to believe of RDFL grounds this year, Romsey, Lancefield and Macedon are the premier grounds this time of year, so why would we not use them regardless?

Just food for thought too, If the club doesn't want to hold a final, then the league should hold it themselves and take the rewards and put it back in their pocket. Might be a way to help fix some of the missing financials quicker.

Re: Reserves Finals - Week 1

2nd Elimination Final
Kilmore Vs Diggers Rest
These two sides played out a cracker only a couple of weeks ago, so expect nothing different here. A disappointing finish to the season for the Burra dropping last week's game against the Tigers, but they have a chance to bounce back here. Will they need to rely on the experience of the old guard Mick Sheehan and Tim Bourne or can they gain a boost from the younger guns in Rhys Hannan, Anthony Manago and Andrew Gleeson. The Blues have the leagues leading goalkicker in Simon Heather who had the kicking boots back on last week, they have a relatively young side the Blues and will certainly look at taking the game on this week.

Would hardly call 5.6 having the kicking boots back on IMS :p Ressie boys are defs looking for a big finals campaign tho, i think you ll find the blue boys are a lot closer to the cream than ppl think :thumbsu:

What would make you come to that decision Blues 12?

Considering Sunbury Kangas are at home this week aren't they, then what would be the difference if Lancefield played at home next week then?

By right, from what I am led to believe of RDFL grounds this year, Romsey, Lancefield and Macedon are the premier grounds this time of year, so why would we not use them regardless?

Just food for thought too, If the club doesn't want to hold a final, then the league should hold it themselves and take the rewards and put it back in their pocket. Might be a way to help fix some of the missing financials quicker.

I was expecting a reply like that, as everybody always says if lancefield make it to the big dance they always have the advantage of playing on their home turf. to have two chances on their home turf would be a disadvantage to the rest of the finals participants.
If you want to get technical if Lancefield lose to riddell they will then be classed as the away side the following week therefore i would see it as an unfare advantage against either diggers or macedon.
If they are to beat riddell then I would say they deserve the right to play at home as they will then be the higher placed side.

2nd Elimination Final
Kilmore Vs Diggers Rest

Would hardly call 5.6 having the kicking boots back on IMS :p Ressie boys are defs looking for a big finals campaign tho, i think you ll find the blue boys are a lot closer to the cream than ppl think :thumbsu:

Well pal, it is much better than 2.9, and from your pal Doona in recent weeks you have been closer to that than the 5.6 on the weekend :p

I do hope that is the case mate, but if the Roos get up on the weekend, it is the tough road for the Blues.. That is my only concern.. While I think they should account for the Burra, to then have to face any of Riddell, Macedon and the Roos 3 straight weeks is a big ask....

I was expecting a reply like that, as everybody always says if lancefield make it to the big dance they always have the advantage of playing on their home turf. to have two chances on their home turf would be a disadvantage to the rest of the finals participants.
If you want to get technical if Lancefield lose to riddell they will then be classed as the away side the following week therefore i would see it as an unfare advantage against either diggers or macedon.
If they are to beat riddell then I would say they deserve the right to play at home as they will then be the higher placed side.

Lancefield losing to the top team should still be ranked higher than a winner of the 4 v 5 game. AFL - if Geelong beat the Saints (3rd) in week one and Freo (5) beat the Blues - Freo as a winner will still travel to Victoria to play the losing Saints in week 2 of the finals.

The RDFL can cut the grey area out by awarding home finals to the highest placed team. The Grand Final should always be at Lancefield, as the AFL at the MCG, QEO for the BenFL etc. Does anyone know why venues are set in stone months out from the finals??

No issue with Sunba Roos getting a home final in week 1 or Lancefield in week 2. It should however be the norm and not the exception.

Well pal, it is much better than 2.9, and from your pal Doona in recent weeks you have been closer to that than the 5.6 on the weekend :p

I do hope that is the case mate, but if the Roos get up on the weekend, it is the tough road for the Blues.. That is my only concern.. While I think they should account for the Burra, to then have to face any of Riddell, Macedon and the Roos 3 straight weeks is a big ask....

Your definately right but i think looking back on the yr we knocked off sunbury by 4 goals at home, lost to macedon by 3 points over there after kicking 6.14, bogey team have been riddell, beating us both times in the wet by 5 goals and 2 goals respectively...think its definatley gonna be a very tight finals series :thumbsu:

The Roos side you played in Round 1 is significantly different to the Roos side running around now mate... But I am sure that is the case for you boys as well... To be honest, I hope that you guys and the Roos win this week and the following week, then you guys can get up in the prelim and meet the Roos in the GF.. :cool:

The RDFL can cut the grey area out by awarding home finals to the highest placed team. The Grand Final should always be at Lancefield, as the AFL at the MCG, QEO for the BenFL etc. Does anyone know why venues are set in stone months out from the finals??

No issue with Sunba Roos getting a home final in week 1 or Lancefield in week 2. It should however be the norm and not the exception.

Are they??????? I think you will find only a month before the end of season clubs are asked to apply for finals.:confused: ground conditions can change alot in 4 weeks. that is why we have seen venue changes for the first 2 weeks

It has been confirmed that Lancefield will be hosting the qualifying final next week.

Hay boys, i heard on the grape vine B/Ford might be on the move back to the HDFL,only one catch they will(HDFL) have to have U18's for them to move back.By all reports a few clubs in the HDFL are pushing for U18's next year

RDFL 2010 Season - 2nd Elimination Final

2nd Elimination Final
Diggers Rest FNC Vs Macedon FC
Ian Cowie Reserve - Rockbank
2.30PM Sunday

Last time they met
Macedon 8.9.57 def Diggers Rest 7.3.45

A flash back to 12 months ago is going to take place this weekend as the Diggers Rest Burras tackle the Macedon Cats in the 2nd Elimination Final. When we look back to the corresponding game 12 months ago, most would remember the Darren Goodwin inspired Cats playing inspired football in the first half to look as though they were heading into the second week of finals before an insipid 2nd half not only let the Burra back into the game, but saw them run away with a convincing and dominating win. The Cats were mauled in that 2nd half. Physically pounded at every contest as the Burra did as they pleased. John Ryan dismantled Ash Fleming, Goodwin was so exhausted from his first half that Jeff Heritage put on a show in the second half, while the ever reliable Shaun Sims entertained the crowd. But we are 12 months on, both sides have changes to their lists and the situation seems to be much different. The Cats have actually managed to fly under the radar this year, when many thought that the focus would be well and truly on whether they could turn around the events of last year. They have managed to do what Diggers have long been the best at, get the job done when required and put themselves into the finals, with not as much pressure on them. But the pressure rises this week and that is where Diggers are at their best, can the Cats follow suit in this way too? The question marks still exist on whether the Cats can handle a more physical and contested style of game, a style that the Burra have made their bread and butter at times. The Cats like to build an attack from behind a stoppage. Feed the ball back to open space and then have their runners burn the opposition off the park. The Burra have always used a similar method, but the space they create from feeding backward is used more with efficient use of the football, strong skills and use of targets. If they are able to get going in this mode on Sunday, then it will slow the Cats down into a contested game, something they may not be too comfortable with. Have the Cats improved since 12 months ago, undoubtably.. Sure, they lost the 2009 Bowen Medallist, but may just have the 2010 Bowen Medallist, who is effectively a recruit after a severely hampered 2009 through injury, James Wright has had a breakout year for the Cats. On a weekly basis he is now the barometer that drives the Macedon FC, but his memory from his last visit to Ian Cowie wouldn't be a fond one, he suffered from a heavy tag that day. James McCarthur has gone back overseas, but I am not sold that this will have a negative impact on the Cats as he didn't have the impact suspected on his short return during the season. The Cats will rely heavily on the Al Meldrum and Ash Fleming forward set up to create the structure they require to put a winning score on the board, add to those two the overhead marking ability and ability to kick a goal when needed of Aaron Christianson and the freakish skills around goal of Dylan Wright and the Cats have a forward set up capable of kicking a massive score, and lets not forget young gun Daniel Markworth who has played his first full year of senior football and created all kinds of headaches for the opposition. Darren Goodwin will need to impact as he did in the first half 12 months ago, but he will need to sustain that effort over 4 quarters, at least in 2010 he has support with James Wright. With Daniel Sandle in the ruck, it will be interesting to see what the Cats decide to do with Jae Wilton, the Burra have a smaller type forward 50, but Wilton has the pace to match these players, but do the Cats use the option of releasing him up the ground, maybe on a wing to provide some drive. The Cats have a great blend of youth and experience. With Meldrum, Fleming and Adam Johnstone, they have the wise heads with finals experience that last year seemed to be lacking. While the youthful exuberance of youngsters like Jack Mills, the Markworth brothers and Matty Dettman should give a boost to the guys around them.
The Burra have done in 2010 exactly what they have done every year in the past 5 years. They have built as the season has developed, put themselves in a position to play finals football and are now ready to unleash. I had the pleasure of watching their last two games against the Blues and Tigers and let me just say, that anyone that underrates the Burra's chances in the 2010 finals series should be very careful as they could get bitten once again. What a group of players Glen Hopkins has developed in his time with the Burra, starting from the Captain, I was reading back some of the older threads just the other day for a bit of a flash back, I cant believe that at one stage I questioned the ability of Shaun Sims and questioned whether maybe he was just a hangout that got a little more credit than he deserved. Shaun Sims is definitely one of the best players in the RDFL, he has been over a sustained period of time, he is also far and away the best captain and leader in the competition, he might not be the loudest, most animated captain on the field, but he knows what he needs to do and when he needs to do it to fire up the soldiers that follow him. Jeff Heritage was in vintage form last week, he dominated the centre of the ground and seemed as though no opposition player wanted to go anywhere near him. Along with Stuart Clarke, Heritage was a major reason as to why the Burra were in a position to win last weeks game. The Burra midfield just continue to stand up and get the job done. Dylan Kite, Steve Ruane, Dan Reilly, Craig Marshall, Tom Gleeson, these guys just keep pushing numbers through the middle of the ground to create options. Their forward set up at times looks as though they might not get the job done with the players inside forward 50, but it is their defensive ability that means that the guys inside forward 50 have a chance to kick a winning score. Sims played predominantly across half forward last week, with Ruane and Dan McCabe deep, while it didn't look overly threatening, it got the job done. In recent weeks Cole Laurie has been playing off a half back line, he has done ok, but I would prefer to see him in a more dangerous position, I still think that when he is on a wing he plays his best football, as long as his body can handle it. The Burra's strength is the players that others might not consider stars of the competition, they are all capable of just getting the job done week in and week out. Tom Gleeson, Dan Reilly, John Ryan, Kris Marsh, Shane Marchewka, Michael Hildebrand and Brad Sluggett. It truly would be a great thing to be a supporter of a side that no matter what, you know they will give every ounce of energy they have when they represent the jumper. Keep an eye out for this side, because this time of year is when this Burra side are capable of anything.

Game Key: Both of these sides will work the ball back of a contest and look to open the game the way they want it. The Burra use Heritage as a target coming out of defensive 50 and Leigh Rust across the half forward line. The Burra rely on opening themselves up so there is a lack of pressure on the guy disposing of the football with means they can hit up a target. They are also the most disciplined side in the competition when they dont have the ball in their hands. It makes them a dangerous opponent.
The Cats will look to run run run, an open and free flowing contest means the Cats will be at their best. Unlike the Burra, the Cats don't rely as much on hitting the target straight up, they are happy to put the ball into space and let their teammates run onto the ball, backing each other to win the foot race to the ball, this allows the game to remain open and free flowing.

Key Match-ups:
John Ryan (DR) Vs Ash Fleming (Mac) - Ryan is highly underrated outside of his club. His job on Fleming last year was superb, he will need to kurb the influence of Fleming again this week.
Tom Gleeson (DR) Vs James Wright (Mac) - Witnessed the job Gleeson did on Matt Robertson two weeks ago. Whether they use Gleeson is the question, but a battle of these young guns will be a pleasure to watch.
Jeff Heritage (DR) Vs Darren Goodwin (Mac) - Two guys that love to control the middle of the ground. A real contest to watch, might be a red head thing.

Prediction: This is a real in the balance result, if the Burra are fit, they will throw everything they have at the Cats and grind them down as they did the Tigers and Blues in the past two weeks. While the Cats have the out and out stars, if the game turns into showtime, expect the Cats to walk away with it.
Diggers Rest by 22 points.

RDFL 2010 Season - 1st Elimination Final

1st Elimination Final
Sunbury Kangaroos FNC Vs Romsey FNC
Eric Boardman Reserve - Sunbury
2.30PM Sunday

Last time they met
Round 4
Sunbury Kangaroos 9.8.62 def Romsey 8.9.57

From all the talk this week, this seems to be the most anticipated clash of the first week of the finals series. The Kangaroos, who last year finished in 7th position and out of finals, recruited heavily over the off season with new coach Dean Helmers instilling several young players into the list to create what would become the side that jumped to 3rd in 2010. Darragh McGovern, Ryan Hatty, Dan Gregory (All ex VAFA), Mitch Strieff (Ex BFL), Jake Powell (Ex BFL) and Brenton Sutherland (Ex BFL), as well as the addition of experienced players such as Chris Meacham, Adam Fenton and David Caccamo. It was an extensive off season for the Roos and when added to that the improvement of young players such as Matt Leonard and the players that took it to the next level like Matt Welsh and Joeb Ploog. The Roos have had a successful year under Helmers highlighted by this opportunity to play finals football and be in a healthy position to have an opportunity at qualifying for a Grand Final next week. The Roos do have areas to improve though, and I look forward to watching over the next few weeks and into next year as they create their own opportunities. Currently, I think the Roos still struggle to have a consistant plan as to how they want to structure their game, they have a tendancy to play just pure football, which has been relatively successful for them so far this year. Although heading into the future I am sure they would like to settle into some type of system. For the Roos to go deep into the finals though, it is some of the old hands that need to step up. Leigh McInerney has played some brilliant football in the time I have been lucky enough to see him run around, in fact, two of the best games I have seen him play were against the Redbacks. If he is switched on to attack the football and knows that his form could well play a big role in the result, all that can be said is watch out to any finals opponents. His brother Mark is another, such a talented footballer who has suffered badly at the hands of injury. His ability to find the ball and use it will be important to the Roos, if he is up and going, the forwards can look forward to being provided opportunity to impact the game. Finally, Jamie Cuffe, once again, I am not sure there is a type of player that you would want more as part of your list. He might be getting older, but you could never tell, he gives his all for the club, never questions a role he needs to fill and always provides exactly what is wanted from him. If he is in his best form come this weekend he can become impossible to stop, in an area where Romsey just might have it's biggest issue, it's defense.
The Redbacks come into this game as the form side of the competition, put simply, they are on fire. The best of the Redbacks have really come to the fore in recent weeks. Gary Moorcroft, Cam Dawson, Dean Smith-Whiting, Ryan Connellan, Shannon Green, Brad Mitchell, Steve Burlak - The list goes on and on. The most impressive thing for the Redbacks though is the impact the young kids are having in the side. They seem to have refreshed the entire game style of the Redbacks at the most important time of the year. Jamie Michael, Nick Wilson, James Carroll, Jake Bray and Travis Thorogood have all played a major part in the Redbacks revival in recent weeks, to the point that they may just be the most important part of the Redbacks chances this week. If they are able to stand tall against a physical Roos side, then the Redbacks will be well on the way to winning the game. Like the Roos, the Redbacks don't have any real structure in their side, no way to identify a clear game set up, they just play. Luckily for them, they are stacked with talent so this game style can become unpredictable and unsettling for their opponents, the problem is, and especially come finals time, it could become unsettling for themselves with nothing to go back to when the heat is applied. At least the Roos have that. The Redbacks will rely on pure talent to fight their way through this finals series, with every game they play, it will be the pure talent that gets them through. There is no doubt, they are an excitement machine, I mean any side with Moorcroft, Dawson and Smith-Whiting listed are certainly going to be worth the admission price to watch. The only question mark remains, will the game style hold up under the physical pressure that the Roos will put on and will the back six be able to match it with a very strong Roos forward line if the ball is being pumped inside forward 50?

Game Key: The midfield. Whatever the result of this game, it will come down to the midfield. At times, both of these sides can be seen to drop off pressure on the opposition as they carry the ball through the middle of the ground. So the side that is committed to having an impact in this area will have the advantage.
The Roos will look to exploit the Romsey back six. With Meacham, Fenton and Cuffe up forward the Romsey backline will have its work cut out, but the midfield has to get the ball in there and get it in there quick.
The Redbacks will rely on that pure talent, they will try to turn this into showtime, have no doubt about it, when it comes down to photo opportunity football, there is no one better than the Redbacks, the thing is, it wins them games as well as entertains.

Key Match-ups:
Adam Walsh (SK) Vs Gary Moorcroft (Rom) - Walsh has had a superb season for the Roos and will possibly get the job here. Moorcroft is dangerous, if Walsh can reduce his impact, a win for the Roos
Jamie Cuffe (SK) Vs Steve Burlak (Rom) - This will be a very important match up for both sides. If Cuffe starts getting his hands on the ball then the Redbacks are in trouble.
Chris Meacham (SK) Vs Warren Kairns (Rom) - Meacham has copped a bit of flack over his form, but I tell you what I have seen, a forward with an outstanding work rate that would rather see a win than kick 10. If only there were more players running around with that attitude.

Prediction: Its a little unfortunate that you finish the season in 3rd and your whole year rests on one result, a loss here and the season overall is a failure. A win and you have a shot at a Grand Final. I personally hope that the Roos are too strong, but this is a real danger game, if they get through it, massive chance in the 2010 season. But the danger is, they wont get past the first week.
Romsey by 8 points.